DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18702993 filed on 04/19/2024
Claim 14 and 16 are objected
Claims 1 - 19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2024 was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “wherein the docking stations are attached in relation to a bottom surface thus providing a fixed and permanent location that is unaffected by elements such as waves, water current, motion, and tide” is indefinite because it is unclear how the docking stations can be unaffected by the elements of the waves water current motion and tide. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim 17 discloses the limitation of “ for a mining operation, a coastal reinforcement operation, the construction of an artificial peninsula or artificial island, the anchoring of equipment or the laying of cables or pipes, a salvage operation for releasing a stranded or sunk vessel, the removing of granular material from behind an artificial dam or from a mine or tunnel, the removing of granular material from a vessel, a container or a basin, and / or the dredging of a waterway, such as a channel, a river, a lake, a harbor, or a marine navigation channel.” is an improper use claim that lacks sufficient detail for an apparatus claim, and is indefinite because it is unclear on its usage. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 13, 15, 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20220145756 – Vagata et al. hereinafter as VAGATA in view of WO2017035344 – Halkyard et al. hereinafter as HALKYARD
Regarding Claim 1
VAGATA discloses:
A dredging system for removing submerged granular material from a bottom surface, the dredging system comprising: -
at least one dredging robot for removing granular material and multiple docking stations for offloading removed granular material from the at least one dredging robot, wherein the at least one dredging robot is adapted to shuttle between the multiple docking stations and comprises a control unit configured to operate the at least one dredging robot by remote control, semi-autonomously and / or autonomously;(fig. 1 - para. 0012 – autonomous vehicles for mapping , para. 0037 – wherein collection of material by autonomous harvest vehicles and automated under water vehicles, wherein the docking stations comprises of combination of 103 and 104 wherein the pairing constitutes more than one set of docking stations.)
a docking coupling configured to offload removed granular material and comprising an electrical outlet provided on each docking station;( wherein the docking station includes an off load for removing granular material ( 103) and electrical outlet (104) USH wherein this is the power and communication hub)
VAGATA discloses of removing submerged granular material from a bottom surface, HALKYARD discloses wherein the stations are attached providing a fixed and permanent location that is unaffected by elements such as waves, water current, motion, and tide and at least one riser pipe for transporting removed granular material from the multiple docking stations to a remote location, HALKYARD further discloses:
wherein the docking stations are attached in relation to a bottom surface thus providing a fixed and permanent location that is unaffected by elements such as waves, water current, motion, and tide (Fig. 7 and 14 – where in it shows an anchoring system and additionally para. 0071 – a fixed location to the seabed)
wherein the at least one dredging robot includes at least one of: a coupling configured to be connected to the docking coupling provided on each docking station and a coupling on an umbilical line for coupling the docking station to a dredging robot;( para. 0067 – where in the robot can dock and undock it self and from the slurry discharge hose jumper)
at least one riser pipe for transporting removed granular material from the multiple docking stations to a remote location. ( para. 0064 - wherein the 707 reads on riser pipe for removing the granular material from the multiple docking stations to a remote location)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAGATA method of removing submerged granular material and into multiple docking stations with robot to include the ability for the docking stations to wherein the docking stations are attached in relation to a bottom surface thus providing a fixed and permanent location that is unaffected by elements such as waves, water current, motion, and tide and at least one riser pipe for transporting removed granular material from the multiple docking stations to a remote location as taught by HALKYARD. This would allow VAGATA to pre set anchors and position the slurry pump excavators( para. 0063)
Regarding Claim 2
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses:
2. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1, wherein the dredging
robot is a bottom crawler or a submersible drone. (fig. 1 - para. 0012 – autonomous vehicles for mapping , para. 0037 – wherein collection of material by autonomous harvest vehicles and automated under water vehicles,)
Regarding Claim 3
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses:
3. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1, wherein the dredging robot comprises at least one suction head for removing granular material( Fig. 7 – dredge pump 701 suction head)
Regarding Claim 5
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses:
5. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1,
wherein the dredging robot comprises one or more shearing elements, for
loosening of the submerged granular material, and wherein the one or more
shearing elements comprise teeth, blades, knives, rotating blades, spiked rollers
and /or nozzles for emitting high-pressure fluid jets. ( fig. 6 , para. 0100 - rotating teeth to loose the materials)
Regarding Claim 6
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses:
6. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1,
wherein the dredging robot comprises a tank for temporary storage of removed
granular material.(fig. 6 and 7 – bucket 605 - tank for materials)
Regarding Claim 7
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 6:
VAGATA discloses:
7. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 6, wherein the dredging
Robot comprises a battery for providing power to the dredging robot.( para. 0042 – where in a battery powered robot provides power)
Regarding Claim 8
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 6:
VAGATA discloses dredging robot that can collect granular material HALKYARD discloses power line connected to the dredging robot, for providing power to the dredging HALKYARD further discloses :
8. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 6, further comprising a
