DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After carefully considering the argument, the finality mailed on 09/09/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) under 35 USC103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1/8/14/15/16/17 recite “transferring …. receiving…. transmitting …... This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim limitations recited in the independent claim 1 involve the transferring information … and receiving information …. And transmitting a request ….. , the claim limitations fall within the abstract idea, specifically the category of by human, with the aid of a UE. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), "IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD". "Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to existing technology". The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 1,8, 14’, 15 and 16/17 s limitations of “ network device ” all recite a judicial exception, in particular, an insignificant extra-solution activity of indication capability of UE. In terms of subject matter eligibility, while step 1 is fulfilled with claims 1/8 /14,/15 and 16/17 being a method claim, Step 2A, Prong One is fulfilled, as the claim recites an abstract idea, with Step 2A, Prong Two failing, as the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using information configuration and obtaining from the network device. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to indicate capability and network device do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claim 1 does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per clam 2, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using indication information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to indication information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claim 2 does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per clam 3, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using version information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to version information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claim 3 does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per clam 6, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using acquiring information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to version information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, independent claim 6 does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per clam 7, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely transmitting information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to version information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, independent claim 6 does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per claims 11/19, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely using version information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to version information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claims do not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
As per claims 22, the claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, as merely receiving information. Finally, Step 2B fails, as the additional element of information configuration to receiving information does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of insignificant extra-solution activity. As a result, the independent claim does not recite an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11,and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al US 2019/0320311 in view of Geng et al US 2019/0174398.
As per claim 1. Wang discloses a method for transmitting auxiliary information, performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
transferring auxiliary information to a second UE ( [0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device.), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. 0179 );
receiving a system information request message from the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI.);
obtaining system information provided by a network device ([0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station.);
Wang does not disclose transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device.
However, Geng discloses transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device ( 0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As per claim 2. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of: indication information of system information that is capable to be obtained from the network device ( Wang 0078] When the first terminal device uses the second terminal device as a relay device and receives the system information sent by the second terminal device, the first terminal device may send a first request message to the second terminal device, where the first request message is used to request the system information SI.
[0079] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first request message may include first indication information, and the first indication information may be used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or a system information type required by the first terminal device ); indication information of system information that is capable to be forwarded to the second UE ( [0139] Optionally, in some embodiments, the second terminal device may determine, based on the first indication information in the first request message, system information required by the first terminal device, and send the first response message to the first terminal device. The first response message includes the system information SI that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the second terminal device based on the first indication information.); version information of a standard version of the system information that is capable to be obtained from the network device ( 0169 the first terminal device may receive the first message, to determine whether the first terminal device needs to receive the system information. The first message may further carry the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI. The first terminal device may request, based on the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI and/or the capability supported by the first terminal device, the second terminal device to send the corresponding system information, thereby preventing the first terminal device from blindingly receiving the system information or preventing the second terminal device from blindingly sending system information not required by the first terminal device. This reduces signaling exchange between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, reduces signaling overheads, [0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. ); or capability indication information of a transmission capability of a Uu interface (0159] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first request message may further carry system information that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the first terminal device based on the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI and/or the capability supported by the first terminal device. [0186] The procedure of the method 600 shown in FIG. 6 is approximately similar to that of the method 500. A difference is that the first terminal device in the method 600 needs to send the first indication information to the second terminal device. The first indication information is information such as information about the capability supported by the first terminal device or information about the system information type required by the first terminal device. The second terminal device may determine, based on the information such as the capability supported by the first terminal device or the system information type required by the first terminal device, the system information required by the first terminal device, to prevent the second terminal device from sending system information not required by the first terminal device to the first terminal device).
