DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the remarks filed in response to the restriction and/or election requirement filed on May 8, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-5 and 14-18 are rejected.
Claims 6, 7, 19 and 20 are objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 18, 2024 and May 8, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7 and 14-20) in the reply filed on May 8, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that The restriction is respectfully traversed in order to preserve the issue for subsequent petition since the examination of all of the claims is not believed to create an undue burden on the USPTO and that the subject matter among the groups is not independent and distinct as required by statute. Furthermore, different classifications as recited by the USPTO are not independent adequate grounds for restriction since the USPTO has historically examined applications containing multiple sets of claims.
This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not provided remarks regarding the unity of invention and the groups which do not related to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1, because, under PCT rule 13.2, the lack the same or corresponding special technical features.
Group I and Group II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
The subject-matter of independent claims 1 and 14 of group 1 is directed to a first UE locally authenticating said second UE to which it is connected via tethering and if local authentication is successful granting the said second UE access to said first network slice. Thereby solving the technical problem of "obviating the need for the second UE to be authenticated and authorised by the network" [cf. application as originally filed figure 4 and paragraph 0042].
The subject-matter of independent claim 8 of group 2 is directed towards granting access by a first UE to a second UE to an alternative second network slice if network based authentication/authorisation to a first network slice is not successful . This is achieved by the first UE sending a request to authenticate a second UE to which it is connected via tethering to a network and if second UE is not authorised by the network to access a first network slice, granting the second UE access to a second network slice. Thereby solving the technical problem of "handling access to different slices for tethered UEs even in case of unsuccessful authorization" [cf. application as originally filed paragraph 0025]
The only common features of the above groups of inventions, namely the "connecting a first and second UE via tethering (i.e. PC5 or D2D direct communication links) and exchanging authentication requests/responses for performing authentication/authorisation to access network services/slices" represent common measures well known from the related 3GPP standard [cf. 3GPP TR 23.752 V1,.1.0 cited in the IDS, page 102, Figure 6.27.2-1 showing tethering and exchange of authentication request/response and authorisation to network slices as well as page 104, lines 6-9 showing details about tethered authorisation to access different network slices].
As a result, the present amended claims/application does not meet the requirements of unity of inventions as defined in Rules 13.1 and 13.2 PCT and comprises two groups of inventions solving different technical problems and having different technical features, which can not be linked to a common inventive concept.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0279348, hereinafter Youn, in view of Shimojou et al. WIPO Publication WO 2018/180496, machine translated, hereinafter Shimojou.
Regarding Claim 1, Youn discloses a method, by a first user equipment (UE) (Abstract; Figure 1, 7, 10-13, 15-20), comprising:
establishing a tethered connection with a second UE (Figure 10-12; Paragraph [0321-0323] Establishing of a tethered connection between a remote UE and a relay UE in which the relay UE can provide connection to the network and relay communication in the uplink and downlink direction.);
determining whether local authentication of the second UE is required; responsive to determining that local authentication of the second UE is required: sending an authentication request to the second UE (Figure 10b; Paragraph [0301-0304] The Relay UE may transmit an EAP-Request message to the Remote UE based on information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID). For example, the Relay UE may transmit a Direct Communication Authentication Request message including an EAP-Request message to the Remote UE);
and responsive to sending the authentication request, receiving an authentication response from the second UE (Paragraph [0301-0304] 1) The Remote UE may transmit an EAP-Response message to the Relay UE in response to the EAP-Request message. For example, the Remote UE may transmit a Direct Communication Authentication Response message including an EAP-Response message to the Relay UE);
determining, based on the authentication response, that the local authentication is successful; and responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful, granting access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network (Paragraph [0310-0312] When authentication for the Remote UE is successfully completed and the Remote UE can receive service through the current Relay; After the PC5 session for the Remote UE is generated (or established), the Relay UE may transmit a Direct Communication Accept message including the Temporary ID information of the Remote UE allocated by AMF and the IP address information to be used in the session to the Remote UE).
Youn discloses establishing a tethered connection with a second UE and performing local authentication based on whether location authentication of the second UE is required. While Youn discloses local authentication and communication utilizing network slices Youn may not explicitly disclose responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful, granting access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network.
