Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 05/08/2025.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 10-21 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A-B in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12578273B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent teaches a compound comprising BODIPY (claim 1), which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and is also a dye.
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12064482B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent teaches a compound comprising BODIPY (claim 1), which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and is also a dye.
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 7705040B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent teaches a compound comprising a boron-dipyrromethene
(claim 1), which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and acridine orange which is a dye (claim 18).
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/966,507 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending Application recites a composition comprising BODIPY (claim 2) which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and is also a dye.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/737,027 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending Application recites a composition comprising BODIPY (claim 14) which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and is also a dye.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 22 of copending Application No. 18/566,778 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending Application recites a composition comprising BODIPY (claim 22) which is a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound and is also a dye.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 17/850,720 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending Application recites a composition comprising a boron-dipyrromethen-derived compound, specifically 1,3,5,7-tetramethyl -8-hydroxymethyl pyrromethene fluoroborate (claim 3), which is also a dye.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIN (A dual-responsive nanocapsule via disulfideinduced self-assembly for therapeutic agent delivery. Chemical Science. 2016.).
Regarding claim 1, LIN teaches a boron-dipyrromethene derived compound (scheme 1a) and a dye, such as ICG (abstract). Note, BODIPY, also shown as BDP, is boron-dipyrromethene. Lin specifically used BDP-NC (page 1847, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 3-6, LIN teaches using ICG (abstract), which is a near-infrared cyanine dye that has sulfate groups (Applicant’ specification page 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, The composition is a nanocapsule, which is a specific type of nanoparticle (abstract).
Regarding claim 8 and 9, The ICG concentration a 9.2 wt% (page 1850, paragraph 2). This means the BPD compound was roughly 90 wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN (A dual-responsive nanocapsule via disulfideinduced self-assembly for therapeutic agent delivery. Chemical Science. 2016.) in view of LV (Upconversion-like Photolysis of BODIPY-Based Prodrugs via a One-Photon Process. JACS. 2019.).
LIN teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above. Lin further teaches the composition can be used for imaging and drug delivery (abstract) and the composition is photocleavable (page 1849, paragraph 2).
Lin does not teach using boron-dipyrromethene-chlorambucil.
Regarding claim 2, LV teaches a BODIPY composition that comprises chlorambucil, which is an anticancer drug (page 17483, paragraph 2). The composition can be in a nanoparticle (page 17484, paragraph 5). The composition is photocleavable (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate chlorambucil. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the composition in LIN is explicitly described as being able to deliver drugs and delivering an anticancer drug such as chlorambucil would allow the composition to be used for both imaging and treatment, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as photocleavable BODIPY nanoparticle compositions that are for drug delivery.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618