DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2024 and 05/29/2025 have been fully considered by examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sogabe et al (US 2024/0073859).
Regarding Claim 1, Sogabe teaches a method for determining paging occasions ([0064], Fig. 6, processing procedure when configuration information on eDRX for the inactive state is managed in the base station 20), the method performed by a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station including a central unit (CU) and the DU ([0029], base station 20 forms one or more cells C to communicate with the terminal 10 using each of the cells C. The cell C may also be mutually rephrased as a serving cell, a carrier, a component carrier (CC), and the like. The base station 20 may also be called a gNodeB (gNB), an en-gNB, a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) node, an eNB, a low-power node, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), a gNB-DU, a Remote Radio Head (RRH), or an Integrated Access and Backhaul/Backhauling (IAB) node. The base station 20 is not limited to one node, and may be composed of two or more nodes (for example, a combination of a lower node such as DU and an upper node such as CU)), and the method comprising:
receiving, by the DU from the CU, an indication ([0068], Fig. 6, core network 30 transmits an Initial Context Setup Request message to the base station 20 to notify the base station 20 of information required for the terminal 10 to perform communication (S207). Here, the core network 30 includes, in the Initial Context Setup Request, the eDRX parameters for the idle state, and transmits the Initial Context Setup Request to notify the base station 20 of the eDRX parameters for the idle state determined in the core network 30. Note that the eDRX parameters for the idle state are included in the Initial Context Setup Request. The eDRX parameters for the idle state may also be part of Core Network Assistance Information for RRC INACTIVE related to RRC INACTIVE) as to whether a user equipment (UE) operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources supports determining inactive state paging occasions using a parameter defined for determining idle state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state);
determining, by the DU, the inactive state paging occasions based on the indication ([0074], Fig. 6, based on the eDRX parameters for the inactive state received from the terminal 10, the base station 20 determines eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10 (S209). For example, the base station 20 considers the eDRX parameters received from the terminal 10, the wireless network load, the attributes of the terminal 10, and/or the capability of the terminal 10 to determine the eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10. The base station 20 may determine that the eDRX parameters to be configured on the terminal 10 are the same values as the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10, or different values from the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10); and
paging, by the DU, the UE operating in the inactive state at the inactive state paging occasions ([0075], the base station 20 transmits, to the terminal 10, an RRC Release message including the determined eDRX parameters for the inactive state to instruct the terminal 10 on the transition to the inactive state (S210), [0076], terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameters for the inactive state included in the RRC release message (stores the eDRX parameters in the storage device 12) (S211), After that, like in the description of FIG. 5, the terminal 10 monitors control channel candidates in a paging search space during each PTW within each PH indicated in the configured eDRX parameters for the idle state or the configured eDRX parameters for the inactive state. Further, when transmitting a paging message, the base station 20 transmits DCI in the paging search space during the PTW within the PH indicated in the eDRX parameters for the idle state or the eDRX parameters for the inactive state).
Regarding Claim 2, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the receiving of the indication includes receiving the indication indicating that the UE supports determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions; and the determining of the inactive state paging occasions includes determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions ([0073], when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
Regarding Claim 3, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the receiving of the indication includes receiving the indication indicating that the UE does not support determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions ([0057], the terminal 10 may include, in the Registration Request message, the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the idle state and the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state in a manner to distinguish from each other. For example, it is assumed that the terminal 10 desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state. In this case, the terminal 10 may transmit, to the core network 30, the “eDRX parameters for the idle state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and the “eDRX parameters for the inactive state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state); and the determining of the inactive state paging occasions includes determining the inactive state paging occasions using a parameter defined for determining inactive state paging occasions ([0071-0072], terminal 10 may include the eDRX parameters for the inactive state in the RRC Setup Complete message, and include the eDRX parameters for the idle state in a Registration Request message included in the RRC Setup Complete message concerned. it is assumed that, in the inactive state, the terminal 10 desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second. In this case, terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters for the inactive state” indicating that the eDRX cycle in the inactive state is two hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds).