However, Shimojou more specifically teaches responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful, granting access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network (Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other. The child terminal 110 performs an authentication process according to a user operation. First, the child terminal 110 transmits an authentication request (Authentication request) to the user terminal 100 (S101). Upon receiving the authentication request, the user terminal 100 transmits a user name request (IdentityRequest) to the child terminal 110 (S102), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a user name (S103). The user terminal 100 transmits a password input request (Authenticationchallenge) to the child terminal 110 (S104), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a password (S105). The user terminal 100 transmits a request for authentication slice approval and connection slice information to the child terminal 110 (S106). Here, the connection slice information assumes a service type, but is not limited to this, and may be information for specifying a slice to be connected. Accordingly, a slice ID that identifies a slice may be requested. The connection slice information may be information included in NSSI (Network Slice Selection Information) defined in NGN (Next Generation Network Network Architecture) or NSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistant Information) that is a subdivided information type. The child terminal 110 transmits the connection slice information to the user terminal 100 according to a user operation or an activated application. The user terminal 100 transmits a slice connection permission to the child terminal 110 (S113) and stores slice identification information in the child terminal management table (S114). Through such processing, the user terminal 100 can transmit the data transmitted from the child terminal 110 to a slice corresponding to the service provided by the child terminal 110 (S115). Further, the user terminal 100 can transmit data transmitted via the slice associated with the identification information of the child terminal 110 in the child terminal management table 102 to the child terminal 110.
In the above example, it is assumed that the user terminal 100 is already connected to one or a plurality of slices. However, the present invention is not limited to this. When the user terminal 100 determines, based on the connection slice information transmitted from the child terminal 110, that a slice that satisfies the requirement indicated in the connection slice information in the NSSF 210 (for example, a slice that satisfies the service requirement) is not in the communication connection state The communication control unit 101 may newly establish a communication connection with the slice designated in the NSSF 210. Then, the communication control unit 101 registers the identification information of the slice newly in the communication connection state and the identification information of the child terminal 110 in the child terminal management table 102. This can be similarly applied to modified examples described later. Further, the connection slice information transmitted from the child terminal 110 to the user terminal 100 may be included in the authentication process. For example, the connection slice information may be included in the authentication request in step S101, the user name input in S103, and the password input in S105
That is Shimojou teaches local authentication in which when it is determined that local authentication of the second UE is required to get access to a first network slice the device transmits an authentication request and receives a response in which if the local authentication is successful access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices is provided by a network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youn with the teachings of Shimojou. Shimojou provides a solution in which a slice with the selected child terminal and the child terminal is connected reliably for communication. The requirements of each service are satisfied easily and the signaling process is reduced, when a slice is allocated to the services with various requirements for process (Shimojou Abstract; Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the method of Claim 1. Youn in view of Shimojou further disclose at least one of receiving, from the second UE, a request for the first network slice or selecting the first network slice from the plurality of network slices (Shimojou Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other. The child terminal 110 performs an authentication process according to a user operation. First, the child terminal 110 transmits an authentication request (Authentication request) to the user terminal 100 (S101). Upon receiving the authentication request, the user terminal 100 transmits a user name request (IdentityRequest) to the child terminal 110 (S102), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a user name (S103). The user terminal 100 transmits a password input request (Authenticationchallenge) to the child terminal 110 (S104), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a password (S105). The user terminal 100 transmits a request for authentication slice approval and connection slice information to the child terminal 110 (S106). Here, the connection slice information assumes a service type, but is not limited to this, and may be information for specifying a slice to be connected. Accordingly, a slice ID that identifies a slice may be requested. The connection slice information may be information included in NSSI (Network Slice Selection Information) defined in NGN (Next Generation Network Network Architecture) or NSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistant Information) that is a subdivided information type. The child terminal 110 transmits the connection slice information to the user terminal 100 according to a user operation or an activated application).
Regarding Claim 3, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the method of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose establishing a secure connection with the second UE, wherein the authentication request is sent to the second UE over the secure connection, and the authentication response is received over the secure connection (Youn Figure 10-12 Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication; Shimojou Figure 5 and 8 Local authentication procedure over secure connection).
