Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhuri (US Pat. 4,300,964) in view of Chung et al. (KR20070104037).
Regarding claims 1-2, 8-9, 14 and 17-20, Chaudhuri teaches a tire (rubber article) using organic fiber rubber composite (which is a composite of organic fiber and rubber wherein a surface of the organic fiber is coated with adhesive composition) an organic fiber cord (nylon or polyester resin cord obtained by twisting a plurality of filaments-multiple ply cords are taught) treated with an adhesive composition with the adhesive composition comprising a rubber latex having unsaturated diene (styrene-butadiene latex), a compound containing an acrylamide structure having a cationic group (methylolated AM/DADMAC copolymer is taught) which is a copolymer containing (a) (meth)acrylamide and (b) a vinyl monomer having a cationic group and these copolymers contain (d) another polymerizable monomer that is copolymerizable [claims 1 and 5, Example 7]. Chaudhuri does not teach the claimed polyphenol and includes resorcin. However, Chung et al. teach using tannin in lieu of resorcinol in order to improve strength, reduce cost and avoid supply shortages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the tannin without resorcin of Chung et al. in Chaudhuri in order to improve strength, reduce cost and avoid supply shortages and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaudhuri (US Pat. 4,300,964) in view of Chung et al. (KR20070104037) in view of Toki et al. (JP 2012/041646).
Regarding claim 15, The previous combination teaches the cord is obtained by twisting a plurality of filaments with fiber thickness in the claimed range (1400 dtex is taught). The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed first and second twist. However, Toki teaches second twisting and first twisting of cord with the number of first twists in the claimed range and the number of second twists in the claimed range (40 T/10cm taught for both the first and second twists) in order to form a hybrid yarn with adequate mechanical properties including strength [0016 and Example 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed first and second twists of Toki in the previous combination in order to form a hybrid yarn with adequate mechanical properties including strength and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, Chaudhuri teaches “Nylon cords are fed through the adhesive dip bath and pick up is controlled in the range of about 4-8% by weight of cord.” As a wet pickup. The taught composition suggests roughly 20% solids and would thus yield the claimed percent by mass of the cord in dry mass.
Art Not Used But Relevant
PG Pub. 2018/0016425 teaches an adhesive composition for a cord in a tire with dissociative blocked isocyanate and rubber latex and acrylamide.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Applicant' s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHAWN MCKINNON whose telephone number is (571)272-6116. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday generally 8:00am-5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789