DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention because:
Claim 1 is indefinite because it recites “low-molecular-weight component content”. It is unclear what molecular weight is considered “low” and therefore the scope of the claims are unclear. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “the moisture-curable modified polyolefin (A) has a concentration of a low-molecular weight component extractable with acetone is 2.5 mass% or less.
Claims 3 and 4 set forth a molecular weight but do not specify the units, thereby the scope of the claims is unclear. For purposes of examination the units will be interpreted as g/mol.
Claim(s) 2-8 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they ultimately depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated over US2011/0003095 to Becker et al. (as found on the IDS dated 4/18/2024)
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Becker teaches functionalized polyolefins wherein monomers having one or more functional groups have been grafted onto the unfunctionalized base polymer [0148] and the modification tends to crosslink in the presence of moisture [0150] (i.e., moisture-curable modified polyolefin) that has a melt viscosity at 190°C preferred as 15000-30000 mPa*s [0151], a softening point of 85-160°C [0152] and low molecular weight portions of not more than 0.75% by mass [0113] and all inventive examples have a Constituents <500 D value of 0 [0278, Table 2]. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a low molecular weight component extractable with acetone would fall within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Becker teaches the curable resin of claim 1, wherein the polyolefin is a copolymer comprising propylene [0064] (i.e., propylene copolymer).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Becker teaches the curable resin of claim 1, that is particularly suitable for a hot melt adhesive [0161].
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Becker teaches the curable resin of claim 2, that is particularly suitable for a hot melt adhesive [0161].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2011/0003095 to Becker et al., as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,093,496 to Dominquez et al.
Regarding Claims 3 and 7, Becker teaches the curable resin of claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference, wherein the polyolefins are particularly suitable for a hot melt adhesive [0161].
Becker is silent regarding a curing catalyst having a number average molecular weight of 1500-100000 g/mol.
However, Dominquez teaches a blend of polyolefins comprising functionalized polyolefins and polyetheramine [abstract] wherein the polyetheramines have a preferred molecular weight of 1500-2000 [Dominquez, col6, L6-8] and specifically use JEFFAMINE®-M-2005 [Dominquez, col 5, L56-67] that is the same commercially available catalyst as instant specification that has a molecular weight of 2,000 [instant specification, 0076]. Therefore, it would be reasonably expected that that it would also function as a curing catalyst, as a composition and its properties are inseparable. Becker and Dominquez are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely functionalized polyolefins used for adhesion.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add Dominquez’s JEFFAMINE®-M-2005 to Beckers adhesive.
The motivation would have been that Dominguez teaches modification of the polyolefin with a polyetheramine provides a composition with improved properties, including improved bondability to materials and tensile strength (Column 3, Lines 13 – 22).
Claim(s) 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2011/0003095 to Becker et al., as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US2018/0282451 to Carvagno et al.
Regarding Claim(s) 4 and 8, Becker teaches the curable resin of claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference, wherein the polyolefins are particularly suitable for a hot melt adhesive [0161].
Becker is silent regarding a plasticizer having a number average molecular weight of 1500-100000 g/mol.
However, Carvagno teaches a composition comprising polyolefins and amorphous propylene-ethylene copolymer and amorphous polyolefins [Carvagno, title and 0017], such as Aerafin® 17 [Carvagno, 0118]. Aerafin® 17 is the same commercially available amorphous polyolefin used in instant application [instant specification, 0061] therefore it is reasonably expected that the
addition of AERAFIN 17 reads on the plasticizer of claim 4 having a number average molecular weight of 1500 to 100000 g/mol. Tran and Carvagno are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyolefin compositions.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add Carvagno’s Aerafin® 17 polyolefin to Becker’s hot melt adhesive.
The motivation would have been that Carvagno teaches combining various types of polyolefins may provide adhesives with improved adhesion, cohesive strength, temperature resistance, viscosity, and set times. [Carvagno, 0117]
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764