DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 12,038,775 to Nesmeev in view of USPN 8,887,363 to Boyes, and further in view of USPN 7,033,374 to Schaefer.
As to claim 1, Nesmeev teaches an aviation sidestick (col. 1: lines 9-11, col. 3: lines 55-56) comprising: a body(col. 2: lines 52-53), a handle with buttons and a scroll wheel, a height-adjustable bracket, a sphere, a computing device(col. 3: lines 10-15 & lines 59-64 ), an optical sensor (col. 3: lines 18-19) and a stationary segment of the sphere(col. 4: lines 3-8), wherein a mechanism that simulates feedback is located under a base(col. 2: lines 16-19); wherein a compensating mechanism is located inside the body, the compensating mechanism consists of a screw and a threaded bushing(col. 2: lines 22-25), a stepper motor(col. 3: lines 53-54), electrical connectors placed on its bells, interconnected by electrical wires laid in the body of its material, and the middle bracket and wherein the feedback mechanism is rigidly connected to the compensating mechanism(col. 2: lines 34-48 wherein apparatus and method are taught for an aviation control device to connect all the electric components by using electrical wires and having a feedback mechanism to compensate the system).
Nesmeev does not teach a fixed outer cylinder and a inner cylinder, a gear and a small gear and pulleys and an apparatus wherein a center of the sphere, a focus of a sphere segment and radii of the spheres do not coincide and are located at a common imaginary axis.
Boyes teaches a fixed outer cylinder and a inner cylinder, a gear and a small gear and pulleys(col. 10: lines 18-26, col. 31: lines 1-11).
Schaefer teaches apparatus wherein a center of the sphere, a focus of a sphere segment and radii of the spheres do not coincide and are located at a common imaginary axis(col. 10: lines 14-28).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Boyes and Schaefer into Nesmeev since Nesmeev suggests an aviation control system and Boyes and Schaefer suggests the beneficial use of gears, pulleys and sphere segment configuration in the analogous art of mechanical control technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Boyes and Schaefer teaches an apparatus of gears, pulleys and sphere segment configuration which can be used to improve the aviation control system disclosed by Nesmeev.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 10,293,919 to Gomolko discloses a flight control device.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846