CTNF 18/702,710 CTNF 101514 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 4/18/2024 Claims 1-20 are pending Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino JP H08-267368 A (hereinafter Ishino) in view of Amano et al. JP 2000-334670 A (hereinafter Amano) . Regarding claim 1, Ishino teaches an electric tool (Par. [0001], “torque controlled pulse tool, such as a screwing tool”; Par. [0007], “pulse force generating means driven by the electric motor”) comprising: a fastening unit configured to perform a fastening operation on a designated member using driving force supplied from a power source (Par. [0025], “when the electric motor 15 is operated by operating the on / off switch 34, an impulse force is generated by the pulse force generating device 16 in response to the operation, and the output shaft 19 is rotated by the impulse force, so that a predetermined screw tightening operation can be performed” – The electric motor, pulse force generating device, and output shaft are collectively interpreted as a fastening unit. Impulse force is interpreted as a driving force. The designated member corresponds to the screw or torque-application object being tightened by Ishino’s tool output shaft 19.); a control unit configured to control operations of the fastening unit (Par. [0043], “control means for controlling the electric motor based on the output of the torque detection means”); a sensor unit configured to measure at least fastening torque applied by the fastening unit (Par. [0010], “magnetostrictive torque sensor is used as the torque detection means”); a communications unit configured to transmit operations data about a result of measurement made by the sensor unit (Par. [0035], “In the tightening torque storage device 60, peak torque values VTF at the time of completion of screw tightening for a large number of screw tightening operations are stored. When the stored data is processed, the tool 11 is connected to a data processing device 39 by a cable 36 and a communication line 38, and the data is transmitted”); a storage unit (Par. [0035], “In the tightening torque storage device 60, peak torque values VTF at the time of completion of screw tightening for a large number of screw tightening operations are stored”); and a portable tool body housing the fastening unit, the control unit, the sensor unit, the communications unit, and the storage unit (Par. [0011], “The screwing tool 11 is configured as a hand-held tool, the casing 12 of which comprises a body portion 13 and a handle portion 14.”; Fig. 1, Par. [0018], “sensor substrate 26 on which electronic components for controlling the torque sensor 21 are mounted is provided inside the main body portion 13 of the casing 12 in the vicinity of the torque sensor shaft 18. A main board 27 on which electronic components for controlling the electric motor 15 and processing a signal sent from the sensor board 26 are mounted is provided inside the handle portion 14 of the casing 12”; Par. [0009], “means for storing the final torque values applied to the plurality of torque application objects and means for transmitting the data of the stored final torque values to the external analysis device need to be provided in the casing”), the communications unit including: a wired communications unit configured to transmit the operations data by a wired communication method (Par. [0023], “data can be exchanged with the data processing device 39 via the communication control circuit 58 by the cable 36 and the communication line 38,”; Par. [0028], “stored data is transmitted to the data processing device 39 via the cable 36 and the communication line 38 at an appropriate time”; Par. [0035], “connected to a data processing device 39 by a cable 36 and a communication line 38, and the data is transmitted.” - communication), the communications unit being configured to transmit the operations data in a wired communication mode, the wired communications unit being configured to, while the communications unit is operating in the wired communication mode, transmit, by the wired communication method in the wired communication mode, the operations data stored in the storage unit (Par. [0035], “In the tightening torque storage device 60, peak torque values VTF at the time of completion of screw tightening for a large number of screw tightening operations are stored. When the stored data is processed, the tool 11 is connected to a data processing device 39 by a cable 36 and a communication line 38, and the data is transmitted”). Ishino does not explicitly teach a wireless communications unit configured to transmit the operations data by a wireless communication method; the communications unit being configured to transmit the operations data in a communication mode including at least a wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit being configured to transmit, by the wireless communication method in the wireless communication mode, at least a part of the operations data about the result of measurement provided by the sensor unit, when the fastening operation has been done for either one round or multiple rounds. However, Amano teaches a wireless communications unit configured to transmit the operations data by a wireless communication method (Par. [0011], “an in-factory network 3 used for transmission and reception of information between the electric tools 1a to 1n and the center apparatus 2. Note that the network 3 may use either a wired communication method or a wireless communication method.”); the communications unit being configured to transmit the operations data in a communication mode including at least a wireless communication mode (Par. [0011], “an in-factory network 3 used for transmission and reception of information between the electric tools la to 1n and the center apparatus 2. Note that the network 3 may use either a wired communication method or a wireless communication method.”), the wireless communications unit being configured to transmit, by the wireless communication method in the wireless communication mode, at least a part of the operations data about the result of measurement provided by the sensor unit, when the fastening operation has been done for either one round or multiple rounds (Par. [0009], “A history of screw fastening work performed so far is received from a power tool via a network, and a line speed at which a screw fastening target moves in a screw fastening line is controlled based on the history”). Ishino and Amano are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to electric screw-tightening tools/control systems and both address controlling or managing screw-tightening operations to improve fastening quality. