DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated June 26, 2026, in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 14, 34, and 50 have been amended. Claims 1-18, 34, and 50 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Acknowledgement is made to the following amendments made by the Applicant:
Applicant's amendment to claims 1 and 14 to obviate the previous rejection to claims 1-18 in regard to 35 U.S.C 112(b) indefiniteness. The previous rejection to the said claims is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-16, 34, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200366363, hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches:
A method of operating a base station serving a cell of a cellular network, the method comprising (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management … [0045] … Additionally, or alternatively, the mmW repeater 140 may be a wireless transmit receive point (TRP) acting as a distributed unit (e.g., of a 5G access node) that communicates wirelessly with a base station 110 acting as a central unit or an access node controller (e.g., of the 5G access node) ... Fig. 7):
- transmitting, to a wireless communication device, control data of a forward-facing control link provided by one or more network-configured repeater devices in the cell to wireless communication devices, the one or more network-configured repeater devices providing a repeater-mediated connectivity to the wireless communication devices in the cell, the forward-facing control link supporting the repeater-mediated connectivity (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., via forward-facing control link] … [0097] As shown by reference number 720, the base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair based at least in part on transmitting the configuration … As shown by reference number 730, the second beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., forward-facing control link] … [0099] ... In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit (e.g., via the repeater 140) an instruction for the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) to perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more downlink reference signals ... Fig. 7),
wherein the control data enables the wireless communication device to monitor the forward-facing control link provided by the one or more network-configured repeater devices (Li: [0099] The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration [i.e., control data] … the UE 120 may perform measurement and reporting for the reference signal(s) based at least in part on the instruction (e.g., which may include a reporting configuration). In some aspects, the instruction may be included in the configuration, which may be relayed by the repeater 140 to the UE 120. Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
wherein the control data is indicative of resources allocated to at least one of repeater reference signals transmitted by the one or more network-configured repeater devices on the control link (Li: [0099] The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration ...).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
wherein the control data is indicative of a type or configuration of repeater reference signals transmitted by the one or more network-configured repeater devices on the control link (Li: [0100] In some aspects, the instruction may indicate a set of resources to be monitored by the UE 120 for the reference signals. For example, the set of resources may be the second set of resources (e.g., the time resources, frequency resources, and/or beams used by the repeater 140 to relay the reference signals) …).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
wherein the control link is shared between multiple network-configured repeater devices, wherein the method further comprises: co-scheduling transmissions of the multiple network-configured repeater devices on the control link (Li: 0112] In some aspects, the UE 120 may transmit the one or more uplink reference signals based at least in part on an instruction received from the base station 110 (e.g., via the repeater 140) according to the configuration. For example, the base station 110 may transmit an instruction for the first node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 800) to transmit the one or more uplink reference signals. In some aspects, the instruction may be included in the configuration, which may be relayed by the repeater 140 to the UE 120. In some aspects, the instruction may indicate a set of resources to be used by the UE 120 to transmit the reference signals. For example, the set of resources may be the first set of resources (e.g., the time resources, frequency resources, and/or beams used by the repeater 140 to receive the reference signals). Although uplink reference signals are used as an example, if the first node is a first base station 110 and the second node is a second base station 110, then downlink reference signals may be used (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RSs, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, a wideband beacon may be used (e.g., if multiple repeaters 140 are used as intermediaries between the nodes).).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
receiving, from the wireless communication device, a report message indicative of device-specific repeater information of at least one network-configured repeater device of the one or more network-configured repeater devices, to thereby facilitate providing a configuration to the at least one network-configured repeater device (Li: [0099] The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration. In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit (e.g., via the repeater 140) an instruction for the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) to perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more downlink reference signals. In this case, the UE 120 may perform measurement and reporting for the reference signal(s) based at least in part on the instruction (e.g., which may include a reporting configuration). In some aspects, the instruction may be included in the configuration, which may be relayed by the repeater 140 to the UE 120.).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
providing the configuration to the at least one network-configured repeater device based on the device-specific repeater information (Li: [0115] … In some aspects, the base station 110 may receive a report of the measurements (e.g., a measurement report described herein) from the second node. For example, the base station 110 may configure the second node to transmit a measurement report to the base station 110 (e.g., using a reporting configuration). The base station 110 may identify the first beam pair and the second beam pair based at least in part on the measurement report. In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit an indication of the first beam pair and/or the second beam pair to the first node, the second node, and/or the repeater 140 to assist with beam management.).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Li further teaches:
wherein the configuration comprises at least one of adjusting one or more spatial filters of the at least one network-configured repeater device (Li: [0115] … In some aspects, the base station 110 may receive a report of the measurements (e.g., a measurement report described herein) from the second node. For example, the base station 110 may configure the second node to transmit a measurement report to the base station 110 (e.g., using a reporting configuration). The base station 110 may identify the first beam pair and the second beam pair based at least in part on the measurement report. In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit an indication of the first beam pair and/or the second beam pair [i.e., spatial filters] to … the repeater 140 to assist with beam management.).
