CTNF 18/702,422 CTNF 75492 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 states “preforming”, which is a misspelling of performing . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHII (“Ishii”) [PGPUB 2024/0381213] (support shown in related provisional application, filed 06/07/2021) in view of CHANG et al. (“Chang”) [PGPUB 2025/0081278] . Regarding claim 1, the Ishii reference discloses a method implemented by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving configuration information including at least one candidate secondary cell group (SCG) [ie. conditional handover (CHO) with candidate PCells and SCG; Ishii; figures 6, 7, 37, and 38; paragraphs 0276-0277 and 0294], wherein the configuration information includes a first set of conditions for triggering an SCG modification, wherein the SCG modification is performing an SCG addition [ie, trigger criteria for the conditional handover; Ishii; fig 25 and 49; para 0294-0297], wherein the configuration information includes a second set of conditions, wherein the second set of conditions includes a condition that the at least one candidate SCG is not at least an offset better than all active configured SCGs [ie. Event A1 and A3; Ishii; Listings 2 and 4; para 0123, 0191, 0312, and 0317], determining that the SCG modification is triggered for a first candidate SCG of the at least one candidate SCGs based on one or more of the first set of conditions [Ishii; fig 65; para 0218, 0294, 0303, and 0317]; based on determining the SCG modification is triggered, determining the first candidate SCG satisfies the second set of conditions [Ishii; para 0312, 0317, 0320, and 0387]; based on satisfying the second set of conditions, performing the SCG modification, wherein the SCG modification adding the first candidate SCG [Ishii; para 0294-0295]; and transmitting a message to the first candidate SCG [Ishii; fig 7 and 65; para 0168, 0300, and 0401]. The Ishii reference discloses maximum number beams per cell and maximum number of CHO configuration IDs [Ishii; Listing 3 and 4; para 0132] but does not specifically disclose that the second set of conditions includes “a condition that a maximum number of active configured SCGs is not reached”. However, in the same field of endeavor, the Chang reference discloses a condition that a maximum number of active configured SCGs is not reached [ie. can add SCG with a preference to a maximum number of secondary component carriers (“SCGs”) and the triggering condition is satisfied (max number “is not reached”); Chang; para 0029-0030, 0043, 0082-0083, and 0096]. The Ishii and Chang references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage secondary cell groups. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of number of SCGs below maximum number for the UE, taught by Chang, into the system, taught by Ishii. The motivation for doing so would have been to control power saving [Chang; para 0002]. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ishii-Chang further discloses sending a transmission to a Master Cell Group (MCG) indicating the first candidate SCG [ie. send complete message (“indicating”) to gNB (“MCG”); Ishii; fig 6, 16, and 38; para 0188, 0277, and 0401-0404]. Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ishii-Chang further discloses one or more of the first set of conditions is absolute or relative offsets/thresholds [Ishii; Listing 2; para 0294-0297]. Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ishii-Chang further discloses each SCG includes a PScell and one or more Scells, and wherein the PScell is used for all determinations and measurements [Ishii; fig 37; para 0277 and 0282]. Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ishii-Chang further discloses the first set of conditions includes where a neighboring cell becomes an offset better than a SpCell [Ishii; Listing 2; para 0294-0297]. Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ishii-Chang further discloses one or more of the 117 Regarding claims 8, 9, and 11-14, the apparatus of claims 8, 9, and 11-14 perform the similar steps as the method of claims 1, 2, and 4-7. The combination of Ishii-Chang teaches the method of claims 1, 2, and 4-7, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a “processor” and a “transceiver” are rejected with the citation of figure 6 and paragraph 0148 of Ishii. Therefore, claims 8, 9, and 11-14 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 4-7, by the teachings of combination of Ishii-Chang . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deenoo et al. [PGPUB 2022/0394583] describes adding or changing PScell for SCG with a buffer status threshold. Eklof et al. [PGPUB 2024/0381216] describes buffer status report for conditional handover. Freda et al. [PGPUB 2024/0298370] describes conditional handover for selecting a SCG. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON D CARDONE whose telephone number is (571)272-3933. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri. 8am-4pmEST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Umar Cheema can be reached at 571-270-3037. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JASON D CARDONE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458 Application/Control Number: 18/702,422 Page 2 Art Unit: 2458 Application/Control Number: 18/702,422 Page 3 Art Unit: 2458 Application/Control Number: 18/702,422 Page 4 Art Unit: 2458 Application/Control Number: 18/702,422 Page 5 Art Unit: 2458 Application/Control Number: 18/702,422 Page 6 Art Unit: 2458