CTNF 18/702,995 CTNF 93463 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2024, 12/12/2024 and 04/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 15 in line 4, “the UE supports an sSCell scheduling an SpCell” should be replaced by "the UE supports the sSCell scheduling the SpCell”. Claims 14 in line 1 , “one of FG3-2” should be replaced by " one of FG 3-2 ( Feature Groups )”, as defined in the instant application at least in ¶0064 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. ( 2023/0209627 ), Wu hereinafter, in view of LIU et al. ( 2024/0244650 ), LIU hereinafter . Re. claims 1 and 15, Wu teaches a processor (Fig. 1A, 152 & ¶0049 - The UE 102 includes processing hardware 150 , which may include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and a computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the general-purpose processor (s), and/or special-purpose processing units . ) configured to, and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D, UE 102), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D, UE 102 & ¶0066 - The UE 102 receives and processes the first HARQ transmission; ¶0067 - UE 102 transmits a HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) on the PCell 125 A to the base station 106 A ) configured to communicate with a scheduling secondary cell (sSCell) and a special cell (SpCell) (Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D & ¶0066/¶0071/ ¶0131/¶0132 - UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell . .. the UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell and on a SCell for a PSCell. .. the UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell, and a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PSCell ); and a processor (Fig. 1A, 152 & ¶0049 - The UE 102 includes processing hardware 150 , which may include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and a computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the general-purpose processor (s), and/or special-purpose processing units . ) communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to: determine whether the UE supports the sSCell scheduling the SpCell (Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D/ Fig. 9 & ¶0066 - The UE 102 receives and processes the first HARQ transmission of the first DL MAC PDU on the PCell 125 A according to the multiple configuration parameters in the DCI1. For example, the base station 106 A can configure a value of the carrier indicator for the PCell 125A in the cross-carrier scheduling configuration . The base station 106 A can set the carrier indicator in the DCI1 to the value of the carrier indicator for the PCell 125A . Thus, the UE 102 can determine to receive the first HARQ transmission of the first DL MAC PDU on the PCell 125 A according to the value of the carrier indicator . Figs. 3 A- 4 D/ Fig. 9 & ¶0070 - the base station 106 A transmits the DCI2 on the PCell 125A because a downlink BWP on the SCell 126A, on which the UE 102 receives PDCCH(s), is in the dormant state for the UE 102 . Figs. 3 A- 4 D/Fig. 9 & ¶0071 - The DCI2 can include multiple configuration parameters similar to the DCI1 . …. the DCI2 includes a carrier indicator . In this implementation, the base station 106A can set a value of the carrier indicator to a value included in the cross-carrier scheduling configuration. Thus, the UE 102 can determine that it should receive the second HARQ transmission of the first DL MAC PDU on the PCell 125A according to the value of the carrier indicator . The carrier indicator in the DCI2 and the carrier indicator in the DCI1 can have the same values or different values ; Also, see ¶0131); and generate (Fig. 1A, 152 & ¶0049), for transmission by the transceiver, a UE capability message indicating the UE supports an sSCell scheduling an SpCell (Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D/ Fig. 9 & ¶0132 - the base station 106 A can receive a UE capability IE (e.g., UE-NR-Capability IE or UE-MRDC-Capability IE) from the UE 102…. the UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell. … the UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell and on a SCell for a PSCell . … the UE capability IE also include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PCell , and a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for a PSCell . Fig. 1A/Figs. 3 A- 4 D/ Fig. 9 & ¶0133 - UE capability IE may … include a cross-carrier scheduling capability indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for another SCel l. For example, the UE capability IE may … include a crossCarrierScheduling-SameSCS IE indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for another SCell. …the UE capability IE may …. include a crossCarrierScheduling-OtherSCS IE indicating that the UE 102 supports cross-carrier scheduling on a SCell for another SCell .), PNG media_image2.png 742 525 media_image2.png Greyscale Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein the UE capability message comprises one of per band combination support, per feature set support or per UE support. