Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11, 14, 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iguchi et al. (US 20210005583 A1) hereafter referred to as Iguchi
In regard to claim 1 Iguchi teaches a display substrate [see paragraph 0077, see “FIG. 9 is a schematic sectional view of a pixel region of an image display device according to a sixth embodiment” “FIG. 10 is a schematic plan view of the pixel region of the image display device according to the sixth embodiment”] having a display region, the display substrate comprising:
a base substrate [see “driving circuit substrate 50”];
a plurality of pixel units [“As illustrated in FIG. 2, the upper surface of the image display device 200 is the pixel region 1 in which a plurality of pixels 5 are arranged in an array shape”] arranged in an array in the display region, wherein each pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels [see Fig. 10], and the sub-pixels comprise sub-pixel openings [“blue micro light emitting element 100B, the red micro light emitting element 100R, and the green micro light emitting element 100G, excluding a side thereof in the light emission direction, are surrounded and covered with an embedding material 60e, as with the first embodiment”] defined by a pixel defining layer provided on the base substrate;
a plurality of sub-pixel lenses [“micro lens 40”] arranged in an array on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the base substrate, wherein the sub-pixel lenses have corresponding sub-pixel openings [see under the lens in Fig. 9] in the pixel defining layer on a side close to the base substrate,
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels of each pixel unit comprise [“As illustrated in FIG. 10, the pixel 5 includes two green subpixels 8 each including one green micro light emitting element 100G (micro light emitting element)”] at least two sub- pixels having a same color;
an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10 see paragraph 0036 “In an example shown in FIG. 2, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 as seen from the upper surface side (the light emitting surface 101 side) is substantially a square. However, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 is not particularly limited”] on the base substrate is a parallelogram, an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel lens [see Fig. 10 see 40 is a circle see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”] on the base substrate is a circle, and the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is located within [see Fig. 10 see 40 is a circle and within it is “wavelength conversion portion 33” and see Fig. 9 the entire LED and wavelength conversion portion is in the opening in embedding material 60e, and this is within the circle of 40] the orthographic projection of the corresponding sub-pixel lens on the base substrate;
adjacent side edges of two adjacent sub-pixel openings are arranged parallel [see Fig. 10 the square of the wavelength conversion portion is in the opening in embedding material 60e] to each other and spaced apart by a first distance [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10] D1; and
closest points between adjacent sub-pixel lenses are spaced apart by [see Fig. 10 in either the vertical or horizontal direction, this is true because the lens 40 are circular thus they come closer together than the square 33] a second distance D2 less than the first distance D1.
In regard to claim 17 Iguchi teaches wherein the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10, see “In an example shown in FIG. 2, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 as seen from the upper surface side (the light emitting surface 101 side) is substantially a square. However, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 is not particularly limited. The shape of the micro light emitting element as seen from the upper surface side may be any appropriate planar shape, such as a rectangle, a polygon, a circle, or an ellipse” see Fig. 9 the entire LED and wavelength conversion portion is in the opening in embedding material 60e] on the base substrate is a square or a rectangle.
In regard to claim 20 Iguchi teaches a display device ["An image display device 200e according to the present embodiment is a full color display device capable displaying three primary colors RGB"], comprising the display substrate according to claim1.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iguchi et al. (US 20210005583 A1) hereafter referred to as Iguchi
In regard to claim 19 Iguchi teaches a method of manufacturing a display substrate [see paragraph 0077, see “FIG. 9 is a schematic sectional view of a pixel region of an image display device according to a sixth embodiment” “FIG. 10 is a schematic plan view of the pixel region of the image display device according to the sixth embodiment”], the display substrate having a display region, and the method comprising:
providing a base substrate [see “driving circuit substrate 50”];
constituting a plurality of pixel units [“As illustrated in FIG. 2, the upper surface of the image display device 200 is the pixel region 1 in which a plurality of pixels 5 are arranged in an array shape”] on a side of the base substrate, wherein the plurality of pixel units are arranged in an array in the display region, each pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels [see Fig. 10], and the sub-pixels comprise sub-pixel openings [“blue micro light emitting element 100B, the red micro light emitting element 100R, and the green micro light emitting element 100G, excluding a side thereof in the light emission direction, are surrounded and covered with an embedding material 60e, as with the first embodiment”] defined by a pixel defining layer provided on the base substrate;
