DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered into record. Claims 11-12, 14-16, and 18-26 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 06/26/2026, have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 14-16, and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al (US 2021/0037496), modified by Guo (CN 101047972 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Ryu teaches a method for registering a user equipment (UE) in a satellite cellular communications network (NW) ([0238], Fig. 29, geographical zone-based registration area update, a wireless device may be turned on or may enter a coverage area of a network. The network may comprise a non-terrestrial network (NTN) type access network),
the user equipment (UE) comprises positioning means configured to determine a real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0245], Fig. 29, The wireless device may determine a registration area update type based on a geographical location capability of the wireless device, a geographical zone configuration parameter, and/or the like. In an example, if the wireless device capable of GNSS, the wireless device may select/determine a registration area update type as a geographical zone-based type);
the method is performed by the user equipment (UE) and comprises the steps of: a) sending a request for registering the user equipment (UE) to the communications network (NW) ([0245], Fig. 29, The wireless device may send a first registration request message to an AMF via an access network indicating the first geographical zone identity),
b) determining the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0245], Fig. 29, if the wireless device has a valid geographical zone configuration parameter, the wireless device may select/determine a registration area update type as a geographical zone-based type. The wireless device may determine a first geographical zone identity based on the valid geographical zone configuration parameter and a first geographical location),
c) sending the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) to the communications network (NW) ([0245], Fig. 29, The first registration request message may comprise a registration type, a UE identity (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI), the location of the UE (e.g., last visited TAI), requested NSSAI, UE mobility management context information, information for the MICO mode usage, a registration area update type, a geographical zone identity, and/or the like. In an example, the registration type may indicate a mobility registration. In an example, the geographical zone identity may be the first geographical zone identity. In an example, the registration area update type may be a geographical zone-based type),
d) receiving a registration response from the communications network (NW) ([0248], Fig. 29, The AMF may send a registration accept message to the wireless device in response to receiving the registration request message and determining of the parameters for the registration area update. In an example, the registration accept message may comprise 5G-GUTI, the registration area, a periodic registration area update time value, a MICO mode indication, confirmed registration update type, the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, and/or the like), and
e) receiving a UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification established by the communications network (NW) from the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0247], Fig. 29, The AMF may send a subscription information query message to a UDM in response to receiving the registration request message. The UDM may send a subscription information query response message to the AMF in response to receiving the subscription information query message. The subscription information query response message may comprise a recommended registration area update type, a speed of the wireless device, subscribed regions of the wireless device, an authorization information of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like. . . If the recommended registration area type indicates a use of the geographical zone-based tracking, the AMF may send a registration accept message comprising the first geographical zone identity, a tracking type indicator indicating a use of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like. In an example, the AMF may determine a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter based on the received subscription information from the UDM, additional information from network function (e.g., PCF, NEF), O&M information, local policy and/or the like. If the AMF determines to use a cell-based tracking type for the wireless device, a registration area may comprise a list of tracking area identities. If the AMF determines to use a geographical zone-based tracking type for the wireless device, a registration area may comprise the first geographical zone identity);
wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is defined by means of a geographical area specification determined upon the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0244], the geographical zone configuration parameter may be dedicated to a wireless device. The geographical zone configuration parameter which is dedicated to a specific wireless device may be a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. A wireless device may use the common geographical zone configuration parameter if the wireless device does not have a valid dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. If the wireless device receives a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter from a network (e.g., access network, core network (e.g., AMF)), the wireless device may use the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. The network/service operator may determine/provide the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter based on a speed of a wireless device, a mobility pattern, a subscribed service area (e.g. United State, Global), capabilities of the wireless device and/or the like. If a speed of the wireless device is low (e.g., moving slowly), the network/service operator may provide a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter comprising smaller size of zone grid).
Ryu fails to teach wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is centered around the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) and a shape and size of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) are specified by means of a geometric figure or by means of a set of geographic coordinates.