Regarding claim 34, Li teaches:
A method of operating a wireless communication device connectable to a cellular network, the method comprising (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700) … [0045] … In some aspects, a millimeter wave (mmW) repeater 140 may receive a millimeter wave signal (e.g., an analog millimeter wave signal) from a base station 110, may amplify the millimeter wave signal, and may transmit the amplified millimeter wave signal to one or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120f). In some aspects, the mmW repeater 140 may be an analog mmW repeater, sometimes also referred to as a layer 1 mmW repeater. Additionally, or alternatively, the mmW repeater 140 may be a wireless transmit receive point (TRP) acting as a distributed unit (e.g., of a 5G access node) that communicates wirelessly with a base station 110 acting as a central unit or an access node controller (e.g., of the 5G access node) ... Fig. 7):
- receiving control data of a forward-facing control link provided by one or more network-configured repeater devices in a cell of the cellular network, the one or more network-configured repeater devices providing a repeater-mediated connectivity to wireless communication devices in the cell, the forward-facing control link supporting the repeater-mediated connectivity (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., via forward-facing control link] … [0097] As shown by reference number 720, the base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair based at least in part on transmitting the configuration … As shown by reference number 730, the second beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., forward-facing control link] … [0099] ... In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit (e.g., via the repeater 140) an instruction for the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) to perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more downlink reference signals ... Fig. 7); and
- monitoring the forward-facing control link based on the control data (Li: [0099] The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration [i.e., control data] … the UE 120 may perform measurement and reporting for the reference signal(s) based at least in part on the instruction (e.g., which may include a reporting configuration). In some aspects, the instruction may be included in the configuration, which may be relayed by the repeater 140 to the UE 120. Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 50, Li teaches:
A method of operating a network-configured repeater device in a cell of a cellular network served by a base station of the cellular network, the method comprising (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management … [0045] … Additionally, or alternatively, the mmW repeater 140 may be a wireless transmit receive point (TRP) acting as a distributed unit (e.g., of a 5G access node) that communicates wirelessly with a base station 110 acting as a central unit or an access node controller (e.g., of the 5G access node) ... Fig. 7):
- obtaining, from the base station, a configuration to provide a forward-facing control link (Li: [0097] As shown by reference number 720, the base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair based at least in part on transmitting the configuration … As shown by reference number 730, the second beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., forward-facing control link] ... Fig. 7), and
- providing, in accordance with the configuration, the forward-facing control link to one or more wireless communication devices in the cell to support a repeater-mediated connectivity between the one or more wireless communication devices and the base station connectivity (Li: [0092] As shown by reference number 705, a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management. As shown, the resource set may include a first set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to receive one or more reference signals from a first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) and a second set of resources to be used by the millimeter wave repeater 140 to relay the one or more reference signals to a second node (e.g., a UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., via forward-facing control link] … [0097] As shown by reference number 720, the base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair based at least in part on transmitting the configuration … As shown by reference number 730, the second beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) [i.e., forward-facing control link] … [0099] ... In some aspects, the base station 110 may transmit (e.g., via the repeater 140) an instruction for the second node (e.g., the UE 120 in example 700) to perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more downlink reference signals ... Fig. 7), the forward-facing control link enabling the one or more wireless communication devices to monitor the forward-facing control link (Li: [0099] The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration … the UE 120 may perform measurement and reporting for the reference signal(s) based at least in part on the instruction (e.g., which may include a reporting configuration). In some aspects, the instruction may be included in the configuration, which may be relayed by the repeater 140 to the UE 120. Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Abedini et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220053486, hereinafter, “Abedini”).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data is indicative of resources allocated to the control link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
wherein the control data is indicative of resources allocated to the control link (Abedini: [0227] At block 2010, the repeater device may obtain a time domain resource allocation from the control information. The time domain resource allocation information may include, for example, at least one of: a slot location, and a symbol location of the traffic …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Li-Abedini discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Abedini further teaches:
