DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per preliminary amendment dated 4/18/24, claims 1-6 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0037066 A1), in view of Futatsumori et al. (US 2007/0088123 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Yamaguchi teaches an organic silicon-containing compound of the following general formula (1):
wherein R1 (reads on R4 in claimed formula (2)) represents either an alkyl group that has 1 to 20 carbon atoms and may have a substituted group or a cycloalkyl group that has 3 to 20 carbon atoms and may have a substituted group; R2 (reads on claimed formula R3 in claimed formula (2)) may represent a monovalent hydrocarbon group that has 1 to 20 carbon atoms and may have a substituted group, and R2 may be either identical or different; and each “a” (reads on b in in claimed formula (2)) independently represents an integer of 1 to 3 (Ab., ref. claim 1). Disclosed silicon-containing compound (1) overlaps in scope with the claimed (B) and provides for a cured product of a room temperature-curable organopolysiloxane composition that is particularly superior in fast curability, storage stability, durability and moisture resistance (Ab., [0007], [0013]-[0017]).
Disclosed Example 1 is drawn to a composition comprising 100 parts by wt. of a dimethylpolysiloxane having a viscosity of 5,000 mPa.s, 4.9 parts by wt. of bis-(trimethysilyl-vinylene)dimethyl silane (reads on (B) and 0.75 parts by wt. tetramethylguanidinylpropyl trimethoxysilane [0039] (reads on claimed (D)).
It is noted that the compound has the following structure and reads on claimed formula (3), i.e., in the formula below, Z=C3 hydrocarbon, R=Me, Y= divalent hydrocarbon having 2 nitrogen atoms.
Yamaguchi is silent on a composition comprising a dimethylsiloxane of claimed formula (1) (component (A)) and a filler (C) as in the claimed invention.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
The secondary reference to Futatsumori is in an analogous field of endeavor and teaches room temperature curable organopolysiloxane compositions comprising (A) an organopolysiloxane containing at least two organoxy radicals and having a viscosity of at least 500 to 100,000 mPas and of the following formula :
wherein, R is independently a substituted or unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon radical of 1 to 20 carbon atoms, “k” is an integer of at least 100, X is an oxygen atom or an alkylene radical having 2-5 carbon atoms, and “m” is 0 or 1 (overlaps with claimed (A)) [0022]-[0025]. Disclosed organopolysiloxanes (A) of the above formula (3) are preferred for better long-term shelf stability and adhesion [0023].
Futatsumori further teaches that fillers are capable of serving as reinforcing or extending agents in the compositions and may be used in an amount of 1 to 500 parts by wt. of component (A). Disclosed fillers include fumed silica, precipitated silica, metal hydroxides/oxide/carbonates, glass beads etc., i.e., encompass inorganic fillers (read on claimed (C)) [0039]-[0040].
Given the teaching in Futatsumori on suitable organopolysiloxanes of formula (3) and fillers and advantages thereof in room temperature curable compositions, and the teaching in Yamaguchi on a room temperature-curable organopolysiloxane composition comprising tetramethylguanidinylpropyl trimethoxysilane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare compositions comprising organopolysiloxanes (A) of the above formula (3), an organic silicon-containing compound of general formula (1) above, an inorganic filler and tetramethylguanidinylpropyl trimethoxysilane. For instance, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the composition of Example 1 of Yamaguchi by using Futatsumori’s organopolysiloxane of formula (3) as the dimethylpolysiloxane compound (A), and further including an inorganic filler as a reinforcing/extending agent, thereby obviating the claimed composition
Regarding claims 4-6, Yamaguchi recognizes that room temperature-curable compositions have been preferably used in performing sealing, bonding and coating [0002] and therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to utilize the compositions resulting from the cited combination of references as a sealant, an adhesive or a coating composition. Even so, the recitation “An adhesive”, “A sealing agent” and “A coating agent” in the preamble of claims 4-6, respectively, is deemed to be a statement of purpose or intended use which is not seen to result in any structural difference between the instantly claimed invention and that of the cited combination and hence the preamble fails to limit the claim. MPEP 2111.02.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (JP H0841345 A, machine translation), in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0037066 A1) and as evidenced by of Futatsumori et al. (US 2007/0088123 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ono teaches a room-temperature-curing polyorganosiloxane composition comprising (A) as follows:
wherein R, R1 and R2 may be, e.g., methyl, ethyl, propyl etc., and R2 may be C1 to C4 alkyl, and n is a number at which the viscosity of (A) becomes 100-500,000 cP and (D) 0.05 to 50 parts by wt. of a silane having a guanidyl group (ref. claims, [0007]).
Disclosed genus of (D) includes compounds such as those shown below which fall within the scope of claimed (D) [0012]-[0015]:
The compositions may further include inorganic fillers, e.g., fumed silica, to impart appropriate fluidity before curing and high mechanical strength after curing, in an amount of 1 to 500 parts by wt., per 100 parts by wt. of (A) (reads on filler (C)) [0020]
Disclosed Sample 2 is formed from 100 parts by wt. of X-1 (formed by mixing 100 parts by wt. of a,w-bis (methyldimethyloxysilyl) polydimethoxysiloxane having a viscosity of 20,000 cP and 14 parts by wt. of fumed silica), and 4 parts by wt. of 1,1,3,3-tetramethylguanidinylpropyltrimethoxysilane (reads on D, Chemical formula 3).
Incorporating the discussion on the evidence reference to Futatsumori from paragraph 7 above, an organopolysiloxane (A) of general formula (3), wherein X may be oxygen atom, and “k” at greater than 100 has a viscosity of at least 500 to 100,000 mPas. Based on the correlation between viscosity and “k” value in general formula (3), Ono’s a,w-bis (methyldimethyloxysilyl) polydimethoxysiloxane in Sample 2 having a viscosity of 20,000 cP falls with scope of general formula (3) and also reads on claimed (A).
Ono is silent on a composition comprising (B) as claimed.
As stated in paragraph 6 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The discussion on Yamaguchi from paragraph 4 above is incorporated herein by reference. Yamaguchi in a related field of endeavor and teaches a silicon-containing compound (1) that contributes to forming a cured product of a room temperature-curable organopolysiloxane composition that is particularly superior in fast curability, storage stability, durability and moisture resistance (Ab., [0007], [0013]-[0017]). Yamaguchi teaches 4.9 parts by wt. of silicon-containing compound (1) per 100 by wt. of a dimethylpolysiloxane (Example 1).
In view of the advantages of silicon-containing compound (1) taught in Yamaguchi, and given the teaching in Ono on suitable components for forming a room temperature curable composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Yamaguchi’s silicon-containing compound (1) in Ono’s curable compositions, including those of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4-6, Ono teaches the use of the material as a sealing material, an adhesive as a coating agent [0020], [0022].
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762