CTNF 18/702,554 CTNF 93866 DETAILED ACTION This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/702554 filed on April 18, 2024. Claims 7-13 are subject to examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 7-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210227526, hereinafter, “ Khoshnevisan ”) . Regarding claim 7 , Khoshnevisan teaches: A terminal comprising ( Khoshnevisan: UE 115-a . Fig. 2 ) : a receiver ( Khoshnevisan: [0192] ... The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of … a UE 115 as described herein. The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a transceiver 920 ... Fig. 9 ) that receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] Base station 105-a may communicate a PDCCH transmission 215 to UE 115-a … [0131] … the PDCCH transmission 215 may include downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more activated TCI states for the PDSCH transmission 220 … [0095]... A base station may transmit a PDCCH associated with a CORESET using one or more activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states. A base station may also transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission using one or more activated TCI states. Different TCI states may correspond to QCL relationships with different reference signal transmissions . That is, a UE may measure a reference signal using receive beamforming parameters based on a TCI state indicated for the reference signal transmission from a base station ... Fig. 2 ) ; and a processor ( Khoshnevisan: [0192] ... including … a processor 940. Fig. 9 ) that, when two TCI states are indicated, determines, based on at least one of a higher layer parameter and DCI scheduling the PDSCH, a TCI state to be applied to the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] ... The base station 105-a may communicate the PDCCH transmission 215 within the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205 [ i.e., higher layer ] … [0131] ... For example, the PDCCH transmission 215 may include a scheduling offset indicating the PDSCH transmission 220 ... In some cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may use the TCI states indicated within the DCI for the PDSCH transmission 220. In some other cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may determine which TCI states to use for the PDSCH transmission 220 by another method … [0128] Base station 105-a may communicate MAC-CE 210 to UE 115-a. The MAC-CE 210 may be a control message from the base station 105-a configured to indicate one or more activated TCI states for the CORESET (e.g., the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205) … [0182]... In some cases, the control message manager 815 may receive, from the base station, a control message activating two TCI states for the CORESET, where the at least one TCI state to apply to the reception of the PDSCH transmission includes at least one of the two activated TCI states … Figs. 2, 8 ). Regarding claim 8 , Khoshnevisan discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above. Khoshnevisan further teaches: wherein the higher layer parameter indicates whether one TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0189] In some examples, the PDSCH TCI state manager 835 may determine to apply one of the two activated TCI states to the reception of the PDSCH transmission . For example, the PDSCH TCI state manager 835 may determine to apply one of the two activated TCI states to the reception of the PDSCH transmission based on the scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission … [0190] In some instances, the PDSCH TCI state manager 835 may determine (e.g., based on the scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission) to apply both of the two activated TCI states to the reception of the PDSCH transmission … Figs. 2, 8 ). Regarding claim 11 , Khoshnevisan teaches: A radio communication method for a terminal, comprising ( Khoshnevisan: UE 115-a . Fig. 2 ) : receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] Base station 105-a may communicate a PDCCH transmission 215 to UE 115-a … [0131] … the PDCCH transmission 215 may include downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more activated TCI states for the PDSCH transmission 220 … [0095]... A base station may transmit a PDCCH associated with a CORESET using one or more activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states. A base station may also transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission using one or more activated TCI states. Different TCI states may correspond to QCL relationships with different reference signal transmissions . That is, a UE may measure a reference signal using receive beamforming parameters based on a TCI state indicated for the reference signal transmission from a base station ... Fig. 2 ) ; and when two TCI states are indicated, determining, based on at least one of a higher layer parameter and DCI scheduling the PDSCH, a TCI state to be applied to the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] ... The base station 105-a may communicate the PDCCH transmission 215 within the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205 [ i.e., higher layer ] … [0131] ... For example, the PDCCH transmission 215 may include a scheduling offset indicating the PDSCH transmission 220 ... In some cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may use the TCI states indicated within the DCI for the PDSCH transmission 220. In some other cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may determine which TCI states to use for the PDSCH