DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/702,728. Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 11-17 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 5, 11-14, 16 and 17 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
The applicant’s amendment filed June 9, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection of claims 1 and 15 are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 15 are allowable over the closest prior art of Mizowaki (JP 2018-009079, m.t., included in the applicant’s IDS) in view of Hino et al (JP 2010-144150, m.t., included in the IDS) and Yamazaki (US 4,696,764). Mizowaki requires rubber particles which do not satisfy the “consisting of” limitation in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mizowaki (JP 2018-009079, m.t., included in the applicant’s IDS) in view of Hino et al (JP 2010-144150, m.t., included in the IDS) and Yamazaki (US 4,696,764).
Mizowaki teaches a conductive adhesive composition comprising metal powder, binder resin and organic acid (par. 8, 60). The metal powder includes tin (par. 10). Tin is implicitly 100 % tin. The metal powder is spherical (par. 10). The binder resin includes bisphenol epoxy resin (par. 11, 21). In an example, the amount of tin powder is 88 % and the amount of binder is 12 % by weight (par. 32). The binder includes 32 % epoxy and 9 % organic acid (Table 1). The resulting amount of tin powder is 88/92.9 = 94.7 % by weight of the total of tin, epoxy and organic acid. The composition is used for forming circuit connections (par. 60).
Mizowaki does not teach the size of the metal powder.
However, Hino et al teaches a conductive resin composition comprising solder particles including tin (par. 41). In an example, the solder particles have an average size of 15 µm (par. 63). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need for a powder size to combine the particle size of Hino et al with the composition of Mizowaki in order to obtain a tin powder size known to be suitable for a conductive adhesive composition.
Mizowaki does not teach a solvent.
However, Yamazaki teaches conductive adhesive comprising a solvent (col. 8, lines 39-45). The solvent includes benzyl alcohol (col. 8, line 44). The solvent dries at a temperature below the curing temperature of the resin (col. 8, lines 39-45). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the solvent of Yamazaki with the composition of Mizowaki in view of Hino et al in order to include a known suitable component of a conductive adhesive which dries below the curing temperature of the resin.
Regarding claim 6, Mizowaki does not teach a conductive ink containing the conductive adhesive composition.
However, Yamazaki teaches conductive adhesive composition contained in an ink (abstract). The ink is a printing ink (abstract).
Mizowaki suggests printing the conductive adhesive composition (par. 18). Yamazaki teaches a printing ink containing a conductive adhesive (abstract). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the printing ink of Yamazaki with the composition of Mizowaki in view of Hino et al in order to obtain a printable conductive adhesive.
Response to Arguments
Claims 6-8 do not exclude rubber particles because the term “containing” is construed to mean “comprising” which permits additional components. Therefore, the previous grounds of rejection are maintained regarding claims 6-8.
Conclusion
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information