DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment and remarks filed 10/05/2026.
Claims 3-6, 7, 10-11, 13-14 and 19-20 are amended.
Claims 8-9 are canceled.
New claims 21-22 are added.
Claims 1-7, 10-22 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/039466 filed 10/24/2022 and which claims benefit of Japanese applications 2022-119770 filed 07/27/2020 and 2021-174051 filed10/25/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant traverses the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIE et al. (US 20170007526 A1) because claims 1 and 7 are amended to describe component A that are not taught in Horie such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the hair compositions of the present claims relying on the teachings of Horie.
Response: The examiner disagrees because one polyquaternium agent can be used in place of the other to achieve hair conditioning. For example, Horie teaches hair cosmetic composition that comprises component A such as diallyl quaternary ammonium salt that is MERQUAT 100 (polyquaternium-6) having molecular weight of 150000, MERQUAT 295 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 190000, MERQUAT 280 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 450000 or MERQUAT 550 (polyquaternium-7) having molecular weight of 1600000 (paragraphs [0032], [0156]-[0160]). Polyquaternium-39 and polyquaternium-22 (MERQUAT 295) have been known to be used in hair cosmetic compositions (paragraph [0109] of Weser et al. (US 20140298594 A1).
The rejection is modified below with modification to address the amendment.
Modified Rejection
Necessitated by amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIE et al. (US 20170007526 A1) in view of Weser et al. (US 20140298594 A1).
Claim 1 has been amended to limit component (A) to polyquaternium-39 or polyquaternium-47. This amendment comes after the Non Final Rejection mailed 06/03/2026.
HORIE discloses cosmetic hair composition comprising cationic polymer having a charge density of 5.0 to 7.0 meq/g and anionic polymer (abstract; paragraphs [0020], [0021]). Component A, a cationic polymer in one embodiment is dimethyl diallyl ammonium chloride (paragraphs [0007], claim 2) and the content of component A is 0.01% or more but less than 20% (paragraph [0043], claim 4); the cationic component A has cationic group because it is a cationic polymer and since the anionic polymer B and the amphoteric polymers are present at 0.01% to less than 20% through 0.1%, 0.75%, less than 10%, less than 5%, less than 3% (paragraphs [0043], [0052]). Component (A) is MERQUAT 100 (polyquaternium-6) having molecular weight of 150000, MERQUAT 295 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 190000, MERQUAT 280 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 450000 or MERQUAT 550 (polyquaternium-7) having molecular weight of 1600000 (paragraphs [0032], [0156]-[0160]). Component B is polyacrylic acid (Jurymer Series)/polyacrylate, an anionic polymer and is present at 0.01% but less than 20% (paragraph [0050]-[0052], claim 6). In an embodiment, the hair composition also contains rice germ oil (paragraph [0167]), a natural triglyceride and polyglycerin (paragraph [0067]) meeting component C of claims 1 and 7; stearyl trimethyl ammonium chloride (paragraph [0169]), cationic surfactant, meeting component D of claims 1 and 7 and claim 15; the composition also contains higher alcohols such as myristyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, behenyl alcohol, cetostearyl alcohol (paragraph [0065], claim 12) meeting component E of claims 1 and 7; when the composition further comprises benzyl alcohol or benzyloxy alcohol (paragraphs [0088], [0167]), the requirement for aromatic alcohol in claim 4 as component F is met; polyols such as propylene glycol, diethylene glycol, ethylene glycol glycerin and polyglycerin in the composition (paragraph [0067]) meets the non-aromatic polyol of claim 5 as component G and the content of the polyol, in this case polyglycerin is at 0.1% through 0.5%, 1% to less than 20% (paragraphs [0067], [0068]); the hair composition is emulsion (paragraph [0093]) meeting claim 6.
For claims 1 and 7, Horrie’s hair cosmetic composition does not contain polyquaternium-39 now recited as component (A). However, in an embodiment, one of component (A) in Horrie’s hair cosmetic composition is MERQUAT 100 (polyquaternium-6) having molecular weight of 150000, MERQUAT 295 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 190000, MERQUAT 280 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 450000 or MERQUAT 550 (polyquaternium-7) having molecular weight of 1600000 (paragraphs [0032], [0156]-[0160]). Also, Weser teaches that polyquaternium-39 and polyquaternium-22 (MERQUAT 295) have been known to be used in hair cosmetic compositions (paragraph [0109]). Polyquaternium-39 and polyquaternium-22 (MERQUAT 295) are functionally equivalent as agents in hair cosmetic composition. Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the artisan guided by the teachings of Horrie and Weser, would use polyquaternium-39 and polyquaternium-22 (MERQUAT 295) in the hair cosmetic composition of Horrie as disclosed by Horrie and taught by Weser, with the expectation for hair cosmetic composition that would effectively and predictably condition the hair and enhance gloss and softness of the hair.
For claims 1, 2 and 7, components A and B are each present at 0.01% to less than 20% through 0.1%, 0.75%, less than 10%, less than 5%, less than 3% (paragraphs [0043], [0052]) and not specifically the less than 1.0% claimed. Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the artisan would reasonably expect to have hair cosmetic composition in which components A and B would have amounts less than 1% taking into account the various amounts of A and B that when included with the other components for the hair care composition would predictably remain on the hair for desired good feel and color retention.
For claim 3, polyglycerin meeting component C is present at 0.1% through 0.5%, 1% to less than 20% (paragraphs [0067], [0068]), the requirement of claim 3 is met in that 0.1%, 0.5% and 1% are specific points within the claimed range.
