DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-16 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 12, and 14 are newly amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-16 have been examined on their merits.
Withdrawn Objections & Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in the application. Any objections or rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 6-7 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) is withdrawn due to amendment of the claims and Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morizane et al. (Nat Protoc, 2017) is withdrawn due to amendment of the claims and Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
The rejection of claims 9 and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) and Qian et al. (US20190055520A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) is withdrawn due to amendment of the claims and Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
The rejections of claims 8 and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) are maintained as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 9 are objected to for the following informalities: these claims as amended all recite “roswell park memorial institute.” However, this is a proper noun and should be capitalized. “Roswell Park Memorial Institute” would be ameliorative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 as newly amended specifically requires in step S1 a medium that contains “non-essential amino acids, sodium pyruvate and glutathione” and is explicitly free of “BMP, activin A . . . and HEPES.”
Independent claim 9 as newly amended requires these same limitations.
These limitations are new matter (see MPEP 2163.06 notes that when new matter is added to the claims, the examiner should reject the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), pre-AIA first paragraph - written description requirement. In re Rasmussen, 650 F.2d 1212, 211 USPQ 323 (CCPA 1981)).
Although Applicant asserts that no new matter has been added (see Remarks 08/31/2026, p5-6), Applicant does not identify where in the disclosure support for these amendments is found.
Additionally, a review of the specification, drawings, and claims as originally filed did not find a basis, whether a positive or negative recitation, for any of non-essential amino acids, sodium pyruvate, glutathione, activin A, or HEPES (4-(2-hydroxyethyl)-1-piperazineethanesulfonic acid). Therefore, the disclosure lacks express, implicit, or inherent disclosure of these amendments (see MPEP 2163(B).
Regarding the negative limitation wherein the medium does not contain “BMP”, while the disclosure describes the positive recitation of a medium that comprises BMP7 in S2, not only is the amended negative limitation in a different step (instead, S1), but BMP7 is a specific species of molecule, while BMP is a broad genus of molecules. Therefore, the application lacks disclosure for disallowing the broad genus of BMP molecules.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) for their dependence on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - maintained
Claims 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024).
In regards to claim 8, Ingber teaches methods for the generation of podocytes (Claims 1 and 6). As taught by Ingber these cells ultimately derive from PSCs, and therefore must necessarily pass through a nephron progenitor intermediate cell stage before final differentiation to podocytes. Ingber teaches that this method comprises culturing intermediates in differentiation medium comprising “retinoic acid” (claims 1, 6-10; paragraph [0032]), which Ingber explicitly states refers to derivatives including retinol (vitamin A) specifically (paragraph [00102]). Ingber also teaches that the differentiation medium can comprise L-glutamine, including Glutamax specifically (stabilized L-glutamine) (paragraphs [00146, 00264]).
Ingber does not explicitly teach that the medium comprises vitamin D3. Furthermore, the medium is serum-free (claim claims 1 and 6).
However, podocyte maturation media comprising vitamin D3 and fetal bovine serum (FBS) were known in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Specifically, Ciampi teaches a three-stage method of differentiating PSCs to podocytes (Title, Abstract, p130, 133). In the third stage, Ciampi teaches that that nephron progenitor cells specifically are cultured in media comprising not only FBS and vitamin D3 but also retinoic acid (as above, vitamin A would be an obvious substitution) and Glutamax (2.2. Human iPSC differentiation into podocytes, p131; 3.2. Specification of hiPSC-derived nephron progenitor cells into podocytes, p134).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to culture nephron progenitor cells in a media comprising vitamin D3 and FBS because Ciampi teaches that this medium it is known in the art that this medium can successfully differentiate renal progenitors to podocytes (3.2. Specification of hiPSC-derived nephron progenitor cells into podocytes (p134).
In regards to FBS specifically, while Ingber uses serum-free conditions, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the conditions to serum-containing, depending on the availability of reagents or in order to reduce the costs of serum replacement.
Furthermore, because both Ingber and Ciampi are directed to similar methods of differentiating PSCs to podocytes and because Ciampi explicitly teaches that nephron progenitors may differentiate to podocytes in media comprising vitamin D3 and FBS, a person of ordinary skill in the arts could have modified the method of Ingber and added vitamin D3 and substituted FBS with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Ingber teaches that podocytes specifically can be induced or differentiated in a medium comprising DMEM/F12 (paragraphs [0084, 00247]). Furthermore, Ciampi demonstrates that nephron progenitor cells are differentiated to podocytes in DMEM/F12 (2.2. Human iPSC differentiation into podocytes, p131).
