DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated July 10, 2026, in response to a non-final office action. Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 have been amended. Claims 8 and 10 have been cancelled. Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210235455, hereinafter, “Khoshnevisan ‘455”).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan ‘455 teaches:
A terminal comprising (Khoshnevisan ‘455: UE 104. Figs. 1, 3, 6):
a receiver (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0070] ... The UE 104 may include the SFN receiver component 140 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0075] In an aspect, a DCI 622 indicating two or more TCI states may be transmitted [to UE 104] as an SFN transmission in which two or more TCI states apply to a PDCCH DMRS port and a transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. In an aspect, the DCI 622 may be transmitted as an SFN transmission on the PDCCH candidate(s) configured for scheduling an SFN transmission. In an aspect, when the DCI 622 is transmitted as an SFN transmission, the DCI 622 may not explicitly indicate the two or more TCI states for the PDSCH. Instead, the two or more TCI states for the PDCCH may also apply to the PDSCH. That is, the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH may be the same as the two or more TCI states that apply to the PDCCH DMRS port and the transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. Alternatively, the DCI 622 may indicate two or more TCI states that are different than the TCI states for the DCI and are applicable to the PDSCH. That is, the DCI 622 may include a TCI field that indicates the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH. Figs. 1, 3, 6) and receives a radio resource control (RRC) parameter indicating whether one TCI state of two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0060] … RX processor 356 … controller/processor 359 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that, when the two TCI states are indicated by the DCI, determines, based on the RRC parameter, whether a first TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH, a second TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630. The configuration controller 640 may transmit the RRC message 610 prior to transmitting the DCI 622. Accordingly, when the UE 104 receives the DCI 622, the UE 104 may interpret the two or more TCI states based on the RRC message 610. Figs. 1, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan ‘455 discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above
Khoshnevisan ‘455 further teaches:
wherein a configuration by the RRC parameter includes a configuration of a single frequency network (SFN) PDSCH scheme (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan ‘455 teaches:
A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising (Khoshnevisan ‘455: UE 104. Figs. 1, 3, 6):
receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0075] In an aspect, a DCI 622 indicating two or more TCI states may be transmitted [to UE 104] as an SFN transmission in which two or more TCI states apply to a PDCCH DMRS port and a transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. In an aspect, the DCI 622 may be transmitted as an SFN transmission on the PDCCH candidate(s) configured for scheduling an SFN transmission. In an aspect, when the DCI 622 is transmitted as an SFN transmission, the DCI 622 may not explicitly indicate the two or more TCI states for the PDSCH. Instead, the two or more TCI states for the PDCCH may also apply to the PDSCH. That is, the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH may be the same as the two or more TCI states that apply to the PDCCH DMRS port and the transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. Alternatively, the DCI 622 may indicate two or more TCI states that are different than the TCI states for the DCI and are applicable to the PDSCH. That is, the DCI 622 may include a TCI field that indicates the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH. Figs. 1, 3, 6);
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) parameter indicating whether one TCI state of two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6); and
when the two TCI states are indicated by the DCI, determining, based on the RRC parameter, whether a first TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH, a second TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630. The configuration controller 640 may transmit the RRC message 610 prior to transmitting the DCI 622. Accordingly, when the UE 104 receives the DCI 622, the UE 104 may interpret the two or more TCI states based on the RRC message 610. Figs. 1, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan ‘455 teaches:
A base station comprising (Khoshnevisan ‘455: base station 102. Figs. 1, 3, 6):
a transmitter (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0070] ... The base station 102 may include the SFN transmitter component 198 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that transmits downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0075] In an aspect, a DCI 622 indicating two or more TCI states may be transmitted [to UE 104] as an SFN transmission in which two or more TCI states apply to a PDCCH DMRS port and a transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. In an aspect, the DCI 622 may be transmitted as an SFN transmission on the PDCCH candidate(s) configured for scheduling an SFN transmission. In an aspect, when the DCI 622 is transmitted as an SFN transmission, the DCI 622 may not explicitly indicate the two or more TCI states for the PDSCH. Instead, the two or more TCI states for the PDCCH may also apply to the PDSCH. That is, the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH may be the same as the two or more TCI states that apply to the PDCCH DMRS port and the transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. Alternatively, the DCI 622 may indicate two or more TCI states that are different than the TCI states for the DCI and are applicable to the PDSCH. That is, the DCI 622 may include a TCI field that indicates the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH. Figs. 1, 3, 6) and transmits a radio resource control (RRC) parameter indicating whether one TCI state of two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6); and
a processor that (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0067] At least one of the TX processor 316, the RX processor 370, and the controller/processor 375 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6), when indicating the two TCI states by the DCI, determines, using the RRC parameter, whether a first TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH, a second TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 13, Khoshnevisan ‘455 teaches:
A system comprising a terminal and a base station (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0070] FIG. 6 is a diagram 600 illustrating example communications and components of a base station 102 and a UE 104. The UE 104 may include the SFN receiver component 140. The base station 102 may include the SFN transmitter component 198 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6), wherein
the terminal comprises:
a receiver (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0070] ... The UE 104 may include the SFN receiver component 140... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0075] In an aspect, a DCI 622 indicating two or more TCI states may be transmitted [to UE 104] as an SFN transmission in which two or more TCI states apply to a PDCCH DMRS port and a transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. In an aspect, the DCI 622 may be transmitted as an SFN transmission on the PDCCH candidate(s) configured for scheduling an SFN transmission. In an aspect, when the DCI 622 is transmitted as an SFN transmission, the DCI 622 may not explicitly indicate the two or more TCI states for the PDSCH. Instead, the two or more TCI states for the PDCCH may also apply to the PDSCH. That is, the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH may be the same as the two or more TCI states that apply to the PDCCH DMRS port and the transmission layer across all resource blocks and symbols of the DCI. Alternatively, the DCI 622 may indicate two or more TCI states that are different than the TCI states for the DCI and are applicable to the PDSCH. That is, the DCI 622 may include a TCI field that indicates the two or more TCI states that apply to all DMRS ports and all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols for the PDSCH. Figs. 1, 3, 6) and receives a radio resource control (RRC) parameter indicating whether one TCI state of two TCI states indicated is applied to the PD SCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0060] … RX processor 356 … controller/processor 359 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that, when the two TCI states are indicated by the DCI, determines, based on the RRC parameter, whether a first TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH, a second TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630. The configuration controller 640 may transmit the RRC message 610 prior to transmitting the DCI 622. Accordingly, when the UE 104 receives the DCI 622, the UE 104 may interpret the two or more TCI states based on the RRC message 610. Figs. 1, 3, 6), and
the base station comprises:
a transmitter (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0070] ... The base station 102 may include the SFN transmitter component 198 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6) that transmits the DCI and the RRC parameter (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6); and
a processor that (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0067] At least one of the TX processor 316, the RX processor 370, and the controller/processor 375 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6), when indicating the two TCI states, determines, using the RRC parameter, whether the first TCI state is applied to the PDSCH, the second TCI state is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH (Khoshnevisan ‘455: [0071] ... For example, the configuration controller 640 may transmit an RRC message 610 that indicates that two or more TCI states indicated by a DCI are for an SFN transmission. That is, the RRC message 610 may indicate that two or more TCI states (e.g., TCI states 624, 626) indicated by the DCI 622 apply to all DMRS ports or all transmission layers across all resource blocks and symbols of a PDSCH 630 ... Figs. 1, 3, 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416