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate wireless data communication to allow measured fastening data to be centrally collected and used for screw-fastening quality management, as taught by Amano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “quality of screw fastening” as suggested by Amano (Par. [0004]). Regarding claim 2 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein in the wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit is configured to transmit at least a part of the operations data by the wireless communication method when the fastening operation has been done for one round (Par. [0011], “an in-factory network 3 used for transmission and reception of information between the electric tools 1a to 1n and the center apparatus 2. Note that the network 3 may use either a wired communication method or a wireless communication method.”; Par. [0009], “A history of screw fastening work performed so far is received from a power tool via a network”). Regarding claim 3 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein in the wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit is configured to transmit at least a part of the operations data by the wireless communication method when the fastening operation has been done for multiple rounds (Par. [0009], “A history of screw fastening work performed so far is received from a power tool via a network” – history of screw fastening work is interpreted as multiple rounds of fastening operation data). Regarding claim 4 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein in the wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit is configured to receive operation instruction information about the fastening operation and the control unit is configured to control the fastening unit in accordance with the operation instruction information (Par. [0012], “The electric power tools 1a to 1n receive the closing information transmitted from the center device 2 via the network 3 in the communication unit 11. The received tightening information is temporarily stored in the storage unit 12. The motor control unit 13 reads the tightening information from the storage unit 12 and controls the motor 14 based on the information in the tightening information.”). Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the fastening operation has been all done in accordance with the operation instruction information, make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation (Par. [0032], “when the measured peak torque value becomes a value VTF exceeding the target torque value VTO, it is determined that the screw fastening work is completed as described above, and the motor 15 is stopped”; Par. [0033], “When the screw tightening operation is completed and the motor 15 is stopped, no further pulse torque is generated”; Amano further teaches Par. [0014], “The tightening information includes a tightening torque, a tightening speed, the number of tightened screws, and the like. Thus, for example, when the tightening torque is used as the tightening information The operator can tighten the screw with the preset tightening torque only by operating the trigger, and if the tightening speed is used as the tightening information, the operator can tighten the screw at the preset tightening speed only by operating the trigger”). Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation during a transmission period in which the wireless communications unit transmits the operations data (Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3,”; The instant specification acknowledges that in Patent Literature 1 (Amano), Par. [0003],“as the amount of information to transmit increases, it takes a longer and longer time to establish the communication. If it takes a long time for the electric tool to transmit the history information, then the screw fastening operations cannot be performed during the transmission. This means that the screw fastening operations need to be suspended for an increasing amount of time”. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious suspending the fastening operation during the wireless transmission period.). Regarding claim 8 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches a receiver, the receiver being configured to receive the operations data that has been transmitted from the wireless communications unit (Par. [0011], “an in-factory network 3 used for transmission and reception of information between the electric tools 1a to 1n and the center apparatus 2. Note that the network 3 may use either a wired communication method or a wireless communication method”; Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3” – center apparatus/center device 2 is interpreted as a receiver). Regarding claim 9 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches in the wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit is configured to receive operation instruction information about the fastening operation and the control unit is configured to control the fastening unit in accordance with the operation instruction information (Par. [0012], “The electric power tools 1a to 1n receive the closing information transmitted from the center device 2 via the network 3 in the communication unit 11. The received tightening information is temporarily stored in the storage unit 12. The motor control unit 13 reads the tightening information from the storage unit 12 and controls the motor 14 based on the information in the tightening information.”; Amano further teaches Par. [0014], “The tightening information includes a tightening torque, a tightening speed, the number of tightened screws, and the like. Thus, for example, when the tightening torque is used as the tightening information The operator can tighten the screw with the preset tightening torque only by operating the trigger, and if the tightening speed is used as the tightening information, the operator can tighten the screw at the preset tightening speed only by operating the trigger”). Regarding claim 10 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein in the wireless communication mode, the wireless communications unit is configured to receive operation instruction information about the fastening operation and the control unit is configured to control the fastening unit in accordance with the operation instruction information (Par. [0012], “The electric power tools 1a to 1n receive the closing information transmitted from the center device 2 via the network 3 in the communication unit 11. The received tightening information is temporarily stored in the storage unit 12. The motor control unit 13 reads the tightening information from the storage unit 12 and controls the motor 14 based on the information in the tightening information.”). Regarding claim 11 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the fastening operation has been all done in accordance with the operation instruction information, make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation ((Par. [0032], “when the measured peak torque value becomes a value VTF exceeding the target torque value VTO, it is determined that the screw fastening work is completed as described above, and the motor 15 is stopped”; Par. [0033], “When the screw tightening operation is completed and the motor 15 is stopped, no further pulse torque is generated”; Amano further teaches Par. [0014], “The tightening information includes a tightening torque, a tightening speed, the number of tightened screws, and the like. Thus, for example, when the tightening torque is used as the tightening information The operator can tighten the screw with the preset tightening torque only by operating the trigger, and if the tightening speed is used as the tightening information, the operator can tighten the screw at the preset tightening speed only by operating the trigger”). Regarding claim 12 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, when the fastening operation has been all done in accordance with the operation instruction