DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 includes “µm” twice after 300. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinoda (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0194741).
Regarding claim 1, Shinoda discloses a battery comprising: a container 1, an electrode group 11 held in the container, and two leads 13a and 13b, wherein the electrode group comprises a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator that are wound together, where the positive electrode comprises a belt-like positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer on a part of the current collector so that an edge of the current collector is exposed, wherein the negative electrode comprises a belt-like negative electrode current collector and a negative electrode active material layer on a part of the current collector so that an edge of the current collector is exposed, wherein the positive electrode current collector and negative electrode current collector are exposed from different ends, and wherein the two leads 13a and 13b (contact sheet metal members) are attached to the exposed current collectors on each side (Paragraphs 0017, 0025-0027, 0029, Figs. 1 and 6). Shinoda also discloses that the positive electrode active material can be lithium manganese composite oxide and that the negative electrode active material can be lithium titanate (Paragraphs 0060, 0063).
As to claim 2, Shinoda teaches that the positive electrode and negative electrode current collectors can be made of aluminum (Paragraph 0026).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Shinoda states that the positive electrode and the negative electrode can comprise a binder and an electro-conductive agent (Paragraphs 0060, 0063).
As to claims 7, 8, 10 and 13-17, Shinoda discloses that the battery also comprises an electrolyte, which can include a lithium salt, such as LiPF6 or LiBF4, in an organic solvent, such as propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, acetonitrile or γ-butylrolactone, at a concentration of 0.5 mol/L to 2.5 mol/L (Paragraphs 0069-0071).
Shinoda teaches every limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10 and 13-17 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0194741) in view of Onoda (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0062147).
The teachings of Shinoda have been discussed in paragraph 4 above.
Shinoda fails to disclose that the positive electrode material and the negative electrode material each have a thickness of 20 to 300 µm, and that the electrolyte comprises vinylene carbonate as an additive.
Onoda discloses a lithium ion secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body 20 in a battery case 30, wherein the electrode body comprises a positive electrode, negative electrode and separator, wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode active material layer on a current collector with an edge of the current collector exposed, wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material layer on a current collector with an edge of the current collector exposed, and wherein the exposed edges of the current collectors are connected to electrode terminals 42a and 44a (Paragraphs 0035, 0039, 0040, 0044 and Figs. 1 and 3). Regarding claims 4 and 6, Onoda teaches that the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer can each have a thickness of 50-100 µm (Paragraphs 0052, 0058). As to claim 11, Onoda teaches that the battery comprises an electrolyte and that the electrolyte can comprise an additive, such as vinylene carbonate (Paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the electrolyte of Shinoda could comprise a vinylene carbonate additive because Onoda teaches that these additives can add desired properties to the electrolyte, such as film forming ability.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0194741).
The teachings of Shinoda have been discussed in paragraph 4 above.
Shinoda fails to specifically teach that the volume ratio of propylene carbonate to γ-butylroactone is 10:90 to 90:10.
Shinoda teaches that any mixture of organic solvents, such as propylene carbonate and γ-butylroactone, can be used in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the ratio of organic solvents in the electrolyte of Shinoda can be 10:90 to 90:10 because Shinoda teaches that any mixture of organic solvents can be used in the electrolyte as long as the concentration of the salt mixed in is 0.5 to 2.5 mol/L.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0194741) in view of Shibano (WO Publication 2021-065844, U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0393237 will be used as an English translation).
The teachings of Shinoda have been discussed in paragraph 4 above.
Shinoda fails to disclose that the electrolyte comprises tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate as a co-conductive salt in a concentration of 0.1M to 2M.
Shibano discloses an electrolyte for a lithium ion secondary battery comprising: lithium salts and/or quaternary ammonium salts, such as tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate in an organic solvent, such as propylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, etc., in a concentration of 0.1 to 3 mol/L (Paragraphs 0053-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the electrolyte of Shinoda could contain a tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate salt in addition to the salts listed in an amount of 0.1 to 2 M because Shibano teaches that quaternary ammonium salts are common salts used in electrolytes for lithium ion secondary batteries and are often mixed with lithium salts, as used in Shinoda.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722