This office action is in response to Applicant remark filed on 08/07/2025. Claims 1-14 are pending and claim 1 is independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on November 11, 2025 with respect to claims 1-14 shave been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 6 of Applicant argument, Applicant argue that “… Keles fails to teach, either expressly or inherently, each and every element recited in Applicant’s claim”.
Examiner respectfully disagree, Examiner would like to point out in detail in order to address Applicant’s concern as stated below, in regarding to independent claim 1, Keles teaches “a portable encryption device comprising (Keles discloses a “portable storage apparatus” see Abstract; paras.0010 and 0019, for example) discloses used for storing sensitive encrypted data, structurally equivalent to a portable encryption device): a controller having a plurality of modes (Keles discloses a “processing unit (see fig 1 element 4)” having different “processing modes (PM)” corresponding to different security levels (SL0, SL1, SL2, SL3) (see paras. 0051, 0057 and 0067). Each mode defines how encryption is performed and satisfies “plurality of modes); an encryption engine connected to or implemented within the controller (Keles explicitly states the processing unit includes “an encryption logic (see fig. 1 element 6A) and a decryption logic (fig. 1 element 6B)” and furthermore see paras. 0050, 0051 and 0053). These correspond to an encryption engine implemented within the controller); an internal memory for storing a plurality of encryption keys (the “key storage (see fig. 1 element 5)” within Keles stores multiple encryption/decryption keys for different security levels see paras. 0051, 0053, 0063 and 0067). This satisfies an internal memory for storing a plurality of encryption keys); a battery Keles discloses (a “local power supply unit adapted to provide power supply at least for the processing unit and the authentication unit” (see para 0057, for example). This functions as a battery powering the device); an input device connected to the controller and for selecting between the plurality of modes (“security level selection unit (figs 1 and 2 element 16)” generates a security level selection control signal (SL-SEL-CTRL) in response to a user selection input (see paras. 0060 and 0075, for example). This input device enables mode selection); and a connector for connecting the portable encryption device to a computer (the “data port (fig. 1 element 7)” connects the portable apparatus to an external device or computer for data transfer (see paras. 0050, 0053 and 0074); wherein the battery is arranged to selectively provide electrical power to the controller and input device such that the plurality of modes are user-selectable while the device is not connected to a computer (Keles mentions local power supply and power supply harvesting (see para. 0057) that can power the processing and authentication units); wherein, in a first mode of the plurality of modes, the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a first encryption algorithm (Keles discloses different processing modes (PM) associated with different security levels (SL0, SL1), each using different encryption keys EK and algorithms (0051, 0060 and 0067); and wherein, in a second mode of the plurality of modes, the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a second encryption algorithm, different from the first encryption algorithm (Keles teaches using different encryption keys and corresponding algorithms for different security levels, e.g., short vs. long keys, different modes (see para. 0051, for example): “different sets of encryption keys EK... for different security levels”). Thus, it supports different encryption algorithms per mode).
On page 7 of Applicant argument that “ Keles fails to teach “wherein, in a first mode … the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a first encryption algorithm; and wherein, in a second mode … the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a second encryption algorithm, different from the first encryption algorithm.”
Examiner respectfully disagree. Applicant’s attention respectfully directed to paras. 0050-0053, i.e. Keles discloses that a processing unit that encrypts data based on security levels. The security levels correspond to different key lengths or levels of protection (e.g., low versus high security).
On page 7 of Applicant argument that “Keles fails to teach or suggest at least “wherein the battery is arranged to selectively provide electrical power to the controller and input device such that the plurality of modes are user-selectable while the device is not connected to a computer” as recited in independent claim 1”.
In response to the above argument, Keles discloses that the selection of a security level occurs in response to authentication by a user or external device (see paras. 0052, 0060, for example). The cited portions confirm that the selection occurs after authentication and typically while the portable storage apparatus is connected to a host or authenticated external device. Keles also discloses a “local power supply” (see para.0057, for example).
Again, On page 7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argue that “… Keles fails to disclose “wherein, in a first mode of the plurality of modes, the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a first encryption algorithm.”
In response to the above argument, Applicant’s attention respectfully directed to paras. 0050 and 0051 discloses an encryption logic and a decryption logic within the processing unit, these logics operate according to a current processing mode determined by a selected security level, for example.
Again, On pages 7-8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argue that “… wherein, in a second mode … the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a second encryption algorithm, different from the first encryption algorithm”.
