Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of April 19, 2024 with preliminary amendment cancelling claims 21-161. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/19/2024; and 8/5/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority to Prior-Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/US2022/078474 filed on 10/20/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael et al (EP-0266056-A1)(“Michael”), provided by Applicant in the attached IDS, and GETTINGS et al (US-20120215358-A1)(“Gettings”).
As per claim 1, Michael discloses a device for transferring free-flowing material (Michael at Fig 1, with manipulator 12 that can transfer free flowing material), the device comprising:
a gantry (Michael discloses gantry 13, Fig 2, and Col 2, Lines 40-43: 'The drive mechanism, shown generally at 1 O, is mounted on a gantry 11, and is used to drive a robotic manipulator 12 along a pair of slideways 13, 14 which define a linear, horizontal track 15.');
an arm having an arm longitudinal axis ( Michael arm at 33, Fig 5, with longitudinal axis defined as extending from forwardmost gripper towards gripper at right), a first arm portion, a second arm portion spaced apart from the first arm portion along the arm longitudinal axis, and a middle arm portion disposed between the first arm portion and the second arm portion, wherein the middle arm portion is rotatably coupled to the gantry (Michael at Figure 4, top 11 and bottom 31 portions with various axis of rotation, and (middle arm portion defined as central portion of arm 33, shown connected to gantry in a rotatably manner as seen by arrow depicting rotation labeled II, Fig 5) ;
a gripper including two or more fingers movably coupled to the first arm portion relative to a gripper axis (Michael at Figure 5 shows that forwardmost gripper with two lower lingers and rotational and longitudinal movement), wherein the two or more fingers are radially movable relative to the gripper axis between a first position and a second position , wherein at least two of the two or more fingers are closer to the gripper axis in the second position than in the first position (Michael at Fig 4, the gripper as seen at 31, the grippers are taught being capable of grasping items by moving the fingers closer to each other by moving radially innards relative to a longitudinal axis of the gripper, Col 3, In 35-42: 'a second limb L(2) rotatable about axis z. and a third limb L(3) which mounts an end effector, typically a gripper device 31, which is displaceable along, and rotatable about, a second vertical axis Z. The second manipulator 30 is arranged to grip a work piece and is rotatable with respect to the table about two mutually orthogonal axes (X,Y) lying in a plane parallel to the work table'); and
a tool head coupled to the second arm portion (Michael defines a tool head by right gripper, Fig 5, since it can grasp and move a tool, the gripper fingers define a tool coupling portion), .
Michael, however, does not explicitly disclose a tool head wherein the tool head includes a tool head motor and a tool coupling portion that is couplable to a tool .
Gettings in the same field of endeavor discloses a robotic arm with an end effector that can be attached or detached at the end of the robotic arm. See Abstract and Figure 4.
In particular, Getting discloses wherein the tool head includes a tool head motor (Getting at Figure 16 and Para. [0076] disclosing the use of a moor at the end effector (tool head):” the end effector 300 can include a motor 301. The motor 301 can be connected directly or through a gearbox to the gripper shaft 306 to actuate at least one gripper finger 330.”) and a tool coupling portion that is couplable to a tool (Gettings at Para. [0074] disclosing that the end effector 300 can be attached or removed from the robotic arm based on a desired functionality:” end effector 300 can be detachable and replaced with an alternate end effector 300. The end effector 300 can have one or more grippers, hooks, shovels, blowers, winches, pokers, sampling devices, pressure sensitive devices, cameras, microphones, chemical sensors, optical sensors, temperature sensors, or combinations thereof.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the attachable end effector in Gettings in the robot in Michael with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in the robots being utilized for different applications which increases the versatility of the robots (see Gettings at Para. [0003]).
As per claim 2, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the tool is an auger, wherein the tool head motor is configured to rotate the auger about an auger longitudinal axis (Gettings at Para. [0074] discloses various tool that can be attached to the robotic arm so it would be reasonable that those in the art would be able to attach an auger end effector:” end effector 300 can have one or more grippers, hooks, shovels, blowers, winches, pokers, sampling devices, pressure sensitive devices, cameras, microphones, chemical sensors, optical sensors, temperature sensors, or combinations thereof.”).
