DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage filing under 35 USC 371 claiming priority to EP21203745.1. No copy of the priority application can be found in the file wrapper and no copy is found on the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) website.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/013219 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a coated cutting tool comprising a substrate and first and second stacks alternated at least twice each of nanolayers A and B having an A+B period thickness of 15-50 nm for the 1st layer stack and 2-10 for the 2nd layer stack where nanolayer A is (Ti1-a-bAlaMb)N where 0.5≤a≤0.75, 0≤b0.10 and M is one or more of Cr, Zr, Nb, Mo, Ta, and V and where nanolayer B is (Ti1-c-dSicMd)N where 0.10≤c≤0.25, 0≤d≤0.10 and M is one or more of Cr, Zr, Nb, Mo, Ta, and V. Claim 1 of the ‘219 application recites a coated cutting tool comprising a substrate with a nano-multilayer coating of alternating first and second nanolayers where the first nanolayer is Ti1-xAlxN where 0.35≤x≤0.70 and the second nanolayer is Ti1-ySiyN where 0.12≤y≤0.25 and the sequence of the 1st and 2nd nanolayers having a period thickness of less than or equal to 7 nm and the nano-multilayer has a columnar structure.
The instant claims and those of the ‘219 application recite overlapping, alternating nanolayers with a composition and thickness overlapping and the courts have held that these overlapping ranges establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 2 recites an average period thickness not expressly overlapping the claimed thickness, but the courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device and is therefore obvious over claim 1 of the ‘219 application. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) and Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Instant claim 3 recites an overlapping thickness with claim 1 of the ‘219 application. Instant claims 4-7 recites a composition overlapping claims 1-3 of the ‘219 application. Instant claims 8 and 11 recite stacks overlapping claim 1 of the ‘219 application. Instant claim 9 recites a starting layer and thickness overlapping claim 10 of the ‘219 application. Instant claim 10 recites a total thickness overlapping claim 8 of the ’219 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Andersson et al. (US 2012/0114436).
Considering claim 1, Andersson teaches a cutting tool of a substrate and coating thereon of alternating A and B layers (abstract). The alternating layers have an individual layer thickness of 1-50 nm and layer A has a composition of (Ti1-xAlxMe1p)Na where 0.3<x<0.95, 0.90<a<1.10, and 0≤p<0.15 where Me1 is groups 3-6 of the periodic table (e.g. nanolayer A), layer B is (Ti1-y-zSiyMe2z)Nb where 0.05<y<0.25, 0≤z<0.4, 0.9<b<1.1 (e.g. nanolayer B) (Paragraph 16). The thickness of the nanolaminated structure is taught to range from 0.5-20 µm (Paragraph 15).
While not expressly teaching the claimed nano-multilayer coating, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Andersson as this is considered a combination of conventionally known coatings with overlapping compositions and thicknesses known to afford wear resistant cutting tools and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Andersson teaches a plurality of alternating A and B layers and any particular group of repeating A+B layers may be considered grouped as the claimed stacks and alternating groups of these stacks as there are no particular claimed features (thickness, composition, etc.) which differ the claimed first and second stacks and therefore Andersson is considered to meet the claimed limitations.
Considering claims 2-3, Andersson teaches where the individual layers have a thickness of 1-50 nm and this encompasses where a period of A+B layers would range from 2-100 nm in thickness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 4 and 6, Andersson teaches where layer A is (Ti1-xAlxMe1p)Na where 0.3<x<0.95, 0.90<a<1.10, and 0≤p<0.15 where Me1 is groups 3-6 of the periodic table and group 6 comprises Cr (Paragraph 16). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5 and 7, Andersson teaches where layer B is (Ti1-y-zSiyMe2z)Nb where 0.05<y<0.25, 0≤z<0.4, 0.9<b<1.1 and where Me2 is elements of groups 3-6 of the periodic table and group 6 comprises Cr (Paragraph 16).
Considering claim 8 and 11, Andersson teaches where the thickness of the nanolaminated structure ranges from 0.5-20 µm (Paragraph 15) and where the individual layers have a thickness of 1-50 nm (Paragraph 16) overlapping the claimed number of stacks.
Considering claim 9, Andersson teaches an inner single or multilayer coating between the substrate and nanolaminated coating with a thickness of between 0.5-30 µm (Paragraph 23).
Considering claim 10, Andersson teaches where the thickness of the nanolaminated structure ranges from 0.5-20 µm (Paragraph 15). See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
Ni et al. (US 8,409,695) teaches multilayer TiAlN and TiSiN coatings similar to that which is claimed. Asari et al. (US 2015/0203956), Kumar et al. (US 2018/0347027), and Hirano et al. (US 2019/0061013) teach coated cutting tools similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784