Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 10, and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 5, “at at” should be “at”.
In claim 6, line 3, “arranged distributed” should be either “arranged” or “distributed”.
In claim 10, lines 11 and 14, respectively, “(“ should be omitted.
In claim 12, line 6, “(“ should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 8, and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man (DE 102007037842 A1) in view of Lamb (US 6072258 A) and further in view of Hsu (US 6057622 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Man discloses an axial flux machine (1) (Man Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (housing part 12 and cover part 13) (Man Fig. 1);
a stator (stator part 5a and stator part 5b) located in the housing (Man Fig. 1),
the stator having a first stator half and a second stator half (stator part 5a and stator part 5b, respectively) (Man Fig. 1),
the first and second stator halves are fastened to the housing (stator part 5a is fastened to cover part 11 screw 15a and stator part 5b is fastened to housing part 12 via screws 15b) (Man Fig. 1);
a rotor (2) arranged between the first and second stator halves (Man Fig. 1);
and a separate adjusting element (adjusting device 14) (Man Fig. 1),
which adjusts an axial spacing between the rotor and the first and second stator halves (Man Para [0021] whole paragraph),
arranged between at least one of the first or second stator halves and the housing (Man Fig. 1 discloses the adjusting device 14 is comprised of screws 15a and 15b which are, respectively, arranged between stator part 5a and cover part 11, and stator part 5b and housing part 12).
Man does not disclose:
the rotor non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator and the housing via bearing points.
Man, Lamb, and Hsu structurally discloses:
the rotor (12) non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft (shaft 17) (via hub 15 and bolts 46) which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator (conductor units 28, 29) (of Lamb Fig. 1) and the housing (frame 47) via bearing points (located between bearing 48a and frame 47)) (of Hsu Fig. 3a and c. 4, l. 34 – 35).
Man, Lamb, and Hsu discloses a rotor therefore, Lamb and Hsu constitute as prior art. Lamb discloses a permanent magnet coupler comprising a rotor that is non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft and Hsu discloses an air gap flux comprising a rotor that is rotatably mounted to the housing via bearing points. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rotor non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator and the housing via bearing points of structurally disclosed of Man, Lamb, and Hsu for the purpose of having an adjustable rotor with respect to the shaft, the stator, and the housing to control axial spacing within the motor.
Regarding Claim 2, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 1.
Man and Hsu do not disclose:
further comprising a further adjusting element is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing.
Lamb discloses:
further comprising a further adjusting element (via hub 15 and bolts 46) is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft (Lamb Fig. 1) or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprise a further adjusting element is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing of Lamb for the purpose of having an adjustable rotor with respect to the shaft to control axial spacing within the motor.
Regarding Claim 3, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 2, further comprising another adjusting element arranged between the first and second stator halves (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another) or in each case between both or one of the two stator halves and the housing (Man Fig. 1 discloses the adjusting device 14 is comprised of screws 15a and 15b which are, respectively, arranged between stator part 5a and cover part 11, and stator part 5b and housing part 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 1.
Man and Hsu do not disclose:
wherein the two stator halves are connected to one another radially outside the rotor.
Lamb discloses:
wherein the two stator halves are connected to one another radially outside the rotor (via spacer bolts 22) (Lamb Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the two stator halves are connected to one another radially outside the rotor of Lamb for the purpose of having the axially spaced stator halves be secured to one another in the motor.
Regarding Claim 13, Man discloses an axial flux machine (1) (Man Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (housing part 12 and cover part 13) (Man Fig. 1);
a stator (stator part 5a and stator part 5b) located in the housing (Man Fig. 1),
the stator having a first stator half and a second stator half (stator part 5a and stator part 5b, respectively) (Man Fig. 1),
a rotor (2) arranged between the first and second stator halves (Man Fig. 1);
and a separate adjusting element (adjusting device 14) (Man Fig. 1),
which adjusts an axial spacing between the rotor and the first and second stator halves (Man Para [0021] whole paragraph),
arranged between at least one of the first or second stator halves and the housing (Man Fig. 1 discloses the adjusting device 14 is comprised of screws 15a and 15b which are, respectively, arranged between stator part 5a and cover part 11, and stator part 5b and housing part 12).
Man does not disclose:
the rotor non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator and the housing via bearing points.
Man, Lamb, and Hsu structurally discloses:
the rotor (12) non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft (shaft 17) (via hub 15 and bolts 46) which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator (conductor units 28, 29) (of Lamb Fig. 1) and the housing (frame 47) (of Hsu Fig. 3a and c. 4, l. 34 – 35).
Man, Lamb, and Hsu discloses a rotor therefore, Lamb and Hsu constitute as prior art. Lamb discloses a permanent magnet coupler comprising a rotor that is non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft and Hsu discloses an air gap flux comprising a rotor that is rotatably mounted to the housing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rotor non-rotatably connected to a rotor shaft which is rotatably mounted relative to the stator and the housing of structurally disclosed of Man, Lamb, and Hsu for the purpose of having an adjustable rotor with respect to the shaft, the stator, and the housing to control axial spacing within the motor.
Regarding Claim 14, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 13.
Man and Hsu do not disclose:
further comprising a further adjusting element is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing.
Lamb discloses:
further comprising a further adjusting element (via hub 15 and bolts 46) is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft (Lamb Fig. 1) or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprise a further adjusting element is arranged between the rotor and the rotor shaft or at one said bearing point between the rotor shaft and the housing of Lamb for the purpose of having an adjustable rotor with respect to the shaft to control axial spacing within the motor.
