DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was received 19 April 2024; it is a national stage application of PCT/CN2022/125749, filed 17 October 2022, and claims foreign priority to CN202111223046.6, filed 20 October 2021. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority and certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Restriction/Election
Requirement for Restriction/Election was mailed 16 June 2026.
Applicant’s Response to Requirement for Restriction/Election was received 14 August 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-5) in the Response filed 14 August 2026 is acknowledged.
The claims in Group II (Claims 6-10) are withdrawn.
Status of the Claims
The listing of claims filed 14 August 2026 has been examined.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 6-10 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-5 are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 19 April 2024 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner interprets the phrase, “…for preventing and/or treating a neurodegenerative disease…” in claim 1 as intended use of the claimed composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (KR20170076487A).
Regarding claims 1-5, Jo teaches compositions comprising caudatin (Original, p. 3; Translation, p. 1, Title), which is shown below.
Note instantly recited Compound 1 (Claim 5) is caudatin. The compositions disclosed by Jo are intended as cosmetic compositions, pharmaceutical compositions, and/or health foods (Translation, p. 19, ¶ [0017]) and contain 0.00001-10weight% caudatin (Translation, p. 31, ¶ {[0032]). Jo indicates when the composition is a suspension, additional components may include water, propylene glycol, agar, and/or microcrystalline cellulose, which may all be used as carriers (Translation, p. 36, ¶ [0039]). As skilled artisan would recognize microcrystalline cellulose, for example, often serves as a filler in pharmaceutical compositions.
A compound meeting all the structural limitations required by claim 1 would be expected to exhibit the same uses as recited by claims 2-3. Claim 2 recites, “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the neurodegenerative disease comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of dementia, Parkinson’s disease, and Huntington’s disease.” As mentioned above, the language “…for preventing and/or treating a neurodegenerative disease…” used in claim 1 is interpreted as a non-limiting intended use. However, an identical composition must inherently have the same functional activity, even if not expressly recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical compound or chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical composition, the properties/activities Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, a composition disclosed by Jo would inherently have the same properties as the instantly claimed compositions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ip (WO 2011/114220 A1) in view of Huang (Huang, Liejun et al. “Studies on cytotoxic pregnane sapogenins from Cynanchum wilfordii”, Fitoterapia, 13 November 2014; IDS dated 19 April 2024, Cite No. 2).
Huang teaches C21 steroidal saponins having a structure according to instantly recited formula I (p. 108, Fig. 1), such as Compound 11, which is shown below.
Huang’s Compound 11, also called caudatin (CAS Registry Number: 38395-02-7), is structurally identical to instantly recited Compound 1 (Claim 5). Additionally, Huang’s Compound 9 is structurally identical to instantly recited Compound 2. Huang indicates the compounds disclosed in Fig. 1 are isolated from Cynanchum wilfordii, which is a plant found in China (p. 107, Cols. 1-2). Historically, C. wilfordii roots have been used in treating a wide range of diseases such as aging progression and neurasthenia (p. 107, Col. 1).
Huang does not explicitly teach a pharmaceutical composition.
Ip teaches compounds isolated from Adelostemma gracillimum, an herb found in China and Burma (p. 1, ¶ [0003]), as being neuro-protective NMDA receptor inhibitors (p. 8, ¶ [0027]) and amyloid-beta peptide inhibitors (p. 8, ¶ [0028]). Ip indicates over-active NMDA receptors have been implicated in neurodegenerative diseases including Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, and Huntington’s disease (p. 2, ¶ [0008]). Additionally, amyloid-beta is a well-known hallmark of Alzheimer’s disease (p. 3, ¶ [0011]). Some compounds disclosed by Ip have a structure according to Formula (IVc), shown below, wherein R1 is a saccharide and R2 can be OH, C1-C6 alkoxy, or is combined with the hydrogen on the carbon to which each is attached to form =O (p. 38, ¶ [0129]).
Furthermore, Ip states, “Pharmaceutical excipients useful in the present invention include… binders, fillers, disintegrants, lubricants, coatings, sweeteners, flavors and colors. One of skill in the art will recognize that other pharmaceutical excipients are useful in the present invention.” (p. 24, ¶ [103]).
Ip does not explicitly teach an exemplary compound which is instantly recited.
Prior to the filing of the instant application, a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) following the teachings of Huang would have found it prima facie obvious to prepare a pharmaceutical composition comprising a C21 steroidal saponin and a pharmaceutically-acceptable carrier based on the teachings of Ip because both Huang and Ip disclose compounds which are pregnane (i.e., C21 steroid) derivatives and Ip suggests including such compounds in pharmaceutical compositions alongside pharmaceutically acceptable carriers like fillers and disintegrants. Thus, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to prepare a pharmaceutical composition comprising a C21 steroidal saponin, as disclosed by Huang, in a pharmaceutical composition, as suggested by Ip.
Conclusion
/B.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623