DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “a plastic material coating at least on an exterior surface of the locking pin that is configured to interface with a movable locking bracket of the plug connector housing” is indefinite. The literal and ordinary plain meaning of the limitation is that it is the locking pin that is configured to interface with a movable locking bracket of the plug connector housing. Review of Applicant’s arguments reveal that Applicant appears to believe that the limitation means that it is the plastic material that is configured to interface with a movable locking bracket of the plug connector housing. This interpretation is contrary to the literal and ordinary plain meaning of the limitation. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments indicate that the claim is indefinite. The limitation is analyzed under its literal and ordinary plain meaning interpretation, in particular, that it is the locking pin that is configured to interface with a movable locking bracket of the plug connector housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DE A1 10 2019 108 628 (“Damsch”) in view of and Julian et al. US 5639268 (“Julian”).
Regarding claim 1, Damsch discloses a plug connector housing (1, figure 1), comprising: at least two locking pins (22) which project on the outside of the plug connector housing on opposite sides of the housing,
Each locking pin being is composed substantially of a metallic component (see English translation, referred to herein as “ET”, page 1 paragraph 3) includes a plastic material 11 to include a plastic material coating at least on an exterior surface of the locking pin that is configured to interface with a movable locking bracket of the plug connector housing.
Damsch does not disclose that the sleeve 11 is overmolded on the metallic component (16, 17) and that the sleeve is plastic in particular.
Regarding the limitation that the sleeve be overmolded, the addition of a method step in a product claim, which product is not patentably distinguishable from the prior art, cannot impart patentability to the old product. In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969). “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP section 2113. Therefore whether the Damsch sleeve is overmolded does not patentably distinguish the claimed plastic part from the Damsch plastic part. In any case, Julian discloses a plastic overmold housing 18 (col. 3, lines 15-20) overmolded onto a metallic component 11. It would have been obvious to form the Damsch element 11 out of plastic overmolded onto the metallic component as taught in Julian. The reason would have been to use a well-known material (plastic) via a well known process (overmolding).
Regarding claim 2 Damsch discloses the metallic component is composed of steel (ET at page 1, ¶ 4) and that the housing is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy. It would have been obvious to make the metallic component out of aluminum just as is the housing. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious. Sinclair & Carroll Col. V. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197 (CCPA 1960). The reason would have been, for example, simplification of manufacturing.
Per claim 3 the Damsch plug connector housing is composed of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (ET at page 1, paragraph 4).
Per claim 8 each locking pin is designed to be substantially cylindrical.
Per claim 9, the metallic component is embodied as a riveting bolt or threaded bolt.
Per claim 10, as set out regarding claim 1, the plug connector would have been obvious.
Response to Arguments
As best understood by the examiner, applicant argues that Damsch does not the claimed invention because it does not disclose the limitation discussed in the 35 USC 112 rejection above. The examiner maintains Damsch does disclose the claimed invention, as set out above. The examiner maintains that Applicant’s interpretation of the claimed limitation is contrary to the literal and ordinary plain meaning interpretation of the claim limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 might would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, depending on how the rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834