DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-2 are objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaughan et al. US PGPUB 2019/0375308.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Vaughn discloses electric vehicle (EV) supply equipment configured to electrically connect with a plurality of EVs [figs. 2 & 4] comprising:
one or more active cables configured to electrically connect with EVs [fig. 2; 152];
one or more queue cables configured to electrically connect with EVs [pars. 58 & 60-61; a dispenser with no power modules allocated to it (waiting dispensers)];
wherein the EV supply equipment detects a plurality of EVs are electrically connected to EV supply equipment via the active cable(s) and the queue cable(s) that communicate electrical current from a grid to vehicle batteries on the EVs [par. 53-54];
assign a queue value to each EV based on the order in which the EV electrically connected to the EV supply equipment [pars. 39-41; prioritizing charging sessions and dispensers, which can be on first come first serve basis (par. 30];
determines that the quantity of EVs electrically connected to the EV supply equipment exceeds a maximum number of EVs the EV supply equipment can charge at once [fig. 4, step 425; pars. 55 & 59-60; if no power is available for a new dispenser at step 425 the determination is made of “NO” and alternative action can take place].
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Vaughan discloses determining that an EV has been disconnected from the EV supply equipment and updating the queue value associated with each EV [fig. 4, 460; par. 58].
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Vaughan discloses the step of reducing an amount of electrical current delivered to the active cables and also providing electrical current to the queue cables [pars. 58 & 60-61; a dispenser with no power modules allocated to it can have power modules reallocated to it by deallocating modules from other dispensers].
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Vaughan discloses the step of receiving payment and changing the queue value of an EV in response [par. 40].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bennett to further include the steps of receiving payment and changing the queue value of an EV in response for the purpose of allowing customers to pay a premium for priority, as taught by Vaughan (par. 40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Atluri US PGPUB 2022/0097540 discloses a system for charging a plurality of vehicles connected to dispensers and scheduling the charging.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859