As per claim 3. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein the system information request message comprises at least one of: indication information for requesting system information (wang, 0079] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first request message may include first indication information, and the first indication information may be used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or a system information type required by the first terminal device ); indication information for requesting system information transmitted to the second UE ( Wang, [0139] Optionally, in some embodiments, the second terminal device may determine, based on the first indication information in the first request message, system information required by the first terminal device, and send the first response message to the first terminal device. The first response message includes the system information SI that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the second terminal device based on the first indication information ); version information of a standard version for requesting system information obtained from the network device ( Wang 0169 the first terminal device may receive the first message, to determine whether the first terminal device needs to receive the system information. The first message may further carry the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI. The first terminal device may request, based on the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI and/or the capability supported by the first terminal device, the second terminal device to send the corresponding system information, thereby preventing the first terminal device from blindingly receiving the system information or preventing the second terminal device from blindingly sending system information not required by the first terminal device. This reduces signaling exchange between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, reduces signaling overheads, [0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. ); or version information of a standard version of supported system information (Geng 0014 the sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier to the UE includes: preconfiguring, by the network-side device for the UE, a correspondence between the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s), and sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, so as to indicate the UE to acquire, according to the correspondence, the time-frequency resource(s) corresponding to the group identifier and then receive the first system information. The sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier and time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information to the UE includes: sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s); or sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, and sending a second broadcast message to the UE, where the second broadcast message includes the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s). In other words, the base station may send the group ID to the UE by using the dedicated signaling, and send the time-frequency resource(s) to the UE by using the dedicated signaling or with a broadcast manner, or the UE may acquire the time-frequency resource(s) according to the correspondence between the group ID and the time-frequency resource(s)).
As per claim 4. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the indication information comprises a system information block (SIB) identifier or a system information identifier ( 0022] With reference to the second aspect, in a second implementation of the second aspect, the first message includes information indicating at least one of the following events: the system information changes, an EAB parameter changes, there is an ETWS primary notification, there is an ETWS secondary notification, there is a CMAS notification, the second terminal device is performing or has completed cell reselection, the second terminal device is performing or has completed intra-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-RAT handover, and a system information block SIB 1 broadcast by the base station changes).
As per claim 5. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the system information identifier is a bit stream, each bit in the bit stream indicating system information indicated by an entry in a system information scheduling list in a first SIB (SIB 1) ( [0191] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may further include information indicating at least one of the following events: the system information changes, an EAB parameter changes, there is an ETWS primary notification, there is an ETWS secondary notification, there is a CMAS notification, the second terminal device is performing or has completed cell reselection, the second terminal device is performing or has completed intra-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-RAT handover, and a system information block SIB 1 broadcast by the base station changes).
As per claim 6. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 3, Wang discloses further comprising: acquiring the requested system information from the network device; and transferring the system information to the second UE ([0185] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first response message includes the system information SI that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the second terminal device based on the first indication information sent by the first terminal device).
As per claim 7. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 3, Geng discloses further comprising: transmitting a system information acquisition failure indication to the second UE after the system information is not successfully received from the network device ( 0010/0017 the indication information includes a bitmap, and a value of each bit in the bitmap is used to indicate whether system information corresponding to each bit needs to be acquired by the UE by sending a system information request. For example, values corresponding to each bit in the bitmap is 0011, 0 indicates that the UE does not need to send the system information request to acquire the corresponding SI from the base station, and 1 indicates that the UE needs to send the system information request to acquire the corresponding SI from the base station).
As per claim 8. Wang discloses a method for receiving auxiliary information, performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving auxiliary information transferred by a first UE, wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE ([0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device.), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device); and
in a case of determining, based on the auxiliary information, that the first UE is capable to obtain system information required by the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI) , and transmitting a system information request message to the first UE (0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station ).
Wang does not disclose obtain system information provided by a network device.
However, Geng discloses obtain system information provided by a network device ( (0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As per claim 11. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of: indication information of system information that is capable to be obtained from the network device (wang, 0079] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first request message may include first indication information, and the first indication information may be used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or a system information type required by the first terminal device ); indication information of system information that is capable to be forwarded to the second UE ( Wang, [0139] Optionally, in some embodiments, the second terminal device may determine, based on the first indication information in the first request message, system information required by the first terminal device, and send the first response message to the first terminal device. The first response message includes the system information SI that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the second terminal device based on the first indication information); version information of a standard version of the system information that is capable to be obtained from the network device (Wang 0169 the first terminal device may receive the first message, to determine whether the first terminal device needs to receive the system information. The first message may further carry the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI. The first terminal device may request, based on the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI and/or the capability supported by the first terminal device, the second terminal device to send the corresponding system information, thereby preventing the first terminal device from blindingly receiving the system information or preventing the second terminal device from blindingly sending system information not required by the first terminal device. This reduces signaling exchange between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, reduces signaling overheads, [0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device); and capability indication information of a transmission capability of a Uu interface ( Geng 0014 the sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier to the UE includes: preconfiguring, by the network-side device for the UE, a correspondence between the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s), and sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, so as to indicate the UE to acquire, according to the correspondence, the time-frequency resource(s) corresponding to the group identifier and then receive the first system information. The sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier and time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information to the UE includes: sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s); or sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, and sending a second broadcast message to the UE, where the second broadcast message includes the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s). In other words, the base station may send the group ID to the UE by using the dedicated signaling, and send the time-frequency resource(s) to the UE by using the dedicated signaling or with a broadcast manner, or the UE may acquire the time-frequency resource(s) according to the correspondence between the group ID and the time-frequency resource(s)).