wherein the resources are at least one of time-frequency resources of a time-frequency resource grid of a carrier of the cell (Abedini: [0067] The resource grid 304 may be used to schematically represent time-frequency resources for a given antenna port. That is, in a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) implementation with multiple antenna ports available, a corresponding multiple number of resource grids 304 may be available for communication. The resource grid 304 is divided into multiple resource elements (REs) 306. An RE, which is 1 subcarrier×1 symbol, is the smallest discrete part of the time-frequency grid, and contains a single complex value representing data from a physical channel or signal).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Abedini is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data comprises information associated with an identity of each one of the one or more network-configured repeater devices and used by the respective one of the one or more network-configured repeater devices for communicating on the control link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
wherein the control data comprises information associated with an identity of each one of the one or more network-configured repeater devices and used by the respective one of the one or more network-configured repeater devices for communicating on the control link (Abedini: [0181] According to one aspect, the DCI may be transmitted with a masked cyclic redundancy check (CRC). The CRC may be masked with an arithmetic value (e.g., a number) that uniquely identifies the repeater device and associates the repeater device with traffic to be relayed through the repeater device between a base station and a user equipment (UE). According to some aspects the number may be a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). In more detail, the RNTI may be designated as a relay unit (RU)-RNTI. The repeater device may recognize its own DCI by use of the masked CRC and knowledge of its own RNTI (e.g., its own RU-RNTI). According to some aspects, the repeater device may identify a DCI (e.g., a DCI carrying control information) by demasking (descrambling) a CRC of the DCI with an RNTI (of the repeater device) …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data is transmitted upon a request by the wireless communication device for the control data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
wherein the control data is transmitted upon a request by the wireless communication device for the control data (Abedini: [0078] In an UL transmission, the scheduled entity may utilize one or more REs 306 to carry UL control information (UCI) including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity. UCI may include a variety of packet types and categories, including pilots, reference signals, and information configured to enable or assist in decoding uplink data transmissions. Examples of uplink reference signals may include a sounding references signal (SRS) and an uplink DMRS. In some examples, the UCI may include a scheduling request (SR), i.e., a request for the scheduling entity to schedule uplink transmissions …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
synchronizing scheduling of a first transmission of data communicated between the base station and the wireless communication device and of a second transmission on the control link.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
synchronizing scheduling of a first transmission of data communicated between the base station and the wireless communication device and of a second transmission on the control link (Abedini: [0047] As illustrated in FIG. 1, a scheduling entity 108 may broadcast downlink traffic 112 to one or more scheduled entities (e.g., one or more UE 106). Broadly, the scheduling entity 108 is a node or device responsible for scheduling traffic in a wireless communication network, including the downlink traffic 112 and, in some examples, uplink traffic 116 from one or more scheduled entities (e.g., one or more UE 106) to the scheduling entity 108. On the other hand, the scheduled entity (e.g., one or more UE 106) may be a node or device that receives downlink control 114 (e.g., downlink control information), including but not limited to scheduling information (e.g., a grant), synchronization or timing information, or other control information from another entity in the wireless communication network such as the scheduling entity 108 …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Li-Abedini discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Abedini further teaches:
wherein said synchronizing comprises defining time gaps during which the first transmission is paused, to thereby facilitate monitoring of the control link by the wireless communication device during the time gaps (Abedini: [0083] Prior to conveying data in a plurality of PDSCH repetitions, for example, a gNB may convey TDRA information to the wireless communication device. The TDRA information may be conveyed in downlink control information (DCI) within a PDCCH. The TDRA information defines, among other things, where a wireless communication device should expect to locate, in a slot, valid TDRA candidate occasions in the time domain. In some examples, only a first TDRA for a PDSCH first repetition is indicated to a wireless communication device by a gNB. The wireless communication device may reuse the first TDRA for a PDSCH second repetition by shifting the first TDRA by a fixed time gap.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Abedini is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
providing a configuration to the one or more network-configured repeater devices to provide the control link in accordance with the control data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
providing a configuration to the one or more network-configured repeater devices to provide the control link in accordance with the control data (Abedini: [0219] FIG. 20 is a flow chart illustrating an exemplary process 2000 (e.g., a method) at a wireless repeater device controlled by a base station for receiving control signaling comprising control information and configuring a relay unit of the repeater device according to the control information in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure. The repeater device may relay traffic (e.g., user data, user signaling) and/or control (e.g., control information, control messaging) ... Figs. 2, 19A/B/C, 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li-Abedini in view of Keskitalo et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210176670, hereinafter, “Keskitalo”).
