DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11-13, 15, 17-20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 2024/0163965 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Lin discloses a receiving method for a discontinuous reception (DRX) command, comprising:
receiving, by a receiving end, the DRX command (40th – 41st paragraphs, a terminal device receives MAC layer control information from an access network device. The MAC layer control information may be DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE), wherein the DRX command is indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressed to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (83rd paragraph, PDCCH scrambled with G-RNTI), and the RNTI comprises a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), the G-RNTI corresponds to a multicast session and is configured to indicate a group of user equipment receiving the multicast session (83rd paragraph, when MAC CE is applicable to multicast service, G-RNTI is used to scrambled the PDCCH. The G-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to scheduling the multicast service. Herein, multicast service is a service provided to a group of user equipment); and
after receiving the DRX command, using, by the receiving end, a DRX cycle corresponding to the G-RNTI for the multicast session corresponding to the G-RNTI (61st and 122nd paragraphs, it is determined that the MAC layer control information indicates long DRX cycle based on LCID, and when the MAC layer control information is applicable to multicast service, the DRX cycle corresponding to the multicast service is switched to the long DRX cycle).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Lin discloses that after receiving the DRX command, performing, by the receiving end in a random order, at least one of the following: using the drx-LongCycle-PTM of the DRX for the G-RNTI (61st paragraph, using long DRX cycle for multicast service); stopping the drx-onDurationTimerPTM of the DRX for the G-RNTI; and stopping drx-InactivityTimerPTM of the DRX for the G-RNTI.
Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, and 23, Lin discloses that wherein the DRX command is a MAC layer message and is indicated by a MAC subheader with an LCID (42nd paragraph, the terminal device receives MAC sub PDU, and the MAC sub PDU a subheader and a payload. The subheader contains a logical channel identification, LCID), and the LCID is configured to indicate one of the following:
a type of the MAC layer message as a DRX command for a unicast session or a long DRX command for a unicast session (42nd and 65th paragraphs, LCID indicates a type of the MAC layer control information in the payload. The LCID may indicate whether the payload contains DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE. LCID A and B, for example, are defined for multicast service. LCID C and D, for example, are defined for unicast service); or
a type of the MAC layer message as a common DRX command or a common long DRX command; or
a type of the MAC layer message as DRX commands for all multicast sessions or long DRX commands for all multicast sessions; or
a type of the MAC layer message as a DRX command for a multicast session corresponding to at least one of the G-RNTI, a temporary mobile group identifier (TMGI), or a session identifier; or
a type of the MAC layer message as a long DRX command for a multicast session corresponding to at least one of the G-RNTI, a TMGI, or a session identifier.
Regarding claims 6, 12, 18, and 24, Lin discloses receiving, by the receiving end, the DRX command (40th – 41st paragraphs, a terminal device receives MAC layer control information from an access network device. The MAC layer control information may be DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE); wherein the RNTI comprises a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and the DRX command is indicated by the PDCCH addressed to the G-RNTI or the C-RNTI (83rd paragraph, C-RNTI is used to scramble the PDCCH for unicast service and G-RNTI is used to scramble PDCCH for multicast service); obtaining at least one of the G-RNTI, a TMGI, or a session identifier indicated by at least one of the DRX command or a MAC subheader (83rd paragraph, when MAC CE is applicable to multicast service, G-RNTI is used to scrambled the PDCCH. The G-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to scheduling the multicast service. Herein, multicast service is a service provided to a group of user equipment); and after receiving the DRX command, using, by the receiving end, the DRX cycle for the multicast session corresponding to the at least one of the G-RNTI, the TMGI, or the session identifier (61st and 122nd paragraphs, it is determined that the MAC layer control information indicates long DRX cycle based on LCID, and when the MAC layer control information is applicable to multicast service, the DRX cycle corresponding to the multicast service is switched to the long DRX cycle).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Lin discloses that after receiving the DRX command, further comprising: in response to the receiving end having configured a DRX short cycle for multicast corresponding to the G-RNTI, for the multicast session corresponding to the G-RNTI, performing at least one of: using the DRX short cycle for multicast corresponding to the G-RNTI (62nd paragraph, MAC layer control information indicates short DRX cycle based on LCDI and when the MAC layer control information is applicable to multicast service, the DRX cycle corresponding to the multicast service is switched to short DRX cycle), or starting the DRX short cycle counter for multicast corresponding to the G-RNTI; or in response to the receiving end not configuring a DRX short cycle for multicast corresponding to the G-RNTI, using the DRX long cycle for multicast corresponding to the G- RNTI for the multicast session corresponding to the G-RNTI (alternative).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses a receiving end (Fig. 15, terminal device) for a discontinuous reception (DRX) command, comprising at least one processor (Fig. 15, processor) and at least one memory for storing execution instructions (Fig. 15, storage medium storing computer program) that when executed by the at least one processor cause the receiving end to:
receive the DRX command (40th – 41st paragraphs, a terminal device receives MAC layer control information from an access network device. The MAC layer control information may be DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE); and
monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) indicating the DRX command, wherein the PDCCH is addressed to a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (83rd paragraph, PDCCH scrambled with G-RNTI), and the RNTI comprises a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), the G-RNTI corresponds to a multicast session and is configured to indicate a group of user equipment receiving the multicast session (83rd paragraph, when MAC CE is applicable to multicast service, G-RNTI is used to scrambled the PDCCH. The G-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to scheduling the multicast service. Herein, multicast service is a service provided to a group of user equipment); and
after the DRX command is received, use a DRX cycle corresponding to the G-RNTI for the multicast session corresponding to the G-RNTI (61st and 122nd paragraphs, it is determined that the MAC layer control information indicates long DRX cycle based on LCID, and when the MAC layer control information is applicable to multicast service, the DRX cycle corresponding to the multicast service is switched to the long DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses a sending end (Fig. 16, access network device) for a discontinuous reception (DRX) command, comprising at least one processor (Fig. 16, processor) and at least one memory for storing execution instructions (Fig. 16, storage medium storing computer program) that when executed by the at least one processor cause the sending end to:
send the DRX command (40th – 41st paragraphs, a terminal device receives MAC layer control information from an access network device. The MAC layer control information may be DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE); and
scramble a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scheduling the DRX command by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), wherein the RNTI comprises a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (83rd paragraph, PDCCH scrambled with G-RNTI), and the G-RNTI corresponds to a multicast session and is configured to indicate a group of user equipment receiving the multicast session (83rd paragraph, when MAC CE is applicable to multicast service, G-RNTI is used to scrambled the PDCCH. The G-RNTI is an RNTI dedicated to scheduling the multicast service. Herein, multicast service is a service provided to a group of user equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin view of Shrivastava et al (US 2024/018723 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 14, and 21, Lin discloses receiving MAC layer control information and adjusting the duration of the DRX cycle based on MAY layer control information (Figs. 11 and 12). Lin does not disclose that before receiving, by the receiving end in a random order, at least one of the following parameters corresponding to the G-RNTI:
a drx-onDurationTimerPTM configured to time a duration for receiving at a beginning of the DRX cycle;
a drx-InactivityTimerPTM configured to time a duration for receiving after the PDCCH is monitored by the receiving end;
a drx-LongCycle-PTM configured to denote a total duration of a long DRX cycle used by the receiving end;
a drx-LongCycleStartOffset-PTM configured to denote that the receiving end uses a long DRX cycle from the drx-LongCycleStartOffset-PTM; or
a drx-SlotOffsetPTM configured to denote that the receiving end uses a long DRX cycle from a drx-SlotOffsetPTM in a drx- LongCycleStartOffset-PTM.
Shrivastava discloses receiving the initial DRX timers for G-RNTI including drx-onDurationTimerPTM timer, drx-InactivityTimerPTM timer, drx-LongCyclePTM, etc… (60th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include initial DRX timers in Lin’s system, as suggested by Shrivastava, to perform initial DRX operations of a DRX cycle.
Claims 4, 10, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin view of Kim et al (US 2023/0042702 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, and 22, Lin discloses that the DRX command is a medium access control (MAC) layer message and is indicated by a MAC subheader with a logical channel identifier (LCID) (42nd paragraph, the terminal device receives MAC sub PDU, and the MAC sub PDU a subheader and a payload. The subheader contains a logical channel identification, LCID), wherein the LCID is configured to indicate a type of the MAC layer message as the DRX command (42nd and 65th paragraphs, LCID indicates a type of the MAC layer control information in the payload. The LCID may indicate whether the payload contains DRX command MAC CE or long DRX command MAC CE).
Lin does not disclose that the DRX command has a fixed size of 0 bits. Kim discloses that the DRX command MAC CE configured with a subheader having LCID and a payload is zero bit (172nd paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include zero bit payload of DRX command MAC CE in Lin’s system, as suggested by Kim, to indicate an activation or deactivation of a DRX command MAC CE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 14 that the above-emphasized limitation of claim 1 establishes a technical mechanism in which each G-RNTI is associated with a dedicated set of DRX cycle parameters. In other words, a correspondence is established between a specific G-RNTI and a specific DRX cycle (or DRX parameter set or a multicast session), such that different G-RNTIs correspond to different DRX cycle parameters. The sending end configures each G-RNTI with a dedicated and independent set of multicast DRX parameters. Upon receiving the DRX command associated with a specific G-RNTI, the receiving end applies the DRX cycle that is exclusively bound to that G-RNTI. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite each G-RNTI is associated with a set of DRX cycle parameters nor a correspondence is established between a specific G-RNTI and a specific DRX cycle such that different G-RNTIs correspond to different DRX cycle parameters nor upon receiving the DRX command associated with a specific G-RNTI, the receiving end applies the DRX cycle that is exclusively bound to that G-RNTI. Lin discloses that it is determined that the MAC layer control information indicates long DRX cycle based on LCID, and when the MAC layer control information is applicable to multicast service, the DRX cycle corresponding to the multicast service is switched to the long DRX cycle (61st and 122nd paragraphs). Herein, the long DRX cycle is associated with the multicast service and corresponding to the G-RNTI (83rd paragraph).
Applicant states in page 15 that as indicated in the originally filed application, the receiving end receives the DRX command from the sending end where the DRX command has a correspondence with a specific G-RNTI and a specific multicast session. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Limitations from the specification are not part of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472