DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claim rejections based on prior art
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/28/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Page 8 of Applicant’s remarks disclose “Breakstone does not disclose determining the type of a storage device responsive to a signal and then enabling connector signals responsive to the determined type”.
With respect to determining a ‘type’ and in response to the ‘type‘, see paragraph 0040-0042 of Breakstone, which teach different storage drives of different voltage levels transmitting data to the main connector 115, M.2 connector 131. Note, each device is a type, the claim language doesn’t disclose differences of different types. In other words, having a type is equated to a determination of a type, the function of a determination, unless the claim language recites differences of different types or the exact steps of a ‘determination’.
Page 9 of Applicant’s remarks disclose “Furthermore, Breakstone does not disclose or teach "enable, responsive to the type of the storage device, a set of signals to the connector," as recited in claim 1”.
With respect to in response to the ‘type‘, the claim language only calls for a signal transmission after the determination of a type. Note, every storage device is a type; see paragraphs 0040-0042 of Breakstone, which teach signal transmission after the attachment, determination, of a storage device.
With respect to claim 6, please note, the claim language recites ‘coupled’, which might not be a direct or specific connection.
With respect to claim 11, please see response above.
Note, even though prosecution is now closed, to help expedite any further potential prosecution of this application, Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner to discuss the invention, and a potential allowance.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-12 and 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breakstone et al. (US pub. 2017/0220505), hereinafter, “Breakstone”.
At the outset, Applicant is reminded that claims subject to examination will be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). With this in mind, the discussion will focus on how the terms and relationships between the terms in the claims are met by the references.
2. As per claim 1, Breakstone discloses an electronic device (storage drive 110 of fig. 1, storage device 610 of fig. 6, as disclose in paragraph 0026, 0041, for example, paragraph 0041 discloses “storage device 610 can comprise one example implementation of storage drive 110 in FIGS. 1-5”), comprising: a connector (main connector 115 of fig. 3 combined with M.2 connector 131; see paragraphs 0026, 033 and 0042. For example, paragraph 0042 which discloses “in one example, power link 623, sideband links 649, and host PCIe interface 640 are all included in a U.2 host connector. Auxiliary PCIe links 660 might be included in the same connector, or a separate connector”); a first switch (a first switching power regulator of power controller 621, 720 of fig. 6, 7; see paragraph 0041, which discloses “power control module 621 distributes power to each element of storage device 610 over associated power links 630-632. Power control module 621 can selectively enable/disable power for each power link” and paragraph 0076, which discloses “buck-boost module 731 comprises one or more switching power regulators”) to control, responsive to a signal, providing of a first voltage signal to the connector (see paragraph 0042, which discloses “signals/power can be carried over a single host connector, such as a U.2 connector discussed for FIGS. 1-5, or can be carried over a host connector in conjunction with a power connector and one or more auxiliary connectors. In one example, power link 623, sideband links 649, and host PCIe interface 640 are all included in a U.2 host connector” and paragraph 0061, which discloses “in some examples, power control module 621 comprises processing elements discussed above for processor 620, or is included in the elements of processor 620. Power control module 621 can receive power over power link 623 as a power source for the various elements of storage device 610” paragraph 0076); a second switch (a second switching power regulator of power controller 621, 720 of fig. 6, 7; see paragraph 0041) to control, responsive to the signal, providing of a second voltage signal to the connector (see paragraphs 0042 and 0061, as discussed right above); and a controller to: determine, responsive to the signal, a type of a storage device coupled to the connector; and enable, responsive to the type of the storage device, a set of signals to the connector (see paragraph 0040-0042, which teach different storage drives of different voltage levels transmitting data to the main connector 115, M.2 connector 131. Note, each device is a type, the claim language doesn’t disclose differences of different types. In other words, having a type is equated to a determination of a type, unless the claim language recites differences of different types).
3. As per claim 2, Breakstone discloses “The electronic device of claim 1” [See rejection to claim 1 above], wherein the signal is a voltage signal having a first voltage in response to the storage device having a first type and having a second voltage in response to the storage device having a second type (see paragraph 0062, which discloses “in some examples, bidirectional power flow is possible over link 623. Power can be accepted by storage device 610 when input power is available, such as from a mating connector. Power can be redistributed to other storage devices by module 610 over link 623 when input power is not available, such as during power interruption events. When storage device 610 is removed from a mating connector, then power can be bled off into associated power sink circuitry. Although one power link 623 is shown, it should be understood that more than one link can be included, such as separate input and output links or separate links for different voltage levels”).
4. As per claim 3, Breakstone discloses wherein the controller is to: enable, responsive to the type of the storage device indicating a first type of storage device, a first set of signals to the connector; and enable, responsive to the type of the storage device indicating a second type of storage device, a second set of signals to the connector (see paragraph 0040-0042).
5. As per claim 4, Breakstone discloses wherein the first set of signals traverse a first communications bus and the second set of signals traverse a second communications bus(see paragraph 0098).