In regards to claim 12, in regards to the concentrations, in regards to vitamin A, as above, Ingber teaches that “retinoic acid” (i.e., vitamin A) can have a concentration of about 0.01 μΜ to about 1 μΜ (claim 25; paragraph [0031]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
While, as above, Ingber teaches that the medium can comprise Glutamax, Ingber is silent as to the amount.
However, again, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have arrive at a concentration of 0.1% - 10% by routine optimization, and the disclosure does not point to a criticality in this amount. In the instant case because Ciampi teaches that renal cells can be cultured in 1% L-glutamine (which as above, Glutamax is the commercial formulation of) (2.10. Chimeric organoids culture, p132), not only could a person of ordinary skill in the art arrived at the claimed concentration by routine optimization with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success, but it would have also been predictably obvious to do so.
In regards to the concentrations of vitamin D3 and FBS, Ciampi teaches that these can be 10% FBS and 100 nM vitamin D3 (2.2. Human iPSC differentiation into podocytes, p131; 3.2. Specification of hiPSC-derived nephron progenitor cells into podocytes, p134) which overlaps with the claimed ranges.
It would have been predictably obvious to use these concentrations because Ciampi demonstrates that they are suitable for final differentiation of podocytes.
In regards to claim 13, in regards to the timings, Ingber teaches that PSCs can be induced for at least about 3 days (72 hours) (claim 1, including also the broad range of about 12 hours to about 10 days, paragraph [0019]), which overlaps with the claimed range.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Ingber and Ciampi renders the invention unpatentable as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 remains open-ended, but incorporates a negative limitation into Step 1A which disallows BMP and Activin A. (Remarks, p7). Applicant argues that the medium of Ingber comprises these reagents and is therefore, materially different from the claimed invention. (Remarks, p7-8).
Applicant’s arguments, see p7-8, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 specifically have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) etc., has been withdrawn.
However, Applicant should note that the specific exclusion of reagents such as BMP and Activin A is considered new matter. Specifically, these new limitations were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) as discussed above.
Furthermore, it is noted that claims 8 and 12-13 do not require these new limitations and therefore, their rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al. (WO2016085765A1, on IDS 04/18/2024) in view of Ciampi et al. (Stem Cell Research, 2016, on IDS 04/18/2024) is maintained as discussed above.
Applicant also argues that the claimed Step S1 lacks a GSK-3 inhibitor (specifically, “Step S1 of the present application employs only modified RPMI 1640 supplemented with CHIR99021, and is defined to be free of Activin A and BMP, lacking the two key components present in D1 (Activin A+GSK inhibitor) or D2 (bmp4+GSK inhibitor)”).
Continuing, Applicant argues that “Step S2 of the present application uses modified RPMI 1640 plus FGF9, BMP7 and vitamin A, and omits CHIR99021, VEGF and B27 disclosed in D1. Step S3 of the present application uses DMEM/F12 supplemented with FBS, L-glutamine, vitamin D3 and vitamin A. By contrast, D1 contains neither FBS nor vitamin D3, and additionally includes VEGF, Activin A, BMP7, and CHIR99021.” (Remarks, p8). It is noted that D1 refers to Ingber and D1 refers to Ciampi.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, it is noted that it is unclear what Applicant’s argument refers to because Applicant appears to be arguing that the claimed step S1 is free of a GSK inhibitor. However, step S1 of independent claims 1 and 9 are explicitly limited to “using a [medium] containing a GSK-3α/β inhibitor.”
Additionally, it is noted that Step S2 does not omit CHIR99021, VEGF, and B27, and Step S3 does not VEGF, Activin A, BMP7, and CHIR99021 as asserted by Applicant. Rather, S2 (of independent claim 1) is limited to a medium “containing” FGF9, BMP7 and vitamin A, while S3 (of independent claim 1) is a medium “containing” fetal bovine serum stabilized L-glutamine, vitamin D3, and vitamin A.
Specifically, there is no indication in the disclosure that the transitional word “containing” is closed-ended (i.e. synonymous with “consisting”), according to MPEP 2111.03 the terms “containing” and “comprising” as synonymous (See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“[L]ike the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended.”), and moreover, Applicant admits that the term “containing” is open-ended (see Remarks, p7, 08/31/2026, “The amended Claim 1 remains open-ended “containing”).
Therefore, in regards to Applicant’s arguments regarding the limitations of the claims generally, Applicant’s arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Continuing, Applicant argues that step S1 of claim 1 pluripotent stem cells are treated only with CHIR99021 without Activin A or BMP4, and in merely 3 days. (Remarks, p9). However, Applicant argues that Ingber obtains intermediate mesoderm with BMP7 and CHIR99021 in as long as 18 days and that Ciampi generates intermediate mesoderm with GSK-3 inhibitor CP21R7 with BMP4 for 3 days. (Remarks, p8-9).
