DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12, 14-33 and 35-40 are currently pending in the application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 04/17/2026.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "a cup having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end" and "wherein the shock absorber element closed ends are free and unattached to one another about the closed end";
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "wherein the liner is separate and independent of the shock absorber panel" and "wherein the shock absorbing elements are hollow and free from the liner being disposed therein";
In claim 28, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "a cup having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end" and "wherein the shock absorber element closed ends are free and unattached to one another about the closed end";
In claim 28, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for "wherein the liner is separate and independent of the shock absorber panel".
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 is objected to for having multiple periods. Each claim must begin with a capital letter and end with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim 28 is objected to as it sets forth a plurality of elements; however, the plurality of elements are not separated by a line indentation. 37 CFR 1.75(i) and MPEP 608.01(m) require each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 28, line 4, "comprising of" appears to read "comprising".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-12, 14-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a first limitation "wherein each of the shock absorbing elements comprises a cup having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end" and a second limitation "wherein the shock absorber element closed ends are free and unattached to one another about the closed end", which renders the claim indefinite. First, it is unclear which structures are being referred to by "base". Is the "base" a base of each of the shock absorbing elements, a base of a single cup, or any other structure that can be considered as a base? Second, it is also unclear what is being referred to by "closed end". A closed end of each of the shock absorbing elements? A closed end of a single cup? Third, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the shock absorber element closed ends" in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that each of the shock absorbing elements comprises a cup, each of the cups having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end, wherein the closed ends of the cups are free and unattached to one another about each of the closed ends.
Claim 28 recites a first limitation "wherein each of the shock absorbing elements comprises a cup having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end" and a second limitation "wherein the shock absorber element closed ends are free and unattached to one another about the closed end", which renders the claim indefinite. First, it is unclear which structures are being referred to by "base". Is the "base" a base of each of the shock absorbing elements, a base of a single cup, or any other structure that can be considered as a base? Second, it is also unclear what is being referred to by "closed end". A closed end of each of the shock absorbing elements? A closed end of a single cup? Third, there is insufficient antecedent basis for "the shock absorber element closed ends" in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that each of the shock absorbing elements comprises a cup, each of the cups having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end, wherein the closed ends of the cups are free and unattached to one another about each of the closed ends.
Claim 28 recites the limitations "wherein a liner is interposed between an inside surface of the helmet shell and the shock absorber panel", "wherein the interconnectors and open tops of the shock absorber elements are in contact with the liner and the liner and shock absorber elements are independent and separate of one another", and "wherein the shock absorber elements are free from the liner being disposed therein", which render the claim indefinite. The preamble of the claim recites "[a] shock absorber panel for a helmet"; however, the above limitations are directed to configurations when in use, which are beyond the scope of a shock absorber panel. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim 31 recites the limitation a plurality of discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements connected together by live hinge elements", which renders the claim indefinite. The claim depends from claim 28, and claim 28 has previously set forth a plurality of interconnected discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements connected together by live hinge elements. It is unclear the discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements and live hinge elements in claim 31 are the same discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements and live hinge elements or different. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that the discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements and live hinge elements in claim 31 are the same elements in claim 28.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim 31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 31 is dependent from claim 38, but fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-33, 35-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ERB (US 2018/0343953 A1).
Regarding claim 28, ERB discloses a shock absorber panel (a TPU crown shock absorbing element 160; figs. 67-70; para. 0165) for a helmet (helmet 1; figs. 8-9; para. 0153) to locate in use between a helmet shell and a wearer's head over at least a crown of the wearer's head (figs. 8-9; paras. 0153, 0165), wherein the shock absorber panel comprising of plurality of interconnected discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements (hollow frusto-conical projections 162; figs. 67-70; para. 0165) to, in concert, reduce transfer of shock forces encountered by the shell to the wearer's head (figs. 8-9,67-70; paras. 0153, 0165) wherein each of the shock absorbing elements are in the form of a cup (hollow frusto-conical projections; figs. 67-70; para. 0165) having an open top and side walls extending to a base formed by a closed end (hollow frusto-conical projections having closed distal ends; figs. 67-70; para. 0165), wherein interconnectors (connecting ribs; figs. 67, 70; para. 0165) are attached around the open tops of the shock absorbing elements (see figs. 67, 70) to connect the shock absorbing elements together (see figs. 67, 70; para. 0165) and provide a live hinge flexible attachment of the shock absorbing elements together (figs. 67, 70; para. 0165), and wherein the shock absorber element closed ends are free and unattached to one another about the closed end (see figs. 67, 69).