Regarding Claim 4, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the method of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose determining that the first network slice is available at the first UE; and responsive to the first network slice being available at the first UE, sending the authentication request to the second UE (Shimojou Figure 5; Page 6-7 Authentication request and successful response to the request when the slide requested by a slice ID is available).
Regarding Claim 5, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the method of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose wherein granting access to the first network slice comprises: permitting wirelessly communication of data for the second UE over the first network slice using a first upstream link (Youn Figure 10-12 Direct connection with relay to communicate upstream; Shimojou Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other).
Regarding Claim 14, Youn discloses a first device comprising: a radio frequency (RF) antenna interface; at least one processor coupled to the RF antenna interface; and a memory storing executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor (Abstract; Figure 1, 7, 10-13, 15-20), manipulate the first device to:
establish a tethered connection with a second device (Figure 10-12; Paragraph [0321-0323] Establishing of a tethered connection between a remote UE and a relay UE in which the relay UE can provide connection to the network and relay communication in the uplink and downlink direction.);
responsive to determining local authentication of the second device is to be performed: sending an authentication request to the second device (Figure 10b; Paragraph [0301-0304] The Relay UE may transmit an EAP-Request message to the Remote UE based on information about the Remote UE ID (eg, SUPI, SUCI, or temporary ID). For example, the Relay UE may transmit a Direct Communication Authentication Request message including an EAP-Request message to the Remote UE);
and responsive to sending the authentication request, receiving an authentication response from the second device (Paragraph [0301-0304] 1) The Remote UE may transmit an EAP-Response message to the Relay UE in response to the EAP-Request message. For example, the Remote UE may transmit a Direct Communication Authentication Response message including an EAP-Response message to the Relay UE);
and responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful based on the authentication response, granting access of the second device to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network (Paragraph [0310-0312] When authentication for the Remote UE is successfully completed and the Remote UE can receive service through the current Relay; After the PC5 session for the Remote UE is generated (or established), the Relay UE may transmit a Direct Communication Accept message including the Temporary ID information of the Remote UE allocated by AMF and the IP address information to be used in the session to the Remote UE).
Youn discloses establishing a tethered connection with a second UE and performing local authentication based on whether location authentication of the second UE is required. While Youn discloses local authentication and communication utilizing network slices Youn may not explicitly disclose responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful, granting access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network.
However, Shimojou more specifically teaches responsive to determining that the local authentication is successful, granting access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices provided by a network (Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other. The child terminal 110 performs an authentication process according to a user operation. First, the child terminal 110 transmits an authentication request (Authentication request) to the user terminal 100 (S101). Upon receiving the authentication request, the user terminal 100 transmits a user name request (IdentityRequest) to the child terminal 110 (S102), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a user name (S103). The user terminal 100 transmits a password input request (Authenticationchallenge) to the child terminal 110 (S104), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a password (S105). The user terminal 100 transmits a request for authentication slice approval and connection slice information to the child terminal 110 (S106). Here, the connection slice information assumes a service type, but is not limited to this, and may be information for specifying a slice to be connected. Accordingly, a slice ID that identifies a slice may be requested. The connection slice information may be information included in NSSI (Network Slice Selection Information) defined in NGN (Next Generation Network Network Architecture) or NSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistant Information) that is a subdivided information type. The child terminal 110 transmits the connection slice information to the user terminal 100 according to a user operation or an activated application. The user terminal 100 transmits a slice connection permission to the child terminal 110 (S113) and stores slice identification information in the child terminal management table (S114). Through such processing, the user terminal 100 can transmit the data transmitted from the child terminal 110 to a slice corresponding to the service provided by the child terminal 110 (S115). Further, the user terminal 100 can transmit data transmitted via the slice associated with the identification information of the child terminal 110 in the child terminal management table 102 to the child terminal 110.