information, make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation (Par. [0032], “when the measured peak torque value becomes a value VTF exceeding the target torque value VTO, it is determined that the screw fastening work is completed as described above, and the motor 15 is stopped”; Amano further teaches Par. [0014], “The tightening information includes a tightening torque, a tightening speed, the number of tightened screws, and the like. Thus, for example, when the tightening torque is used as the tightening information The operator can tighten the screw with the preset tightening torque only by operating the trigger, and if the tightening speed is used as the tightening information, the operator can tighten the screw at the preset tightening speed only by operating the trigger”). Regarding claim 13 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation during a transmission period in which the wireless communications unit transmits the operations data (Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3,”; The instant specification acknowledges that in Patent Literature 1 (Amano), Par. [0003],“as the amount of information to transmit increases, it takes a longer and longer time to establish the communication. If it takes a long time for the electric tool to transmit the history information, then the screw fastening operations cannot be performed during the transmission. This means that the screw fastening operations need to be suspended for an increasing amount of time”. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious suspending the fastening operation during the wireless transmission period.). Regarding claim 14 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation during a transmission period in which the wireless communications unit transmits the operations data (Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3,”; The instant specification acknowledges that in Patent Literature 1 (Amano), Par. [0003],“as the amount of information to transmit increases, it takes a longer and longer time to establish the communication. If it takes a long time for the electric tool to transmit the history information, then the screw fastening operations cannot be performed during the transmission. This means that the screw fastening operations need to be suspended for an increasing amount of time”. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious suspending the fastening operation during the wireless transmission period.). R egarding claim 15 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation during a transmission period in which the wireless communications unit transmits the operations data (Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3,”; The instant specification acknowledges that in Patent Literature 1 (Amano), Par. [0003],“as the amount of information to transmit increases, it takes a longer and longer time to establish the communication. If it takes a long time for the electric tool to transmit the history information, then the screw fastening operations cannot be performed during the transmission. This means that the screw fastening operations need to be suspended for an increasing amount of time”. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious suspending the fastening operation during the wireless transmission period.). R egarding claim 16 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Amano further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to make the fastening unit suspend the fastening operation during a transmission period in which the wireless communications unit transmits the operations data (Par. [0016], “in the center device 2, the history of the screw tightening operation performed so far is received from the electric power tools 1a to 1n via the network 3,”; The instant specification acknowledges that in Patent Literature 1 (Amano), Par. [0003],“as the amount of information to transmit increases, it takes a longer and longer time to establish the communication. If it takes a long time for the electric tool to transmit the history information, then the screw fastening operations cannot be performed during the transmission. This means that the screw fastening operations need to be suspended for an increasing amount of time”. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious suspending the fastening operation during the wireless transmission period.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino JP H08-267368 A (hereinafter Ishino) in view of Amano et al. JP 2000-334670 A (hereinafter Amano), and further in view of Silvester USPGPUB 2003/0142631 A1 (hereinafter Silvester) . R egarding claim 7 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino and Amano do not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable. However, Silvester teaches wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable (Claim 2, “when a wire link is coupled to the device, selecting a communications mode as one of a wireless communications mode and a wired communications mode according to the device communications configuration state, the wired connection state and a radio frequency interference level; and setting a device communications mode state according to the selected communications mode.”; Claim 9, “transmitting data, via a wire link, between the device and a host device, utilizing the wired communication mode; and receiving data, via the wire link, from the host device, utilizing the wired communications mode” – host device is interpreted as a terminal device. When the selected mode is wired, communication is initiated through the wire link, when the selected mode is wireless, communication is initiated through the wireless link.). Ishino, Amano, and Silvester are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to wireless/wired communication between devices. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool with wireless and wired data transfer capabilities, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate the ability to select between wireless and wired communication modes, as taught by Silvester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve data transfer performance as suggested by Silvester (Par. [0032]). R egarding claims 17 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino and Amano do not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable. However, Silvester teaches wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable (Claim 2, “when a wire link is coupled to the device, selecting a communications mode as one of a wireless communications mode and a wired communications mode according to the device communications configuration state, the wired connection state and a radio frequency interference level; and setting a device communications mode state according to the selected communications mode.”; Claim 9, “transmitting data, via a wire link, between the device and a host device, utilizing the wired communication mode; and receiving data, via the wire link, from the host device, utilizing the wired communications mode” – host device is interpreted as a terminal device. When the selected mode is wired, communication is initiated through the wire link, when the selected mode is wireless, communication is initiated through the wireless link.). Ishino, Amano, and Silvester are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to wireless/wired communication between devices. