DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/19/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, it appears that “another electrical conduction path” should be “a third electrical conduction path”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitation " the other electrical conduction path”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner interprets said claim as referring to “another electrical conduction path” of claim 1. The Examiner suggests modifying this limitation to “a third electrical conduction path” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (US10784678, hereinafter Xiong).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiong discloses (fig. 1) power conversion device comprising: a driver (112, 114) connected to a first electrical conduction path (path from 122 to 140) and a second electrical conduction path (from 124 to 146) to which a voltage is applied, the driver having a switching element and a controller control unit which generates a control signal for controlling the switching element (col. 2, lines 30-50), the driver being configured to drive, with use of a voltage obtained through conversion by control, a load (116) connected to the switching element by a connection wire; a first line-to-line capacitor (242) and a second line-to-line capacitor (240) each connected to the first electrical conduction path and the second electrical conduction path; a choke coil (278) located on one electrical conduction path out of the first electrical conduction path and the second electrical conduction path and connected between the first line-to-line capacitor and the second line-to-line capacitor (see figure 1); and a capacitor to ground (208), connected between a ground wire and another electrical conduction path to which the choke coil is not connected out of the first electrical conduction path and the second electrical conduction path (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Xiong discloses (fig. 1) the first line-to-line capacitor (242) and the second line-to-line capacitor (240) are connected at different positions to the other electrical conduction path (242 and 240 are each connected to different nodes on first path).
Regarding Claim 5, Xiong discloses (fig. 1) the capacitor to ground (208), the first line-to-line capacitor (242), and the second line-to-line capacitor (240) are connected at different positions to the first electrical conduction path or the second electrical conduction path (242 and 240 are each connected to different nodes on first path and 202 is connected in a position of 142 to ground)
Regarding Claim 6, Xiong discloses (fig. 1) the electrical conduction path to which the capacitor to ground is connected is disposed close to the connection wire such that a direction of current flowing through said electrical conduction path is opposite to a direction of current flowing through the connection wire (the current via ground is opposite to the current to 116).
Regarding Claim 8, Xiong discloses (fig. 1) the first line-to-line capacitor is directly connected to the driver (@140)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Takatsuji (US20220302832).
Regarding Claim 2 (as best understood), Xiong does not disclose the other electrical conduction path includes a metal housing or a heatsink.
Takatsuji discloses the other electrical conduction path (from B through 10) includes a metal housing or a heatsink (2, ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xiong to include a metal housing as disclosed in Takatsuji to provide a means for ground reference.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Goto et al. (US20040074255, hereinafter Goto).
Regarding Claim 7, Xiong does not disclose the connection wire is electrically shielded.
Goto discloses the connection wire is electrically shielded (¶63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xiong to include shield wire as disclosed in Goto to reduce electromagnetic interference on the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the second line-to-line capacitor has a connection terminal to which one end of the choke coil is connected, the first line-to-line capacitor has a connection terminal to which another end of the choke coil is connected, and, out of paths from the connection terminal of the second line-to-line capacitor to the connection terminal of the first line-to-line capacitor, a path extending via the choke coil is set to have a higher impedance than a path extending via the second line-to-line capacitor and the first line-to-line capacitor.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose: “...further comprising an LC filter composed of: a third line-to-line capacitor connected to the first electrical conduction path and the second electrical conduction path and located on a stage preceding the second line-to-line capacitor; and a choke coil located on one electrical conduction path out of the first electrical conduction path and the second electrical conduction path and connected between the second line-to-line capacitor and the third line-to-line capacitor.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10554122, Xiong; Wei et al. discloses a low loss voltage feedback method for power factor correction circuits.
US 20170093357, Okada; Yuya et al. discloses noise reduction device.
US 20220200463, Sawada; Naoki et al. discloses switching power supply apparatus for reducing common mode noise due to line-to-ground capacitances.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838