DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 19 April 2024 and is the national stage entry of PCT/KR2022/016368 filed 25 October 2022. The Applicant claims priority to foreign application KR10-2021-0166108 filed 26 November 2021. An English copy of the foreign document has not been provided. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 25 October 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 18-20) in the reply filed on 01 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9, 10, 13, 14, and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako (US 2005/0074474 A1) and Lee et al. (A 1,1’-biuracil from Epidermidibacterium keratini EPI-7 shows anti-aging effects on human dermal fibroblasts, Appl Biol Chem, 2019), as evidenced by wwwn.cdc.gov.
Regarding claim 1, Sako teaches a topical composition comprising porous silica impregnated with a water-insoluble skin beneficial agent (abs; entire teaching). The agents may be prepared and used in their extract form, where it is interpreted to have undergone an extraction step (para. 35).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the extraction solvent is broadly interpreted as the solvent used to contain the extract. Sako teaches water-insoluble skin beneficial agents dissolved in emollients (abs). Emollients include mineral oil or soybean oil (para. 73).
Regarding claim 4, silica is interpreted as made of silicon dioxide, as evidenced by wwwn.cdc.gov, pg. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the surface of the porous silica may be treated with dimethicone (para. 31).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 18-20, the formulation has cosmetic effects (para. 34), which includes treating aging and wrinkles (para. 4), or is provided as a cosmetic (claims 5 and 6).
Sako does not teach using a strain from Epidermidibacterium keratini in claim 1.
Lee teaches that Epidermidibacterium keratini has anti-aging effects on the skin (abs).
Since Sako does not use a strain from Epidermidibacterium keratini to impregnate the porous silica particles in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Lee’s teaching with a reasonable expectation of success. Lee teaches that Epidermidibacterium keratini has an anti-aging effect on the skin. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have recognized the added benefit of using an extract from this strain to improve Sako’s composition, which also uses a water-insoluble skin beneficial agent to treat aging skin. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613