transmission 220 by another method … [0128] Base station 105-a may communicate MAC-CE 210 to UE 115-a. The MAC-CE 210 may be a control message from the base station 105-a configured to indicate one or more activated TCI states for the CORESET (e.g., the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205) … [0182]... In some cases, the control message manager 815 may receive, from the base station, a control message activating two TCI states for the CORESET, where the at least one TCI state to apply to the reception of the PDSCH transmission includes at least one of the two activated TCI states … Figs. 2, 8 ). Regarding claim 12 , Khoshnevisan teaches: A base station comprising ( Khoshnevisan: base station 105-a . Fig. 2 ) : a transmitter ( Khoshnevisan: [0230] FIG. 13 shows a diagram of a system 1300 including a device 1305 that supports signaling for configuring downlink transmissions in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1305 may be an example of … a base station 105 as described herein. The device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a transceiver 1320 ... Fig. 13 ) that transmits downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] Base station 105-a may communicate a PDCCH transmission 215 to UE 115-a … [0131] … the PDCCH transmission 215 may include downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more activated TCI states for the PDSCH transmission 220 … [0095]... A base station may transmit a PDCCH associated with a CORESET using one or more activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states. A base station may also transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission using one or more activated TCI states. Different TCI states may correspond to QCL relationships with different reference signal transmissions . That is, a UE may measure a reference signal using receive beamforming parameters based on a TCI state indicated for the reference signal transmission from a base station ... Fig. 2 ) ; and a processor that ( Khoshnevisan: [0230] FIG. 13 shows a diagram of a system 1300 including a device 1305 that supports signaling for configuring downlink transmissions in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1305 may be an example of … a base station 105 as described herein. The device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a processor 1340 ... Fig. 13 ) , when indicating two TCI states, determines, using at least one of a higher layer parameter and DCI scheduling the PDSCH, a TCI state to be applied to the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0224] The control message transmitter 1220 may transmit, to the UE, a control message [ i.e., higher layer parameter ] activating one or more TCI states for the CORESET. In some examples, the control message transmitter 1220 may transmit, to the UE, a control message activating two TCI states for the CORESET, where the at least one TCI state to apply to the reception of the PDSCH transmission includes at least one of the two activated TCI states … Fig. 12 ). Regarding claim 13 , Khoshnevisan teaches: A system comprising a terminal and a base station ( Khoshnevisan: [0125] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 200 that supports signaling for configuring downlink transmissions in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, wireless communications system 200 may implement aspects of wireless communications system 100 such as base station 105-a and UE 115-a ... Fig. 2 ) , wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver ( Khoshnevisan: [0192] ... The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of … a UE 115 as described herein. The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a transceiver 920 ... Fig. 9 ) that receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state applicable to multiple types of signals including a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] Base station 105-a may communicate a PDCCH transmission 215 to UE 115-a … [0131] … the PDCCH transmission 215 may include downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more activated TCI states for the PDSCH transmission 220 … [0095]... A base station may transmit a PDCCH associated with a CORESET using one or more activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states. A base station may also transmit a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission using one or more activated TCI states. Different TCI states may correspond to QCL relationships with different reference signal transmissions . That is, a UE may measure a reference signal using receive beamforming parameters based on a TCI state indicated for the reference signal transmission from a base station ... Fig. 2 ) ; and a processor ( Khoshnevisan: [0192] ... including … a processor 940. Fig. 9 ) that, when two TCI states are indicated, determines, based on at least one of a higher layer parameter and DCI scheduling the PDSCH, a TCI state to be applied to the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] ... The base station 105-a may communicate the PDCCH transmission 215 within the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205 [ i.e., higher layer ] … [0131] ... For example, the PDCCH transmission 215 may include a scheduling offset indicating the PDSCH transmission 220 ... In some cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may use the TCI states indicated within the DCI for the PDSCH transmission 220. In some other cases, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may determine which TCI states to use for the PDSCH transmission 220 by