As per claim 3, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, further comprising a work surface defining a surface plane, wherein the gantry comprises a movable positioning member configured to move along an x-axis parallel to the surface plane, wherein the arm is coupled to the movable positioning member, and wherein the arm is configured to move vertically along a z-axis perpendicular to the surface plane and rotatably about the z-axis (Michael at Figure 2, surface and gantry, and Column 2, Lines 40-48, disclose a work surface and movement of the arm as attached to the gantry:” drive mechanism, shown generally at 10, is mounted on a gantry 11, and is used to drive a robotic manipulator 12 along a pair of slideways 13, 14 which define a linear, horizontal track 15. As will be described in greater detail hereafter, the manipulator can move within a well-defined work cell above a generally rectangular work table 16 where a number of assembly and/or processing tasks are carried out.”).
As per claim 4, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the tool head is removably coupled to the second arm portion (Gettings at Para. [0074] disclosing that the end effector 300 can be attached or removed from the robotic arm based on a desired functionality:” end effector 300 can be detachable and replaced with an alternate end effector 300.”).
As per claim 5, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 4, wherein the tool head defines one or more head coupling openings, wherein the device further comprises one or more head coupling protrusions coupled to the second arm portion, wherein each of the one or more head coupling protrusions is configured to be disposed within a different one of the one or more head coupling openings to removably couple the tool head to the second arm portion (Gettings at Para. [0089] discloses that the end effector is capable of various openings:” rack 393 can move in a linear motion to open and close the gripper finger 330. When a large, overloading force is applied to the gripper finger 330, the overloading force can be transferred to the rack 393 in the. form of a linear motion.”).
As per claim 6, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 5, wherein the one or more head coupling openings and the tool coupling portion are defined by a first head side of the tool head, wherein the tool head further includes a rotatable locking plate, the locking plate defining one or more plate openings sized to receive the one or more head coupling protrusions (Gettings at Para. [0093] discloses the use of a locking plate at the end effector:” digit locking plate 336, 338 can attach, support and align the gripper digits 331, 337 in position around a rack 393, such that when the position of the rack 393 is adjusted, the gripper digits 331, 337 can move simultaneously. Gripper digits can be fixed relative to the rack 393 or another gripper digit.”), wherein the locking plate is rotatable from a locked position to an unlocked position, wherein the one or more head coupling protrusions are movable through the one or more plate openings into the one or more plate openings or out of the one or more plate openings in the unlocked position, and the one or more head coupling protrusions are blocked from moving through the one or more plate openings into the one or more plate openings or out of the one or more plate openings in the locked position (Gettings at Para. [0065] discloses various locking mechanism that could be used at the end effector to secure the attachment thereon:” elbow clutch nut 273 can include a variety of locking mechanisms, keys, set screws, pins, washers, or combinations thereof, to keep the elbow clutch nut 273 from rotating with respect to the threaded elbow worm shaft 281 during use.”).
As per claim 7, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 6, wherein the tool head includes a guide element that is slidable by a ramp to move the locking plate between the locked position and the unlocked position (Gettings at Para, [0046] discloses a guide mechanism for attaching certain parts of the robotic arm:”[follower] 23 can guide the base 100 onto the chassis of the robotic system 10.”).
As per claim 8, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the tool coupling portion includes a cam and thruster mechanism for coupling the tool coupling portion to the tool (Gettings at Para. [046] discloses a cam mechanism:” cam follower mounts 22, 23 can be removable by a user, for example, if they are not needed, or if the user would like the arm to possibly detach itself from the robotic system 10.”)
As per claim 9, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the two or more fingers are axially movable along the gripper axis (Michael at Fig 5, the movement indicated by arrow labeled Ill showing the gripper lingers can be moved axially long the gripper axis).
As per claim 10, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 9, further comprising a gripper actuator for causing the two or more fingers to axially move along the gripper axis (Michael at Figure 4 and Column 3, Lines 32-38, discloses a gripping device/actuator:” first manipulator 11 includes a first limb L(1) which is mounted on the slideway and aligned on a first vertical axis Z₁, a second limb L(2) rotatable about axis Z₁, and a third limb L(3) which mounts an end effector, typically a gripper device 31, which is displaceable along, and rotatable about, a second vertical axis Z₂.”).
