DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (“Rastegardoost”) (US 20240072975 A1, Examiner relying on effective filing date 63/185,132 filed May 6, 2021) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106bis-e R1-2110178 (“Qualcomm”) (As cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Rastegardoost teaches:
A method of transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information by a user equipment (UE) [¶0268 UE] in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration including a configuration regarding hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral [¶0268, UE may receive an RRC message indicating that SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured];
receiving an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the SPS configuration [¶0264 “The wireless device may defer a HARQ-ACK, e.g., a dropped HARQ-ACK of a SPS PDSCH reception/release, and/or a cancelled low-priority HARQ-ACK, until a first available valid UL slot or UL symbols” ¶0248-252 indicates SPS PDSCHs, ¶0231, ¶0241];
based on transmission of first HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH overlapping with a downlink symbol in a first slot for the transmission of the first HARQ- ACK information, determining to defer the transmission of the first HARQ-ACK information to a third slot later than the first slot [¶0258, defer SPS HARQ when overlapping with DL slot, also ¶0265-267, deferred transmission time being third slot];
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) including a retransmission request requesting that transmission of second HARQ-ACK information scheduled to a second slot be performed in the third slot later than the second slot [¶0275, DCI is sent to schedule deferred HARQ-ACKs to a specific PUCCH resource, corresponding to third slot, “ For example, the base station may use a Type-3 codebook (e.g., one-shot/enhanced one-shot HARQ feedback) request to trigger transmission of all and/or a subset of HARQ ACKs, e.g., comprising the postponed/deferred/cancelled HARQ-ACKs.” Thus multiple HARQ-ACKs comprising at least a second HARQ-ACK deferred from a previous, second slot];
determining uplink control information (UCI) based on the first HARQ-ACK information and the second HARQ-ACK information; and transmitting the UCI in the third slot, wherein the UCI includes HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [¶0275 UE triggered to send all HARQ-ACKs in specified PUCCH in DCI, and previously, UE is configured to append deferred HARQ-ACK with other HARQ-ACK triggered by DCI in target PUCCH].
Rastegardoost in this example shows sending groups of HARQ-ACK for deferred HARQ-ACKs, but does not expressly show these as appended.
Qualcomm teaches and transmitting the UCI in the third slot, wherein the UCI appends HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [pages 7-8 show UCI for deferred SPS HARQ appended onto new HARQ and another deferred SPS HARQ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the appending of the multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs as in Qualcomm. Rastegardoost teaches sending multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs, and that these may be multiplexed with new HARQ-ACKs. It would have been obvious to specify appending as in Qualcomm who teaches this allows for multiplexing of multiple HARQ CBs that have collided at different slots to be sent on a same target slot page 7, 2.6.
Regarding claim 2, Rastegardoost-Qualcomm teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the UCI further includes third HARQ-ACK information scheduled to the third slot [Rastegardoost ¶0275 teaches multiple HARQ-ACKs that have been deferred to be transmitted in multiplexed PUCCH slot, multiplexed with third ACK either in ¶0275 or in ¶0273], wherein the UCI includes the first to third HARQ-ACK information in an order of the third HARQ-ACK information, the second HARQ-ACK information, and the first HARQ-ACK information [Qualcomm pages 7-8 show UCI for deferred SPS HARQ appended onto new HARQ triggered by DCI i.e. third HARQ, wherein the order goes New HARQ CB (third HARQ-ACK information) followed by Deferred SPS 1 HARQ CB (which may be the second HARQ-ACK) and Deferred SPS 2 HARQ CB ( the first HARQ-ACK), see proposal 7, where order of appended deferred HARQ-ACKs starts with earliest appended first, see rationale for combination as in claim 1].
Regarding claim 3, Rastegardoost-Qualcomm teaches:
The method of claim 1, comprising: determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator in the first DCI and a size of the UCI, and wherein the UCI is transmitted on the PUCCH resource in the third slot [Rastegardoost ¶0243, PUCCH slot indicated by DCI, indicates q corresponding to size, i.e. ¶0199 DCI indicates PUCCH resource].
Regarding claim 6, Rastegardoost teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations [¶0268 UE] comprising:
receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration including a configuration regarding hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral [¶0268, UE may receive an RRC message indicating that SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured];
receiving an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the SPS configuration [¶0264 “The wireless device may defer a HARQ-ACK, e.g., a dropped HARQ-ACK of a SPS PDSCH reception/release, and/or a cancelled low-priority HARQ-ACK, until a first available valid UL slot or UL symbols” ¶0248-252 indicates SPS PDSCHs, ¶0231, ¶0241];
based on transmission of first HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH overlapping with a downlink symbol in a first slot for the transmission of the first HARQ- ACK information, determining to defer the transmission of the first HARQ-ACK information to a third slot later than the first slot [¶0258, defer SPS HARQ when overlapping with DL slot, also ¶0266-267];
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) including a retransmission request requesting that transmission of second HARQ-ACK information scheduled to a second slot be performed in the third slot later than the second slot ¶¶0273, HARQ-ACK triggered by a DCI, see also ¶0276 “a DCI may schedule new PUCCH/PUSCH resource for low-priority HARQ-ACK re-transmission”];
determining uplink control information (UCI) based on the first HARQ-ACK information and the second HARQ-ACK information; and transmitting the UCI in the third slot, wherein the UCI includes HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [¶0275 UE triggered to send all HARQ-ACKs in specified PUCCH in DCI, and previously, UE is configured to append deferred HARQ-ACK with other HARQ-ACK triggered by DCI in target PUCCH].
