axDETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2026 is being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 09/23/2026, in response to the non-final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1-24 are pending of which claims 9-24 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 05/07/2026.
Claims 1-8 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timea Behfar (WO2019118817) and Spakova et. al. (Characterization and Therapeutic Use of Extracellular Vesicles Derived from Platelets, IJMS, 6 September 2021, 22, 9701, pg. 1-17). This is a new rejection based on the amendments and arguments filed on 09/23/2026.
Behfar teaches a purified exosome product comprising spherical or spheroid exosomes having a diameter no greater than 300 nm (see claim 1) and teaches their administration (see lines 7-22, page 15).
Behfar teaches “FIG. 9 shows phase, immunofluorescence and graphical depiction of skeletal muscle satellite cells grown in the presence of PEP. Here, a low confluence of satellite cells demonstrated the capacity for proliferation into myoblasts, myocytes (MyoD+) and ultimately organized into functional myotubes (Actinin+). In FIG. 10, these findings are further supported by a head-to head comparison of PEP with other growth conditions such as FBS (or PRP and Platelet lysate not shown) where satellite cells cannot be coaxed to yield functional tissue. In FIG. 11, further demonstration of this paradigm was provided with in vivo testing of collagen matrices either engrafted alone or following PEP enrichment. FIG. 11 A and FIG. 11B document that in the PEP enriched conditions, there is robust evidence for skeletal muscle generation as early as two weeks with full thickness restoration of muscle content noted at eight weeks. This regenerative response was not seen in the control (collagen only) group. These data provide the rationale behind the use of a PEP enriched environment to induce regeneration of tissues enriched with progenitors such as the skin, skeletal muscle (including the pharynx/larynx, urinary and anal sphincter, and diaphragm along with those associated with the musculoskeletal system), tissues with smooth muscle including the gastrointestinal tract, vagina, bladder, uterus and other structural organs” (see pages 18-19, lines 20-30 and lines 1-4). Furthermore, Behfar teaches intrauterine administration and to the mucosal surface (see page 12, lines 27-30). Therefore, this indicates an amount of PEP which can be used for treating the uterus.
Bhefar teaches “the presence of both of these populations in PEP allows for appropriate induction of cell growth for healing, but prevents uncontrolled growth” (see lines 14-15, page 5) and teaches the delivery of PEP for either in the setting of injury or to prevent organ injury (see lines 22-23, page 21).
Behfar does not specifically teach wherein the exosomes are platelet derived.
Spakova teaches “Platelet-derived EVs (PL-EVs) are the most abundant type of EVs in circulation. Numerous advantages of PL-EVs, including their ability to be released locally, their ease of travel through the body, their low immunogenicity and tumourigenicity, the modulation of signal transduction as well as the ease with which they can be obtained, has attracted increased attention” (see abstract).
Spakova teach “Although the primary function of platelets is haemostasis, they also contain and transport molecules implicated in numerous physiological and regenerative processes, mainly including wound healing [18], cell activation and proliferation [19,20], angiogenesis [21], immune cell recruitment and inflammation [22], bone regeneration [23] and cartilage repair [8]. It is believed that activated platelets secrete high amounts of growth factors (GFs), immunoglobulins, cytokines and molecules that ac tively contribute to the tissue-repairing process and support key functions of PRP” (see page 1, 2nd para.).
As concentrated platelets by means of PRP possess reparative and healing machinery, it is expected that PL-EVs might exhibit similar beneficial therapeutic properties under normal conditions due to their molecular cargo. They might have therapeutic potential as they can support coagulation, angiogenesis, regulate immunity and accelerate tissue repair. PL-EVs derived from resting platelets versus thrombin-activated platelets demonstrate mild or strong haemostatic properties, respectively [54,55]. Moreover, exosomal PL-EVs have been beneficial in the treatment of chronic injuries and trauma [56,57], alleviating knee osteoarthritis [58], promoting wound healing [37] or modulating the progression of osteonecrosis [45]. (see page 3 1st para.).
Spakova teaches that platelet derived exosomes are known to promote reepithelization of chronic wounds (see last para., page 2) and PL-EVs can promote wound healing (see again first para., page 3).
PL-EVs may influence various important physiological and pathological functions via intracellular communication, including coagulation [125,126], immune response and inflammation [127,128], angiogenesis, wound healing.
