DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's preliminary amendments filed April 18, 2024. As filed, claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
This application, filed 04/18/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/078762 , International Filing Date: 10/17/2022 claims foreign priority to 21203092.8, filed 10/18/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith. Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, 15 recite the “using” language. The objected claim is not viewed as “use” claim, but proper transition wording should be present.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US US 3 342 854 Sept. 19, 1967 (“the ‘854 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS) and further in view of US 3 227 745 (“the ‘745 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
The claims are drawn to a process for producing a dimer according to formula (II)
comprising a step i) of dimerization of alkyl acrylates according to formula (I) to obtain a
dimer according to formula (II) using a catalyst according to formula (III)
and wherein said step i) of dimerization is performed in presence of a compound A being
a tertiary alcohol or a silanol.
Regarding instant claims 1, 4-5, the ‘854 patent teaches a process for producing discloses a dimerization of ethyl acrylates which corresponds to claimed formula (I) in which variable R is ethyl to obtain the dimer diethyl 2-methyleneglutarate which corresponds to claimed formula (II) when variable R is ethyl. The process of the ‘854 patent teaches the reaction conducted under catalyst Ph-P(NEt2)2, which corresponds to claimed formula (Ill) wherein Ra is phenyl (hydrocarbyl), Rb is NR3R4 and R1 to R4 are ethyl (aliphatic group). The isolated yield of the dimer product diethyl 2-methyleneglutarate which corresponds to claimed formula (Il) after distillation is 328 g (82 %) ( col 1 1 lines 10-70; example 2 col 3).
Regarding instant claim3, the amount of catalyst used is about 1 mol% (based on 7.1 g dichlorophenyl phosphine and 400 g ethyl acrylate), that is about 0.01 molar equivalents (example 2).
Regarding instant claims 6-9, the ‘854 patent teaches that the catalyst for dimerization of either formula I or II
Regarding instant claim 10, the ‘854 patent teaches benzene as organic solvent (example 2).
Regarding instant claim 11, the ‘854 patent teaches the reaction at 25C for 2h. (example 2).
Regarding instant claims 12 and 13, the ‘854 patent teaches that the catalyst is prepared in a step preceding the dimerization by reacting dichlorophenyl phosphine which corresponds to claimed formula (IV) in which X and Rc are each chlorine and Ra is phenyl) and diethyl amine which corresponds to claimed formula (V) in which R1 and r2 are each ethyl.
The method of the present application differs from the method described in the ‘854 patent in that prior art does not disclose the reaction conducted in tertiary alcohol or silanol.
However, the ‘745 patent, analogous prior art, drawn to the same reaction as the ‘854 patent – dimerization of alkyl acrylates teaches that alcohol solvents, such as tertiary butyl alcohol, in addition to serving as reaction media may participate in the reaction process by supplying available hydrogen ions which serve to minimize the production and that further that the use of hydroxylic solvents enables the dimerization
process to be conducted at temperatures higher than when aprotic solvents are employed while retaining a greater selectivity for dimerization and that propagation of the reactant chains that result in the production of polymeric product is prevented (col 1, line 58 -70 continuing on col 2, line 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the ‘854 patent regarding preparation of dimers by dimerization reaction of alkyl acrylates mediated by catalyst with the teachings of the ‘745 patent regarding utilizing tertiary alcohol for dimerization of alkyl acrylates including t-butanol, and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, because the prior art teach that the use of hydroxylic solvents enables the dimerization process to be conducted at temperatures higher than when aprotic solvents are employed, and yet retain greater selectivity for dimerization and the formation of polymeric byproducts is avoided.
"Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results ". See MPEP § 2143.
Thus, the instant claims are obvious over the combined teachings of prior art.
2.Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US US 3 342 854 Sept. 19, 1967 (“the ‘854 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS) and US 3 227 745 (“the ‘745 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS) and applied to claims 1-13 above and further in view of Borszeky et al. Tetrahedron Asymmetry, 1997, No. 22, pp. 3745-3753 (cited in PTO892 attached herewith).
The combined teachings of ‘864 and ‘745 patent regarding claims 1-13 are discussed above.
The cited references do not teach the step of hydrogenation of the dimer to the claimed formula (VI) of instant claim 14.
However, the article by Borszeky teaches aspect of hydrogenation of unsaturated substrates ( Table 1 page 3747; experimental) with hydrogen, mediated by Pd catalyst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited prior art and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. KSR, 550 U.S. at_, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
3.Claims 1-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US US 3 342 854 Sept. 19, 1967 (“the ‘854 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS) and US 3 227 745 (“the ‘745 patent”; cited by Applicants in IDS ) and applied to claims 1-13 above and further in view of US 342853, 1967 cited by Applicants in IDS).
The combined teachings of ‘864 and ‘745 patent regarding claims 1-13 are discussed above.
The cited references do not teach the step of hydrolysis of the dimer to the claimed formula (VII) of instant claim 15.
However, the ‘853 patent, analogous prior art also drawn to preparation of dimers from alkyl acrylates, teach the hydrolysis of dimes to corresponding carboxylic acid compounds (examples on col 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the cited prior art and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. KSR, 550 U.S. at_, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/475.038 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both claim the same process for producing a dimer according to formula (II)comprising a step i) of dimerization of alkyl acrylates according to formula (I) to obtain a dimer according to formula (II) using a catalyst according to formula (III).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Telephone Inquiry
/ANA Z MURESAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692