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein the UE capability message comprises one of per band combination support, per feature set support or per UE support (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0222 - UE may report its capability of supporting scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell on one or some bands . For UE capabilities of one or some bands (for example, a band combination (BC), where one BC usually includes two bands, for example, a band A and a band B ), it is necessary to clarify which band may deploy Pcell or PScell and which band may deploy sScell when the UE supports scheduling Pcell or PScell by sScell on these bands. The first cell is a primary cell Pcell or a primary secondary cell PScell , and the second cell is a secondary cell that can schedule the first cell, namely , sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0244-¶0246 - the UE capability indicates or defaults to deploy Pcell or PScell on a band with a smaller SCS or on a band whose SCS is less than or equal to a fixed SCS (for example, 15 kHz ), and to deploy sScell on a band with a larger SCS . When two bands use a same SCS , it may be considered that Pcel l or PScell c an be deployed on the two bands . Determining a frequency domain resource with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) in the frequency domain resources as the first frequency domain resource. Determining a frequency domain resource with a large SCS in the frequency domain resources as the second frequency domain resource . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. …. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScell ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claims 2 and 16, Wu and LIU teach claims 1 and 15. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein the per feature set support comprises per band per band combination support. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein the per feature set support comprises per band per band combination support . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0222 - UE may report its capability of supporting scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell on one or some bands . For UE capabilities of one or some bands (for example, a band combination (BC), where one BC usually includes two bands, for example, a band A and a band B ), it is necessary to clarify which band may deploy Pcell or PScell and which band may deploy sScell when the UE supports scheduling Pcell or PScell by sScell on these bands. The first cell is a primary cell Pcell or a primary secondary cell PScell , and the second cell is a secondary cell that can schedule the first cell, namely , sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0223 - the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports the first cel l, and/or on which band the UE supports the second cell . More specifically, in a case that scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell is supported, the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports Pcell or PScell , and/or on which band the UE supports sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported…. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScell ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claims 3 and 17, Wu and LIU teach claims 1 and 15. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein, when the per band combination support or per UE support is indicated, the UE capability message further comprises a supported subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the sSCell or the SpCell. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein, when the per band combination support or per UE support is indicated, the UE capability message further comprises a supported subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the sSCell or the SpCell . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0244-¶0246 - the UE capability indicates or defaults to deploy Pcell or PScell on a band with a smaller SCS or on a band whose SCS is less than or equal to a fixed SCS (for example, 15 kHz ), and to deploy sScell on a band with a larger SCS . When two bands use a same SCS , it may be considered that Pcel l or PScell c an be deployed on the two bands . Determining a frequency domain resource with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) in the frequency domain resources as the first frequency domain resource. Determining a frequency domain resource with a large SCS in the frequency domain resources as the second frequency domain resource . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported…. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScel ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claims 4 and 18, Wu and LIU teach claims 3 and 17. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein the supported SCS comprises a candidate value of at least one of 15kHz, 30kHz, or 60kHz. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein the supported SCS comprises a candidate value of at least one of 15kHz, 30kHz , or 60kHz. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. …If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScel. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of” at least one of ” and “ or ” in the limitation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claims 5 and 19, Wu and LIU teach claims 1 and 15. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein, when the per band combination support or per UE support is indicated, the UE capability message further comprises a supported subcarrier spacing (SCS) based on a list of one or multiple band pairs. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein, when the per band combination support or per UE support is indicated, the UE capability message further comprises a supported subcarrier spacing (SCS) based on a list of one or multiple band pairs . