Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quinn et al (US 20190135699; hereinafter Quinn).
As regarding claim 2, Quinn discloses the claimed invention for a CO2 immobilization material comprises one kind or two or more kinds of non-hydraulic compound selected from the group consisting of g-2CaO-SiO2, 3CaO-2SiO2, a-CaO-SiO2 and calcium magnesium silicate ([0044]).
Quinn does not disclose a disaccharide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a disaccharide in order to enhance material performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Quinn ([0041] – ‘sucrose’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quinn et al (US 20190135699; hereinafter Quinn).
As regarding claim 5, Quinn discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Quinn discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the disaccharide is contained in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the CO2 immobilization material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the disaccharide is contained in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the CO2 immobilization material in order to enhance material performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quinn et al (US 20190135699; hereinafter Quinn), as applied supra, and further in view of Keulen et al (US 20220332655; herein after Keulen).
As regarding claim 6, Quinn discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Quinn discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the disaccharide comprises trehalose. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the disaccharide comprises trehalose in order to enhance material performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Keulen ([0079]).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai Gao-Chao et al: "Studies of the Stability of b-Ca2SiO4 Doped by Minor Ions", 9 July 1992 (hereinafter Chao).
As regarding claim 1, Chao discloses the claimed invention for a CO2 immobilization material comprising one kind or two or more kinds of non-hydraulic compound selected from the group consisting of g-2CaO-SiO2, 3CaO-2SiO2, a-CaO-SiO2, and calcium magnesium silicate, wherein the CO2 immobilization material contains Li (pg 743-754).
Chao does not disclose a content percentage of the Li is 0.001 to 1.0% by mass in terms of oxide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a content percentage of the Li is 0.001 to 1.0% by mass in terms of oxide in order to enhance material efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen % mass or upon another variable recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen % mass is critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 3, Chao as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chao as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a molar ratio of CaO/SiO2 in the non-hydraulic compound is 0.8 to 2.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein a molar ratio of CaO/SiO2 in the non-hydraulic compound is 0.8 to 2.3 in order to enhance material efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen molar ratio or upon another variable recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen molar ratio is critical and unexpected results.
Claim(s) 4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai Gao-Chao et al: "Studies of the Stability of b-Ca2SiO4 Doped by Minor Ions", 9 July 1992 (hereinafter Chao), as applied supra, and further in view of Quinn et al (US 20190135699; hereinafter Quinn).
As regarding claim 4, Chao as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chao as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a disaccharide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a disaccharide in order to enhance material performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Quinn ([0041] – ‘sucrose’).
As regarding claims 7 and 11, Chao as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chao as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a method for producing a CO2 immobilization product, comprising subjecting the CO2 immobilization material to carbonation treatment at 75°C or lower and/or 50% RH or higher. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a method for producing a CO2 immobilization product, comprising subjecting the CO2 immobilization material to carbonation treatment at 75°C or lower and/or 50% RH or higher in order to enhance material performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 8-11 are likewise rejected with similar reasons as set forth in claims 3 and 5-7 above.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773