Examiner respectfully disagree because, Keles discuss (see para. 0051) that Keles acknowledges that different security levels may use “more secure or longer encryption keys” for encrypting highly sensitive data. This shows an intention to vary the encryption strength depending on the context, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keles (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0286842 A1, hereinafter refer as to Keles).
Keles provide Portable storage apparatus of test system (claimed) used for storing sensitive data of user loaded from computers and/or external device such as external test device or measurement equipment.
As per claim 1, Keles discloses portable encryption device (para. 0019, for example) comprising: a controller having a plurality of modes (figs 1 and 2, furthermore para. 0051 discloses or a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example); an encryption engine (fig. 1 depicted the processing unit 4 comprises an encryption logic 6A and a decryption logic 6B, for example) connected to or implemented within the controller (para. 0019 discloses the encryption logic of the processing unit, for example); an internal memory for storing a plurality of encryption keys (para. 0051 discloses different sets of encryption keys EK and/or decryption keys DK can be stored for different security levels SL, for example); a battery (para. 0057 discloses the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a local power supply unit adapted to provide power supply at least for the processing unit 4 and the authentication unit 3, for example); an input device (fig. 1 depicted storage apparatus 1 comprises more than two different security level data memories, the security level selection unit 16 can comprise a keypad with several press buttons associated to the different data memories, for example) connected to the controller and for selecting between the plurality of modes (para. 0060 discloses after successful authentication, the security level selection unit 16 is activated or enabled. The enabled security level selection unit 16 is adapted to generate the security level selection control signal SL-SEL-CRTL in response to a user selection input of a user or in response to a device selection input signal received from the authenticated external device, for example); and a connector (fig. 1 depicted port 7, for example) for connecting the portable encryption device to a computer (para. 0053 discloses the data port 7 can comprise a serial or parallel data port 7 adapted to receive data from an external electronic device and to output data to the electronic device, for example); wherein the battery is arranged to selectively provide electrical power to the controller and input device (para. 0057 discloses the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a local power supply unit adapted to provide power supply at least for the processing unit 4 and the authentication unit 3, for example) such that the plurality of modes are user-selectable while the device is not connected to a computer (para. 0060 discloses after successful authentication, the security level selection unit 16 is activated or enabled. The enabled security level selection unit 16 is adapted to generate the security level selection control signal SL-SEL-CRTL in response to a user selection input of a user or in response to a device selection input signal received from the authenticated external device, for example); wherein, in a first mode of the plurality of modes (para. 0051 discloses 1, the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a low security level data memory 9-0 for a low security level SL0, for example), the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a first encryption algorithm (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example); and wherein, in a second mode of the plurality of modes (fig. 1 depicted 1, the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a low security level data memory 9-0 for a low security level SL0 and a high security level data memory 9-1 for a high security level SL1, for example), the encryption engine is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a second encryption algorithm (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example), different from the first encryption algorithm (para. 0051 discloses in the key storage 5, different sets of encryption keys EK and/or decryption keys DK can be stored for different security levels SL. For instance, for a low security level SL, for example).
As per claim 2, Keles discloses wherein the plurality of modes comprises a third mode, wherein in the third mode (fig. 7 depicted the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises four different data memories 9-0, 9-1, 9-2, 9-3 for different security levels SL0, SL1, SL2, SL3. For instance, the security level SL3 can comprise the highest security level for the most sensitive data, for example), the controller is configured to encrypt and decrypt data using a third encryption algorithm, different from each of the first and second algorithms (fig. 1 depicted storage apparatus 1 comprises more than two different security level data memories, the security level selection unit 16 can comprise a keypad with several press buttons associated to the different data memories, for example).
As per claim 3, Keles discloses wherein each encryption algorithm is an algorithm selected from a group comprising: AES, DES, RSA, ECC, ECB, CBC, CTR, CFB, XTS, and GCM encryption algorithms, and their respective algorithm modes (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example).
As per claim 4, Keles discloses wherein a plurality of encryption keys are stored on the internal memory, wherein each encryption key is associated with at least one of the modes (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example).
