DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9 and 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/26/2026.
Claims 10-15 are additionally withdrawn due to being directed to a nonelected species. Specifically, claim 10 is directed to Group 2, species D, rather than Group, species A, which was elected. This is due to the claim limitations of “a plurality of cantilevered blade members” and “wherein said cylinder is coupled to the distal terminal end of the helix member and said cylinder opening extends longitudinally along the rotational axis” are directed to Group 2, species D (Fig. 5B). Claims 11-15 are withdrawn as being dependent on claim 10.
As such, claims 9-21 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, drawn to a catheter, Group 1, species A (Fig. 2A), Group 2, species A (Fig. 3A), and Group 3, Species B (Fig. 7B) in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al (US 5226909 A), herein referenced to as “Evans”.
Claim 1
Evans discloses: A catheter 160 (see Figs. 2A and 2D, col. 6, lines 1-9) comprising: a cannula the cannula that forms 160 (see Figs. 2A and 2D, col. 6, lines 1-9) comprising a sidewall the side wall of 160 (see Fig. 2A) defining a cannula lumen the lumen of 160 which 168 extends through (see Fig. 2A); a distal portion 164 (see Figs. 2A and 2D, col. 6, lines 1-9)), disposed at a distal end distal end of 160 (see Fig. 1) of the cannula the cannula that forms 160, the distal portion 164 comprising a body the body of 164 (see Fig. 2A), said body 164 defining a body lumen the lumen of 164 that 166 gives access to (see 2A) and said body 164 further defining a lateral opening 166 (see Fig. 2A, col. 6, lines 1-9), extending through the body 164 and into the body lumen the lumen of 164 that 166 gives access to; a helix member 162 (see Fig. 1 and 2D, col. 6, lines 1-9) positioned at least partially within the cannula lumen the lumen of 160 and the body lumen the lumen of 164 and rotatable (see col. 6, lines 1-9, can axially translate and rotated) with respect to the sidewall the sidewall of 160; and a longitudinally-oriented blade 190 (see Fig. 2D, col. 6, lines 17-20), attached to said helix member 162, wherein at least a portion of the longitudinally-oriented blade 162 is intermittently exposed at the lateral opening 166 (see col. 6, lines 17-20, cuts as the blade rotated rather than as the blade is axially translated, see col. 6, lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Costello et al (US 20150141869 A1), herein referenced to as “Costello”.
Claim 2
Evans discloses: The catheter of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Evans does not explicitly disclose: wherein the longitudinally-oriented blade is coupled to three or more loops of the helix member.
However, Costello in a similar field of invention teaches a catheter 100 (see Figs. 5A and 10A-10B) with a helix member 1142 (see Figs. 5A and 10A-10B) with a longitudinally-orientated blade 1146 + 1147 (see Figs. 10A-10B, [0069]). Costello further teaches: wherein the longitudinally-oriented blade 1146 + 1147 is coupled to three or more loops (see annotated Fig. 10B below) of the helix member 1142 (see Figs. 10A-10B).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans to incorporate the teachings of Costello and teach a catheter with the longitudinally-oriented blade is coupled to three or more loops of the helix member. Motivation for such can be found in Costello by joining the loops of the helix member it can inhibit axial contraction and axial expansion of the helix member as it rotates/axially proceeds (see [0069]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Gruber et al (US 20080249553 A1), herein referenced to as “Gruber”.
Claim 3
Evans discloses: The catheter of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Evans does not explicitly disclose: wherein the body comprises one or more cutting edges disposed at the lateral opening.
However, Gruber in a similar field of invention teaches a catheter 304 (see Fig. 4d) with a body 304 (see Fig. 4d) and a lateral opening 310 (see Fig. 4d, [0129]). Gruber further teaches: wherein the body 304 comprises one or more cutting edges 310-2 (see Fig. 4d, [0129]) disposed at the lateral opening 310.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans to incorporate the teachings of Gruber and teach a catheter with the body comprises one or more cutting edges disposed at the lateral opening. Motivation for such can be found in Gruber jagged ends can assist in grasping tissue to be resected (see [0129] and [0170]) and furthermore this optimizes high bite efficiency which is a factor of the open ratio of the resection window to the circumference of the tube (see [0128]).
Claim 4
The combination of Evans and Gruber teaches: The catheter of claim 3, see 103 rejection above. Gruber further teaches: wherein the cutting edge 310-2 is configured to extend across a portion a portion of the 310 of the lateral opening 310 (see Fig. 4d, 310-2 extends proximally across the lateral opening).