constituting a plurality of sub-pixel lenses [“micro lens 40”] on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the base substrate, wherein the sub-pixel lenses have corresponding sub-pixel openings [see under the lens in Fig. 9] in the pixel defining layer on a side close to the base substrate,wherein the plurality of sub-pixels of each pixel unit comprise [“As illustrated in FIG. 10, the pixel 5 includes two green subpixels 8 each including one green micro light emitting element 100G (micro light emitting element)”] at least two sub- pixels having a same color;
an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10 see paragraph 0036 “In an example shown in FIG. 2, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 as seen from the upper surface side (the light emitting surface 101 side) is substantially a square. However, the shape of the micro light emitting element 100 is not particularly limited”] on the base substrate is a parallelogram,
an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel lens [see Fig. 10 see 40 is a circle see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”] on the base substrate is a circle, and the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is located within [see Fig. 10 see 40 is a circle and within it is “wavelength conversion portion 33” and see Fig. 9 the entire LED and wavelength conversion portion is in the opening in embedding material 60e, and this is within the circle of 40] the orthographic projection of the corresponding sub-pixel lens on the base substrate; and
adjacent side edges of two adjacent sub-pixel openings are arranged parallel [see Fig. 10 the square of the wavelength conversion portion is in the opening in embedding material 60e] to each other and spaced apart by a first distance [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10] D1, and closest points between adjacent sub-pixel lenses are spaced apart by [see Fig. 10 in either the vertical or horizontal direction, this is true because the lens 40 are circular thus they come closer together than the square 33] a second distance D2 less than the first distance D1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi
In regard to claim 2 Iguchi does not state wherein the orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-pixel lenses on the base substrate have a same diameter.
However see “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33”, see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”, see Fig. 3 Fig. 4 see paragraphs 0052-0064 the wavelength is not used to detemine the dimensions of the pixels, they are the same except for different wavelength conversion portion.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Iguchi to include wherein the orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-pixel lenses on the base substrate have a same diameter.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is ease of manufacture since Iguchi designs the pixel dimensions in one way only and uses different wavelength conversion portion for different wavelengths.
In regard to claim 3 Iguchi as combined in claim 2 teaches wherein an orthographic projection of a center of the sub-pixel lens on the base substrate coincides [see Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 7, Fig. 1 see paragraph 0046 “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33” “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”] with an orthographic projection of a center of the corresponding sub-pixel opening on the base substrate.
In regard to claim 4 Iguchi as combined in claim 2 teaches wherein each pixel unit comprises two first color sub-pixels having [see Fig. 10 green] the same color, a second color sub-pixel having a different [either red or blue] color from the first color sub-pixels, and a third color sub-pixel having [the remaining color in Fig. 10] a different color from the first color sub-pixels and the second color sub-pixel;first sub-pixel lenses corresponding to the first color sub-pixels has first centers [see Fig. 10 center of green see Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 7, Fig. 1 see paragraph 0046 “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33” “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”]; a second sub-pixel lens corresponding to the second color sub-pixel has [see Fig. 10 center of either red or blue] a second center; a third sub-pixel lens corresponding to the third color sub-pixel has [see Fig. 10 center of the remaining color] a third center;
but does not state and a shape formed by sequentially connecting the first centers, the second center and the third center is a square.
However see “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33”, see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”, see Fig. 3 Fig. 4 see paragraphs 0052-0064 the wavelength is not used to detemine the dimensions of the pixels, they are the same except for different wavelength conversion portion, and similarly Iguchi does not suggest placing the pixels in anything but a regular array i.e. at regular intervals in both vertical and horizontal directions of the display.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Iguchi to include and a shape formed by sequentially connecting the first centers, the second center and the third center is a square.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is ease of manufacture since Iguchi designs the pixel dimensions in one way only and the obtain best use of space in the array by placing the pixels at regular intervals in both vertical and horizontal directions of the display.
In regard to claim 5 Iguchi as combined in claim 4 teaches wherein the sub-pixels of the plurality of pixel units are spaced apart [see Fig. 10 they are in array form] in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction; andthe first distance D1 comprises: a first direction distance D11 [see Fig. 10] between adjacent side edges of sub-pixels adjacent in the first direction; a second direction distance D12 [see Fig. 10] between adjacent side edges of sub-pixels adjacent in the second direction; and the second direction distance D12 is greater than or [see claim 4 they are spaced at regular intervals in both vertical and horizontal directions of the display] equal to the first direction distance D11.