As per claim 6, Keles discloses a second connector for connecting to an external storage device (para. 0019 discloses the encryption logic of the processing unit is adapted to encrypt data received by a data port of said portable storage apparatus, wherein the encryption is performed depending on the current processing mode using encryption keys selected according to the current processing mode of the processing unit, for example), wherein the portable encryption device is configured to encrypt data received via the connector, based on the selected mode, and wherein the device is configured to pass the encrypted data to the second connector (fig. 4, the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a housing 2 including a first housing 2A of a basis storage component BSC and a second plug-in housing 2B of a plug-in storage component PISC, for example).
As per claim 7, Keles discloses the portable encryption device of a second internal memory (para. 0019 discloses the encryption logic of the processing unit is adapted to encrypt data received by a data port of said portable storage apparatus, for example), wherein the portable encryption device is configured to encrypt data received via the connector, based on the selected mode, and wherein the device is configured to store the encrypted data on the second internal memory (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example).
As per claim 8, Keles discloses wherein the controller is configured to receive authentication information via the input device and to calculate a derived encryption key from the received authentication information; and to decrypt at least one encryption key stored on the internal memory using the derived encryption key and to provide the decrypted encryption key to the encryption engine (para. 0054 discloses authentication unit 3 can comprise in a possible implementation a biometric authentication unit. The authentication unit 3 may further comprise in a possible embodiment an interface to receive user identification data input by the user and/or to receive device identification data of an external device to which the portable storage apparatus 1 is connected, for example).
As per claim 9, Keles discloses wherein the input device comprises a keypad, a button, or a touchscreen (fig. 2 depicted The authentication unit 3 supplies an enable signal EN to a control line 17 to the security level selection unit 16 in case that an external device and/or a user has been successfully authenticated by the authentication unit 3, for example).
As per claim 10, Keles discloses wherein the connector of the portable memory storage device is connected to the computer (para. 0053 discloses the data port 7 can comprise a serial or parallel data port 7 adapted to receive data from an external electronic device and to output data to the electronic device, for example and para. 0003 discloses a computer connected to the portable storage apparatus comprises an encryption unit which encrypts the user data and loads the encrypted user data into the data memory of the portable storage apparatus. Other less sensitive data can be stored in the data memory of the portable storage apparatus in not encrypted form).
As per claim 11, Keles discloses an external storage device, wherein the portable encryption device is connected to the external storage device (fig. 4 depicted and para. 0063 discloses the portable storage apparatus 1 comprises a housing 2 including a first housing 2A of a basis storage component BSC and a second plug-in housing 2B of a plug-in storage component PISC, for example).
As per claim 12, Keles discloses the method comprising: selecting, by a user, one mode out of the plurality of modes (para. 0060 discloses after successful authentication, the security level selection unit 16 is activated or enabled. The enabled security level selection unit 16 is adapted to generate the security level selection control signal SL-SEL-CRTL in response to a user selection input of a user or in response to a device selection input signal received from the authenticated external device, for example); receiving, at the portable encryption device, data from a computer or from an external storage device (para. 0019 discloses the encryption logic of the processing unit is adapted to encrypt data received by a data port of said portable storage apparatus, wherein the encryption is performed depending on the current processing mode using encryption keys selected according to the current processing mode of the processing unit, for example); and encrypting the received data based on the selected mode (para. 0051 discloses for a low security level SL, a relatively short encryption key EK can be stored and used for encrypting the low sensitive data memorized in the at least one low security level data memory 9-0. For a high security level SL, a more secure or longer encryption key K can be loaded from the key storage 5 and used for encrypting the respective data by the encryption logic 6A of the processing unit 4 to be stored in the high security level data memory 9-1 of the portable storage apparatus 1, for example).
As per claim 13, Keles discloses a step of either storing the encrypted data in the portable encryption device; or passing the encrypted data to one of a computer and an external storage device for storage (para. 0019 discloses the portable storage apparatus according to the first aspect of the present invention, the encryption logic of the processing unit is adapted to encrypt data received by a data port of said portable storage apparatus, wherein the encryption is performed depending on the current processing mode using encryption keys selected according to the current processing mode of the processing unit, for example).
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keles (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0286842 A1, hereinafter refer as to Keles) and in view of Jueneman et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2016/0021109 A1, hereinafter refer as to Jueneman).
Jueneman provides the method involves hashing a plaintext file to produce a plaintext hash. The plaintext file is encrypted to create ciphertext. The ciphertext is hashed to produce a ciphertext hash. The plaintext hash and the ciphertext hash are hashed to produce a result hash. The ciphertext is sealed together with the result hash to produce an encrypted file.