Regarding Claim 4, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the DU from the CU, a configuration enabling the UE to use the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions to determine the inactive state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state), wherein the determining of the inactive state paging occasions is further based on the configuration ([0074], Fig. 6, based on the eDRX parameters for the inactive state received from the terminal 10, the base station 20 determines eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10 (S209). For example, the base station 20 considers the eDRX parameters received from the terminal 10, the wireless network load, the attributes of the terminal 10, and/or the capability of the terminal 10 to determine the eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10. The base station 20 may determine that the eDRX parameters to be configured on the terminal 10 are the same values as the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10, or different values from the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10).
Regarding Claim 8, Sogabe teaches a method for managing paging occasion determination ([0064], Fig. 6, processing procedure when configuration information on eDRX for the inactive state is managed in the base station 20), the method performed by a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station including the CU and a distributed unit (DU) ([0029], base station 20 forms one or more cells C to communicate with the terminal 10 using each of the cells C. The cell C may also be mutually rephrased as a serving cell, a carrier, a component carrier (CC), and the like. The base station 20 may also be called a gNodeB (gNB), an en-gNB, a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) node, an eNB, a low-power node, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), a gNB-DU, a Remote Radio Head (RRH), or an Integrated Access and Backhaul/Backhauling (IAB) node. The base station 20 is not limited to one node, and may be composed of two or more nodes (for example, a combination of a lower node such as DU and an upper node such as CU)), and the method comprising:
determining, by the CU, to page a user equipment (UE) operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources ([0068], Fig. 6, core network 30 transmits an Initial Context Setup Request message to the base station 20 to notify the base station 20 of information required for the terminal 10 to perform communication (S207). Here, the core network 30 includes, in the Initial Context Setup Request, the eDRX parameters for the idle state, and transmits the Initial Context Setup Request to notify the base station 20 of the eDRX parameters for the idle state determined in the core network 30. Note that the eDRX parameters for the idle state are included in the Initial Context Setup Request. The eDRX parameters for the idle state may also be part of Core Network Assistance Information for RRC INACTIVE related to RRC INACTIVE); and
transmitting, by the CU to the DU, a paging message ([0074], Fig. 6, based on the eDRX parameters for the inactive state received from the terminal 10, the base station 20 determines eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10 (S209). For example, the base station 20 considers the eDRX parameters received from the terminal 10, the wireless network load, the attributes of the terminal 10, and/or the capability of the terminal 10 to determine the eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10. The base station 20 may determine that the eDRX parameters to be configured on the terminal 10 are the same values as the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10, or different values from the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10) to cause the DU to page the UE ([0075], the base station 20 transmits, to the terminal 10, an RRC Release message including the determined eDRX parameters for the inactive state to instruct the terminal 10 on the transition to the inactive state (S210), [0076], terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameters for the inactive state included in the RRC release message (stores the eDRX parameters in the storage device 12) (S211), After that, like in the description of FIG. 5, the terminal 10 monitors control channel candidates in a paging search space during each PTW within each PH indicated in the configured eDRX parameters for the idle state or the configured eDRX parameters for the inactive state. Further, when transmitting a paging message, the base station 20 transmits DCI in the paging search space during the PTW within the PH indicated in the eDRX parameters for the idle state or the eDRX parameters for the inactive state),
the paging message including an indication as to whether the UE operating in the inactive state supports determining inactive state paging occasions using a parameter defined for determining idle state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
Regarding Claim 9, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, prior to transmitting the paging message, the indication at the CU from another base station ([0038], Further, in NR, a RAN notification area (RNA) as an area obtained by subdividing a TA (Tracking Area) is newly defined, and the base station 20 manages the RAN notification area in which terminals 10 in the connected state and the inactive state exist. Further, in NR, technology called “RAN paging” for performing paging in units of RAN notification areas used to call each terminal 10 in the inactive state is introduced. In RAN paging, paging signals are transmitted all at once from two or more base stations 20 that configure RAN notification areas in which terminals 10 in the inactive state exist. Each of the terminals 10 in the inactive state that received each paging signal resumes the RRC connection and transitions to the connected state, [0116], The control unit 203 controls RAN paging processing for the terminal 10 in the RRC inactive state. Further, the control unit 203 performs control to transmit, to the terminal 10 in the RRC inactive state, downlink control information (for example, DCI) in the paging search space during each PTW (reception period) within each PH (given H-SFN) indicated by the eDRX configuration values included in the first configuration information).