In regard to claim 6 Iguchi as combined in claim 4 teaches wherein the first color sub- pixel comprises a first [see Fig. 9, Fig. 7, Fig. 1] sub-pixel opening, the second color sub-pixel comprises a second [see Fig. 9, Fig. 7, Fig. 1] sub- pixel opening, and the third color sub-pixel comprises a third [see Fig. 9, Fig. 7, Fig. 1] sub-pixel opening; and an area S1 of the first sub-pixel opening, an area S2 of the second sub-pixel opening, and an area S3 of the third sub-pixel opening meet [see Fig. 9, Fig. 7, Fig. 1 see claim 4, claim 2 all the pixels are the same] a relationship of S1≥S2≥S3.
In regard to claim 7 Iguchi as combined teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the first sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is inscribed [see Fig. 10, see “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33”, see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”, see Fig. 3 Fig. 4 see paragraphs 0052-0064 the wavelength is not used to detemine the dimensions of the pixels, they are the same except for different wavelength conversion portion] in an orthographic projection of the first sub-pixel lens on the base substrate.
In regard to claim 8 Iguchi as combined teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the second sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is inscribed [see Fig. 10, see “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33”, see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”, see Fig. 3 Fig. 4 see paragraphs 0052-0064 the wavelength is not used to detemine the dimensions of the pixels, they are the same except for different wavelength conversion portion] in an orthographic projection of the second sub-pixel lens on the base substrate.
In regard to claim 9 Iguchi as combined teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the third sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is inscribed [see Fig. 10, see “The micro lens 40 and the partition wall 34c are similar to those of the fourth embodiment, which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The difference from FIG. 7 is that the light emitting surfaces 101B, 101R, and 101G are respectively the upper surfaces of the transparent portion 31, the red wavelength conversion portion 32, and the green wavelength conversion portion 33”, see paragraph 0046 “To be specific, the front surface of the micro lens 40 may be a spherical surface, and the center of the spherical surface may be located within ±1 μm with respect to the center of the light emitting surface 101”, see Fig. 3 Fig. 4 see paragraphs 0052-0064 the wavelength is not used to detemine the dimensions of the pixels, they are the same except for different wavelength conversion portion] in an orthographic projection of the third sub-pixel lens on the base substrate.
In regard to claim 16 Iguchi as combined in claim 4 teaches [see Fig. 10 see one blue, one red and two green subpixels] wherein the first color sub- pixel comprises a blue sub-pixel, the second color sub-pixel comprises a green sub-pixel, and the third color sub-pixel comprises a red sub-pixel; anda ratio [see Fig. 9, Fig. 7, Fig. 1 see claim 4, claim 2 all the pixels are the same] of S2/S3 is in a range of 1 to 2.5.
In regard to claim 18 Iguchi does not state wherein the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate comprises a first side edge close to an adjacent sub-pixel opening;the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel lens corresponding to the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate has a first arc edge close to an adjacent sub-pixel lens, and the first side edge and the first arc edge are located on a same side of the orthographic projection; and a maximum distance D3 between the first side edge and the first arc edge is less than the second distance D2.
However see Iguchi Fig. 3 and Fig. 9 and see paragraph 0058 “Because Zh increases as D increases, it is necessary to increase the height of the partition wall 34. Accordingly, it is desirable that D be small so that the image display device 200 can be manufactured easily” “In the example shown in FIG. 3, Zh=4.7 μm when Z=2 μm, θw=45 degrees, and α=60 degrees”, now see Fig. 9 since θw is known the spacing between the lens can be calculated based on the height, similarly for a given circle of the shape of the lens, a square fitting in the circle with a common centre can be determined, thus obtaining D3, see “The graph 406 of FIG. 4 shows the dependency of the light extraction efficiency on the height of the partition wall 34 (θw=60 degrees). As the height of the partition wall 34 increases, the light extraction efficiency of light at an emission angle of 40 degrees or smaller increases. However, it is not possible to make the partition wall 34 excessively high. As illustrated in FIG. 3, as the height of the partition wall 34 increases, the width of a bottom part of the partition wall 34 increases, and the size of the light emitting surface becomes limited. Accordingly, the height of the partition wall 34 may be about the same as the height of the micro lens 40”.