Regarding Claim 15, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 14, further comprising another adjusting element arranged between the first and second stator halves (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another) or in each case between both or one of the two stator halves and the housing (Man Fig. 1 discloses the adjusting device 14 is comprised of screws 15a and 15b which are, respectively, arranged between stator part 5a and cover part 11, and stator part 5b and housing part 12).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man in view of Lamb, Hsu, and further in view of Woolmer (US 20180323679 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 3.
Man and Lamb do not disclose:
wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing transmitting axial forces,
the bearing has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring and a further adjusting element is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring.
Hsu discloses:
wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing (48a and 48b) transmitting axial forces (Hsu Fig. 3a).
Woolmer discloses:
the bearing (clutch radial bearing 116) has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring (Woolmer Fig. 4) and a further adjusting element (shim 140a) is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring (Woolmer Para [0088) Whole paragraph).
Man, Lamb, Hsu, and Woolmer discloses adjusting elements therefore, Woolmer constitutes prior art. Woolmer discloses an axial flux machine arrangement comprising a bearing with one or more shims to adjust a motor housing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing transmitting axial forces of Hsu, and the bearing has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring and a further adjusting element is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring of Woolmer for the purpose of 1) securing the rotor shaft to the housing and 2) controlling the adjustment of the housing on the bearing via the further adjusting element.
Regarding Claim 16, Man, Lamb, and Hsu disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 15.
Man and Lamb do not disclose:
wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing transmitting axial forces,
the bearing has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring and a further adjusting element is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring.
Hsu discloses:
wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing (48a and 48b) transmitting axial forces (Hsu Fig. 3a).
Woolmer discloses:
the bearing (clutch radial bearing 116) has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring (Woolmer Fig. 4) and a further adjusting element (shim 140a) is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring (Woolmer Para [0088) Whole paragraph).
Man, Lamb, Hsu, and Woolmer discloses adjusting elements therefore, Woolmer constitutes prior art. Woolmer discloses an axial flux machine arrangement comprising a bearing with one or more shims to adjust a motor housing. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotor shaft is mounted on the housing via a bearing transmitting axial forces of Hsu, and the bearing has at least one bearing inner ring or one bearing outer ring and a further adjusting element is arranged at at least one axial end of the bearing inner ring or the bearing outer ring of Woolmer for the purpose of 1) securing the rotor shaft to the housing and 2) controlling the adjustment of the housing on the bearing via the further adjusting element.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man in view of Lamb, Hsu, and further in view of Oktavec et al. (US 20170110946 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Man, Lamb, and Hsu discloses an electric machine arrangement comprising an axial flux machine according to claim 1 (see above in rejection of claim 1).
Man, Lamb, and Hsu do not disclose:
a power electronics unit,
and a high-voltage battery.
Oktavec et al. discloses:
a power electronics unit (power module 34) (Oktavec et al. Fig. 2),
and a high-voltage battery (Oktavec et al. Para [0085] last sentence).
Man, Lamb, Hsu, and Oktavec et al. discloses electric machines therefore, Oktavec et al. constitutes prior art. Oktavec et al. discloses a power tool having a motor with a power module and a high voltage battery pack. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a power electronics unit, and a high-voltage battery of Oktavec et al. for the purpose of the motor to have high efficiency and high workability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 - 7 and 17 - 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 – 12 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art discloses various axial flux machines having a plurality of adjusting elements between stators and housings. However, the particular structure in combination with previously recited features, wherein the adjusting elements are comprised of several sub-elements stacked on top of one another in order to adjust a required adjustment dimension by a combination of a plurality of the sub-elements is not disclosed in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the art.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art discloses various axial flux machines having a plurality of adjusting elements. However, the particular structure in combination with previously recited features, wherein there are a plurality of the adjusting elements with different thicknesses arranged distributed around a circumference of the axial flux machine is not disclosed in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the art.
Regarding Claim 7, it is allowable as being dependent on allowable claim 6.
Regarding Claims 17 – 19, they have the same allowable structure that is presented, respectively, above in claims 5 – 7.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art does not anticipate or render obvious an installation method for axially aligning a first assembly comprising: a housing (3) and a bearing (8), a second assembly comprising a first output-side stator half (41), a third assembly comprising a rotor (6) and a rotor shaft (7), and a fourth assembly comprising a second stator half (42), relative to one another, comprising the following steps: determining axial actual distances
(
M
L
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
B
K
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
E
D
a
c
t
u
a
l
)
on surfaces (M, L, B, K, D, E) of the first assembly, second assembly, and the third assembly; comparing the actual distances
(
M
L
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
B
K
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
E
D
a
c
t
u
a
l
)
that are determined with specified target distances
M
L
t
a
r
g
e
t
,
B
K
t
a
r
g
e
t
,
E
D
t
a
r
g
e
t
; determining deviations (ΔML, ΔBK, ΔED) of the actual distances
(
M
L
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
B
K
a
c
t
u
a
l
,
E
D
a
c
t
u
a
l
)
from the respective target distances
M
L
t
a
r
g
e
t
,
B
K
t
a
r
g
e
t
,
E
D
t
a
r
g
e
t
;
and calculating a thickness therefrom for a separate adjusting element (11) between the surfaces (K, L) of the first output-side stator half (41) and the housing (3) is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claims 11 – 12, they are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 10 or allowed as being dependent on another claim dependent on claim 10.
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834