Regarding Claim 10, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the receiving of the indication includes: receiving a RAN PAGING message including the indication ([0038], Further, in NR, a RAN notification area (RNA) as an area obtained by subdividing a TA (Tracking Area) is newly defined, and the base station 20 manages the RAN notification area in which terminals 10 in the connected state and the inactive state exist. Further, in NR, technology called “RAN paging” for performing paging in units of RAN notification areas used to call each terminal 10 in the inactive state is introduced. In RAN paging, paging signals are transmitted all at once from two or more base stations 20 that configure RAN notification areas in which terminals 10 in the inactive state exist. Each of the terminals 10 in the inactive state that received each paging signal resumes the RRC connection and transitions to the connected state, [0116], The control unit 203 controls RAN paging processing for the terminal 10 in the RRC inactive state. Further, the control unit 203 performs control to transmit, to the terminal 10 in the RRC inactive state, downlink control information (for example, DCI) in the paging search space during each PTW (reception period) within each PH (given H-SFN) indicated by the eDRX configuration values included in the first configuration information).
Regarding Claim 11, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, prior to transmitting the paging message, a UE capability information element from at least one of the UE, a core network (CN), or another base station ([0057], the terminal 10 may include, in the Registration Request message, the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the idle state and the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state in a manner to distinguish from each other. For example, it is assumed that the terminal 10 desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state. In this case, the terminal 10 may transmit, to the core network 30, the “eDRX parameters for the idle state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and the “eDRX parameters for the inactive state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state); and determining, by the CU, based on the UE capability information element, whether the UE supports determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining idle state paging occasions ([0073], when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
Regarding Claim 12, Sogabe teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: transmitting, by the CU to the DU in the paging message ([0068], Fig. 6, core network 30 transmits an Initial Context Setup Request message to the base station 20 to notify the base station 20 of information required for the terminal 10 to perform communication (S207). Here, the core network 30 includes, in the Initial Context Setup Request, the eDRX parameters for the idle state, and transmits the Initial Context Setup Request to notify the base station 20 of the eDRX parameters for the idle state determined in the core network 30. Note that the eDRX parameters for the idle state are included in the Initial Context Setup Request. The eDRX parameters for the idle state may also be part of Core Network Assistance Information for RRC INACTIVE related to RRC INACTIVE), a configuration enabling the UE to use the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions to determine the inactive state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
Regarding Claim 15, Sogabe teaches a network node operating as a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station including a central unit (CU) ([0029], base station 20 forms one or more cells C to communicate with the terminal 10 using each of the cells C. The cell C may also be mutually rephrased as a serving cell, a carrier, a component carrier (CC), and the like. The base station 20 may also be called a gNodeB (gNB), an en-gNB, a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) node, an eNB, a low-power node, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), a gNB-DU, a Remote Radio Head (RRH), or an Integrated Access and Backhaul/Backhauling (IAB) node. The base station 20 is not limited to one node, and may be composed of two or more nodes (for example, a combination of a lower node such as DU and an upper node such as CU)), configured to determine paging occasions ([0064], Fig. 6, processing procedure when configuration information on eDRX for the inactive state is managed in the base station 20), the network node comprising: a transceiver; and processing hardware, configured to:
receive, from the CU, an indication ([0068], Fig. 6, core network 30 transmits an Initial Context Setup Request message to the base station 20 to notify the base station 20 of information required for the terminal 10 to perform communication (S207). Here, the core network 30 includes, in the Initial Context Setup Request, the eDRX parameters for the idle state, and transmits the Initial Context Setup Request to notify the base station 20 of the eDRX parameters for the idle state determined in the core network 30. Note that the eDRX parameters for the idle state are included in the Initial Context Setup Request. The eDRX parameters for the idle state may also be part of Core Network Assistance Information for RRC INACTIVE related to RRC INACTIVE) as to whether a user equipment (UE) operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources supports determining inactive state paging occasions using a parameter defined for determining idle state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state);
determine the inactive state paging occasions based on the indication ([0074], Fig. 6, based on the eDRX parameters for the inactive state received from the terminal 10, the base station 20 determines eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10 (S209). For example, the base station 20 considers the eDRX parameters received from the terminal 10, the wireless network load, the attributes of the terminal 10, and/or the capability of the terminal 10 to determine the eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10. The base station 20 may determine that the eDRX parameters to be configured on the terminal 10 are the same values as the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10, or different values from the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10); and
page the UE operating in the inactive state at the inactive state paging occasions ([0075], the base station 20 transmits, to the terminal 10, an RRC Release message including the determined eDRX parameters for the inactive state to instruct the terminal 10 on the transition to the inactive state (S210), [0076], terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameters for the inactive state included in the RRC release message (stores the eDRX parameters in the storage device 12) (S211), After that, like in the description of FIG. 5, the terminal 10 monitors control channel candidates in a paging search space during each PTW within each PH indicated in the configured eDRX parameters for the idle state or the configured eDRX parameters for the inactive state. Further, when transmitting a paging message, the base station 20 transmits DCI in the paging search space during the PTW within the PH indicated in the eDRX parameters for the idle state or the eDRX parameters for the inactive state).