As per claim 14. Wang discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program or instructions ( par 0172 UE includes memory and processor ); and the processor is configured to:
transfer auxiliary information to a second UE ([0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device ), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of a first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ( ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. 0179 ); receive a system information request message from the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI ); and obtaining system information provided by a network device ([0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station.);
Wang does not disclose transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device.
However, Geng discloses transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device ( 0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As claim 15. Wang discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program or instructions (0172 UE includes processor and memory ); and transferring auxiliary information to a second UE ( [0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device.), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. 0179 );
receiving a system information request message from the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI.);
obtaining system information provided by a network device ([0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station.);
Wang does not disclose transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device.
However, Geng discloses transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device ( 0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As per claim 16. Wang disclsoes A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when called and executed by a computer, transferring auxiliary information to a second UE ( [0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device.), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. 0179 );
receiving a system information request message from the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI.);
obtaining system information provided by a network device ([0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station.);
Wang does not disclose transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device.
However, Geng discloses transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device ( 0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As per claim 17. Wang disclsoes A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when called and executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform transferring auxiliary information to a second UE ( [0172] 620: The first terminal device sends first indication information to the second terminal device.), wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate a capability of the first UE to obtain system information provided by a network device ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device. 0179 );
receiving a system information request message from the second UE (0174] 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI.);
obtaining system information provided by a network device ([0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station.);
Wang does not disclose transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device.
However, Geng discloses transmitting a request for obtaining system information corresponding to the system information request message to the network device ( 0196 502: The UE sends the system information request to the network-side device, where the system information request is used to request to acquire first system information from the network-side device).
Wang and Geng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng and provide system informaton to extablish communation out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communcaiton network to obtain a sigal, thereby increasing impovement for relay deivce in the communciation network.
As per claim 18. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the indication information comprises a system information block (SIB) identifier or a system information identifier (Wang 0022] With reference to the second aspect, in a second implementation of the second aspect, the first message includes information indicating at least one of the following events: the system information changes, an EAB parameter changes, there is an ETWS primary notification, there is an ETWS secondary notification, there is a CMAS notification, the second terminal device is performing or has completed cell reselection, the second terminal device is performing or has completed intra-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-RAT handover, and a system information block SIB 1 broadcast by the base station changes.).
As per claim 19. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the system information request message comprises at least one of: indication information for requesting system information (wang, 0079] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first request message may include first indication information, and the first indication information may be used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or a system information type required by the first terminal device ); indication information for requesting system information transmitted to the second UE ( Wang, [0139] Optionally, in some embodiments, the second terminal device may determine, based on the first indication information in the first request message, system information required by the first terminal device, and send the first response message to the first terminal device. The first response message includes the system information SI that is required by the first terminal device and that is determined by the second terminal device based on the first indication information); version information of a standard version for requesting system information obtained from the network device (Wang 0169 the first terminal device may receive the first message, to determine whether the first terminal device needs to receive the system information. The first message may further carry the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI. The first terminal device may request, based on the reason for which the first terminal device is instructed to receive the SI and/or the capability supported by the first terminal device, the second terminal device to send the corresponding system information, thereby preventing the first terminal device from blindingly receiving the system information or preventing the second terminal device from blindingly sending system information not required by the first terminal device. This reduces signaling exchange between the first terminal device and the second terminal device, reduces signaling overheads, [0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device ); or version information of a standard version of supported system information ( Geng 0014 the sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier to the UE includes: preconfiguring, by the network-side device for the UE, a correspondence between the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s), and sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, so as to indicate the UE to acquire, according to the correspondence, the time-frequency resource(s) corresponding to the group identifier and then receive the first system information. The sending, by the network-side device, a group identifier and time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information to the UE includes: sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s); or sending, by the network-side device, dedicated signaling to the UE that requests the first system information, where the dedicated signaling includes the group identifier, and sending a second broadcast message to the UE, where the second broadcast message includes the time-frequency resource(s) for the first system information, so as to indicate the UE to receive the first system information by using the group identifier and the time-frequency resource(s). In other words, the base station may send the group ID to the UE by using the dedicated signaling, and send the time-frequency resource(s) to the UE by using the dedicated signaling or with a broadcast manner, or the UE may acquire the time-frequency resource(s) according to the correspondence between the group ID and the time-frequency resource(s)).