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “wherein the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate comprises a first side edge close to an adjacent sub-pixel opening;the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel lens corresponding to the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate has a first arc edge close to an adjacent sub-pixel lens, and the first side edge and the first arc edge are located on a same side of the orthographic projection; and a maximum distance D3 between the first side edge and the first arc edge is less than the second distance D2 ”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi in view of Jung et al. (US 20190165061 A1) hereafter referred to as Jung
In regard to claim 10 Iguchi teaches wherein the display substrate further comprises:
an anode layer [see Fig. 1 “P-electrode 23P is connected to the P-drive electrode 51 formed on the driving circuit substrate 50”] provided between the pixel defining layer [see Fig. 9 see portion of 60e goes above 51] and the base substrate,
the anode layer comprises:
a first anode [see Fig. 9 each subpixel has an anode] corresponding to the first color sub-pixel;
a second anode [see Fig. 9 each subpixel has an anode] corresponding to the second color sub-pixel;
a third anode [see Fig. 9 each subpixel has an anode] corresponding to the third color sub-pixel; and
an orthographic projection [see Fig. 9 each subpixel has an anode so they do not overlap] of the first anode on the base substrate, an orthographic projection of the second anode on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the third anode on the base substrate [see Fig. 9 each subpixel has an anode so they do not overlap] do not overlap
but does not teach in Fig. 9 wherein the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the anode layer on the base substrate.
See Fig. 14 see “P-drive electrode 51d (first electrode), a red light emission layer 110R formed thereon, and a common N-electrode 30 (second electrode) formed thereon” “As a modification of the ninth embodiment, each of the light emission layers 110B, 110R, and 110G may be replaced with, instead of a QLED, an organic light-emitting diode (OLED). An OLED has, as with a QLED, a configuration such that a light emission layer is disposed between the electron transport layer 121 and the hole transport layer 122”, see that the extent of electrode 51d is the larger than the light emission layers.
See Jung teaches “organic light emitting display device”, see Fig. 3 “first electrode 211 overlaps at least a portion of the pixel defining layer 190 and does not overlap the pixel defining layer 190 at the first opening 195” see that pixel defining layer 190 corresponds to embedding material 60e of Iguchi , see Jung teaches “When the OLED 210 is a top emission type, the first electrode 211 may be a reflective electrode” “organic emitting layer 212 may be on the first electrode 211” “second electrode 213 may be a common electrode and may be a cathode”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Iguchi to include that wherein the orthographic projection of the sub-pixel opening on the base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the anode layer on the base substrate.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that using a common cathode on top, with the entire base being the anode and the pixel defining layer defining the pixel on the anode, gives excellent light output with lower resistance of the device.
In regard to claim 12 Iguchi and Jung as combined teaches wherein the first anode comprises a first sub-anode [see Iguchi Fig. 9 see combination, each subpixel has its own anode] corresponding to one of the first color sub-pixels, and a second sub- anode [see Iguchi Fig. 9 see combination, each subpixel has its own anode] corresponding to the other of the first color sub-pixels; andan orthographic projection [see Iguchi Fig. 9 see combination, each subpixel has its own anode so they do not overlap] of the first sub-anode on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the second sub-anode on the base substrate do not overlap.
In regard to claim 13 Iguchi and Jung as combined teaches [see Iguchi “In general, the driving circuit substrate 50 is a silicon substrate (semiconductor substrate) in which a large-scale integration (LSI) is formed, a glass substrate in which thin film transistors (TFTs) are formed, or the like. The function and configuration of the driving circuit substrate 50, which can be manufactured by using a known technology, will not be described in detail”]
but does not show in Fig. 9 wherein the display substrate further comprises:a control circuit provided between the anode layer and the base substrate, wherein the control circuit comprises a first control sub-circuit configured to control an on/off state of the first sub-anode and a second control sub-circuit configured to control an on/off state of the second sub-anode.
However see Jung Fig. 3 see each pixel i.e. subpixel has “TFT 20 applies, to a first electrode 211, a driving power for emitting a light from an organic light emitting layer 212 of an OLED 210 in a selected pixel PX”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Iguchi to include wherein the display substrate further comprises:a control circuit provided between the anode layer and the base substrate, wherein the control circuit comprises a first control sub-circuit configured to control an on/off state of the first sub-anode and a second control sub-circuit configured to control an on/off state of the second sub-anode.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to indicidually control light output of each subpixel to generate a desired color image.
Conclusion
/SITARAMARAO S YECHURI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893