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 with respect to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 (corresponding to Step S1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Ciampi specifically, Applicant argues that the reference adopts a three-stage culture protocol, its medium formulations diverge from the claimed media, and its technical framework centers on continuous, non-passaged differentiation. (Remarks, 9-10). In contrast, Applicant argues that the present application establishes nephron progenitor cells as an intermediate stage that can be cryopreserved and revived. (Remarks, p10).
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., cryopreserving and reviving steps) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not have modified the method of Ingber with Ciampi with predicable results and a reasonable expectation of success. (Remarks, p10).
As evidence, Applicant argues that “comparative example 3 of the present application reproduces the culture conditions of D2” (i.e., Ciampi), wherein nephron progenitor cells were treated for 8 days with medium containing fetal bovine serum, stabilized L-glutamine, vitamin D3 and retinoic acid (see paragraphs [0074]-[0082] of the instant specification). (Remarks, p10). As argued by Applicant, qPCR was performed to detect podocyte marker genes Nephrosis2, Synaptopodin and Nephrin, but the results showed that compared with induced pluripotent stem cells, there was no statistically significant difference observed for the expression of Nephrosis2 and Nephrin (P>0.05). (Remarks, p10).
Applicant argues that while retinoic acid is a derivative of vitamin A, because they have distinct structural and biological differences, they cannot be considered equivalent substitutes. (Remarks, p10).
Therefore, Applicant concludes that this demonstrates that a system employing retinoic acid cannot achieve sufficient differentiation of nephron progenitor cells into podocytes. (Remarks, p10).
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
It is first noted that despite Applicant’s assertions regarding Comparative Example 3 of the specification and Ciampi, there is no indication in the disclosure that Comparative Example 3 reproduces Ciampi.
Additionally, regarding differences in vitamin A and retinoic acid, Ingber specifically envisions the use of either vitamin A or retinoic acid for the preparation of podocytes from pluripotent stem cells. Specifically, while Ingber uses the term “retinoic acid” in the claims, Ingber explicitly teaches that this broadly refers to derivatives including retinol (vitamin A) (paragraph [00102], “Retinoic acid: Retinoic acid is a metabolite of vitamin A (retinol) that mediates the functions of vitamin A required for growth and development. As used herein and throughout the specification, the term "retinoic acid" generally refers to a naturally occurring retinoic acid or a derivative thereof . . . examples of retinoic acid and derivative thereof include, but are not limited to . . . retinol”; see Office Action 06/01/2026, p5).
Furthermore, in regards to expression of markers Nephrosis2, Synaptopodin and Nephrin, the claims do not require expression of these markers, and although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, Ingber explicitly teaches that the podocytes express markers synaptopodin, nephrin, and podocin (i.e., the protein produced by the Nephrosis2 (NPHS2) gene) (paragraph 00137]), and therefore, have the same property.
Applicant also argues that the claimed invention achieves unexpected results. (Remarks, p10).
Specifically, Applicant argues that as demonstrated in Example 1 of the specification, replacing retinoic acid with vitamin A, while keeping other conditions unchanged enables complete differentiation of nephron progenitors into mature podocytes accompanies by high expression of genes SYNPO and ITGB3 (citing Fig. 4). (Remarks, p10). Continuing, Applicant argues that under the precondition that no BMP4 is involved in the induction step S1, only the selection of vitamin A rather than retinoic acid in Step S3 can accomplish podocyte differentiation, an effect that cannot be derived from Ciampi. (Remarks, p10).
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
As above, the claims do not require expression of SYNPO and ITGB3, and although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, regarding the precondition that there is no BMP4 involved in the induction step S1, as discussed above, the generic recitation of step S1 lacking “BMP” is new matter as discussed above. Moreover, it is noted that a negative limitation against BMP4 specifically would also be considered new matter.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention saves expenses by eliminating costly cytokines such as Activin A and BMP4. (Remarks, p10).
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. This is an assertion without evidence. Furthermore, as discussed above, the negative limitations regarding Activin A and BMP (or BMP4 specifically) are new matter that lacks disclosure.
Applicant argues that none of Morizane or Qian cures the deficiencies of Ingber or Ciampi. (Remarks, p11).
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/31/2026 regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 14-16 (corresponding to Step S1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference (Ingber or Ciampi) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the rejections of claims 8 and 12-13 under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Ingber in view of Ciampi does not rely on Morizane or Qian and therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not germane to the rejection of these claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH PAUL MIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631