DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6 and 8-10 are pending.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (WO2003002387 Son) in view of Babala et al (US20200193005).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Son teaches a motor vehicle comprising:
a vehicle interior partially delimited by a driver's door, the driver's door comprising a lock;
(Son, Figs. 1 and 8; “The present invention (10) discloses an optical recognition vehicular security access system that will unlock the vehicles doors (20)”, [abstract]; “The driver positions themselves behind the wheel and engages a start button 40. The system determines that the driver 12 is positioned within the driver's seat 42”, p9; “means for unlocking the operator's door”, [claim 1]; a motor vehicle with an interior containing a driver's seat and delimited by doors, specifically a driver's door utilized for access, the driver's door comprising a lock)
a camera configured to capture an image of a user of the motor vehicle,
(Son, Figs. 1 and 3; “The optical recognition vehicular security access system camera 16 will capture in real time an iris image of the potential operator 12”, p6; a camera configured to capture images of the user/operator)
wherein the camera has a field of view comprising an internal region adjoining the driver's door in the vehicle interior and an external region adjoining the driver's door outside the motor vehicle; and
(Son, Figs. 4 and 6; “camera 16 will pivot to capture an iris image of the individual 12”, p8; “camera having means for pivoting said camera across a predetermined field of view outside of said vehicle”, [claim 1]; “While the vehicle 14 is in motion the optical recognition vehicular security access system continuously scans the face 48 and iris of the driver 12 to determine the alertness of the driver”, p9; a camera that pivots to view the external region (when the handle is grasped) and the internal region (to scan the driver's face while driving). Under 103, it would be obvious to configure the camera's operational field of view to comprise both regions to facilitate the disclosed dual functions of access entry and fatigue monitoring)
a control/regulation device, coupled to the camera by a data link and coupled to the driver's door lock, configured to
obtain data relating to the image captured by the camera,
(Son, Fig. 3; “The camera 16 captures an iris image pattern which is sent to a computer central processing unit 28 for comparative analysis”, p8; “means for appropriately electrically connecting said camera, said computer, said means for storing, said means for comparing and said means for unlocking”, [claim 1]; a control/regulation device (computer) coupled to the camera by a data link and electrically coupled to the driver's door lock)
authenticate the user based on at least the captured image using image analysis by comparing a face of the user in the captured image, as long as the user is located in the external region, with stored reference images of the face of the user, and
(Son, Fig. 3; “Shown is the optical recognition vehicular security access system having a camera 16 that detects the approaching individual 12. The camera 16 captures an iris image pattern which is sent to a computer central processing unit 28 for comparative analysis with previously stored image patterns”, p7-8; authenticating the user located in the external region using the captured image; Babala, Figs. 3-4; “When the person 180 reaches a second predetermined distance d2 (see FIG. 3) from the vehicle 80 closer than the first predetermined distance d1, the facial recognition module 130 analyzes the signals from the camera 112 and identifies the facial features of the person 180. The controller 110 then compares the identified facial features to the facial features stored in the database 144 to see if a match exist”, [0021]; “the controller 110 proceeds to step 280 and instructs the facial recognition module 130 to analyze the camera image data to determine the facial features of the person 180. In step 290, the controller 110 accesses the database 144 and looks for a match of the detected facial features in the biometric data database 144 to ascertain whether the determined facial features correspond with the face of an authorized person”, [0031]; using acquired images of a user in the external region to authenticate the user using image analysis by comparing a face of the user with stored reference images)
unlock the driver's door lock responsive to the authenticating of the user matching the face of the user in the captured image with one of the stored reference image.
(Son, Fig. 3; “Upon confirmation of image pattern recognition the system will unlock the vehicles doors 20”, p8; Babala, Fig. 4; “If the answer is “yes”, the controller 110 proceeds to step 300 and analyzes whether the determined gait and facial features belong to the same authorized user of the vehicle 80 based on the stored identities in the database 140. If the answer is “yes”, the controller proceeds to step 310 and actuates the door lock module 150 to unlock the vehicle door(s) 36, 38”, [0032]; unlocking the driver's door lock responsive to successfully matching the user's face with a stored reference image)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the facial recognition authentication techniques of Babala into the vehicular security system of Son in order to enhance the system's security and resistance to spoofing. While Son utilizes a camera capable of viewing both internal and external regions and a CPU coupled to a door lock to grant access based on iris images, Babala teaches authenticating a user by comparing a face in the captured image with stored reference images and unlocking a door lock upon a match to prevent bypass attempts using photographs or masks. Integrating Babala's facial feature analysis would complement Son 's optical system, providing a more robust authentication protocol for users located in the external region to trigger the connected door lock. The combination of Son and Babala also teaches other enhanced capabilities.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Son and Babala teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the motor vehicle of claim 8, wherein the driver's door comprises a light-permeable windowpane configured so that the external region is recordable by the camera without distortion.
(Son, Fig. 3; “Shown is the optical recognition vehicular security access system having a camera 16 that detects the approaching individual 12. The camera 16 captures an iris image pattern which is sent to a computer central processing unit 28 for comparative analysis with previously stored image patterns. Upon confirmation of image pattern recognition the system will unlock the vehicles doors 20”, p7-8; camera 16 sees face 12 through door 22 (with window) and recognizes the face, indicating the window does not cause large distortions to the captured images from the camera 16 for face recognition)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Son and Babala teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
The combination further teaches the motor vehicle of claim 8, further comprising:
at least one vehicle assistance system configured to further process the internal region of the vehicle interior captured in the image.
(Son, “system has an interior audible alarm (24) that will be triggered by comparative analysis of real time images of the driver (12) ... to determine if the driver is falling asleep”, [abstract]; “While the vehicle 14 is in motion the optical recognition vehicular security access system continuously scans the face 48 and iris of the driver 12 to determine the alertness of the driver”, p9; a vehicle assistance system (drowsiness monitor) that processes the image of the internal region (the driver's face while driving) using the same system)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/2/2026 with respect to one or more of the pending claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 8y, Applicant, in the remarks, argues that the combination of the cited reference(s) fails to teach the newly amended limitations in the claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. The office action has been updated to address applicant’s argument. See the updated review comments for details.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANXUN YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662 8/22/2026