Amphoteric acrylic polymer is listed as hair setting polymer (paragraph [0085]) and the setting polymer is present in at 0.1% to less than 3% (paragraph [0086]). The amphoteric nature of the polymer dictates that the polymer has positive and negative charges and the artisan would expect the pH of the amphoteric acrylic polymer to vary based on the concentration of the polymer and the overall charge on the polymer. Specifically, HORIE teaches the pH of the composition to vary between 2 to 12 at 25 oC based what the composition is used for (paragraphs [0089]-[0092]).
For claim 10, the charge density of component A ranges from 5.0-7.0 meq/g (abstract; paragraph [0020], [0025], claim 1); the charge density for MERQUAT 550 is 3.1 meq/g (paragraph [0160]). The lower limit of 5.0 of the disclosed range of 5.0-7.0 intersects the claimed upper limit of the claimed range in claim 10.
For claim 11, MERQUAT 100 (polyquaternium-6) having molecular weight of 150000, MERQUAT 295 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 190000, MERQUAT 280 (polyquaternium-22) having molecular weight of 450000 or MERQUAT 550 (polyquaternium-7) having molecular weight of 1600000 (paragraphs [0032], [0156]-[0160]) with the molecular weight each of the mentioned component (A) is point within the claimed range of 50,000 to 2,000,000.
For claim 12, the anionic component B has anionic group because it is anionic polymer and since the cationic polymer A and the amphoteric polymers are present at 0.01% to less than 20% through 0.1%, 0.75%, less than 10%, less than 5%, less than 3% (paragraphs [0043], [0052]), the requirement for claim 12 is met.
For claim 13, HORIE does not teach the anionic charge of the anionic polymer. However, it would be reasonable to expect that anionic polymer would also have charge density since the anionic polymer would predictably have overall negative charge.
For claim 14, the weight average molecular weight of component B is 7,000 to 18000 (claim 9) and this range is a species of the claimed range.
For claim 16, stearyl alcohol is a C18 aliphatic monohydric alcohol.
For claim 17, component A is present at 0.01% to less than 20% (claim 4) and the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range in such a way that the disclosed range allows for the claimed range of 0.01% to 0.50%.
For claim 18, component B is present at 0.01% to less than 20% (claim 6) and the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range in such a way that the disclosed range allows for the claimed range of 0.01% to 0.50%.
For claim 19, ratio of (A + B)/C is (0.01x2) +(20x)/0.5 (using 0.5 in paragraph [0068]) = 0.04-80 which is a range within the clamed range.
For claim 20, stearyl trimethyl ammonium chloride meeting component D, has been used in hair compositions at 0.25% (paragraphs [0169] and [0172]) and this range lies within the claimed range.
Therefore, HORIE in view of Weser renders claims 1-7 and 10-20 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIE et al. (US 20170007526 A1) in view of Weser et al. (US 20140298594 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 20200113806 A1).
Claim 21 depends on claim 1. HORIE in view of Weser has been described above to render claim 1 prima facie obvious.
For claim 21, HORRIE’s composition does not contain copolymer of acrylic acid with stearyl acrylate copolymer as component B. Lange teaches hair composition comprising copolymers of acrylic acid with stearyl acrylate (paragraph [0038]).
Horrie in view of Weser teaches the composition of claim 1 as described above. Lange teaches hair composition comprising copolymers of acrylic acid with stearyl acrylate (paragraph [0038]). Thus, two separate hair compositions are known in the art and the separate compositions are known to be used for the same purpose of hair treating.
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would be led to combine two compositions that have been known for treating/conditioning hair with the predictable expectation that the composition derived from the combination of the hair composition of Lange and Horrie and Weser would be effective composition for hair.
Therefore, HORIE in view of Weser and further in view of Lange renders claim 21 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 1 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIE et al. (US 20170007526 A1) in view of Weser et al. (US 20140298594 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hoffmann (US 20130032165 A1).
Claim 22 depends on claim 1. HORIE in view of Weser has been described above to render claim 1 prima facie obvious.
For claim 22, HORRIE’s composition does not contain stearoxypropyldimethylamine as component D. However, Hoffmann teaches hair composition that contains stearoxypropyldimethylamine (paragraph [0154].
Thus, two separate hair compositions are known in the art and the separate compositions are known to be used for the same purpose of hair treating.
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, before the effective date of the invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would be led to combine two compositions that have been known for treating/conditioning hair with the predictable expectation that the composition derived from the combination of the hair composition of Hoffmann and Horrie and Weser would be effective composition for hair.
Therefore, HORIE in view of Weser and further in view of Hoffmann renders claim 22 prima facie obvious.
No claim is allowed.
Prior art of interest: HATA KOICHI et al. (JP 2009242259 A1 cited in an IDS, machine translation is used) discloses hair conditioning composition comprising cetostearyl alcohol and behenyl alcohol, which are higher alcohol meeting component E of claims 1 and 14; acrylic polymer having t-butyl group, an anionic polymer meeting component B of claims 1 and 7; triglyceride which is a derivative of glycerol/glycerin meeting component C of claims 1 and 7; propylene glycol or glycerin or di-glycerin or ethylene glycol or diethylene glycol or tri-ethylene glycol or di-propylene glycol, non-aromatic polyols meet component G of claim 5; stearyl ammonium chloride, a cationic surfactant meeting component D of claims 1 and 7; dimethyldiallylammonium chloride polymer, a cationic polymer, meeting component A of claims 1 and 7; paragraph [0037] of the translation teaches the presence of phenoxyethanol, an aromatic alcohol meeting claim 4; the composition is in the form of emulsion or cream or gel meeting claim 6. See the whole translation with emphasis on paragraphs [0017], [0020], [0026], [0027], [0030], [0035], [0054]. See also the Table on page 14 of the original document.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Conclusion
/BLESSING M FUBARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613