DETAILED ACTION
This is a second non-final action. Claims 1-23 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by HEIDERREICH (5,228,543).
Regarding Claim 1, HEIDERREICH teaches A brake device that attachable on a rotating shaft, wherein the brake device comprises: a guiding support (20)(22) rigidly attachable on the shaft, comprising at least one longitudinal transmitting guide (22) oriented in the same axial direction of the shaft, located in an eccentric position with respect to the shaft, when the guiding support is assembled on the shaft; a first fixed support casing (14); a first pusher element- (42,44) movable in the axial direction with respect to the first casing; a lining disc-(30) comprising: a support disc-(portion of 30 engaged with 32) coupled to the at least one transmitting guide (22) of the guiding support (20)(22) in a floating manner; a first lining (portion of 30 which engages 34) fixed to a first surface of the support disc (portion of 30 engaged with 32); and a second lining (other portion of 30 which engages other instance of 34) fixed to a second surface of the support disc (portion of 30 engaged with 32); a first brake disc (34) movable in the axial direction with respect to the first casing (14); and a second brake disc (other instance of 34) wherein the lining disc (30) is located between the first brake disc (34) and the second brake disc (other instance of 34); wherein the guiding support (20)(22) is configured to transmit a rotation of the shaft to the lining disc (30), which is configured to rotate jointly with the shaft; in the first pusher element (42, 44) and the first brake disc (34) are connected, forming an axial displacement unit; wherein the first casing (14) comprises a drive system configured to, when activated, move the first pusher element in the axial direction, towards the lining disc, pushing the first disc brake towards the first lining (portion of 30 which engages 34) of the lining disc (30); wherein the first brake disc (34) is configured to exert a pushing pressure on the first lining (portion of 30 which engages 34) in the axial direction, generating friction, and to move the lining disc (30) towards the second brake disc (other instance of 34), when it is pushed by the first pusher element (42,44), wherein the drive system is configured to, when deactivated, retract the first pusher element moving in an opposite direction to the direction of pushing on the first brake disc (34), in the axial direction; wherein the first brake disc (34) is configured to move in the opposite direction to the direction of pushing on the lining disc (30), in the axial direction, jointly with the retraction of the first pusher element, and wherein the floating coupling of the lining disc (30) on the transmitting guide (22) together with the rotation of the lining disc (30) are configured to separate it from the two brake discs (34, other instance of 34) when the first brake disc (34) moves in the opposite direction.
Regarding Claim 2, HEIDERREICH teaches comprising: a second fixed support casing (12), arranged at an opposite end part of the first casing (14); a second pusher element (other instance of 44, 42) movable in the axial direction with respect to the second casing (12); wherein the second pusher element and the second brake disc (other instance of 34) are fixed, forming an axial displacement unit; wherein the second casing comprises a drive system configured to, when activated, move the second pusher element, in the axial direction, towards the lining disc (30), pushing the second brake disc (other instance of 34) towards the second lining (other portion of 30 which engages other instance of 34) of the lining disc (30); wherein the second brake disc (other instance of 34) is configured to exert a pushing pressure on the second lining (other portion of 30 which engages other instance of 34) in the axial direction, and to move the lining disc (30) towards the first brake disc (34), when it is pushed by the second pusher element (other instance of 44, 42); wherein the drive system of the second casing is configured to, when deactivated, retract the second pusher element, moving in an opposite direction to the direction of pushing on the second brake disc (other instance of 34); wherein the second brake disc (34) is configured to move in the opposite direction to the direction of pushing on the lining disc (30), in the axial direction, jointly with the retraction, in the opposite direction, of the second pusher element; wherein the floating coupling of the lining disc (30) on the transmitting guide (22) together with the rotation of the lining disc (30) on the shaft are configured to separate the lining disc (30) from the two brake discs (34, other instance of 34), without generating residual friction, when the first and second pusher element (other instance of 42, 44) are retracted, moving the brake discs (34, other instance of 34) in the opposite direction to the pushing direction.
Regarding Claim 3, HEIDERREICH teaches wherein the support disc (portion of 30 engaged with 32) of the lining disc (30) comprises: An outer perimeter area on the first and second surfaces of the support disc (portion of 30 engaged with 32) in which the linings are fixed; and at least one pass-through sliding connection housing (splined portion of 30; Col. 3 lines 32-55), which comprises the axial direction; wherein the sliding connection housing is coupled to the at least one longitudinal transmitting guide (32) in a loosely fitted attachment.