Regarding the limitations wherein a liner is interposed between an inside surface of the helmet shell and the shock absorber panel, wherein the interconnectors and open tops of the shock absorber elements are in contact with the liner and the liner and shock absorber elements are independent and separate of one another, and wherein the shock absorber elements are free from the liner being disposed therein, the liner is not in the scope of the claimed shock absorber panel and the limitations do not provide any structural feature of the shock absorber panel. The shock absorber panel of ERB meets the claimed structural requirements.
Regarding claim 29, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorber panel is of a unitary construction (figs. 67-70; para. 0165).
Regarding claim 30, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorber panel is concave in shape in use (as configured to fit a crown of a helmet; figs. 8-9, 67-70; paras. 0153, 0165).
Regarding claim 31, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorber panel comprises of a plurality of discrete spaced apart shock absorbing elements (hollow frusto-conical projections 162; figs. 67-70; para. 0165) connected together by live hinge elements (connecting ribs 164; figs. 67, 70; para. 0165).
Regarding claim 32, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorbing elements are made of a flexible material (TPU, i.e., thermoplastic polyurethane; paras. 0005, 0165).
Regarding claim 33, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorbing elements are made of an elastically flexible material (TPU, i.e., thermoplastic polyurethane; paras. 0005, 0165).
Regarding claim 35, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the cup open top is sealed against the liner of the helmet when the shock absorbing element is pressed against the liner (the cup open top is capable of being sealed against a liner of the helmet when the shock absorbing element is pressed against the liner).
Regarding claim 36, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the cups comprise a mouth along the open top (figs. 68-70; para. 0165), and wherein the cups can compress in the mouth to base direction (figs. 68-70; para. 0165).
Regarding claim 37, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the cups comprise a mouth along the open top (figs. 68-70; para. 0165), and wherein the cups can compress in the mouth to base direction to act as a compressive spring (as formed of TPU, i.e., thermoplastic polyurethane; figs. 68-70; paras. 0005, 0165).
Regarding claim 38, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the cups comprise a mouth along the open top (figs. 68-70; para. 0165), wherein the cups can compress in the mouth to base direction to act as a compressive spring (as formed of TPU, i.e., thermoplastic polyurethane; figs. 68-70; paras. 0005, 0165), and wherein a resistance to compression is greater when the mouth is sealed to the liner of the helmet (inherent feature; due to air pressure).
Regarding claim 40, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the shock absorbing elements are in a matrix formation (figs. 68-70) and are spaced apart from each other (figs. 68-70) to allow airflow between the elements to help keep the wearer's head cool (figs. 68-70), and wherein the elements are configured to create a gap between the liner and the wearer's head to allow airflow therebetween between to help keep the wearer's head cool (capable of creating a gap when being integrated in a helmet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERB (US 2018/0343953 A1).
Regarding claim 39, ERB discloses the shock absorber panel of claim 28, and further discloses wherein the cups comprise a mouth along the open top (figs. 68-70; para. 0165).
ERB does not disclose wherein the cups are tri-spoke in cross sectional shape between the mouth and base. However, Applicant does not set forth any criticality for the cups having a tri-spoke shape. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the shape of the cups as disclosed by ERB, with wherein the cups are tri-spoke in cross sectional shape between a mouth of the open top opening and the base, in order to use another suitable shape configured to deform and absorb shock upon a compression force, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results, therefore is not considered to be a patentably distinct limitation. See MPEP 2144.04, IV, B.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14-27, as interpreted in the above 112 section, are free of prior art rejections. None of the prior art alone or in reasonable combination teaches wherein the liner is separate and independent of the shock absorber panel, wherein the shock absorbing element open tops are in contact with the liner, and wherein the shock absorbing elements are hollow and free from the liner being disposed therein.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied as necessitated by the amendment. Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732