In the above example, it is assumed that the user terminal 100 is already connected to one or a plurality of slices. However, the present invention is not limited to this. When the user terminal 100 determines, based on the connection slice information transmitted from the child terminal 110, that a slice that satisfies the requirement indicated in the connection slice information in the NSSF 210 (for example, a slice that satisfies the service requirement) is not in the communication connection state The communication control unit 101 may newly establish a communication connection with the slice designated in the NSSF 210. Then, the communication control unit 101 registers the identification information of the slice newly in the communication connection state and the identification information of the child terminal 110 in the child terminal management table 102. This can be similarly applied to modified examples described later. Further, the connection slice information transmitted from the child terminal 110 to the user terminal 100 may be included in the authentication process. For example, the connection slice information may be included in the authentication request in step S101, the user name input in S103, and the password input in S105
That is Shimojou teaches local authentication in which when it is determined that local authentication of the second UE is required to get access to a first network slice the device transmits an authentication request and receives a response in which if the local authentication is successful access of the second UE to a first network slice of a plurality of network slices is provided by a network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youn with the teachings of Shimojou. Shimojou provides a solution in which a slice with the selected child terminal and the child terminal is connected reliably for communication. The requirements of each service are satisfied easily and the signaling process is reduced, when a slice is allocated to the services with various requirements for process (Shimojou Abstract; Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 15, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the first device of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose wherein the executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, manipulate the first device to either: receive, from the second device, a request for the first network slice; or select the first network slice from the plurality of network slices (Shimojou Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other. The child terminal 110 performs an authentication process according to a user operation. First, the child terminal 110 transmits an authentication request (Authentication request) to the user terminal 100 (S101). Upon receiving the authentication request, the user terminal 100 transmits a user name request (IdentityRequest) to the child terminal 110 (S102), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a user name (S103). The user terminal 100 transmits a password input request (Authenticationchallenge) to the child terminal 110 (S104), and the child terminal 110 performs a user operation or automatically inputs a password (S105). The user terminal 100 transmits a request for authentication slice approval and connection slice information to the child terminal 110 (S106). Here, the connection slice information assumes a service type, but is not limited to this, and may be information for specifying a slice to be connected. Accordingly, a slice ID that identifies a slice may be requested. The connection slice information may be information included in NSSI (Network Slice Selection Information) defined in NGN (Next Generation Network Network Architecture) or NSAI (Network Slice Selection Assistant Information) that is a subdivided information type. The child terminal 110 transmits the connection slice information to the user terminal 100 according to a user operation or an activated application).
Regarding Claim 16, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the first device of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose wherein the executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, manipulate the first device to establish a secure connection with the second device, wherein the authentication request is sent to the second device over the secure connection, and the authentication response is received over the secure connection (Youn Figure 10-12 Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)-Request message for authentication; Shimojou Figure 5 and 8 Local authentication procedure over secure connection).
Regarding Claim 17, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the first device of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose wherein the executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, manipulate the first device to: determine that the first network slice is available at the first device; and responsive to the first network slice being available at the first device, send the authentication request to the second device (Shimojou Figure 5; Page 6-7 Authentication request and successful response to the request when the slide requested by a slice ID is available) .
Regarding Claim 18, Youn in view of Shimojou disclose the first device of Claim 1. Young in view of Shimojou further disclose wherein the executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, manipulate the first device to grant access to the first network slice by permitting wirelessly communication of data for the second device over the first network slice using a first upstream link (Youn Figure 10-12 Direct connection with relay to communicate upstream; Shimojou Figure 5, 8 and 9; Page 4; User terminal functions as a relay device for child terminal 11 by a so-called tethering function and can be connected to the communication system in response to an access request from the child terminal. The user terminal can be connected to external sites via slices SL1 and SL2; Page 6-7 The user terminal 100 is in communication with the slice SL1 (FIG. 5 PDU1) and slice SL2 (FIG. 5 PDU2) in advance. The NSSF 210 manages the communication connection state, and stores slice management information in which a preset service type and slice identification information are associated with each other).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “…wherein granting access to the first network slice comprises: denying access of the second UE to the first network slice based on the authentication response; and wirelessly communicating data for the second UE over a second network slice using a second upstream link.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 7 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated allowable claim 6.
Regarding Claim 19, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “…wherein the executable instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, manipulate the first device to control access to the first network slice further by: denying the access of the second device to the first network slice based on the authentication response; and wirelessly communicating data for the second device over a second network slice using a second upstream link.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 20 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated allowable 19.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409