As per claim 11, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 9, wherein the gripper is movably coupled to the first arm portion by a gripper bearing such that the two or more fingers are axially movable along the gripper axis (Michael discloses gripper bearing defined by circular member around shaft L3 connected to L2, shown allowing movement of the gripper and corresponding gripper fingers,Fig4)..
As per claim 12, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 11, further comprising a gripper spring having a first spring end and a second spring end opposite the first spring end, wherein the first spring end is statically coupled to the first arm portion and the second spring end is statically coupled to the gripper (Gettings at Para. [0044] discloses using springs as fasteners:” captive fasteners can be held in place by mechanical features on the base 100, held in place by springs, locking mechanisms, cables attached to the base, or combinations thereof.”).
As per claim 14, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the two or more fingers are rotatable about the gripper axis ( Michael at Fig 5, rotational axis seen defined by IV, Fig 5, Col 4, In 6-7: 'rotation of the end effector about the second vertical axis').
As per claim 15, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, further comprising:
a work surface defining a surface plane (Michael at Figure 2, work cell at P.); and
an uncapping station disposed on the work surface, the uncapping station (Michael at Figure 7 shows different cell and in Column 5,Lines 8-19, discloses that different work can performed in their own individual cells so it would be reasonable that in a chemical environment the opening of chemicals would be done in an assigned area to prevent contamination:” shown in Figure 7, includes a number of different work cells arranged in succession to define, in effect, an assembly line. Each cell has a respective manipulator arrangement with distributed axes, as described in hereinbefore, which is dedicated to a specific, but limited, task within the overall assembly procedure. Adjacent cells in the "line" are arranged to overlap with one another allowing a work piece to be transferred progressively along the line at different stages of completion. “) comprising:
an uncapping axis (Michael at Column 4, Lines 6-7, discloses an axis of rotation which would include an uncapping task:” IV - rotation of the end effector about the second vertical axis.”);
one or more uncapping fingers radially movable relative to the uncapping axis between a first position and a second position, wherein at least two of the two or more uncapping fingers are closer to the uncapping axis in the second position than in the first position, wherein the two or more fingers are rotatable about the uncapping axis (Michael at Figure 4, fingers 31, and Column 4, Lines 19-27, discloses fingers to operate different tasks:” the gripper device 31 may be interchanged with any of a number of different gripper devices, each dedicated to a specific task, held at a "finger change" station, referenced at F in Figure 2, and with the facility the system can acquire an even greater flexibility permitting a wider variety of tasks to be performed. A finger change mechanism suitable for this application is described in our copending European patent application, Publication No. 0168945.”).
As per claim 16, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, wherein the gripper includes wherein the gripper includes a worm gear, a flange nut, and a vertical displacement device, wherein the worm gear is coupled to the flange nut and the flange nut is engaged with the vertical displacement device such that rotation of the worm gear causes the vertical displacement device to move each of the two or more fingers between the first position and the second position (Gettings at Para. [0042] discloses various mechanism and ways for fastening a component:” gear interface or gearing interface 450 may include a shaft with a worm pinion interfacing with gears. The shaft can be supported by bearings, spacers, washers, thrust bearings, shaft supports, motor supports, or combinations thereof. The gearing interface 450 can include a hypoid-gearing interface, a spur gear interface (e.g., instead of a pinion-gear interface) and/or a planetary gear interface.”).
As per claim 17, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 16, wherein the two or more fingers comprises four fingers (Gettings at Para. [0083] discloses various fingers as required by a task:” end effecter 300 can include at least one gripper finger 330. The gripper finger 330 can include a gripper digit 331. The gripper digit 331 can be connected to a gripper grip 333 using a fastener such as a shoulder bolt 332. The gripper finger 330 may include a gripper pad 334, for example to protect fragile objects or surfaces the gripper finger 330 contacts.”).
As per claim 18, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 1, further comprising a range sensor coupled to the second arm portion for determining the distance from the free-flowing material to the range sensor (Gettings at Para. [0073] discloses determining the relative position (range) from the effector to an object:” visual data from supplemental camera and the primary camera 229 can be processed with the relative position data for each camera (e.g., from respective sensors, such as potentiometers) to create a three-dimensional image or a navigatable virtual space.”) .