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool with wireless and wired data transfer capabilities, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate the ability to select between wireless and wired communication modes, as taught by Silvester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve data transfer performance as suggested by Silvester (Par. [0032]). R egarding claims 18 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino and Amano do not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable. However, Silvester teaches wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable (Claim 2, “when a wire link is coupled to the device, selecting a communications mode as one of a wireless communications mode and a wired communications mode according to the device communications configuration state, the wired connection state and a radio frequency interference level; and setting a device communications mode state according to the selected communications mode.”; Claim 9, “transmitting data, via a wire link, between the device and a host device, utilizing the wired communication mode; and receiving data, via the wire link, from the host device, utilizing the wired communications mode” – host device is interpreted as a terminal device. When the selected mode is wired, communication is initiated through the wire link, when the selected mode is wireless, communication is initiated through the wireless link.). Ishino, Amano, and Silvester are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to wireless/wired communication between devices. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool with wireless and wired data transfer capabilities, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate the ability to select between wireless and wired communication modes, as taught by Silvester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve data transfer performance as suggested by Silvester (Par. [0032]). R egarding claims 19 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino and Amano do not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable. However, Silvester teaches wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable (Claim 2, “when a wire link is coupled to the device, selecting a communications mode as one of a wireless communications mode and a wired communications mode according to the device communications configuration state, the wired connection state and a radio frequency interference level; and setting a device communications mode state according to the selected communications mode.”; Claim 9, “transmitting data, via a wire link, between the device and a host device, utilizing the wired communication mode; and receiving data, via the wire link, from the host device, utilizing the wired communications mode” – host device is interpreted as a terminal device. When the selected mode is wired, communication is initiated through the wire link, when the selected mode is wireless, communication is initiated through the wireless link.). Ishino, Amano, and Silvester are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to wireless/wired communication between devices. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool with wireless and wired data transfer capabilities, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate the ability to select between wireless and wired communication modes, as taught by Silvester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve data transfer performance as suggested by Silvester (Par. [0032]). R egarding claims 20 , the combination of Ishino and Amano teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above. Ishino and Amano do not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable. However, Silvester teaches wherein the control unit is configured to set the communication mode to be either the wireless communication mode or the wired communication mode in accordance with mode setting information that the wired communications unit has received from a terminal device connected to the wired communications unit via a communications cable (Claim 2, “when a wire link is coupled to the device, selecting a communications mode as one of a wireless communications mode and a wired communications mode according to the device communications configuration state, the wired connection state and a radio frequency interference level; and setting a device communications mode state according to the selected communications mode.”; Claim 9, “transmitting data, via a wire link, between the device and a host device, utilizing the wired communication mode; and receiving data, via the wire link, from the host device, utilizing the wired communications mode” – host device is interpreted as a terminal device. When the selected mode is wired, communication is initiated through the wire link, when the selected mode is wireless, communication is initiated through the wireless link.). Ishino, Amano, and Silvester are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to wireless/wired communication between devices. Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electric torque controlling tool with wireless and wired data transfer capabilities, as taught by Ishino, and incorporate the ability to select between wireless and wired communication modes, as taught by Silvester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve data transfer performance as suggested by Silvester (Par. [0032]). Citation of Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. [USPGPUB 2014/0336810 A1] teaches a communication port interface facilitates downloading of torque and/or angle log information from an electronic torque tool to an external device. Lyu [USPGPUB 2022/0281044 A1] teaches a method, device and equipment for monitoring screwing . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER XU whose telephone number is (571)272-0792. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mohammad Ali can be reached at (571) 272-4105. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119 /MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 2 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 3 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 4 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 5 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 6 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 7 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 8 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 9 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 10 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 11 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 12 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 13 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 14 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 15 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 16 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 17 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 18 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 19 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 20 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 21 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 22 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/702,710 Page 23 Art Unit: 2119