DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 4/18/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 4-15 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitations "board-side terminal" and “stator-side terminal” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the terms are disclosed in claim 2 but claim 3 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. H09-154260 to Mukaide et al. (hereinafter Mukaide; provided by Applicant on 4/18/2024) in view of WIPO Publication No. 2012/017646 to Kondo et al. (hereinafter Kondo).
Regarding claim 1, Mukaide teaches an electric motor (Paragraph [0001]) comprising:
a stator (FIG. 1, 1);
a rotor (FIG. 1, 4) disposed inside the stator and including a rotor core, a shaft (FIG. 1, 5) provided inside the rotor core, first and second bearings (see annotated FIG. 1) rotatably supporting the shaft;
a circuit board (FIG. 1, 11) facing the first bearing;
a board-side molded resin (FIG. 1, 3) covering at least part of the circuit board and including a first bearing housing (see annotated FIG. 1) holding the first bearing; and
a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 1, 2) that is a different component from the board-side molded resin, the stator-side molded resin covering at least part of the stator and including a second bearing housing (see annotated FIG. 1) holding the second bearing.
Mukaide does not explicitly teach the board-side molded resin being a non-conductive resin, and the stator-side molded resin being a non-conductive resin.
However, Kondo teaches a motor with a board-side molded resin and a stator-side molded resin being a non-conductive resin (Translation Page 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide with the non-conductive resin of Kondo to further insulate the components of the electric motor and prevent unwanted electrical conduction and damage.
Regarding claim 4, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein Mukaide further teaches the first bearing housing including: a bottom surface facing the first bearing (see annotated FIG. 1); and an opening formed on an opposite side from the circuit board with the bottom surface in between in an axial direction (see annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein Mukaide further teaches the rotor core being provided between the first bearing and the second bearing (FIG. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 6, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein Kondo further teaches the board-side molded resin being a thermosetting resin, and the stator-side molded resin being a thermosetting resin (Translation Page 4).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2016-025847 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang; provided by Applicant on 4/18/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1, wherein Mukaide teaches the stator including a winding (Paragraph [0004]).
Mukaide does not teach a board-side terminal electrically connected to the circuit board, wherein the stator includes a stator-side terminal electrically connected to the winding, an end of the board-side terminal is exposed outside the board-side molded resin, and an end of the stator-side terminal is exposed outside the stator-side molded resin.
However, Wang teaches an electric motor with a board-side terminal (FIG. 4, 1b) electrically connected to a circuit board, wherein the stator includes a stator-side terminal (FIG. 4, 2c) electrically connected to a winding, and end of the board-side terminal being exposed outside the board-side molded resin, and an end of the stator-side terminal being exposed outside the stator-side molded resin (FIG. 4, center of portion 2d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the exposed terminals of Wang to provide electrical communication between the circuit board and the stator winding to further increase the efficiency of operation of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 3, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a lead wire that electrically connects the end of the board-side terminal and the end of the stator-side terminal.
However, Wang teaches an electric motor with a lead wire (FIG. 4, 2a) that electrically connects a board-side terminal (FIG. 4, 1b) and a stator-side terminal (FIG. 4, 2c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the lead wire of Wang to provide electrical communication between the circuit board and the stator winding to further increase the efficiency of operation of the electric motor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and in further view of Japanese Patent No. H11-166500 to Umeda et al. (hereinafter Umeda; provided by Applicant on 4/18/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a resin provided between the rotor core and the shaft, wherein the shaft is spaced apart from the rotor core.
However, Umeda teaches a resin (FIG. 1, 10) provided between a rotor core (FIG. 1, 7) and a shaft (FIG. 1, 9), wherein the shaft is spaced apart from the rotor core (FIG. 1; 7, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the shaft resin of Umeda as it would help prevent static charge buildup on the shaft which could damage other components.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2018-201294 to Yoshida (provided by Applicant on 4/18/2024).
Regarding claim 8, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach the board-side molded resin and the stator-side molded resin being assembled with each other by press fit.
However, Yoshida teaches a board-side molded resin (FIG. 2, 23) and a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 2, 22) being assembled with each other by press fit (FIG. 2, 232; Paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the press fitting of Yoshida to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Claims 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2012-182957 to Maeyama et al. (hereinafter Maeyama; provided by Applicant on 4/18/2024).
Regarding claim 9, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach the board-side molded resin and the stator-side molded resin being combined with each other by a screw.
However, Maeyama teaches a board-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 70) and a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 60) combined with each other by a screw (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the screw of Maeyama to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Regarding claim 10, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a female screw embedded in the stator-side molded resin; and a male screw to combine the board-side molded resin with the stator-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the female screw.
However, Maeyama teaches a female screw (FIG. 8, 661) embedded in a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 60); and a male screw to combine a board-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 70) with the stator-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the female screw (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the screw of Maeyama to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Regarding claim 11, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a female screw embedded in the board-side molded resin; and a male screw to combine the stator-side molded resin with the board-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the female screw.
However, Maeyama teaches a female screw (FIG. 8, 771) embedded in a board-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 70); and a male screw to combine a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 60) with the board-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the female screw (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the screw of Maeyama to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Regarding claim 13, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a fixing part provided in the board-side molded resin; and a male screw to combine the stator-side molded resin with the board-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the fixing part.
However, Maeyama teaches a fixing part (FIG. 8, 771) provided in a board-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 70); and a male screw to combine a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 60) with the board-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the fixing part (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the screw of Maeyama to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Regarding claim 14, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach a fixing part embedded in the stator-side molded resin; and a male screw to combine the board-side molded resin with the stator-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the fixing part.
However, Maeyama teaches a fixing part (FIG. 8, 661) embedded in a stator-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 60); and a male screw to combine a board-side molded resin (FIG. 8, 70) with the stator-side molded resin, wherein the male screw is fixed to the fixing part (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the screw of Maeyama to provide a more secure physical connection between the stator and the board.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and Maeyama and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0133935 to Kinugawa et al. (hereinafter Kinugawa).
Regarding claim 12, Mukaide in view of Kondo and Maeyama teaches the electric motor according to claim 10.
Mukaide in view of Kondo and Maeyama does not teach an insulating member provided in the stator, wherein the female screw is united with the insulating member by the stator-side molded resin.
However, Kinugawa teaches an insulating member (FIG. 2, 11) provided in a stator, where a female screw (FIG. 2, 19a) is united with the insulating member by the stator-side molded resin (FIG. 2, 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo with the insulating member of Kinugawa to further prevent possible unwanted electrical conductivity through the screw and into the stator.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaide in view of Kondo and in further view of Chinese Patent No. 112366852 to Yong et al. (hereinafter Yong).
Regarding claim 15, Mukaide in view of Kondo teaches the electric motor according to claim 1.
Mukaide in view of Kondo does not teach an air conditioner comprising: an indoor unit; and an outdoor unit to be connected to the indoor unit, wherein the indoor unit, the outdoor unit, or each of the indoor unit and the outdoor unit includes the electric motor.
However, Yong teaches an air conditioner comprising: an indoor unit; and an outdoor unit to be connected to the indoor unit, wherein the indoor unit, the outdoor unit, or each of the indoor unit and the outdoor unit includes an electric motor (Paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo by incorporating it into the air conditioner of Yong for the air conditioner of Yong to benefit from the features of the electric motor of Mukaide in view of Kondo.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834