Regarding Claim 9, HEIDERREICH teaches wherein at least one brake disc (34) comprises an annulus shape, with a central disc through hole, concentric to the shaft, comprising the axial direction and a solid outer friction section against linings (30).
Regarding Claim 18, HEIDERREICH teaches wherein the pusher element (42, 44) of the axial drive system comprises: - a piston (44) configured to generate a pushing load on a lateral surface of the first brake disc (34); wherein the piston is configured to be housed and moved longitudinally in a cavity of the casing (14) in one pushing direction and in a retraction direction, opposite to the pushing direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of SEVERINSSON (6,705,437)
Regarding Claim 4, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising an elastic damping gasket located between each fitted coupling of each transmitting guide and the sliding connection housing of the lining disc.
SEVERINSSON teaches comprising an elastic damping gasket (5) located between each fitted coupling of each transmitting guide (3) and the sliding connection housing (15) of the lining disc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake arrangement in HEIDERREICH so it has the damping spring arrangement in SEVERINSSON to decrease noise.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of RANCOURT (6,443,269)
Regarding Claim 5, HEIDERREICH does not teach wherein the lining disc comprises a plurality of heat dissipation lining fins arranged on a perimeter of a central through hole of the support disc, wherein: the plurality of lining fins are rigidly attached to the support disc by means of a rigid connection means; or wherein the plurality of lining fins and the support disc comprise a single casting.
RANCOURT teaches wherein the lining disc comprises a plurality of heat dissipation lining fins (60a)(60b) arranged on a perimeter of a central through hole of the support disc (32), wherein: the plurality of lining fins are rigidly attached to the support disc by means of a rigid connection means; or wherein the plurality of lining fins and the support disc comprise a single casting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the support disc in HEIDERREICH so it has the fin arrangement in RANCOURT improve brake cooling.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of SZPAK (2010/0018831)
Regarding Claim 6, HEIDERREICH does not teach wherein the linings disc comprises a plurality of first linings and second linings, fixed, respectively, in an outer area of the first and second surfaces of the support disc, the linings being separated by radial channeled gaps; wherein the linings comprise a blade shape.
SZPAK teaches wherein the linings disc comprises a plurality of first linings (72) and second linings (72 on other side of 36), fixed, respectively, in an outer area of the first and second surfaces of the support disc, the linings being separated by radial channeled gaps (75); wherein the linings comprise a blade shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the linings in HEIDERREICH so it has the grooves in SZPAK to remove debris.
Regarding Claim 13, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising at least one compression spring located between the brake discs, configured to exert a separation pressure between the brake discs.
SZPAK teaches comprising at least one compression spring (62) located between the brake discs (32)(34), configured to exert a separation pressure between the brake discs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the linings in HEIDERREICH so it has the compression springs in SZPAK to help reduce friction when the brake is not engaged.
Regarding Claim 14, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising at least one guide element, fixed to the first casing, oriented in the axial direction of the shaft; wherein the first brake disc comprises a first disc through hole loosely fitted to the guide element; wherein the second brake disc comprises a second disc through hole fitted to the guide element.
SZPAK teaches comprising at least one guide element (58), fixed to the first casing (8), oriented in the axial direction of the shaft; wherein the first brake disc (32) comprises a first disc through hole (56) loosely fitted to the guide element (58); wherein the second brake disc (34) comprises a second disc through hole (64) fitted to the guide element (58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake in HEIDERREICH so it has the guiding configuration in SZPAK to help keep the brake discs in place and correctly aligned with the housing and brake linings.
Regarding Claim 16, HEIDERREICH as modified teaches comprising a plurality of guide elements (SZPAK 58) each comprising a guide screw inserted into a brake disc through hole (SZPAK 60, 64), of the same plurality of through holes ( SZPAK 60, 64), of each of the brake discs (SZPAK 32, 34), wherein the guide screws are configured to guide the displacement of the first brake disc (SZPAK 32) in the axial direction of the shaft and are fixed to the casing of the brake device.
