DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2021 127 068.5, filed on 10/19/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 11-20 filed on 11/11/2025 are presently examined. Claims 1-10 are cancelled. Claims 11 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Kunzner does not disclose adapting the activation threshold and/or the intervention characteristic.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kunzner discloses adapting the intervention characteristic. The terms “adapting” and “intervention characteristic” are interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation. Kunzner recognizes a driving scenario in which a first driving function can be activated once in the activation threshold, whether that be a time or spatial distance relative to a preceding vehicle, for example. Next, Kunzner teaches intervening in the vehicle control to get the vehicle’s parameters within the activation threshold of the first driving function. The characteristic that is used for intervention is the speed of the vehicle. It adapts the speed intervention by either increasing or decreasing the speed of the vehicle to match the threshold for activating the first driving function.
Thus, Kunzner discloses adapting the activation threshold and/or the intervention characteristic, and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“computing unit” in claim 18, described in Applicant’s specification [0002] “a computer program that, when it is executed in a computing unit, is designed to execute the method”
“control unit” in claims 19 and 20, described in Applicant’s specification [0049] “The control unit may be an electronic control unit (ECU) for a vehicle. The electronic control unit may be an intelligent processor-controlled unit that via a central gateway (CGW) is able to communicate with other modules”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Künzner (DE 102018206425 A1), hereinafter referred to as Künzner.
Regarding claim 11, Künzner discloses A method for assisting in an activation of an automated driving function of a vehicle that includes at least one driving-assistance system configured to influence a driving situation of the vehicle as soon as an activation threshold and/or an intervention characteristic is reached ([0013] “first driving function is available for activation within a permissible range (defined by a lower and/or upper limit) for a driving parameter, for example when the driving speed is within a speed range of 60 km/h to 130 km/h.”), the method comprising:
determining a current driving situation of the vehicle ([0013] “The activation of the first driving function can of course be linked to another driving parameter (e.g. B. the time or length-related distance to the vehicle in front) than the driving parameter mentioned above (e.g. B. the vehicle speed) in a corresponding permissible range (e.g. B. less than 3 s).”);
ascertaining that the current driving situation of the vehicle differs from a specified driving situation in which the automated driving function can be activated ([0016] “a value of the driving parameter outside the permissible range (e.g. B. a current vehicle speed greater than the maximum permissible vehicle speed for activating an HAF driving function)”);
and adapting the activation threshold ([0035] “a target distance to the vehicle in front can generally be set via the control device; if the target distance is set by the system, the target distance set by the driver is modified.”) and/or the intervention characteristic of the at least one driving-assistance system ([0016] “a cruise control of the second driving function attempts to reduce or increase the vehicle speed (depending on the initial speed).”).
Regarding claim 12, Künzner discloses The method of claim 11, further comprising: activating the at least one driving-assistance system in order to influence the current driving situation of the vehicle ([0016] “a cruise control of the second driving function attempts to reduce or increase the vehicle speed (depending on the initial speed).”).
Regarding claim 13, Künzner discloses The method of claim 11, wherein the activation threshold and/or the intervention characteristic of the at least one driving-assistance system are/is adapted in time-limited manner ([0016] “a cruise control of the second driving function attempts to reduce or increase the vehicle speed (depending on the initial speed).” [0034] “An operator action to activate HAF first activates TAF, the distance is automatically increased and - if this is large enough, in particular greater than or equal to a threshold value for the distance - HAF is activated.”).
Regarding claim 14, Künzner discloses The method of claim 11, wherein the driving situation of the vehicle includes: a speed of the vehicle, a lane position of the vehicle, and/or a maximum or minimum spacing of the vehicle from a vehicle traveling ahead ([0038] “the availability of the first driving function often depends on the respective value of various driving parameters, for example whether the driving speed is in a certain speed range (first permissible range) and whether the distance to the vehicle in front is greater than or equal to a threshold value (second permissible range). If necessary, availability may also depend on the value of one or more other driving parameters (e.g. B. the transverse position in the lane).”).
Regarding claim 16, Künzner discloses The method of claim 11, wherein the automated driving function is: a highly automated driving of the vehicle, a fully automated driving of the vehicle, or an autonomous driving of the vehicle ([0002] “fully automated driving” [0003] “highly automated driving (HAD) function”).
Regarding claim 17, Künzner discloses The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a user command according to which the automated driving function of the vehicle is to be activated ([0021] “the driving function has a user interface which comprises an input component for a driver-side operating action for activating the first driving function, for example an actuatable operating element (in particular an operating button) for activating the first driving function.”).
Regarding claim 18, Künzner discloses A non-transitory medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a computing unit, causes the computing unit to perform the method of claim 11 ([0045] “software with program code for carrying out the method according to the second aspect of the invention when the software runs on a computer”).
Regarding claim 19, Künzner discloses A control unit configured to execute the method according to claim 11 ([0015] “The control unit may comprise one or more computers with one or more processors operating in the manner according to the invention under software control.”).
Regarding claim 20, Künzner discloses A passenger vehicle comprising: a control unit according to claim 19 ([0001] “The invention relates to a driving system for a motor vehicle” [0015] “The control unit may comprise one or more computers with one or more processors operating in the manner according to the invention under software control.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Künzner as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kaufmann et al. (US 20040262063 A1), hereafter referred to as Kaufmann.
Regarding claim 15, Künzner fails to disclose The method of claim 11, further comprising: activating the automated driving function as soon as the specified driving situation has been maintained for a predetermined period ([0006] “in order to activate HAF, it may be required that the lateral position of the vehicle in the lane lies within a certain range so that the lateral position is reasonably central.”).
However, Kauffman teaches activating the automated driving function as soon as the specified driving situation has been maintained for a predetermined period. ([0019] “When the driver has completed his correction the lane keeping system 100 transitions back to autonomous mode when the driver is within 0.5 meters of the lane center, for a duration of 5 seconds, when both of these conditions have been met the lane keeping system transitions back to the autonomous mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Künzner with Kaufmann. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to modify Künzner ‘s selective activation of automated vehicle driving with Kaufmann’s teaching of similarly selective activation of automated driving once the driver manually maintains required conditions for a predetermined duration of time. This would enable the driver to make any corrections or overrides as needed and then transition back to autonomous mode once they are finished (Kaufmann [0019] “the driver may want to make a correction and/or over ride the lane keeping system 100. So … the lane keeping system 100 transitions to the helper (assist) mode” and then transitions back to autonomous mode after the driver maintains the vehicle within the tolerance band for a duration of time.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668