another method … [0128] Base station 105-a may communicate MAC-CE 210 to UE 115-a. The MAC-CE 210 may be a control message from the base station 105-a configured to indicate one or more activated TCI states for the CORESET (e.g., the CORESET configured by the RRC message 205) … [0182]... In some cases, the control message manager 815 may receive, from the base station, a control message activating two TCI states for the CORESET, where the at least one TCI state to apply to the reception of the PDSCH transmission includes at least one of the two activated TCI states … Figs. 2, 8 ) , and the base station comprises: a transmitter ( Khoshnevisan: [0230] FIG. 13 shows a diagram of a system 1300 including a device 1305 that supports signaling for configuring downlink transmissions in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1305 may be an example of … a base station 105 as described herein. The device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a transceiver 1320 ... Fig. 13 ) that transmits the DCI ( Khoshnevisan: [0130] Base station 105-a may communicate a PDCCH transmission 215 to UE 115-a … [0131] … the PDCCH transmission 215 may include downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more activated TCI states for the PDSCH transmission 220 ... Figs. 2, 13 ) ; and a processor that ( Khoshnevisan: [0230] FIG. 13 shows a diagram of a system 1300 including a device 1305 that supports signaling for configuring downlink transmissions in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1305 may be an example of … a base station 105 as described herein. The device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including … a processor 1340 ... Fig. 13 ) , when indicating the two TCI states, determines the TCI state, using at least one of the higher layer parameter and the DCI scheduling the PDSCH ( Khoshnevisan: [0224] The control message transmitter 1220 may transmit, to the UE, a control message [ i.e., higher layer parameter ] activating one or more TCI states for the CORESET. In some examples, the control message transmitter 1220 may transmit, to the UE, a control message activating two TCI states for the CORESET, where the at least one TCI state to apply to the reception of the PDSCH transmission includes at least one of the two activated TCI states … Fig. 12 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Jang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230016937, hereinafter, “ Jang ”) . Regarding claim 9 , Khoshnevisan discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above. Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach: wherein a configuration by the higher layer parameter includes a configuration of a single frequency network (SFN) PDSCH scheme . However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches: wherein a configuration by the higher layer parameter includes a configuration of a single frequency network (SFN) PDSCH scheme ( Jang: [0516] In an embodiment, an indication and configuration method through a combination of L1 signaling and higher layer signaling for PDSCH SFN transmission based on multi-TRP in the base station ... ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the features as taught by Jang above in order to effectively provide a service in a mobile communication system. ( Jang, ¶ [0007]). Regarding claim 10 , Khoshnevisan discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above. Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach: wherein a certain field in the DCI indicates whether one TCI state of the two TCI states indicated is applied to the PDSCH or the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH . However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches: wherein a certain field in the DCI indicates whether the two TCI states indicated are applied to the PDSCH ( Jang: [0522] FIG. 24 illustrates a PDSCH SFN transmission method based on multiple TRPs according to an embodiment. In FIG. 24, the base station indicates and configures the above-described DCI field value and higher layer signaling to the UE, and then transmits the PDCCH 24-00 to the UE. TCI states #1 and #2 may be indicated through the TCI state field in the corresponding PDCCH, and time and frequency resource allocation information may be indicated through one TDRA field and a FDRA field, respectively. The UE may receive the SFN-transmitted PDSCHs 24-01 and 24-02 using two different TCI states (TCI states #1 and #2) at the resource location based on the corresponding time and frequency resource allocation information. This is equally applicable to the repetition of the SFN-based PDCCH. The UE may receive the SFN-transmitted PDCCHs 24-50 and 24-51 by applying two different TCI states within one control resource set. Based on information of the DCI field included in the corresponding SFN-transmitted PDCCHs, t he UE may receive the SFN-transmitted PDSCHs 24-52 and 24-53 using two different TCI states (TCI states #1 and #2) at the resource location based on the corresponding time and frequency resource allocation information. ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the features as taught by Jang above in order to effectively provide a service in a mobile communication system. ( Jang, ¶ [0007]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LIEM H NGUYEN whose telephone number is (408) 918-7636. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:30AM-5:00PM PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on (571) 270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/702,554 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416