Regarding Claim 17, HEIDERREICH as modified teaches comprising a plurality of compression springs (SZPAK 62) each one mounted concentrically on each guide screw (SZPAK 58), the compression springs being located between the first brake disc (SZPAK 32) and the second brake disc (SZPAK 34), the compression springs being configured to exert a separation pressure between the brake discs.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of GELB (2010/0096226).
Regarding Claim 7, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising a particle filtering structure arranged concentrically covering the lining disc, configured to retain particles detached from the linings.
GELB teaches a particle filtering structure arranged concentrically covering the lining disc, configured to retain particles detached from the linings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the linings in HEIDERREICH so it has the particle filtering structure in GELB to allow airflow to the brakes while preventing harmful brake dust from polluting the environment.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of BOONPONGMANEE (2013/0341136)
Regarding Claim 10, HEIDERREICH teaches wherein at least one brake disc (34) comprises an annulus shape, with a central disc through hole, concentric to the shaft, comprising the axial direction and an outer friction section against the linings (30).
HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising at least one internal channel (62, configured for the passage of a fluid.
BOONPONGMANEE teaches comprising at least one internal channel (50) configured for the passage of a fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake disc in HEIDERREICH so it has the cooling channels in BOONPONGMANEE to help keep the brakes cool.
Claim(s) 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of GOMEZ (2020/0217381).
Regarding Claim 12, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising a bearing, preferably a roller bearing, attachable on the shaft.
GOMEZ teaches a bearing, preferably a roller bearing (101), attachable on the shaft (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the bearing in GOMEZ so the brake linings and the brake disc assemblies rotate freely relative to each other when the brake is not engaged and so the assemblies stay axially aligned.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of QU (2009/0260927).
Regarding Claim 15, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising an elastic damping gasket located between each guide element with teach brake disc through hole.
QU teaches comprising an elastic damping gasket (12)(11) located between each guide element (6) with teach brake disc through hole (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the damping assembly in QU so the brake assembly makes less noise.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of ERDMANN (3,543,888)
Regarding Claim 19, HEIDERREICH teaches wherein the axial drive system comprises: at least one fluid access (56), located in the casing (14), the access being configured to introduce and extract fluid in the cavity of the casing (14); wherein the introduction and extraction of the fluid is configured to move the piston (44) in the axial direction, in a pushing and recovery direction, respectively;
HEIDERREICH does not teach and a high pressure gasket (46) located in the cavity of the casing (14), configured to exert transverse pressure on a lateral surface of the piston (44); wherein the high pressure gasket (46) is configured to retract the piston (44) into the cavity of the casing (14) when the axial drive system is deactivated.
ERDMANN teaches a high pressure gasket (4) located in the cavity of the casing (1), configured to exert transverse pressure on a lateral surface of the piston (3); wherein the high pressure gasket (4) is configured to retract the piston (3) into the cavity of the casing (1) when the axial drive system is deactivated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the roll back gasket assembly in ERDMANN so the brake assembly to help release brake pressure on the disc when the brakes are released.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of SZPAK (2010/0018831) and further in view of WILSON (2019/0113090).
Regarding Claim 20, HEIDERREICH as modified teaches wherein a piston (44) comprises a cylindrical ring shape.
HEIDERREICH as modified does not teach and the compression springs comprise a conical shape.
WILSON teaches and the compression springs (44) comprise a conical shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the compression spring shape in WILSON so the compressed spring has a smaller thickness for allowing a larger range of brake disc lateral movement.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of YAMASAKI (2011/0247904)
Regarding Claim 21, HEIDERREICH teaches an axial drive system which moves a brake disc (34)
HEIDERREICH does not teach wherein the axial drive system comprises: an electric motor fixed to the casing, configured to rotate a pinion toothed, connected to a shaft of the motor; wherein the piston comprises a ring shape comprising a thread on an outer cylindrical surface and a toothing on an inner cylindrical surface, meshed with the pinion; wherein the casing comprises an internal thread in the cavity, threaded with the thread of the piston; wherein the electric motor is configured to rotate the pinion, transmitting the rotation to the piston which, upon rotation, is configured to be screwed into or unscrewed from the casing, moving axially, moving the brake.