6. As per claim 5, Breakstone discloses, comprising: a first buffer to control, responsive to the signal, transmission of the set of signals from the controller to the storage device; and a second buffer to control, responsive to the signal, the transmission of the set of signals from the storage device to the controller (see paragraph 0094).
7. As per claim 6, Breakstone discloses an electronic device (storage drive 110 of fig. 1, storage device 610 of fig. 6, as disclose in paragraph 0026, 0041, for example, paragraph 0041 discloses “storage device 610 can comprise one example implementation of storage drive 110 in FIGS. 1-5”), comprising: a connector (main connector 115 of fig. 3 combined with M.2 connector 131; see paragraphs 0026, 033 and 0042. For example, paragraph 0042 which discloses “in one example, power link 623, sideband links 649, and host PCIe interface 640 are all included in a U.2 host connector. Auxiliary PCIe links 660 might be included in the same connector, or a separate connector”) having multiple terminals, the connector to couple to a storage device (see fig. 3, paragraphs 0026 and 0033); a transistor having a gate to receive a signal from a first terminal of the connector, a source coupled to a voltage supply circuit, and a drain coupled to a second terminal of the connector (see paragraphs 0077, 0096 and fig. 7), the transistor to enable (note, to ‘enable’ is intended use language) a voltage signal of the voltage supply circuit to propagate to the second terminal of the connector responsive to the signal having a value below a specified threshold (see paragraphs 0077 and 0096. Note, the claim language doesn’t recite a specific threshold level); and a buffer having a control input to receive the signal from the first terminal of the connector (see paragraph 0094, which discloses “the buffers can be included in each storage drive 611”), a data input coupled to a controller (processor 620), and an output coupled to a third terminal of the connector, the buffer to enable a set of signals to propagate from the controller to the third terminal of the connector responsive to the signal having the value below the specified threshold (see paragraph 0094 and fig. 6).
8. As per claim 7, Breakstone discloses wherein responsive to the signal having a second value that is equivalent to or exceeds the specified threshold, the transistor is to disable the voltage signal of the voltage supply circuit from propagating to the second terminal of the connector and the buffer is to disable the set of signals from propagating from the controller to the third terminal of the connector (see paragraph 0108-0111).
9. As per claim 8, Breakstone discloses 8 comprising: a second transistor having a second gate to receive the signal from the first terminal of the connector, a second source coupled to the voltage supply circuit, and a second drain coupled to a fourth terminal of the connector; wherein the second transistor is to enable a second voltage signal of the voltage supply circuit to propagate to the fourth terminal of the connector responsive to the signal having the value below the specified threshold; and wherein the second transistor is to disable the second voltage signal of the voltage supply circuit from propagating to the fourth terminal of the connector responsive to the signal having a second value that is equivalent to or exceeds the specified threshold (see paragraph 0108-0111).
10. As per claim 9, Breakstone discloses wherein the controller is coupled to the voltage supply circuit, the controller to cause, responsive to the signal having the value below the specified threshold, the voltage supply circuit to supply the voltage signal and the second voltage signal to the source and the second source, respectively, of the transistor and the second transistor, respectively (see paragraph 0108-0111).
11. As per claim 10, Breakstone discloses, comprising: a second buffer having a second control input to receive the signal from the first terminal of the connector, a second data input coupled to the controller, and a second output coupled to a fourth terminal of the connector; wherein responsive to the signal having a second value that is equivalent to or exceeds the specified threshold, the second buffer is to enable a second set of signals to propagate from the fourth terminal of the connector to the controller; and wherein responsive to the signal having the value that is below the specified threshold, the second buffer is to disable the second set of signals from propagating from the fourth terminal of the connector to the controller (see paragraph 0108-0111).
12. As per claim 11, Breakstone discloses an electronic device (storage drive 110 of fig. 1, storage device 610 of fig. 6, as disclose in paragraph 0026, 0041, for example, paragraph 0041 discloses “storage device 610 can comprise one example implementation of storage drive 110 in FIGS. 1-5”), comprising: a connector (main connector 115 of fig. 3 combined with M.2 connector 131; see paragraphs 0026, 033 and 0042. For example, paragraph 0042 which discloses “in one example, power link 623, sideband links 649, and host PCIe interface 640 are all included in a U.2 host connector. Auxiliary PCIe links 660 might be included in the same connector, or a separate connector”) to couple to a storage device (see fig. 6), the coupling to provide a signal, the signal having a first value responsive to the storage device having a first type and a second value responsive to the storage device having a second type (see paragraph 0040-0042, which teach different storage drives of different voltage levels transmitting data to the main connector 115, M.2 connector 131. Note, each device is a type, the claim language doesn’t disclose differences of different types. In other words, having a type is equated to a determination of a type, unless the claim language recite differences of different types); a first transistor (a first transistor switch; see paragraphs 0077, 0096 and fig. 7) to control, responsive to reception of the signal at a first gate, providing of a first voltage signal to the connector; a second transistor (a second transistor switch) to control, responsive to reception of the signal at a second gate, providing of a second voltage signal to the connector (see paragraphs 0077, 0096 and 0111); and a buffer (see paragraph 0094, which discloses “the buffers can be included in each storage drive 611”) to control, responsive to reception of the signal at a control input, propagation of a set of signals between a controller (processor 620) and the connector (see paragraph 0094 and fig. 6).