Regarding Claim 16, Sogabe teaches the network node of claim 15, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving the indication indicating that the UE supports determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions; and determining the inactive state paging occasions includes determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions ([0073], when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
Regarding Claim 17, Sogabe teaches the network node of claim 15, wherein: receiving the indication includes receiving the indication indicating that the UE does not support determining the inactive state paging occasions using the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions ([0057], the terminal 10 may include, in the Registration Request message, the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the idle state and the “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state in a manner to distinguish from each other. For example, it is assumed that the terminal 10 desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state. In this case, the terminal 10 may transmit, to the core network 30, the “eDRX parameters for the idle state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is eight hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds in the idle state, and the “eDRX parameters for the inactive state” indicating that the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second in the inactive state); and determining the inactive state paging occasions includes determining the inactive state paging occasions using a parameter defined for determining inactive state paging occasions ([0071-0072], terminal 10 may include the eDRX parameters for the inactive state in the RRC Setup Complete message, and include the eDRX parameters for the idle state in a Registration Request message included in the RRC Setup Complete message concerned. it is assumed that, in the inactive state, the terminal 10 desires the operation of eDRX in which the eDRX cycle is two hyperframes and the PTW is one second. In this case, terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters for the inactive state” indicating that the eDRX cycle in the inactive state is two hyperframes and the PTW is two seconds).
Regarding Claim 18, Sogabe teaches the network node of claim 15, wherein the processing hardware is further configured to: receive, from the CU, a configuration enabling the UE to use the parameter defined for determining the idle state paging occasions to determine the inactive state paging occasions ([0070-0073], Fig. 6, the terminal 10 that desires the activation of eDRX transmits, to the base station 20, “eDRX parameters” indicative of the operation of eDRX for the inactive state. The terminal 10 may transmit, to the base station 20, the eDRX parameters concerned by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Setup Request message (S200) or the RRC Setup Complete message (S202), when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state), wherein determining the inactive state paging occasions is further based on the configuration ([0074], Fig. 6, based on the eDRX parameters for the inactive state received from the terminal 10, the base station 20 determines eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10 (S209). For example, the base station 20 considers the eDRX parameters received from the terminal 10, the wireless network load, the attributes of the terminal 10, and/or the capability of the terminal 10 to determine the eDRX parameters for the inactive state to be configured on the terminal 10. The base station 20 may determine that the eDRX parameters to be configured on the terminal 10 are the same values as the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10, or different values from the eDRX parameters desired by the terminal 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al (US 2024/0073859).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, and 19, Sogabe teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, except wherein receiving the indication includes: receiving an inactiveStatePODetermination indication. However, Sogabe does teach the inclusion of information elements, for example the name of information element that stores the eDRX parameters, when indicating the capability of using the same parameters as the idle state ([0073], when desiring that the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state may be the same as the “eDRX parameters” for the idle state, the terminal 10 may explicitly or implicitly include, in RRC messages, information indicating that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same values as the eDRX parameters for the idle state. For example, when information indicative of requesting the “eDRX parameters” for the inactive state (for example, the name of Information element that stores the eDRX parameters, and the like) is included in the RRC Setup Complete message but specific eDRX parameters for the inactive state are not included (that is, when the eDRX parameters concerned are “absent”), it may imply that the eDRX parameters for the inactive state are the same as the eDRX parameters for the idle state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Sogabe, to incorporate specifically named messages and information elements to indicate how the inactive paging parameters are to be determined, such as InactiveStatePODetermination, from among suitably equivalent indicators and as a matter of design choice, to yield the predictable result of efficiently providing Inactive state parameter indications.