As per claim 5, Keles discloses all claimed language except for wherein at least one encryption key is associated with at least two modes out of the plurality of modes.
However, Jueneman discloses wherein at least one encryption key is associated with at least two modes out of the plurality of modes (para. 0138 discloses a SPED can also implement one or more asymmetric (public key) encryption operations. While asymmetric encryption operations underlie the key exchange operations described above, asymmetric key operations can also be used independently in a SPED for bulk encryption. Any asymmetric encryption operation can be implemented, such as, for example, the RSA, Diffie-Hellman, and Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman algorithms, and various variants thereof, for example).
Keles as modified by Jueneman are analogous art because they both are directed to method for file encryption of a plaintext file, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the teachings of Keles with the specified features of Jueneman because they are from the same field of endeavor.
In view of the above, having the device of Keles and then given the well- established teaching of Jueneman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Keles with the teachings of Jueneman order for allows simple logistics for changing any individual entity's secret without generating a new polynomial and distributing new shares to all [Jueneman: Abstract].
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keles (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0286842 A1, hereinafter refer as to Keles) and in view of Kosugi et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0084625 A1, hereinafter refer as to Kosugi).
Kosugi provide an authentication system includes a first controller that performs wireless communication with a mobile terminal and a first authentication unit that executes authentication of the mobile terminal including ID authentication and code authentication through the wireless communication performed between the first controller and the mobile terminal.
As per claim 14, Keles discloses all claimed language except for the steps of: receiving authentication information via the input device; the controller calculating a derived encryption key from the received authentication information; and the controller decrypting at least one encryption key stored on the internal memory using the derived encryption key and providing the decrypted encryption key to the encryption engine.
However, Kosugi discloses the steps of: receiving authentication information via the input device (fig. 1 depicted 1, a vehicle 1 and a mobile terminal 2 are configured to perform wireless communication with each other, for example); the controller calculating a derived encryption key from the received authentication information (fig. 2 and furthermore para. 0030 discloses Each of the key control unit 20 and the verification ECU 10 calculates a response code as a 96-bit data sequence from the challenge code, for example); and the controller decrypting at least one encryption key stored on the internal memory using the derived encryption key and providing the decrypted encryption key to the encryption engine (see claim 7, i.e. “… the authentication system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile terminal receives the data sequence from the first controller and calculates the terminal-side calculation result for the code authentication to obtain the portion of the terminal-side calculation result used in the encryption communication from the terminal-side calculation result, for example).
Keles as modified by Kosugi are analogous art because they both are directed to an authentication system and an authentication method, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the teachings of Keles with the specified features of Kosugi because they are from the same field of endeavor.
In view of the above, having the device of Keles and then given the well- established teaching of Kosugi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Keles with the teachings of Kosugi order to provide an authentication system and an authentication method that limit increases in a number of processes executed for communication [Kosugi: para. 0005].
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hughes ( US Patent US 7,814,316 B1) provides a data encryption system with encryption integrity verification includes an encryption engine configured to receive an unencrypted data packet and generate an encrypted data packet based at least in part on the unencrypted data packet. The system also includes a decryption engine in electronic communication with the encryption engine, the decryption engine configured to receive the encrypted data packet and generate a decrypted data packet based at least in part on the encrypted data packet. The system further includes a comparator in electronic communication with the encryption engine and the decryption engine, the comparator configured to receive the unencrypted and decrypted data packets, determine whether the unencrypted and decrypted data packets are identical, and present the encrypted data packet as an output when the unencrypted and decrypted data packets are identical.
Ishidoshiro (US Pub. No.: US 2005/0149745 A1) provide an encryption/decryption system, encryption/decryption equipment, and an encryption/decryption method in which the encryption/decryption equipment is attached to a computer in order to encrypt or decrypt data to be handled by the computer.
Murray (US Pub. No.: US 2010/0070778 A1) provide A technique for secure file encryption first choose a file encryption key randomly among a set of file encryption keys and encrypts a file using the chosen file encryption key based on a set of encryption rules. The file encryption key can then be encrypted via a directory master secret (DMS) key for an extra layer of security so that an intruder cannot decrypt the encrypted file even if the intruder gains access to the DMS-encrypted file encryption key. Finally, the DMS-encrypted file encryption key can be stored in a metadata associated with the file.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A.G.
November 11, 2025
/ABIY GETACHEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434