In the same field of endeavor, Guo teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is centered around the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) (pg. 6, paras. 2-7, Node 1 to Node-n represented in the dynamic login area comprises location area identification, the identification can be TA or RA or LA, URA, Node B Cell (cell) identification such as, for example, TA1, RA3, LA5, URA4 and so on, the aforementioned network side can be adjusted according to the property of the mobile terminal, or integrating the attribute of network and mobile terminal, or according to the traffic characteristics of the network, or generating dynamic registration according to the configuration of the network, may be dynamically generated each time a location update for each UE, or can be dynamically generated when performing location updating for all UE (combining network planning). for this will be described in detail below. 1. the centre point prediction method, the method generating the dynamic login according to the attribute of mobile terminal, which mainly takes the UE recently registered or updated position as the centre, according to the motion characteristic of the user, and dynamically determining an area as login area of the UE. can adopt the following prediction rule: circular prediction rule to user movement direction last login area updating stagnation (cell or eNode B or TA/LA/RA/URA) as centre, movement speed multiplied by period updating time all network nodes included in a circular area of a radius of (same level) with the update point node produces dynamic login area) and
a shape and size of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) are specified by means of a geometric figure or by means of a set of geographic coordinates (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Regarding Claim 12, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 11, Ryu further comprising the steps of: determining a real-time speed of the user equipment (UE), sending the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) to the communications network (NW) ([0246], In an example, the registration request message may further comprise a speed of the wireless device, geographical location information of the wireless device, a tracking area code, and/or the like. The speed of the wireless device may be average speed of the wireless device. The network may use the speed of the wireless device to determine a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. The geographical location information of the wireless device may be an absolute geographical coordinate of the wireless device), receiving an adjusted UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification based on the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) ([0247], The AMF may send a subscription information query message to a UDM in response to receiving the registration request message. The UDM may send a subscription information query response message to the AMF in response to receiving the subscription information query message. The subscription information query response message may comprise a recommended registration area update type, a speed of the wireless device, subscribed regions of the wireless device, an authorization information of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like, [0244], If a speed of the wireless device is low (e.g., moving slowly), the network/service operator may provide a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter comprising smaller size of zone grid).
Regarding Claim 14, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the registration method according to claim 12, Ryu further teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification comprises a dimension of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) ([0221], When the geographical zone configuration parameter is (pre)configured, the world (e.g. earth) is divided into geographical zones using a single fixed reference point (e.g. geographical coordinates (0, 0)), a length of the zone and a width of the zone. In an example, the wireless device may determine a zone identity (e.g. zone id) by means of modulo operation using the length and the width of zone, number of zones in length, number of zones in width, the single fixed reference point and the geographical absolute coordinates of the wireless device's current location, [0239-0240], in an example, the objective coordinate system may be a planet (e.g., the earth). The wireless device may determine the geographical zone identity based on an absolute geographical coordinate of the wireless device and a geographical zone configuration parameter, a geographical zone configuration parameter may comprise a length and a width of zone, number of zones in length and number of zones in width as explained in FIGS. 22A and 22B. ‘Nx’ indicates the total number of zones that are configured with respect to longitude).
Regarding Claim 15, Ryu teaches a method for registering a user equipment (UE) in a satellite cellular communications network (NW) ([0238], Fig. 29, geographical zone-based registration area update, a wireless device may be turned on or may enter a coverage area of a network. The network may comprise a non-terrestrial network (NTN) type access network),
the user equipment (UE) comprises positioning means configured to determine a real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0245], Fig. 29, The wireless device may determine a registration area update type based on a geographical location capability of the wireless device, a geographical zone configuration parameter, and/or the like. In an example, if the wireless device capable of GNSS, the wireless device may select/determine a registration area update type as a geographical zone-based type);
the method is performed by the communications network (NW), and comprises the steps of: a) receiving from the user equipment (UE) a request for registering the user equipment (UE) ([0245], Fig. 29, The wireless device may send a first registration request message to an AMF via an access network indicating the first geographical zone identity),
b) receiving from the user equipment (UE) the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0245], Fig. 29, The first registration request message may comprise a registration type, a UE identity (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI), the location of the UE (e.g., last visited TAI), requested NSSAI, UE mobility management context information, information for the MICO mode usage, a registration area update type, a geographical zone identity, and/or the like. In an example, the registration type may indicate a mobility registration. In an example, the geographical zone identity may be the first geographical zone identity. In an example, the registration area update type may be a geographical zone-based type),
c) establishing a UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) from the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0247], Fig. 29, The AMF may send a subscription information query message to a UDM in response to receiving the registration request message. The UDM may send a subscription information query response message to the AMF in response to receiving the subscription information query message. The subscription information query response message may comprise a recommended registration area update type, a speed of the wireless device, subscribed regions of the wireless device, an authorization information of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like. . . If the recommended registration area type indicates a use of the geographical zone-based tracking, the AMF may send a registration accept message comprising the first geographical zone identity, a tracking type indicator indicating a use of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like. In an example, the AMF may determine a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter based on the received subscription information from the UDM, additional information from network function (e.g., PCF, NEF), O&M information, local policy and/or the like. If the AMF determines to use a cell-based tracking type for the wireless device, a registration area may comprise a list of tracking area identities. If the AMF determines to use a geographical zone-based tracking type for the wireless device, a registration area may comprise the first geographical zone identity),
d) sending a registration response to the user equipment (UE) ([0248], Fig. 29, The AMF may send a registration accept message to the wireless device in response to receiving the registration request message and determining of the parameters for the registration area update. In an example, the registration accept message may comprise 5G-GUTI, the registration area, a periodic registration area update time value, a MICO mode indication, confirmed registration update type, the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, and/or the like), and
e) sending a UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification to the user equipment (UE) ([0247], Fig. 29, the AMF may send a registration accept message comprising the first geographical zone identity, a tracking type indicator indicating a use of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like. If the AMF determines to use a geographical zone-based tracking type for the wireless device, a registration area may comprise the first geographical zone identity);
wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is defined by means of a geographical area specification based on the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0244], the geographical zone configuration parameter may be dedicated to a wireless device. The geographical zone configuration parameter which is dedicated to a specific wireless device may be a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. A wireless device may use the common geographical zone configuration parameter if the wireless device does not have a valid dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. If the wireless device receives a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter from a network (e.g., access network, core network (e.g., AMF)), the wireless device may use the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. The network/service operator may determine/provide the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter based on a speed of a wireless device, a mobility pattern, a subscribed service area (e.g. United State, Global), capabilities of the wireless device and/or the like. If a speed of the wireless device is low (e.g., moving slowly), the network/service operator may provide a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter comprising smaller size of zone grid).