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0244-¶0246 - the UE capability indicates or defaults to deploy Pcell or PScell on a band with a smaller SCS or on a band whose SCS is less than or equal to a fixed SCS (for example, 15 kHz ), and to deploy sScell on a band with a larger SCS . When two bands use a same SCS , it may be considered that Pcel l or PScell c an be deployed on the two bands . Determining a frequency domain resource with a small subcarrier spacing (SCS) in the frequency domain resources as the first frequency domain resource. Determining a frequency domain resource with a large SCS in the frequency domain resources as the second frequency domain resource . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. … If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScel ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claims 6 and 20, Wu and LIU teach claims 1 and 15. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell in the supported band by the sSCell in any corresponding band. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell in the supported band by the sSCell in any corresponding band . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0222 - UE may report its capability of supporting scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell on one or some bands . For UE capabilities of one or some bands (for example, a band combination (BC), where one BC usually includes two bands, for example, a band A and a band B ), it is necessary to clarify which band may deploy Pcell or PScell and which band may deploy sScell when the UE supports scheduling Pcell or PScell by sScell on these bands. The first cell is a primary cell Pcell or a primary secondary cell PScell , and the second cell is a secondary cell that can schedule the first cell, namely , sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0223 - the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports the first cel l, and/or on which band the UE supports the second cell . More specifically, in a case that scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell is supported, the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports Pcell or PScell , and/or on which band the UE supports sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. …. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScell.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claim 7, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell in a corresponding band by the sSCell in a supported band. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell in a corresponding band by the sSCell in a supported band . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0222 - UE may report its capability of supporting scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell on one or some bands . For UE capabilities of one or some bands (for example, a band combination (BC), where one BC usually includes two bands, for example, a band A and a band B ), it is necessary to clarify which band may deploy Pcell or PScell and which band may deploy sScell when the UE supports scheduling Pcell or PScell by sScell on these bands. The first cell is a primary cell Pcell or a primary secondary cell PScell , and the second cell is a secondary cell that can schedule the first cell, namely , sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0223 - the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports the first cel l, and/or on which band the UE supports the second cell . More specifically, in a case that scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell is supported, the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports Pcell or PScell , and/or on which band the UE supports sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. …. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScell.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) Re. Claim 8, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell by the sSCell in each supported band. However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses wherein, when the per feature set support is indicated, each supported band indicates the UE supports scheduling of the SpCell by the sSCell in each supported band . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0222 - UE may report its capability of supporting scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell on one or some bands . For UE capabilities of one or some bands (for example, a band combination (BC), where one BC usually includes two bands, for example, a band A and a band B ), it is necessary to clarify which band may deploy Pcell or PScell and which band may deploy sScell when the UE supports scheduling Pcell or PScell by sScell on these bands. The first cell is a primary cell Pcell or a primary secondary cell PScell , and the second cell is a secondary cell that can schedule the first cell, namely , sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0223 - the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports the first cel l, and/or on which band the UE supports the second cell . More specifically, in a case that scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell is supported, the UE capability information is used to determine or indicate on which band the UE supports Pcell or PScell , and/or on which band the UE supports sScell. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0250 - UE capability indicates an SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell supported by the UE on a supported BC or group of bands (for example, a band A and a band B ). For example, when the UE supports a BC or a group of bands ( for example, a band A and a band B) for scheduling Pcell or PScell and sScell, it further indicates ( Pcell or PScell SCS, sScell SCS )=( 15 kHz, 30 kHz ) and ( 15 kHz, 15 kHz ) that are specifically supported. …. If a base station deploys an SCS combination that belongs to the foregoing SCS combination of Pcell or PScell and sScell, for example, (15 kHz, 30 kHz), the BC or the group of bands is used for scheduling Pcell or PScell by Scell , a band corresponding to 15 kHz is used for Pcell or PScell, and an SCS of 30 kHz corresponds to sScell.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides simultaneous scheduling of transmission on a plurality of cells by using one piece of control information, which reduces high overheads of control information, in turns, improves system capacity in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, LIU) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of LIU, further in view of Takeda et al. ( 2023/0102563 ), Takeda hereinafter . Re. Claim 9, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein the UE capability message further comprises a total number of cells which can be scheduled by the sSCell. However, in the analogous art, Takeda explicitly discloses wherein the UE capability message further comprises a total number of cells which can be scheduled by the sSCell . (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0124 - To support cross-carrier scheduling from the cell 210 (e.g., an SCell) to the cell 205 (e.g., a P(S)Cell), the UE 115 may determine a quantity of PDCCH candidates to monitor over an SS set of the cell 210 based on a configuration of one or more SS sets of the cell 205 and a linking between the SS set of the cell 210 and one of the SS sets of the cell 205 . For example, for cross-carrier scheduling from an SCell to a P(S)Cell , the UE 115 may monitor a number of PDCCH monitoring candidates on the SCell (for scheduling the P(S)Cell) based on an SS set linking approach or procedure. Fig. 3-10 & ¶0142 - UE 115 and the base station 105 may support both cross-carrier scheduling from the SCell 410 to the P(S)Cell 405 and self-scheduling by the P(S)Cell 405 . For example, the UE 115 may monitor the P(S)Cell 405 over an SS set 415 including a number of PDCCH candidates for self-scheduling (e.g., such as four PDCCH candidates) and may monitor the SCell 410 over an SS set 420 including a number of PDCCH candidates for cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., such as four PDCCH candidates ). …the number of PDCCH candidates in the SS set 420 may be based on a number of PDCCH candidates configured via a nrofCandidates parameter associated with a linked SS set of the P(S)Cell 405 .). PNG media_image3.png 419 521 media_image3.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Takeda’s invention of a system and a method for cross-carrier scheduling from a secondary cell (SCell) to a primary cell (PCell) in a wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient techniques for supporting a simultaneous communications of a user equipment (UE) with a base stations having a pluralities of carriers via the pluralities of carriers associated with multiple carrier bandwidths operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Takeda) Re. Claim 10, Wu, LIU and Takeda teach claim 9. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein a candidate value indicating the total number of cells comprises one of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8. However, in the analogous art, Takeda explicitly discloses wherein a candidate value indicating the total number of cells comprises one of 2, 3, 4 , 5, 6, 7, or 8. (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0142 - UE 115 and the base station 105 may support both cross-carrier scheduling from the SCell 410 to the P(S)Cell 405 and self-scheduling by the P(S)Cell 405 . For example, the UE 115 may monitor the P(S)Cell 405 over an SS set 415 including a number of PDCCH candidates for self-scheduling (e.g., such as four PDCCH candidates) and may monitor the SCell 410 over an SS set 420 including a number of PDCCH candidates for cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., such as four PDCCH candidates ). …the number of PDCCH candidates in the SS set 420 may be based on a number of PDCCH candidates configured via a nrofCandidates parameter associated with a linked SS set of the P(S)Cell 405. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “ or ” in the limitation ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Takeda’s invention of a system and a method for cross-carrier scheduling from a secondary cell (SCell) to a primary cell (PCell) in a wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient techniques for supporting a simultaneous communications of a user equipment (UE) with a base stations having a pluralities of carriers via the pluralities of carriers associated with multiple carrier bandwidths operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0085, Takeda) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of LIU, further in view of Nory et al. ( 2024/0372678 ), Nory hereinafter . Re. Claim 11, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports sSCell activation or deactivation. However, in the analogous art, Nory explicitly discloses wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports sSCell activation or deactivation . (Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0105 - the UE may be configured with one more additional set of parameters (set 2_3) as part of RRC configuration of the second SS set. Similar to set 2_2, set 2_3 can include parameters indicating number of PDCCH candidates to monitor . For example, the one more additional set of parameters can indicate number of PDCCH candidates to monitor on the PCell when PDCCH monitoring is performed on the sSCell when the sSCell is activated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is a non-dormant BWP . The number of PDCCH candidates to monitor can be separately configured for one or more values of PDCCH aggregation level L (L can be e.g. L=1,2,4,8,16). e.g. m3_1 candidates for aggregation level L=1, m3_2 for aggregation level L=2. Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0106 - For such cases, when the sSCell is activated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is set to a non-dormant BWP , the UE monitors PDCCH candidates on the PCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_3, and monitors PDCCH candidates on the sSCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_1. When sSCell is deactivated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is set to a dormant BWP , the UE stops PDCCH monitoring on the sSCell and monitors PDCCH candidates on the PCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_2. Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0107 - Whether a UE supports such a variant can be indicated by the UE using UE capability signaling . For example, if the UE indicates a capability that it can monitor some PDCCH candidates on the PCell and on the sSCell in symbols/slots of PCell and sSCell that overlap in time, then such a UE (Type B UE) may also support this variant. ). PNG media_image4.png 677 572 media_image4.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Nory’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) for enhanced cross carrier scheduling in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient techniques for supporting the flexibility in scheduling PCell (Primary cell) PDSCH/PUSCH <Downlink/Uplink Shared channel> from the PCell and/or sSCell (depending on data traffic, sSCell availability etc.) without a signaling overhead of frequent RRC reconfigurations, in turns, reduces complexities of UE (User equipment) design, operating in the in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, Nory) Re. Claim 12, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports sSCell dormancy. However, in the analogous art, Nory explicitly discloses wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports sSCell dormancy . (Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0105 - the UE may be configured with one more additional set of parameters (set 2_3) as part of RRC configuration of the second SS set. Similar to set 2_2, set 2_3 can include parameters indicating number of PDCCH candidates to monitor . For example, the one more additional set of parameters can indicate number of PDCCH candidates to monitor on the PCell when PDCCH monitoring is performed on the sSCell when the sSCell is activated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is a non-dormant BWP . The number of PDCCH candidates to monitor can be separately configured for one or more values of PDCCH aggregation level L (L can be e.g. L=1,2,4,8,16). e.g. m3_1 candidates for aggregation level L=1, m3_2 for aggregation level L=2. Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0106 - For such cases, when the sSCell is activated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is set to a non-dormant BWP , the UE monitors PDCCH candidates on the PCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_3, and monitors PDCCH candidates on the sSCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_1. When sSCell is deactivated or when the active BWP of the sSCell is set to a dormant BWP , the UE stops PDCCH monitoring on the sSCell and monitors PDCCH candidates on the PCell (for DCI formats that can schedule PDSCH/PUSCH for the PCell) based on set 2_2. Fig. 4A-4B/5A-5B/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0107 - Whether a UE supports such a variant can be indicated by the UE using UE capability signaling . For example, if the UE indicates a capability that it can monitor some PDCCH candidates on the PCell and on the sSCell in symbols/slots of PCell and sSCell that overlap in time, then such a UE (Type B UE) may also support this variant. ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Nory’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) for enhanced cross carrier scheduling in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient techniques for supporting the flexibility in scheduling PCell (Primary cell) PDSCH/PUSCH <Downlink/Uplink Shared channel> from the PCell and/or sSCell (depending on data traffic, sSCell availability etc.) without a signaling overhead of frequent RRC reconfigurations, in turns, reduces complexities of UE (User equipment) design, operating in the in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, Nory) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of LIU, further in view of Shim et al. ( 2025/0344086 ), Shim hereinafter . Re. Claim 13, Wu and LIU teach claim 1. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports advanced Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring for the sSCell. However, in the analogous art, Shim explicitly discloses wherein the UE capability message further indicates whether the UE supports advanced Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring for the sSCell . (Fig. 9-31 & ¶0152 - UE capability 1 (hereinafter, represented as FG 3-1 ). The UE capability indicates , when there is one monitoring occasion (MO) for type 1 and type 3 common search spaces or UE-specific search spaces in a slot as in Table 11-1 , a capability to monitor the MO when the MO is located on the first three symbols in the slot. Fig. 9-31 & ¶0152 - UE capability 2 (hereinafter, represented as FG 3-2 ) The UE capability may indicate , when there is one monitoring occasion (MO) for common search spaces or UE-specific search spaces in a slot as in Table 11-2 , a capability of monitoring regardless of where the start symbol location of the MO is. The UE capability is optionally supported by the UE, and whether to support the UE capability is explicitly reported to the BS. Fig. 9-31 & ¶0153 - UE capability 3 (hereinafter, represented as FG 3-5, 3-5a , or 3-5b ) The UE capability indicates, when there are a plurality of monitoring occasions (MOs) for common search spaces or UE-specific search spaces in a slot as in Tables 11-3 , an MO pattern the UE can monitor. The pattern consists of a gap X between start symbols of different MOs, and a maximum symbol length Y for one MO. Combinations of (X, Y) supported by the UE may be one or more of {(2,2), (4,3), (7,3)}). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Shim’s invention of a system and a method for measuring and reporting interference in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in configurating a plurality of search space sets with different parameters so that a user equipment (UE) is capable of monitoring a group of search space sets at different times, a flexibilities as required in the 5G/NR wireless communication system, to meet various different application requitement without incurring additional signaling overheads. (¶0147, Shim) Re. Claim 14, Wu, LIU and Shim teach claim 13. Yet, Wu and LIU do not expressly teach wherein the monitoring comprises one of FG3-2: flexible CORESET time domain location, FG3-5: flexible CORESET time domain location, FG3-5a: span and gap based PDCCH monitoring, FG3-5b: span and gap based PDCCH monitoring, or FG11-2 family: enhanced span and gap based PDCCH monitoring. However, in the analogous art, Shim explicitly discloses wherein the monitoring comprises one of FG3-2: flexible CORESET time domain location ( See ¶0152 & Table 11-2 <see snapshot next> along with Fig. 9-31. Also, e xaminer interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “ or ” in the limitation ), FG3-5: flexible CORESET time domain location, FG3-5a: span and gap based PDCCH monitoring, FG3-5b: span and gap based PDCCH monitoring ( See ¶0153 & Table 11-3 <see snapshot next> along with Fig. 9-31. Also, e xaminer interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “ or ” in the limitation ), or FG11-2 family: enhanced span and gap based PDCCH monitoring. PNG media_image5.png 844 717 media_image5.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of using PDCCHs (Physical Downlink Control Channel) of multiple cells to schedule HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) transmissions of a transport block on the same cell, and using a PDCCH of a cell to schedule HARQ transmission of a transport block on multiple cells in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and LIU’s invention of UE capability reporting apparatus, a joint scheduling apparatus, a scheduling apparatus operating in a wireless communication system to include Shim’s invention of a system and a method for measuring and reporting interference in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in configurating a plurality of search space sets with different parameters so that a user equipment (UE) is capable of monitoring a group of search space sets at different times, a flexibilities as required in the 5G/NR wireless communication system, to meet various different application requitement without incurring additional signaling overheads. (¶0147, Shim) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106e; Tdoc R1-2108004 ; Source : Ericsson ; Title : Enhanced cross-carrier scheduling for DSS ; e-Meeting, August 16th-27th, 2021 . See §2.1 ( applicable for claims 11-12 , Fig.1; see snapshot below). §2.2 ( applicable for claims 9-10 , see snapshot below). PNG media_image6.png 270 593 media_image6.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 395 1253 media_image7.png Greyscale 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106; R1-2106627 ; Source : vivo ; Title : Discussion on Scell scheduling P(S)cell; e-Meeting, August 16th – 27th, 2021 . See §2.1 & §2.3, ( applicable for claim 1, 9-10 , see snapshot next) . PNG media_image8.png 560 682 media_image8.png Greyscale PNG media_image9.png 384 649 media_image9.png Greyscale Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED SHAMSUL CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-0485. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 9 AM- 6 PM EST (Friday Var.). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/702,995 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/702,995 Page 3 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/702,995 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/702,995 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467