Claim 5
Evans discloses: The catheter of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Evans does not explicitly disclose: wherein the body defines a distal end opening.
However, Gruber in a similar field of invention teaches a catheter 1151 (see Fig. 49) with a body 1153 (see Fig. 49). Gruber further teaches: wherein the body 1153 defines a distal end opening 1159 (see Fig. 49, [0200]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans to incorporate the teachings of Gruber and teach a catheter with the body defines a distal end opening. Motivation for such can be found in Gruber as this allows the device to be used to cut tissue with the lateral opening (window) or the distal end (see [0200]).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Bonnette et al (US 20150258258 A1), herein referenced to as “Bonnette”.
Claim 6
Evans discloses: The catheter of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Evans (Figs. 2A and 2D) does not explicitly disclose: further comprising an irrigation assembly, the irrigation assembly comprising a plurality of fluid delivery ports configured to dispense fluid into the body lumen.
However, a variant embodiment (Fig. 1) of Evans in the same field of invention teaches a catheter 10 (see Fig. 1) with a body 14 (see Fig. 1) with a body lumen 42 (see Fig. 1). Evans (Fig. 1) further teaches: further comprising an irrigation assembly 40 (see Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 22-25) comprising a fluid delivery port 40 (see Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 22-25) configured to dispense fluid (see col. 4, lines 22-25, perfusion of fluids through 42) into the body lumen 42.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans (Figs. 2A and 2D) to incorporate the teachings of variant embodiment (Fig. 1) of Evans and teach a catheter with an irrigation assembly comprising a fluid delivery port configured to dispense fluid into the body lumen. Motivation for such can be found in Evans as this allows for perfusion of fluids through the lumen of the catheter body (see col. 4, lines 22-25).
Evans does not explicitly teach: the fluid delivery port is a plurality of fluid delivery ports.
However, Bonnette in a similar field of invention teaches a catheter 10 (see Figs. 15-17) with a body 60 (see Fig. 17) with a body lumen 42 + 60b (see Figs. 15-17). Bonnette further teaches: further comprising an irrigation assembly infusion fluid source (see [0012] and [0100]), the irrigation assembly infusion fluid source comprising a plurality of fluid delivery ports 78 (see Figs. 15-17, [0103]) configured to dispense fluid pressurized infusion fluid (see [0103]-[0104]) into the body lumen 42 + 60b (see Fig. 17, flow of fluid, [0104]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans to incorporate the teachings of Bonnette and teach a catheter with a plurality of fluid delivery ports. Motivation for such can be found in Bonnette to allow continual filling of the lumen with saline and/or lubricant and provide a fluid barrier to prevent ingress of effluent where it is not desired (see [0103]-[0105]).
Claim 7
The combination of Evans and Bonnette teaches: The catheter of claim 6, see 103 rejection above. Bonnette further teaches: wherein the fluid pressurized infusion fluid (see [0103]) comprises saline (see [0103], saline) or thrombolytic agents (see [0058], anti-thrombosis medicaments).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans to incorporate the teachings of Bonnette and teach a catheter with the fluid comprises saline or thrombolytic agents. Motivation for such can be found in Bonnette as this can assist in lubricating the drive to facilitate rotation without risk of fouling and assist in breaking up thrombi (see [0058]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Bonnette as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Golden et al (US 20130317529 A1), herein referenced to as “Golden”.
Claim 8
The combination of Evans and Bonnette teaches: The catheter of claim 6, see 103 rejection above. The combination of Evans and Bonnette does not explicitly teach: wherein the irrigation assembly is coupled to a circumferential periphery of the distal portion.
However, Golden in a similar field of invention teaches a catheter 450 (see Fig. 34) with a cannula 146 (see Fig. 34) with a distal portion 452 (see Fig. 34) that comprise a body 452 (see Fig. 34) and an irrigation assembly 472 (see Fig. 34). Golden further teaches: wherein the irrigation assembly 472 is coupled to a circumferential periphery (see annotated Fig. 34 below) of the distal portion 452 (see Fig. 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Evans and Bonnette to incorporate the teachings of Golden and teach a catheter with the irrigation assembly is coupled to a circumferential periphery of the distal portion. Motivation for such can be found in Golden as this allows for active rinsing of the cutting surfaces and for delivery of fluids into the chamber that serves as a carrier of the disrupted cells (see [0178]) and this also allows for separate manufacturing of the distal portion (cap) allowing for the different parts to use different materials (see [0177]).
Conclusion
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DARWIN P EREZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771