Ryu fails to teach wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is centered around the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) and a shape and size of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) are specified by means of a geometric figure or by means of a set of geographic coordinates.
In the same field of endeavor, Guo teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is centered around the real-time position of the user equipment (UE) (pg. 6, paras. 2-7, Node 1 to Node-n represented in the dynamic login area comprises location area identification, the identification can be TA or RA or LA, URA, Node B Cell (cell) identification such as, for example, TA1, RA3, LA5, URA4 and so on, the aforementioned network side can be adjusted according to the property of the mobile terminal, or integrating the attribute of network and mobile terminal, or according to the traffic characteristics of the network, or generating dynamic registration according to the configuration of the network, may be dynamically generated each time a location update for each UE, or can be dynamically generated when performing location updating for all UE (combining network planning). for this will be described in detail below. 1. the centre point prediction method, the method generating the dynamic login according to the attribute of mobile terminal, which mainly takes the UE recently registered or updated position as the centre, according to the motion characteristic of the user, and dynamically determining an area as login area of the UE. can adopt the following prediction rule: circular prediction rule to user movement direction last login area updating stagnation (cell or eNode B or TA/LA/RA/URA) as centre, movement speed multiplied by period updating time all network nodes included in a circular area of a radius of (same level) with the update point node produces dynamic login area) and
a shape and size of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) are specified by means of a geometric figure or by means of a set of geographic coordinates (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Regarding Claim 16, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 15 Ryu further comprising the steps of: receiving, from the user equipment (UE) the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE), adjusting the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) based on the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) ([0246], In an example, the registration request message may further comprise a speed of the wireless device, geographical location information of the wireless device, a tracking area code, and/or the like. The speed of the wireless device may be average speed of the wireless device. The network may use the speed of the wireless device to determine a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. The geographical location information of the wireless device may be an absolute geographical coordinate of the wireless device), sending to the user equipment (UE) an adjusted UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification based on the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) ([0247], The AMF may send a subscription information query message to a UDM in response to receiving the registration request message. The UDM may send a subscription information query response message to the AMF in response to receiving the subscription information query message. The subscription information query response message may comprise a recommended registration area update type, a speed of the wireless device, subscribed regions of the wireless device, an authorization information of the geographical zone-based tracking type, and/or the like, [0244], If a speed of the wireless device is low (e.g., moving slowly), the network/service operator may provide a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter comprising smaller size of zone grid).
Regarding Claim 18, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the registration method according to claim 6, Ryu further teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification comprises a dimension of the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) ([0221], When the geographical zone configuration parameter is (pre)configured, the world (e.g. earth) is divided into geographical zones using a single fixed reference point (e.g. geographical coordinates (0, 0)), a length of the zone and a width of the zone. In an example, the wireless device may determine a zone identity (e.g. zone id) by means of modulo operation using the length and the width of zone, number of zones in length, number of zones in width, the single fixed reference point and the geographical absolute coordinates of the wireless device's current location, [0239-0240], in an example, the objective coordinate system may be a planet (e.g., the earth). The wireless device may determine the geographical zone identity based on an absolute geographical coordinate of the wireless device and a geographical zone configuration parameter, a geographical zone configuration parameter may comprise a length and a width of zone, number of zones in length and number of zones in width as explained in FIGS. 22A and 22B. ‘Nx’ indicates the total number of zones that are configured with respect to longitude).
