DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the International Application PCT/JP2022/039524. A Notice of Acceptance of Application under 35 U.S.C. 371 and 37 CFR 1.495 was mailed 24 September 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 18 April 2024 and 31 March 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 18 April 2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Comment
Claim 1 recites “the binder includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a compound and a solid solution of the compound, the compound consisting of at least one element selected from a group consisting of a group 4 element, a group 5 element, a group 6 element in the periodic table, aluminum, silicon, iron, cobalt, and nickel and at least one element selected from a group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, and oxygen.”
This is read that:
the binder includes a compound, wherein the compound includes at least one selected from the compound and a solid solution of the compound,
the compound consisting of:
at least one element selected from a group consisting of a group 4 element in the periodic table, a group 5 element in the periodic table, a group 6 element in the periodic table, aluminum, silicon, iron, cobalt, and nickel and (Element 1)
at least one element selected from a group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, and oxygen. (Element 2)
Element 1 and Element 2 notations were added by the Examiner for clarity.
Therefore, the binder is the compound and/or a solid solution of the compound, and the compound and/or the solid solution of the compound comprises at least one of both Element 1 and Element 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2005/0143252 A1 in view of Sato et al., Japanese Patent Publication JP 61-117856 A.
A machine-generated translation of JP 61-117856 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Okamura et al. teach a high-strength, highly thermally conductive sintered compact of cubic boron nitride. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraph [0008]. Okamura et al. teach that the cubic boron nitride sintered body contains 40-85 volume % of cubic boron nitride grains and the remainder is a binder. See paragraphs [0008]-[0010]. Okamura et al. teach that the binder comprises at least one of a nitride, carbide, boride, and oxide of at least one element selected from group 4, 5, and 6, and a solid solution of an aluminum component. See paragraph [0010]. Okamura et al. teach the sintered compact includes cubic boron nitride grains containing a total of 0.05-0.3 mass% of elements Si, Ga, and La. See paragraph [0016].
Okamura et al. fail to teach that the cubic boron nitride sintered material has a lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride grain is 3.6140 Å to 3.6161 Å as recited in the claims.
Sato et al. teach a cubic boron nitride sintered body. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, page 3, lines 15-18 and 37-39 of the translation. Sato et al. teach that the sintered body has a volume ratio of cubic boron nitride of 60-100% See page 3, line 47 to page 4, line 1. Sato et al. teach that the sintered material has a lattice constant in the range of 3.608-3.630 Å based on the sintering conditions and number of cubic boron nitride particles. See page 4, lines 4-7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a cubic boron nitride sintered material of Okamura et al. as suggested by Sato et al. because the resultant cubic boron nitride sintered material would have the high strength property of Okamura et al. while maximizing the thermal conductivity as taught by Sato et al.
Specifically, in regards to claim 1, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material comprises 40-80 vol% of cubic boron nitride grains with a binder comprising at least one of nitride, carbide, boride, and oxide of a group 4, 5, and 6 element, and a solid solution of an aluminum component (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the sintered cubic boron nitride materials has 0.05-0.3 by mass% of Si, Ga, and La. (see paragraph [0016] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride is from 3.608Å to 3.630Å and it can be adjusted by sintering conditions and numbers of cubic boron nitride particles (see page 4, lines 4-7), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material comprising 35 volume% to 100 volume% of a cubic boron nitride grain and 0 volume% to 65 volume% of a binder, wherein a lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride grain is 3.6140 Å to 3.6161 Å, a silicon content ratio in the cubic boron nitride grain is 0.02 mass% or less, and the binder includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a compound and a solid solution of the compound, the compound consisting of at least one element selected from a group consisting of a group 4 element, a group 5 element, a group 6 element in the periodic table, aluminum, silicon, iron, cobalt, and nickel and at least one element selected from a group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, and oxygen, as recited in claim 1.
In regards to claim 2, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride is from 3.608Å to 3.630Å (see page 4, lines 4-7), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material having a lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride grain is 3.6142 Å to 3.6158 Å, as recited in claim 2.
In regards to claim 3, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride is from 3.608Å to 3.630Å (see page 4, lines 4-7), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material having a lattice constant of the cubic boron nitride grain is 3.6145 Å to 3.6155 Å, as recited in claim 3.
In regards to claim 4, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the sintered cubic boron nitride materials has 0.05-0.3 by mass% of Si, Ga, and La. (see paragraph [0016] of Okamura et al.), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material having a silicon content ratio in the cubic boron nitride grain is 0.01 mass% or less, as recited in claim 4.
In regards to claim 5, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.). Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that the sintered cubic boron nitride materials has 0.05-0.3 by mass% of Si, Ga, and La. (see paragraph [0016] of Okamura et al.), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material having a silicon content ratio in the cubic boron nitride grain is 0.001 mass% or less, as recited in claim 5.
In regards to claim 6, Okamura et al. in view of Sato et al. teach that a sintered cubic boron nitride material comprises 40-80 vol% of cubic boron nitride grains with a binder comprising at least one of nitride, carbide, boride, and oxide of a group 4, 5, and 6 element, and a solid solution of an aluminum component (see paragraphs [0008]-[0010] of Okamura et al.), which reads on a cubic boron nitride sintered material comprising 40 volume% to 95 volume% of a cubic boron nitride grain, as recited in claim 6.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above. Specifically, US 2017/0014915 A1 by Watanobe et al. which teach a cubic boron nitride sintered material having 40-80 vol% of cubic boron nitride and a binder, WO 2021/124402 A1 (US 2021/0246076 A1) and WO 2021/124403 A1 (US 2021/0246077 A1) by Moroguchi et al. which teach a cubic boron nitride sintered material comprising cubic boron nitride particles and a binder. WO 2021/124402 A1 (US 2021/0246076 A1) and WO 2021/124403 A1 (US 2021/0246077 A1) qualify as prior art since the international applications were published 24 June 2021, which is more than a year before the 371 filing date of PCT/JP2022/039524 on 24 October 2022 and the foreign priority document PCT/JP2021/039320 has not been perfected.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
10 July 2026