13. As per claim 12, Breakstone wherein the connector is an M.2 connector (see paragraph 0033).
14. As per claim 14, Breakstone discloses wherein the controller is to: enable, responsive to the signal having the first value, a first set of signals to traverse a first communications bus; enable, responsive to the signal having the second value, a second set of signals to traverse a second communications bus; and wherein the first communications bus and the second communications bus have an overlapping signal path (see paragraph 0094 and 0098).
15. As per claim 16, Breakstone discloses wherein responsive to the type of the storage device indicating a first type of storage device, the controller causes a voltage supply circuit to supply the first voltage signal to the first switch and the second voltage signal to the second switch, and responsive to the type of the storage device indicating a second type of storage device, the controller causes the voltage supply circuit to disable supply of the first voltage signal to the first switch and the second voltage signal to the second switch (see paragraph 0040-0042, which teach different storage drives of different voltage levels transmitting data to the main connector 115, M.2 connector 131. For example, paragraph 0041 discloses “power control module 621 can selectively enable/disable power for each power link. Further communication links can be included for intra-card communication between the various elements of storage device 610”. Note, each device is a type, the claim language doesn’t disclose differences of different types. In other words, having a type is equated to a determination of a type, unless the claim language recites differences of different types).
16. As per claim 17, Breakstone discloses wherein the first voltage signal is a 1.8 volt signal and the second voltage signal is a 3.3 volt signal (see paragraph 0076, which teaches two respective lines have up to 12 volts each for different devices. 12 volts encompasses 1.8 volt and 3.3 volt).
17. As per claim 18, Breakstone discloses wherein the connector is an M.2 connector and the signal having the value below the specified threshold indicates that the storage device is an Embedded MultiMedia Card (eMMC) storage device (note, because of the word ‘indicates’, an M.2 connector and a signal having a value below a ‘threshold’ equals to a storage device being an Embedded MultiMedia Card (eMMC) storage device. Therefore, see paragraph 0113).
18. As per claim 19, Breakstone discloses wherein the signal is driven to the first value by the storage device having the first type coupling to the connector (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 0041 and 0042).
19. As per claim 20, Breakstone discloses wherein the overlapping signal path is for data signals (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 0041 and 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Breakstone et al. (US pub. 2017/0220505), hereinafter, “Breakstone”, in view of Bhuiyan et al. (US pub. # 2015/0160706), hereinafter, “Bhuiyan”.
22. As per claim 13, Breakstone discloses “The electronic device of claim 11” [See rejection to claim 11 above], but fails to expressly discloses wherein the first and the second transistors are p-channel field effect transistors (FETs).
Bhuiyan discloses wherein the first and the second transistors are p-channel field effect transistors (FETs) (see paragraph 0016).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bhuiyan’s teaching of a method including supplying a first supply voltage to a host interface during a first mode of operation of a non-volatile memory and supplying a second supply voltage to the host interface in response to a transition from the first mode of operation to a second mode of operation of the non-volatile memory, into Breakstone’s teaching of a storage drive including a plurality of storage devices configured to store and retrieve data responsive to operations received over Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interfaces, a PCIe switch circuit communicatively coupled to the PCIe interfaces of the storage devices and configured to receive over a host connector the operations issued by a host system, for the ability/benefit of having multiple voltage domains in a portable device to reduce power consumption of the portable electronic device, such as by using a reduced supply voltage for certain portions of an integrated circuit of the device that are configured to operate using the reduced supply voltage.
23. As per claim 15, Breakstone discloses “The electronic device of claim 14” [See rejection to claim 14 above], but fails to expressly discloses wherein the first type indicates an Embedded MultiMedia Card (eMMC) storage device and the second type indicates a Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) storage device.
Bhuiyan discloses wherein the first type indicates an Embedded MultiMedia Card (eMMC) storage device and the second type indicates a Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) storage device (see paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bhuiyan’s teaching of a method including supplying a first supply voltage to a host interface during a first mode of operation of a non-volatile memory and supplying a second supply voltage to the host interface in response to a transition from the first mode of operation to a second mode of operation of the non-volatile memory, into Breakstone’s teaching of a storage drive including a plurality of storage devices configured to store and retrieve data responsive to operations received over Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interfaces, a PCIe switch circuit communicatively coupled to the PCIe interfaces of the storage devices and configured to receive over a host connector the operations issued by a host system, for the ability/benefit of having multiple voltage domains in a portable device to reduce power consumption of the portable electronic device, such as by using a reduced supply voltage for certain portions of an integrated circuit of the device that are configured to operate using the reduced supply voltage.
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 have received a final action on the merits.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
If attempts to reach the above noted Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Mr. Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached at the following telephone number: Area Code (571) 270-1023.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Ernest Unelus/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181