Regarding Claim 19, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 11, Ryu further comprising the steps of updating the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) registered in the satellite cellular communications network (NW) ([0249], Fig. 29, wireless device may determine a registration area update type for the next registration area update based on the confirmed registration area update type by the network. If the wireless device receives a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, the wireless device may update the geographical zone configuration parameter as the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. If a geographical zone identity of the wireless device is changed based on the updated dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, the wireless device may indicate a change of the geographical zone identity with the AMF),
wherein, when the user equipment (UE) determines that an updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) is outside the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) established by the communications network (NW) ([0251], the wireless device may move to a second geographical location as explained in FIG. 27. The wireless device may determine that the wireless device has left an area of the first zone identity based on the second geographical location. The wireless device may determine a second zone identity based on the valid geographical zone configuration parameter and the second geographical location),
the method further comprising the steps of: sending a request to the communications network (NW) to update the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA), sending the updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) to the communications network (NW) ([0251], The wireless device may send a second registration request message to an AMF via an access network indicating the second geographical zone identity in response to leaving the area of the first zone identity),
receiving, from the communications network (NW), a UE-specific dynamic tracking area update response, receiving, from the communications network (NW), an updated UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification established from the updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0251], AMF may send a second registration accept message in response to receiving the second registration request message. The wireless device and the AMF may set an area of the second zone identity as a registration area of the wireless device).
Regarding Claim 20, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 15, Ryu further comprising the steps of updating the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) registered in the satellite cellular communications network (NW) ([0249], Fig. 29, wireless device may determine a registration area update type for the next registration area update based on the confirmed registration area update type by the network. If the wireless device receives a dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, the wireless device may update the geographical zone configuration parameter as the dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter. If a geographical zone identity of the wireless device is changed based on the updated dedicated geographical zone configuration parameter, the wireless device may indicate a change of the geographical zone identity with the AMF),
wherein, when the user equipment (UE) determines that an updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) is outside the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) of the user equipment (UE) established by the communications network (NW) ([0251], the wireless device may move to a second geographical location as explained in FIG. 27. The wireless device may determine that the wireless device has left an area of the first zone identity based on the second geographical location. The wireless device may determine a second zone identity based on the valid geographical zone configuration parameter and the second geographical location),
the method further comprising the steps of: receiving, from the user equipment (UE) a request to update the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA), receiving, from the user equipment (UE) the updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE), establishing an updated UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) from the updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0251], The wireless device may send a second registration request message to an AMF via an access network indicating the second geographical zone identity in response to leaving the area of the first zone identity),
sending to the user equipment (UE) a tracking area update response to the user equipment (UE), sending to the user equipment (UE) an updated UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) specification established from the updated real-time position of the user equipment (UE) ([0251], AMF may send a second registration accept message in response to receiving the second registration request message. The wireless device and the AMF may set an area of the second zone identity as a registration area of the wireless device).
Regarding Claim 21, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 11, Guo further teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is determined based on at least one of: type of service, the type of user equipment, pre-known traffic and mobility behaviour patterns of the service and/or user equipment (UE), network load (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Regarding Claim 22, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 12, Guo further teaches wherein a dimension of the UE- specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) increases proportionally to the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Regarding Claim 24, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 15, Guo further teaches wherein the UE-specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) is determined based on at least one of: type of service, the type of user equipment, pre-known traffic and mobility behaviour patterns of the service and/or user equipment (UE), network load (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Regarding Claim 25, Ryu, modified by Guo, teaches the method according to claim 16, Guo further teaches wherein a dimension of the UE- specific dynamic tracking area (UE-DTA) increases proportionally to the real-time speed of the user equipment (UE) (pg. 7, paras 1-2, according to the moving direction of the UE moving speed and UE periodic update of time to obtain a radial distance of the UE, namely UE movement speed multiplied by period updating time to obtain a distance has directivity, that is the moving direction of the UE. by a certain rule, such as the circular node are arranged regularly or oval rule or rules etc., predicts a dynamic login area of the UE. As shown in FIG. 6, first, it is assumed that the UE moves to the TA1 area from lower part of TA1 already resides in the dynamic login area DTA1 (TA1, TA2, TA3), then, when UE is moved to TA5 from DTA1 dynamic registration, that is, reaches a new location area, initiating position updating; then, the MME according to the UE moving speed and period updating time of acquisition (network configuration), to calculate a distance, at the same time, according to the history position information TA4 of the UE. TA5, and combining the network planning environment features (e.g., highway through TA4, TA5, TA6, TA7 direction) the prediction of the UE moving direction is the direction, with the direction of distance is called a radial distance. after the MME to obtain the radial distance according to a certain algorithm rule (which may be network-configuration), such as oval prediction rule, two axes: one of the registration for the UE position, the other one is radial distance opposite the TA corresponding to the central position, radius is the radial distance, calculating an elliptic area including the area of TA DTA2 dynamic register (TA5, TA6, TA7), or by the simple node order, namely all the TA through the radial distance, form a dynamic login area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang in the tracking area of Ryu such that the tracking area is dynamically established based on the position and mobility of the UE in order to more accurately predict the area in which the UE is located and thereby reduce unnecessary overhead signaling associated with location updates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641