Regarding claim 8, Li-Abedini discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Li-Abedini does not explicitly teach:
wherein the request is associated with an information element that is indicative of the one or more network-configured repeater devices being present in the cell, the information element being transmitted by the base station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Keskitalo teaches:
wherein the request is associated with an information element that is indicative of the one or more network-configured repeater devices being present in the cell, the information element being transmitted by the base station (Keskitalo: [0062] Therefore, according to an example implementation, a RN-UE part 332 may receive a CSI-RS configuration and on-demand reference signals (e.g., CSI-RS signals), from a candidate BS/candidate cell 320 during a monitoring phase and before a handover phase for the UE (e.g., before the candidate BS has sent a handover request/acknowledgement and/or before the UE has received a handover command from the serving BS with respect to the candidate BS/cell). For example, RN 330 (e.g., RN-BS part 334) may send, via Xn connection with candidate BS 320, a request for transmission of reference signals (e.g., a request for UE-specific CSI-RS signals and a request for an associated reference signal configuration) ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li-Abedini to include the features as taught by Keskitalo above in order to reduce use and/or reservation of radio resources. (Keskitalo, ¶ [0086]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Keskitalo et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210176670, hereinafter, “Keskitalo”).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control data is transmitted in response to a coverage scenario of the wireless communication device or the one or more network-configured repeater devices fulfilling a predefined criterion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Keskitalo teaches:
wherein the control data is transmitted in response to a coverage scenario of the wireless communication device (Keskitalo: [0062] Therefore, according to an example implementation, a RN-UE part 332 may receive a CSI-RS configuration and on-demand reference signals (e.g., CSI-RS signals), from a candidate BS/candidate cell 320 during a monitoring phase and before a handover phase for the UE (e.g., before the candidate BS has sent a handover request/acknowledgement and/or before the UE has received a handover command from the serving BS with respect to the candidate BS/cell). For example, RN 330 (e.g., RN-BS part 334) may send, via Xn connection with candidate BS 320, a request for transmission of reference signals (e.g., a request for UE-specific CSI-RS signals and a request for an associated reference signal configuration) ... Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Keskitalo above in order to reduce use and/or reservation of radio resources. (Keskitalo, ¶ [0086]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Mcmenamy et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240187085, hereinafter, “Mcmenamy”).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses on the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration comprises activating or deactivating or configuring a transmission of at least one type of repeater reference signals on the control link,
wherein said configuring of the transmission of the at least one type of repeater reference signals comprises at least one of setting a frequency hopping pattern, setting a frequency range, setting a timing pattern, or setting a spatial filter for the transmission of the at least one type of repeater reference signals.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mcmenamy teaches:
wherein the configuration comprises deactivating a transmission of at least one type of repeater reference signals on the control link (Mcmenamy: [0231] A Type 2A repeater may, based on the reception of a control signal, e.g., via a control channel, [0232] mute transmission of reference signals during specific time-slots/symbols on the access link ...),
wherein said configuring of the transmission of the at least one type of repeater reference signals comprises at least one of setting a timing pattern for the transmission of the at least one type of repeater reference signals (Mcmenamy: [0231] A Type 2A repeater may, based on the reception of a control signal, e.g., via a control channel … [0233] change the time pattern of reference signal on the DL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to include the features as taught by Mcmenamy above in order to distinguish repeater-based path components from others. (Mcmenamy, ¶ [0230]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li-Mcmenamy in view of Abedini.
Regarding claim 18, Li-Mcmenamy discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Li-Mcmenamy does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one type of repeater reference signals corresponds to demodulation repeater reference signals.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abedini teaches:
wherein the at least one type of repeater reference signals corresponds to demodulation repeater reference signals (Abedini: [0075] The base station may further allocate one or more REs 306 (e.g., in the control region 314 or the data region 316) to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li-Mcmenamy to include the features as taught by Abedini above in order to remotely control the repeater device to reduce cost and complexity. (Abedini, ¶ [0038]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416