YAMASAKI teaches wherein the axial drive system comprises: an electric motor (2) fixed to the casing (1), configured to rotate a pinion toothed (3a), connected to a shaft (2a) of the motor; wherein the piston (5) comprises a ring shape comprising a thread on an outer cylindrical surface and a toothing on an inner cylindrical surface, meshed with the pinion; wherein the casing (1) comprises an internal thread in the cavity, threaded with the thread of the piston; wherein the electric motor (2) is configured to rotate the pinion (3a), transmitting the rotation to the piston (5) which, upon rotation, is configured to be screwed into or unscrewed from the casing (1), moving axially, moving the brake [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has uses the actuator in YAMASAKI so the brake is electrically actuated.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of BUNKER (2002/0153772)
Regarding Claim 22, HEIDERREICH teaches two actuators (42)(44).
HEIDERREICH does not teach wherein the axial drive system comprises: - two electric motors fixed to the casing wherein the pusher element comprises two pressing members, each of which is connected by a threaded attachment to a shaft of the electric motor, the pressing members being configured to push the brake disc in the axial direction; wherein upon actuation of the electric motors, the threaded attachment of the pressing members transforms the rotation of the motor into an axial displacement of the pressing members, moving them in the axial direction.
BUNKER teaches wherein the axial drive system comprises: - an electric motor (34) fixed to the casing wherein the pusher element (92) comprises a pressing member (92), each of which is connected by a threaded attachment to a shaft (90) of the electric motor (34), the pressing member (92) being configured to push the brake disc (54, 56) in the axial direction; wherein upon actuation of the electric motors (34), the threaded attachment of the pressing member (92) transforms the rotation of the motor (34) into an axial displacement of the pressing member (92), moving them in the axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the actuator in BUNKER so the brake is electrically actuated.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of BARGER (6,155,650).
Regarding Claim 23, HEIDERREICH does not teach comprising a turbofan skeleton comprising a hollow cylindrical shape and a plurality of turbofan blades, separated by cavities, the turbofan blades arranged on a lateral surface of the turbofan, wherein the turbofan is arranged concentrically surrounding the brake discs and the lining disc, it is connected to the rotating shaft, and it is configured to rotate about itself, with respect to the first casing generating forced ventilation in the brake device.
BARGER teaches comprising a turbofan skeleton (10) comprising a hollow cylindrical shape and a plurality of turbofan blades (58), separated by cavities (55), the turbofan blades (58) arranged on a lateral surface of the turbofan, wherein the turbofan (10) is arranged concentrically surrounding the brake disc (24) and the brake lining (22), it is connected to the rotating shaft, and it is configured to rotate about itself, with respect to the first casing generating forced ventilation in the brake device (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the brake assembly in HEIDERREICH so it has the turbofan in BARGER so the brake is cooled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Wherein the filtering structure is a cylindrical-shaped framework, arranged covering the first and second brake disc with the other elements in Claim 8.
wherein at least one brake disc comprises a plurality of heat dissipation brake fins, wherein preferably, the brake fins are located on an outer perimeter of the brake disc, arranged in a radial direction with the other elements in Claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks pg. 10 para. 3), filed 9/8/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 19 under have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of HEIDERREICH (5,228,543) in view of ERDMANN (3,543,888). See the rejection set forth above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (Remarks pg. 12 para. 3), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the invention does not require springs or other elements susceptible to damage) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (Remarks pg. 13 para. 1), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that a direct connection between the pusher element and the first brake disc) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that HEIDENREICH does not teach a transmitting guide located at an eccentric position with respect to the shaft (Remarks pg. 14 para. 2). The transmitting guide (22) is at an eccentric position relative to the shaft since it is located at a position non-concentric to the shaft (Fig. 1), which is a reasonable interpretation of the term eccentric.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (Remarks pg. 14 para. 3), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a distinction between a support disc and linings fixed thereto ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In addition, the friction rotors (30) have linings fixed to them as shown in Fig. 1 since part 30 shows outer sections of part 30 having different shading than the central portion.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (Remarks pg. 15 para. 2), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the damping gasket being made of fluoropolymer rubber) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that BOONPONGMANEE”s channels incorporated into HEIDENREICH’s friction rotors, would not reproduce the cooling arrangement in the invention, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Here, one of ordinary skill could use the two references to create the structures in Claim 10.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654