DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed on April 18, 2024.
Claims 1-6 are presented for Examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Suggested title “a hybrid system that can improve safety of a secondary battery that supplies power to a motor generator”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawahara et al (US 20110313613).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kawahara et al disclose that a hybrid system(Fig.1-3) comprising:
a motor generator (Fig.2:200);
a secondary battery (Fig.2:100) that is provided as a drive power source for the motor generator and supplies power to the motor generator;
a positive electrode-side contactor (Fig.2:430) that opens and closes an electric circuit between a positive electrode of the secondary battery and the motor generator;
a negative electrode-side contactor (Fig.2:440) that opens and closes an electric circuit between a negative electrode of the secondary battery and the motor generator;
a first control unit (Fig.2:130) that controls one of the positive electrode-side contactor and the negative electrode-side contactor; and
a second control unit (Fig.2:8) that controls the other of the positive electrode-side contactor and the negative electrode-side contactor, based on a control signal transmitted from the first control unit.
Regarding claim 2, Kawahara et al disclose that wherein
the first control unit and the second control unit communicate with each other (Fig. 1:8,130),
the second control unit (8) monitors a state of the secondary battery, and
when the second control unit detects an abnormality in the secondary battery, the first control unit executes control to open the one of the contactors, and the second control unit executes control to open the other of the contactors independently without depending on the control signal ([0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Kawahara et al disclose that wherein
the first control unit (130) and the second control unit (8) communicate with each other and monitor mutual states thereof,
when the first control unit detects an abnormality in the second control unit, the first control unit executes control to open the one of the contactors, and
when the second control unit detects an abnormality in the first control unit, the second control unit independently executes control to open the other of the contactors without depending on the control signal ([0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Kawahara et al disclose that wherein
the one of the contactors is the positive electrode-side contactor (430), and
the other of the contactors is the negative electrode-side contactor (440).
Regarding claim 5, Kawahara et al disclose that wherein
the first control unit (Fig.1: 130) is an engine (Fig.1: 200) control unit that controls an engine, and
the second control unit is a battery management unit (Fig.1: 8) that is built into a battery pack and controls an operation of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 6, Kawahara et al disclose that wherein
the secondary battery is a lithium-ion battery ([0061]).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846