DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, it is not clear what is meant by a cross section being “substantially” polygonal.
Regarding claim 5, it is not clear what constitutes a “coarse” aggregate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 2018/0127833 A, published 30 Nov. 2018).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Kim teaches bonding of parts by forming grooves on one surface of the first material with depths of 150-200 µm (corresponding to claimed roughness) and molding a second part (bracket) onto this grooved surface (Abstract, paragraph 0023, and Figure 2 [reproduced below, see original Korean patent document]). Kim teaches the first surface is metal, and the second part is a synthetic resin material (claim 4).
It is the examiner’s position that the corrugated surface taught by Kim is a concavo-convex shaped surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomogami and Itagaki (WO 2019/035395 A1, published 21 Feb. 2019, hereinafter Tomogami).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 7, Tomogami teaches a power transmission shaft comprising a metal shaft member and a resin shaft member (resin bracket), in which the metal shaft member and resin shaft member (resin bracket) are joined via a fastening structure formed by the plastic flowing onto and solidifying on a fine corrugated (that is, a concavo-convex) surface (Abstract). Tomogami teaches the uneven depth W (corresponding to claimed roughness) is about 5 to 200 µm (paragraph 0033 and Figures 2-3 and 5-6 [reproduced below from original WO patent document].
The recesses shown in the above figures form both the concavo-convex surface of claim 1 and the groove-shaped recess of claim 2.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected roughness values from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by Tomogami because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
In light of the overlap between the claimed joining joint made of metal and that disclosed by Tomogami, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a joining joint made of metal that is both disclosed by Tomogami is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takihana et al. (US Patent Application 2016/0303820 A1, published 20 Oct. 2016, hereinafter Takihana).
Regarding claim 1, Takihana teaches a metal-resin composite, in which the metal member has a roughened surface that has fine irregularities with depressions having concavo-convex shapes (Abstract, paragraphs 0021 and 0028, and Figures 1-2, reproduced below). Takihana teaches the metal surface has roughness Ra of 0.5-40 microns (paragraph 0035).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected roughness values from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Takihana because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
In light of the overlap between the claimed joining joint made of metal and that disclosed by Takihana, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a joining joint made of metal that is both disclosed by Takihana is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Kim, Tomogami, and Takihana do not teach or disclose a recess formed in a circumferential direction of a side surface.
Conclusion
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787