Claims 6-7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe et al (US 2024/0073859), in view of Byun et al (US 10,660,065).
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Sogabe teaches the invention of Claims 1 and 15 above, except wherein the receiving of the indication includes: receiving the indication in a paging message.
In the same field of endeavor, Byun teaches wherein the receiving of the indication includes: receiving the indication in a paging message (col. 11, lines 10-30, DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station. The CU includes a radio resource control (RRC) layer and a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer of the base station, and wherein the DU includes a radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer and a physical (PHY) layer of the base station. The paging information includes at least one of UE Identity Index Value, UE Paging Identity, Paging Discontinuous Reception (DRX), List of tracking area identities (TAIs). Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging, Paging eDRX Information and Extended UE Identity Index Value. The DU receives a paging message generated by a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the CU).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating paging eDRX information in a paging message, as taught in Byun, in the system of Sogabe, in order to more efficiently perform paging, especially in the scenario of a CU-DU split. (See Byun col. 1, lines 55-65)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Sogabe, modified by Byun, teaches all aspects of Claim 6 above, Byun further teaches wherein the paging message is formatted in accordance with a protocol having termination points at the CU and the DU (col. 11, lines 44-50, In Step S904, The AMF sends the paging message to the CU, In Step S906, On receiving the paging message, based on the information included into the message, the CU determines which DU performs the paging. And then, it sends the paging transfer or new message including the paging information to the DU which should perform the paging).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indicating paging eDRX information in a paging message, as taught in Byun, in the system of Sogabe, in order to more efficiently perform paging, especially in the scenario of a CU-DU split. (See Byun col. 1, lines 55-65)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al (US 2022/0061021) teaches second user equipment (UE) receives a paging message for a first UE from a base station while in a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode and transmits the paging message from the second UE to the first UE over sidelink. A method, apparatus, and computer-readable medium for wireless communication at a base station are provided. The base station determines to page a first UE in an inactive state or an idle state and transmits a paging message for the first UE to a second UE in a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the paging message to be relayed to the first UE over sidelink. (Abstract);
Shrivastava et al (US 2023/0070233) teaches a method for performing the multicast group paging for the MBS multicast session activation notification in the wireless network is provided. The method includes receiving, by a gNodeB Distributed Unit (gNB-DU) node, a multicast group paging message from a gNodeB Centralized Unit (gNB-CU) node. Further, the method includes determining, by the gNB-DU node, one or more UE that has to be paged for the MBS multicast session activation notification based on the received multicast group paging message, determining, by the gNB-DU node, one or more PO to send a page for the MBS multicast session activation notification based on the received multicast group paging message, and performing, by the gNB-DU node, the multicast group paging for one or more determined UE, where the gNB-DU node pages the MBS multicast session activation notification to one or more determined UE based on the determined one or more PO. ([0026]);
Li (US 2024/0276448) teaches the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state monitors the paging message according to the subgroup information for paging, in response to the network supporting the terminal in the RRC idle state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner but not supporting the terminal in a RRC inactive state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner, or the terminal in a RRC inactive state monitors the paging message on a common paging resource, in response to the network supporting the terminal in a RRC idle state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner but not supporting the terminal in the RRC inactive state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner, or the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state monitors the paging message according to the subgroup information for paging, in response to the network supporting the terminal in the RRC idle state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner, or the terminal in a RRC idle state monitors the paging message according to the subgroup information for paging, in response to the network not supporting the terminal in a RRC inactive state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner, or the terminal in a RRC inactive state monitors the paging message on the common paging resource, in response to the network not supporting the terminal in the RRC inactive state to acquire the subgroup information for paging in the predetermined manner. ([0150])
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641