Rastegardoost in this example shows sending groups of HARQ-ACK for deferred HARQ-ACKs, but does not expressly show these as appended.
Qualcomm teaches and transmitting the UCI in the third slot, wherein the UCI appends HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [pages 7-8 show UCI for deferred SPS HARQ appended onto new HARQ and another deferred SPS HARQ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the appending of the multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs as in Qualcomm. Rastegardoost teaches sending multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs, and that these may be multiplexed with new HARQ-ACKs. It would have been obvious to specify appending as in Qualcomm who teaches this allows for multiplexing of multiple HARQ CBs that have collided at different slots to be sent on a same target slot page 7, 2.6.
Regarding claim 9, Rastegardoost teaches:
A base station (BS) configured to receive hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information from a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: ¶0268 UE receives message from base station]: transmitting a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration including a configuration regarding hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) deferral to the UE [¶0268, UE may receive an RRC message from base station indicating that SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured]; transmitting an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the SPS configuration [¶0264 “The wireless device may defer a HARQ-ACK, e.g., a dropped HARQ-ACK of a SPS PDSCH reception/release, and/or a cancelled low-priority HARQ-ACK, until a first available valid UL slot or UL symbols” ¶0248-252 indicates SPS PDSCHs, ¶0231, ¶0241 transmitted by base station]; based on reception of first HARQ-ACK information for the SPS PDSCH overlapping with a downlink symbol in a first slot for the reception of the first HARQ-ACK information, determining to defer the reception of the first HARQ-ACK information to a third slot later than the first slot [¶0258, defer SPS HARQ when overlapping with DL slot, also ¶0266-267]; transmitting, to the UE, first downlink control information (DCI) including a retransmission request requesting that transmission of second HARQ-ACK information scheduled to a second slot be performed in the third slot later than the second slot ¶¶0273, HARQ-ACK triggered by a DCI, see also ¶0276 “a DCI may schedule new PUCCH/PUSCH resource for low-priority HARQ-ACK re-transmission”]; and receiving uplink control information (UCI) from the UE in the third slot, wherein the UCI includes HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [¶0275 UE triggered to send all HARQ-ACKs in specified PUCCH in DCI, and previously, UE is configured to append deferred HARQ-ACK with other HARQ-ACK triggered by DCI in target PUCCH].
Rastegardoost in this example shows sending groups of HARQ-ACK for deferred HARQ-ACKs, but does not expressly show these as appended.
Qualcomm teaches and transmitting the UCI in the third slot, wherein the UCI appends HARQ-ACK information obtained by including the first HARQ-ACK information to the second HARQ-ACK information [pages 7-8 show UCI for deferred SPS HARQ appended onto new HARQ and another deferred SPS HARQ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the appending of the multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs as in Qualcomm. Rastegardoost teaches sending multiple deferred HARQ-ACKs, and that these may be multiplexed with new HARQ-ACKs. It would have been obvious to specify appending as in Qualcomm who teaches this allows for multiplexing of multiple HARQ CBs that have collided at different slots to be sent on a same target slot page 7, 2.6.
Regarding claim 10, Rastegardoost-Qualcomm teaches:
The BS of claim 9, wherein the UCI further includes third HARQ-ACK information scheduled to the third slot [Rastegardoost ¶0275 teaches multiple HARQ-ACKs that have been deferred to be transmitted in multiplexed PUCCH slot, multiplexed with third ACK either in ¶02756 or in ¶0273], and wherein the UCI includes the first to third HARQ-ACK information in an order of the third HARQ-ACK information, the second HARQ-ACK information, and the first HARQ-ACK information [Qualcomm pages 7-8 show UCI for deferred SPS HARQ appended onto new HARQ, wherein the order goes New HARQ CB (third HARQ-ACK information) followed by Deferred SPS 1 HARQ CB (which may be the second HARQ-ACK) and Deferred SPS 2 HARQ CB ( the first HARQ-ACK), see proposal 7, where order of appended deferred HARQ-ACKs starts with earliest appended first, see rationale for combination as in claim 9].
Regarding claim 11, Rastegardoost teaches:
The BS of claim 9, comprising: determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator in the first DCI and a size of the UCI, and wherein the UCI is received on the PUCCH resource in the third slot [¶0243, PUCCH slot indicated by DCI, indicates q corresponding to size, i.e. ¶0199 DCI indicates PUCCH resource].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-5, 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230046759 A1
US 20230361938 A1
WO 2021176723 A1
US 20240356677 A1
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478