Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP 2017 181996).
For claim 1, D1 discloses a rubber product (Para. [0026]) comprising a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly (Chromic layer 14 changes color by gas. Para. [0027, 0028]) or changes an electric resistance value thereof, due to oxidation-reduction reaction.
For claim 2, D1 discloses the rubber product according to claim 1, being a sealing member for sealing a gap between two members, wherein the sealing member includes a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly or changes an electric resistance value thereof, due to oxidation-reduction reaction, and has a ring shape (Gas chromic material can be used as s seal. Para. [0029].)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the rubber product according to claim 1, being transparent (Para. [0084].)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the rubber product according to claim 1, being a sealing member that is in contact with hydrogen gas (Para. [0097].)
For claim 10, D1 discloses a leak detection member comprising a cylindrical elastic portion having a cylindrical shape that is formed by an elastic material including a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly (A rubber product of any shape has chromic material that changes color when exposed to gas or light. Abstract. Para. [0026, 0027-0028].) or changes an electric resistance value thereof, due to oxidation-reduction reaction, and at least one pair of electrodes that are disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical elastic portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D2 (Ma et al., CN 102435402) in view of D1 (JP 2017 181996).
For claim 5, D2 discloses a test jig for performing a leakage test of a sealing member having a ring shape that seals a gap between two members (Sealing ring is placed in seal groove 8. P3, para. [0028]), comprising a mounting table (2) that has a mounting surface on which the sealing member is mounted (Figure 1), an upper disposed member (1) that is disposed on the upper side of the sealing member mounted on the mounting table (Figure 1), and a leakage detection member that is positioned on the outer side of the sealing member mounted on the mounting table, wherein the leakage detection member includes a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly or changes an electric resistance value thereof, due to oxidation-reduction reaction, and when leakage from the sealing member occurs, a part of the leakage detection member where the leakage from the sealing member is observed changes a color thereof.
D1 teaches a rubber product (Paar. [0026]), a leak detection member, comprising a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly (Chromic layer 14 changes color by gas. Para. [0027, 0028]) for visible and easy detection of leak. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D2 with a leak detection member such that the leak detection member is positioned on the outer side of the sealing member mounted on the mounting table, wherein the leakage detection member includes a gas chromic material that changes a color thereof reversibly, as taught by D1 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a visible and easy detection of leak.
For claim 6, the combination teaches the test jig according to claim 5, comprising a sheet member having a sheet shape that is disposed on at least one side of the mounting table side and the upper disposed member side of the sealing member, wherein the sheet member disposed on the at least one side constitutes at least a part of the leakage detection member (D1 teaches chromic sheet that changes color [Abstract. Para. [0002, 0003] for visible and easy detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D2 with features of D1. D2 modified with D1 teaches the claimed limitation.)
For claim 8, the combination teaches the test jig according to claim 5, wherein the upper disposed member is made of a transparent member (D1 teaches the chromic sheet product is transparent, para. [0084]. D2 modified with features of D1 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D2 (Ma et al., CN 102435402) in view of D1 (JP 2017 181996) and D3 (EP 3 848 691).
For claim 9, the combination teaches a test apparatus for a sealing member comprising the test jig according to claim 5, but does not disclose a photographing unit that records changes of the leakage detection member in the test jig.
D3 teaches a method of imaging for leak detection that allows easy identification and characterization of leaks (Abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D2 with a photographing unit that records changes of the leakage detection member in the test jig, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of having easy identification and characterization of leaks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied include Bokeman (US 2007-0224081); Bennett (US 20100127460); Hawwa (US 2020-0018662).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675