In view of these findings, PL-EVs might be not only an effective and safe alternative to PRP, but they may be useful for developing prospective therapeutic applications in haemostasis, tissue regeneration, immunomodulation and as drug-delivery vehicles. (see third para., page 8).
“The following in vitro and animal studies highlight the use of therapeutic PL-EVs that could become part of future strategies used for tissue healing. It is known that the main fraction of short RNAs is localized in PL-EVs, which protect them from degradation in circulation. Thus, these vesicles can be considered as biological nanovectors able to transfer specific signals and modulate gene expression in recipient cells and may determine vascular and tissue response in disease conditions associated with platelet activation. High levels of miR-142-3p detected in PL-EVs from activated platelets enhanced the endothelial cell proliferation/dysfunction via Bcl-2-associated transcription factor (BCLAF1) [132]” (See last para., page 8).
“PL-EVs from non-activated washed platelets enhanced hemodynamic stability in comparison with fresh platelets by mitigating the development of ischemia and metabolic acidosis [55]. Their results also demonstrated in in vitro and in vivo mice models that PL-EVs have potent therapeutic effects on vascular permeability and haemostasis”.
“Other data indicated that PL-EVs exert strong immunomodulatory activity on vascular smooth muscle cells, which is manifested by cytokine IL-6 production and leads to the stimulation of vascular remodelling [141]. Up to now, only a few studies have demonstrated that PL-EVs might suppress inflammation primarily by inhibiting cytokine release. For example, PL-EVs released by stored platelets modify macrophage and dendritic cell differentiation toward less reactive states” (see para. 3, page 9).
“PL-EVs positively modulate the growth, migration and differentiation potential of stem cells from different sources. The enhanced potency of stem cell populations resident in tissues is important in preventing degenerative diseases. The first described role of EXOS derived from PRP in tissue regeneration was published in 2014 by Torreggiani et al. [44]. They demonstrated the potential effect of PRP-EXOs on the proliferation and migration of MSCs. In addition to bone marrow MSCs, PL-EVs increased the gene expression of human telomerase reverse transcriptase (hTERT) in umbilical cord-derived MSCs in vitro [150]. These results suggest that PL-EVs could potentially prolong the lifespan of MSCs, but this statement needs to be definitively verified in vivo” (see 3rd para., page 10).
“The results of pre-clinical research are encouraging, as PL-EVs might be both the key part of the mechanism in tissue regeneration induced by blood derived products, especially PRP, and a potential alternative option instead of them” (see summary).
PL-EVs have an inherent afftinity for inflammation sites (see last two lines of age 8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date to use platelet-derived exosomes in the Behfar’s invention, because Spakova teaches these to be beneficial for promoting tissue regeneration and a better option than PRP. It would have been obvious to apply the method to a subject with Asherman’s Syndrome for regenerating scar tissue which is a common symptom of the disease. Behfar teaches utilizing purified exosomes and administration to heal smooth muscle tissues such as the uterus. Patients with Asherman’s syndrome typically have scar tissue in the uterus and so it would have been obvious to use the platelet-derived exosomes taught by Spakova which can promote tissues regeneration and administrate it in the way taught by Behfar which is to the uterus for smooth muscle regeneration. It would also have been obvious to administer the purified exosome product prior to uterine surgery or in preparation to a procedure such as in vitro fertilization, because Behfar teaches the composition of PEP allows for appropriate induction of cell growth for healing, but prevents uncontrolled growth and teaches them to be useful in preventing organ injury.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Behfar merely teaches mucosal administration routes which would not lead one to believe that the exosomes are to be useful in treating Asherman’s syndrome or endometrial tissue. Behfar teaches the exosomes to be useful for regenerating smooth muscle tissues which can be the uterus, not only administration via the mucosa. Endometrial tissue is also made of epithelial cells and Spakova teaches that platelet derived exosomes are known to promote reepithelization of chronic wounds (see last para., page 2) and PL-EVs can promote wound healing. Asherman’s syndrome is usually caused by scar formation in the basal layer of the uterus due to injury during dilation and curettage (D and C) or myomectomy because the uterus gets inflamed and produces scar tissue. Tissue regeneration from platelet-derived exosomes would have been obvious to administer since Behfar already teaches regeneration of the uterus and Spakova teaches PL-EVs can promote reepithelization and tissue regeneration. Endometrial tissues consist of epithelial cells lining the uterus and so combing these two pieces of art a person having ordinary skill in the art would have expected to treat endometrial tissues as claimed.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655