power line connected to the dredging robot, for providing power to the dredging. Para. 0067 - where in the power and data umbilical cord 904)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAGATA a dredging robot that can collect granular material to utilize a power line connected to the dredging robot for providing power to the dredging robot as taught by HALKYARD. This would allow the VAGATA to power to the robot when operating independently ( para. 0067)
Regarding Claim 9
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 6:
VAGATA discloses, a dredging robot that can off load removed granular material from dredging robot, HALKYARD discloses an umbilical line for off loading material, HALKYARD further discloses:
9. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1, further
comprising an umbilical line for offloading removed granular material from the
dredging robot, wherein the umbilical line connects the dredging robot with
the docking station. ( Fig. 9 – 0067 wherein it can dock and undock it self from the hose jumper 706 )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAGATA a dredging robot that can off load removed granular material from dredging robot to utilize an umbilical line for off loading material as taught by HALKYARD. This would allow the VAGATA to directly remove the slurry using the hose to allow vertical and horizontal positions of the dredge to change relative to the rise so it doesn’t exert undo forces on the pump system ( para. 0063)
Regarding Claim 10
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 9 :
HALYYARD discloses the combination as disclosed in claim 9
10. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 9, wherein the umbilical line
comprises a power line for providing power to the dredging robot, and optionally
one or more of an integrated communications line, a compressed-gas line, at least one
hydraulic line and / or a lubrication line.( para. 0067 – wherein the umbilical cord 904 has data lines)
Regarding Claim 11
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses:
wherein the dredging robot comprises an underwater positioning system. ( para. 0161 – wherein the spatial self location and knowledge of position of the harvesting area)
Regarding Claim 12
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses, a dredging robot that can off load removed granular material, HALKYARD discloses an riser pipe to remove granular material as taught in claim 1
12. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1,
further comprising conveying means- feat for conveying removed granular material
through the riser pipe fat. ( para. 0067 - where in granular goes through a riser pipe)
Regarding Claim 13
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 12:
HALYYARD discloses the combination as disclosed in claim 12
13. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 12, wherein the conveying
means- feat comprises a slurry pump, an eductor, or a compressor, and wherein the
conveying means--feat optionally further comprises a booster pump.(Para. 0066 - Slurry pump)
Regarding Claim 15
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses
15. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 1,
comprising multiple dredging robots ( fig. 1 – AHV 102 )
Regarding Claim 17
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 1:
VAGATA discloses
17. (Currently Amended) Use of a dredging system of claim 1,
for a mining operation (para. 0038 - mineral exploration),
Regarding Claim 18
VAGATA discloses
18. (Currently Amended) Method for dredging of submerged granular material,
comprising:
providing a dredging system according to claim 1 ; (fig. 1 - para. 0012 – autonomous vehicles for mapping , para. 0037 – wherein collection of material by autonomous harvest vehicles and automated under water vehicles, wherein the docking stations comprises of combination of UBS(underwater buffer stations) 103 and USH (Underwater smart hubs) 104 wherein the pairing constitutes more than one set of docking stations.)
removing granular material with the dredging robot; ( para. 0037 – where in the materials are transferred from robot to UBS 103)
offloading removed granular material from the dredging robot to the docking station; (para. 0037 – where in the materials are transferred from robot to UBS 103)
VAGATA discloses of removing submerged granular material from a bottom surface, HALKYARD discloses transporting granular material from docking station to a remote location through the riser pipe, HALKYARD further discloses:
transporting removed granular material from the docking station to a remote
location through the riser pipe-fat. ( para. 0064 - wherein the 707 reads on riser pipe for removing the granular material from the multiple docking stations to a remote location)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAGATA method of removing submerged granular material to include the ability for transporting granular material from docking station to a remote location through the riser pipe as taught by HALKYARD. This would allow VAGATA to improve recovery process of granular and remove the elements from the seabed ( para. 0015)
Regarding Claim 19
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 18:
VAGATA discloses
19. (Currently Amended) Method according to claim 18, further comprising
instructing the at least one dredging system to remove granular material at one or
more dredging locations during one or more time-intervals. (para. 0058 - wherein the time intervals are based upon the battery consumption )
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20220145756 – Vagata et al. hereinafter as VAGATA in view of WO2017035344 – Halkyard et al. hereinafter as HALKYARD in view of US PG Pubs 20170037598 – Linner et al. hereinafter as LINNER
Regarding Claim 4
VAGATA / HALKYARD discloses claim 3:
VAGATA of an autonomous underwater vehicle that has a suction head , LINNER discloses of an underwater vehicle that has a suction head that comprises one or more fluidizing nozzles, LINNER further discloses:
4. (Currently Amended) The dredging system of claim 3, wherein the suction head
comprises one or more fluidizing nozzles. ( para. 0031 – wherein to loosen the sludge, uses a targeted jet to liquify)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAGATA / HALKYARD’s underwater vehicle with a suction head to utilize a suction head that comprises one or more fluidizing nozzles as taught in LINNER. This would allow VAGATA to break up larger obstacles into smaller particles to prevent clogging or blockages. ( para. 0031 – to prevent clogging and blockages)
Allowable subject matter
Claim 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While dredging robots and docking stations are known in the art, VAGATA / HALKYARD, does not explicitly disclose where in wherein two or more docking stations are connected with a connecting pipe to a riser pipe or at least one docking station with several docking couplings for simultaneous docking of one or more dredging robots. Such modifications would require too significant of a modification and would constitute an improper degree of hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671