DETAILED ACTION
For the purpose of examination, all references to as-filed specification have been made using the USPGPub. version of the instant application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are currently pending and under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 7, 11, and 14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because multiple dependent claims should refer to other claims in the alternative only and/or cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 3-5, 7, 11, and 14 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "electrical stimulator configured to apply electrical stimulation…the electrical stimulation " in claim 12.
Paragraphs [0125], [0126], and [0128] of the specification provides corresponding structure for “electrical stimulator” that includes electrodes, channels, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edgerton et. al, (US 20180280693, published 10/04/20218, hereinafter known as Edgerton).
Regarding claim 1, Edgerton teaches a method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of a subject, the method comprising applying electrical stimulation to the spinal cord of a subject [0005] in a manner sufficient to maintain voluntary control of physical activity during ((“stepping ability was assessed while the subject walked in the EKSO with and without stimulation at T11 and/or Co1 in both a passive and an active mode” in [0238]): when electrical stimulation is actively delivered [0238]; wherein in the absence of electrical stimulation the subject is capable of maintaining voluntary control of physical activity due to the neuroplasticity induced in the brain and spinal cord by the neuromodulation (“Based on the effort applied by the subject, the onboard computer will provide the necessary assistance to complete the step cycle. The EKSO has several tilt and position sensors that maintain the position of various joints within a fixed trajectory. We hypothesized that tonic transcutaneous electrical spinal cord stimulation can be used to re-engage the spinal circuitry to facilitate stepping in the EKSO and to progressively recover voluntary control of specific joint movements after complete paralysis in [0234]).
Regarding claim 2, Edgerton teaches applying the electrical stimulation is sufficient to integrate and reconnect the brain to the spinal cord [0009].
Regarding claim 3, Edgerton teaches applying electrical stimulation to the spinal cord of the subject is sufficient to excite neurons in the brain and spinal cord (“locomotion can be improved, in some embodiments substantially, when locomotor and postural spinal neuronal circuitries are stimulated simultaneously” in [0206]).
Regarding claim 12, Edgerton teaches the system comprising an electrical stimulator configured to apply electrical stimulation to the spinal cord of a subject in a manner sufficient to maintain voluntary control of physical activity during the electrical stimulation (“As the subject is in a vertical position, combination partial weight bearing and activation of spinal neural networks via stimulation greatly enhances locomotor as well as autonomic functions“ in [0244]).
Regarding claim 14, Edgerton teaches the electrical stimulator is integrated into a wearable device [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton in view of Simon et. al, (US 20140257437, published 09/11/2014, hereinafter known as Simon).
Regarding claim 4, Edgerton teaches the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system as described in claim 1.
However, Edgerton does not teach applying electrical stimulation to the spinal cord of the subject is sufficient to inhibit neurons in the brain and spinal cord.
Simon teaches Devices, systems and methods are disclosed for treating a variety of diseases and disorders that are primarily or at least partially driven by an imbalance in neurotransmitters in the brain (Abstract). The non-invasive method involves performing electrical stimulation at that location, using surface stimulators that are similar to those used for peripheral nerve and muscle stimulation for treatment of pain (transdermal electrical nerve stimulation), muscle training (electrical muscle stimulation) and electroacupuncture of defined meridian points [0217], which would read on “inhibition of excitatory neurons in the brain and spinal cord.” .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inhibition of excitatory neurons in the brain and spinal cord of Simon with the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of Edgerton in order to treat variety of conditions including pain.
Claims 5, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton in view of Johnson et. al, (US 20070299895 A1, published 12/27/2007, hereinafter known as Johnson).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Edgerton teaches the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system as described in claims 1 and 12.
However, Edgerton does not teach the electrical stimulation comprises applying at least one waveform selected from the group consisting of: one or more of a trapezoidal monophasic waveform and a trapezoidal biphasic waveform; one or more of a triangular monophasic waveform and triangular biphasic waveform; an asymmetrical biphasic waveform; a double monophasic waveform; and a monophasic waveform.
Johnson teaches an apparatus and method of generating electrical stimulation waveforms using Direct Digital Synthesis (DDS) [Abstract]. A triangular wave stimulation may be more comfortable for a patient; the ramping up of current by the trapezoidal wave may also be more comfortable for a patient [0037], a wave emerged from filtering stage as a monophasic waveform (uni-directional); the amplification stage of the wave in which a negative and positive power source amplifies the signal and converts it to a biphasic waveform (bi-directional) [0053], and finally, that asymmetrical waveforms have been investigated [0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrical stimulation containing various waveforms of Johnson with the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of Edgerton because these waveforms may allow the patient to acclimate to the therapeutic current (Johnson, [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Edgerton and Johnson teach the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system as described in claim 5.