As per claim 20. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 11, wherein the indication information comprises a system information block (SIB) identifier or a system information identifier ( Wang 0022] With reference to the second aspect, in a second implementation of the second aspect, the first message includes information indicating at least one of the following events: the system information changes, an EAB parameter changes, there is an ETWS primary notification, there is an ETWS secondary notification, there is a CMAS notification, the second terminal device is performing or has completed cell reselection, the second terminal device is performing or has completed intra-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-RAT handover, and a system information block SIB 1 broadcast by the base station changes.).
As per claim 21. Wang and Geng discloses The method of claim 19, wherein the indication information comprises a system information block (SIB) identifier or a system information identifier (Wang 0022] With reference to the second aspect, in a second implementation of the second aspect, the first message includes information indicating at least one of the following events: the system information changes, an EAB parameter changes, there is an ETWS primary notification, there is an ETWS secondary notification, there is a CMAS notification, the second terminal device is performing or has completed cell reselection, the second terminal device is performing or has completed intra-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-frequency handover, the second terminal device is performing or has completed inter-RAT handover, and a system information block SIB 1 broadcast by the base station changes.).
As per claim 22. Wang and Geng disclsoes the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving system information corresponding to the system information request message from the first UE, wherein the system information is requested from the network device by the first UE (Wang discloses [0178] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may further include first identification information, and the first identification information is a cell identifier and/or SystemInfoValueTag.
[0179] 640: When the first terminal device is a terminal device in coverage of a base station, the first terminal device receives system information broadcast by the base station. [0180] 650: The first terminal device sends a first request message to the second terminal device. [0181] Optionally, the first request message is used to request the second terminal device to send system information SI required by the first terminal device to the first terminal device.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al US 2019/0320311 in view of Geng et al US 2019/0174398 in view of Peisa US 2020/0113011.
As per claim 9. Wang and Geng discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: in a case of determining that the first UE is incapable to obtain or transmit system information required by the second UE (Wang discloses ([0173] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first indication information is used to indicate a capability supported by the first terminal device or system information SI type required by the first terminal device 0174 630: The first terminal device receives a first message sent by the second terminal device. [0175] Optionally, in some embodiments, the first message may include instruction information instructing the first terminal device to receive SI) and
The combination does not disclose performing at least one of following operations based on the auxiliary information: triggering reselection of the first UE; entering a connected state from an idle state or an inactive state; or not transmitting a system information request message to the first UE.
However, Peisa discloses performing at least one of following operations based on the auxiliary information: triggering reselection of the first UE; entering a connected state from an idle state or an inactive state; or not transmitting a system information request message to the first UE ( 0009 an on demand request of broadcast SI transmission a UE operating in an idle or inactive mode the network may control whether the request for Other system information is transmitted by a random access preamble message or as part of a radio resource control connection message. [0037] FIG. 3 illustrates a method according to embodiments of the disclosure. The method may be carried out in a terminal device, such as the terminal device 16, for example. The terminal device may be operating in an idle or inactive state, such as RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE. In other words, the terminal device may be operating in a state in which it is not fully connected to the network with dedicated radio resource control signaling. [0071] In some embodiments, where the terminal device is in an idle or inactive state, responsive to a determination that reception of the second portion of system information has failed, the terminal device may switch to a connected state (such as RRC_CONNECTED), and acquire the second portion of system information using dedicated signalling from the network node (such as RRC signalling). The terminal device may switch to the connected state upon reaching the maximum number of transmission attempts, or the maximum transmit power, for example, Optionally, the terminal device may switch to the connected state before the maximum number of transmission attempts has been reached. For example, it may be beneficial for the terminal device to switch to the connected state if the terminal device can determine that the second portion of system information was transmitted by the network node, and possibly even partially read by the terminal device (e.g. to read the PDCCH/SI-RNTI), but not decoded in full by the terminal device).
Wang and Geng and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Geng, including the teaching of Peisa and provide system information to establish commination out of the coverage area. Doing so would add a relay service in the communication network to obtain a Sigal, thereby increasing improvement for relay devices in the communication network.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496