As per claim 19, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 18, wherein the range sensor is coupled to the tool head (Gettings at Para. [0035] discloses the sensor device (camera) as being attached to the end effector:” the end effector 300 can be nested behind the base 100, for example, to enable the end effector 300 to perform additional functionality, for example using a camera to capture images, while the arm is in a stored position.”).
As per claim 20, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 18, device of claim 18, wherein the range sensor comprises a time-of-flight sensor (Gettings at Para. [0072] discloses various cameras which would include a time of flight camera:” camera 229 can be a webcam, a forward-looking infrared (FLIR) camera, CCD, CMOS, CCIQ, multiple cameras, a zoom camera, wide angle camera, or any combinations thereof.”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael and Gettings as applied to claim 1 & 12 above, and further in view of Wood et al (US-20220160582-A1)(“Wood”).
As per claim 13, Michael and Gettings disclose a device of claim 12.
Michael and Gettings do not explicitly disclose wherein the spring is a first spring, the device further comprising a second spring having a first spring end and a second spring end opposite the first spring end ,
Michael and Gettings do not explicitly disclose wherein the first spring end of the second spring is statically coupled to the first arm portion and the second spring end of the second spring is coupled to the gripper, wherein the first spring and the second spring bias the gripper in opposite directions.
Wood in the field of free flowing material discloses liquid concentrate generation system comprising a manifold having an inlet receptacle including a first piercing member, an outlet receptacle including a second piercing member, and a flow channel connecting the inlet receptacle and outlet receptacle. The system may further comprise a cartridge having an inlet port and an outlet port sealed by a respective first and second cover. See Abstract and Figures 25C, 54, and 70.
Wood discloses wherein the spring is a first spring, the device further comprising a second spring having a first spring end and a second spring end opposite the first spring end (Wood at Para. [00421] discloses the use of springs to apply a bias force:” bias members for the platform 124 are depicted as springs, however, pneumatic, hydraulic or other means of displacing the platform 124 may be used in alternative embodiments.”).
Wood discloses wherein the first spring end of the second spring is statically coupled to the first arm portion and the second spring end of the second spring is coupled to the gripper, wherein the first spring and the second spring bias the gripper in opposite directions (Wood at Para. [0438] discloses the use of force springs to bias a mechanism:” bias member 401 may be constant force spring in various examples. A pair of standoffs 402 may also extend from the housing block 398. The standoffs 402 may be coupled to a feed plate retainer 403. In the example embodiment a latch plate 404 which may include a latch 406 is shown. The feed plate 396 may be coupled to a plunger 408 which may be pulled via the glove interfaces 352 to retract the feed plate 396.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the robot manipulator as taught by Michael as modified by Gettings with the spring mechanism for fluid systems as taught by Wood with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method steps to apply a force bias to a mechanism. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by using springs to apply a force bias, a mechanism can be restored to its original position as taught by Wood in Para. [0559].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Höll; Robert (US-20230191544-A1) Mounting Press, Grinding and/or Polishing Device, and Production Line for Mounting Samples and for Machining the Mounted Samples;
Nuotio; Vesa (US-20130209210-A1) METHOD AND ASSEMBLY FOR TRANSPORTING SINGLE AND MULTIPLE REACTION VESSELS;
Case; W. Woodrow (US-3817206-A) APPARATUS FOR COATING EDIBLE MATERIAL;
Motz; Darin S. (US-6216071-B1) Apparatus and method for monitoring and coordinating the harvesting and transporting operations of an agricultural crop by multiple agricultural machines on a field;
Jenkins; Rowland L. (US-5991560-A) Determining an amount of toner in a reservoir by determining a time interval for the transmission of light between a first light guide and a second light guide;
MAINQUIST JAMES K et al. (WO-2009029696-A1) GRIPPERS AND RELATED SYSTEMS AND METHODS PROVIDING A CERTAIN DEGREE OF PLAY ALONG THE VERTICAL AXIS;
NAGAI, TAKAAKI et al. (CN-102770768-A) analyzing device and reagent container.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658