However, Edgerton does not teach wherein each waveform comprises a high frequency component and a low frequency component and wherein the high frequency component provides an analgesic effect on the skin and the low frequency component tunes the spinal cord neurons to achieve the required functional goals.
In the modified device of Johnson, Johnson teaches that the high-frequency wave passes through the skin tissues more easily because as frequency increases, the skin impedance decreases [0039], and the low frequency wave constitutes the signal recognized as affecting cellular functions [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of waveforms with both high frequency and low frequency components of Johnson with the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of Edgerton because a combination of the low-frequency wave and the high-frequency wave overcomes the frequency-dependent skin-impedance limitations of low-frequency waveforms (Johnson, [0040]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton and Johnson as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Murphy et. al, (Brain Stimulation, Volume 13, Issue 5, 2020, pages 1370-1380, hereinafter known as Murphy).
Regarding claim 6, Edgerton and Johnson teach the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system as described in claim 5.
However, Edgerton and Johnson do not teach wherein the one or more applied waveforms further comprises a DC offset.
Murphy teaches that transcranial random noise stimulation (tRNS), may induce more pronounced and reliable neuromodulatory effects by delivering a randomly fluctuating electrical field which prevents activation of homeostatic mechanisms (Murphy, Brain Stimulation, Volume 13, Issue 5, 2020, pages 1370-1380). tRNS can also be delivered with a direct current offset (DC-offset), (Murphy, Brain Stimulation, Volume 13, Issue 5, 2020, pages 1370-1380).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of a DC-offset of Murphy with the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of Edgerton and Johnson because tRNS + DC-offset may prove more effective as a means to enhance cognitive performance (Murphy, Brain Stimulation, Volume 13, Issue 5, 2020, pages 1370-1380).
Claim 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton in view of Gerasimenko et. al, (US 9993642 B2, published 06/12/2018, hereinafter known as Gerasimenko).
Regarding claim 8, Edgerton teaches a method of neuromodulation in a subject having delayed or abnormal brain development [0008].
However, Edgerton does not teach the method comprising applying electrical stimulation to the spinal cord of the subject in a manner sufficient to induce neuroplasticity of the brain and spinal cord neural network of the subject.
Gerasimenko teaches the methods enable the spinal cord circuitry to utilize sensory input as well as newly established functional connections from the brain to circuits below the spinal lesion as a source of control signals (Col. 11, lines 7-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the establishment of connections between the brain and spinal cord of Gerasimenko with the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system of Edgerton because these methods can also serve as building blocks for future recovery strategies (Gerasimenko, Col. 10, lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 10, Edgerton teaches voluntary muscle control comprises one or more of: activating one or more muscle groups (“This method enabled the activation of all leg muscles in a coordinated manner to aid in the performance of stepping in the EKSO as well as when performing voluntary tasks.” In [0244]); inhibiting activity by one or more muscle groups [0017]; and having no impact on one or more muscle groups (“Little activation was observed in the proximal muscles.” In [0242]).
Regarding claim 11, Edgerton teaches the neuromodulation comprises applying the electrical stimulation in a manner sufficient to enable and learn a non-patterned, non-repetitive, stochastic motor response by the subject [0206].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton and Gerasimenko as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Zholudeva et. al, (Trends in Neurosicences, Sept. 2018, Vol. 41, No. 9, pp625-639, hereinafter known as Zholudeva).
Regarding claim 9, Edgerton and Gerasimenko teach the method of neuromodulating the central nervous system as described in claim 8, wherein the neuromodulation comprises applying the electrical stimulation at a frequency and amplitude sufficient to: activate one or more of the sensory neurons (Gerasimenko, Col. 8, lines 31-34) of the spinal cord neural network; and not directly activate the motor neurons of the spinal cord neural network (Gerasimenko, Col. 8, lines 49-52).
However, Edgerton and Gerasimenko do not teach the activation of the interneurons of the spinal cord neural network.
Zholudeva The adult mammalian spinal cord comprises four main neuronal types: lower (or spinal) motoneurons, preganglionic neurons, ascending projection neurons, and spinal interneurons (SpINs) (p625, Spinal Interneurons: An Essential Element for Neuroplasticity section). Zholudeva further highlight some of the recent progress that elucidates the importance of SpINs in circuits affected by spinal cord injury (SCI), especially those within respiratory networks and potential ways that spinal neuroplasticity can be therapeutically harnessed for recovery (Abstract). One of the strategies targeting neurons and circuitry spared by injury can include activity-based therapies that stimulate activity and afferent feedback to the spinal cord (Fig. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to target non-invasive electrical therapy of Edgerton and Gerasimenko to the spinal interneurons as taught by Zholudeva in order to non-invasively treat spinal interneurons involved in neuroplasticity in the injured spinal cord.
Conclusion
/F.M.K./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792