DETAILED ACTION
The IDS has been considered by the examiner.
The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner.
RCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri (US 2021/0127448 in view of Shrivastava (US 2022/0132468, IDS submitted on 07/07/2026).
Referring to claim 1, Kadiri discloses a method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of managing multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS) communications after a state transition (Abstract and Par. 5, “a user equipment (UE) may receive a configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) in a radio link control (RLC) acknowledged mode; enter an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; and maintain the MRB while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations”), the method comprising:
receiving MBS data from a radio access network (RAN) using MBS configuration parameters while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN (FIG. 6, step 610 and Par. 5, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state”. Par. 63, “transmit multicast/broadcast data to the UE 120 via the MRB 510”);
transitioning from the connected state to an idle state (FIG. 6, Step 620, Par. 50-51, 65, “the UE 120 may transition from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB 510 has been configured, such as by exiting the connected state and entering one of the idle state or the inactive state. For example, the UE 120 may transition from an RRC connected state 405 to an RRC idle state 410 via RRC connection release 425”); while the UE is in the idle state, and based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default),
wherein the method comprises when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session, retaining the MBS configuration parameters and continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 45, “UE 120 may include means for receiving a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode; means for entering an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; means for maintaining the MRB while the UE 120 is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations associated with maintaining the MRB in the idle state or the inactive state; among other examples. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for exiting the idle state or the inactive state to enter a connected state. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for communicating using the MRB while in the connected state using the configuration. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for receiving one or more retransmissions via the MRB while in the idle state or the inactive state”, note that the UE maintains the configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB). Further, configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) is equivalent to MBS configuration parameters).
Kadiri is not relied on for when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters.
In an analogous art, Shrivastava discloses when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 45, 14, “the UE 101 can send the interest indication to the gNB 102 to indicate that the UE 101 is no longer receiving MBS and/or no longer interested in receiving MBS. For example, UE may have a complete loss of interest in MBS. In instance, the reception of the interest indication at the gNB 102 allows the gNB 102 (or RAN) to release resources that were dedicated to the UE 101 for providing MBS to the UE 101”, “the UE can send an interest indication message to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), to indicate interest of the UE in receiving at least one MBS or at least one MBS that is currently being received by the UE. The UE can receive an MBS configuration, from the gNB, for receiving the at least one MBS if the UE sends the interest indication to indicate interest in receiving the at least one MBS. The at least one MBS, indicated in the interest indication message, includes at least one of broadcast services, multicast services, and a combination of broadcast services and multicast services. In an embodiment, the UE can receive the MBS configuration and avail the at least one MBS when the UE is operating in either RRC_CONNECTED state, RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state”, Par. 58, “thereafter, release the RRC connection”. Note that configuration parameters—such as radio bearers, logical channels, scheduling mechanisms, and physical layer settings—are released (torn down) through explicit Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling procedures when they are needed, which reads on when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kadiri by incorporating the teachings of Shrivastava so that the MBS resources allocated to the UE are released, motivation being that they can be re-assigned to another UE. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Kadiri/Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a multicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 52, 65, 5 and 28, “Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note the UE may not receive the MBS data while in RRC inactive state. Further, note that the claim language includes a conditional ‘when’ statement, thus, the limitation following ‘when’ may not happen).
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Kadiri/Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a unicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 52, 65, 5 and 28, “Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note the UE may not receive the MBS data while in RRC inactive state. Further, note that the claim language includes a conditional ‘when’ statement, thus, the limitation following ‘when’ may not happen).
Referring to claim 27, Kadiri discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising processing hardware (FIG. 7 and Par. 7, “a UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to enter an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured”) and configured to:
receive MBS data from a radio access network (RAN) using MBS configuration parameters while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN (FIG. 6, step 610 and Par. 5, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state”. Par. 63, “transmit multicast/broadcast data to the UE 120 via the MRB 510”);
transition from the connected state to an idle state (FIG. 6, Step 620, Par. 50-51, 65, “the UE 120 may transition from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB 510 has been configured, such as by exiting the connected state and entering one of the idle state or the inactive state. For example, the UE 120 may transition from an RRC connected state 405 to an RRC idle state 410 via RRC connection release 425”); while the UE is in the idle state, and based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, either continue or not continue, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default), wherein the method comprises when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session, retain the MBS configuration parameters and continue to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 45, “UE 120 may include means for receiving a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode; means for entering an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; means for maintaining the MRB while the UE 120 is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations associated with maintaining the MRB in the idle state or the inactive state; among other examples. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for exiting the idle state or the inactive state to enter a connected state. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for communicating using the MRB while in the connected state using the configuration. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for receiving one or more retransmissions via the MRB while in the idle state or the inactive state”, note that the UE maintains the configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB). Further, configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) is equivalent to MBS configuration parameters).
Kadiri is not relied on for when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters.
In an analogous art, Shrivastava discloses when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 45, 14, “the UE 101 can send the interest indication to the gNB 102 to indicate that the UE 101 is no longer receiving MBS and/or no longer interested in receiving MBS. For example, UE may have a complete loss of interest in MBS. In instance, the reception of the interest indication at the gNB 102 allows the gNB 102 (or RAN) to release resources that were dedicated to the UE 101 for providing MBS to the UE 101”, “the UE can send an interest indication message to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), to indicate interest of the UE in receiving at least one MBS or at least one MBS that is currently being received by the UE. The UE can receive an MBS configuration, from the gNB, for receiving the at least one MBS if the UE sends the interest indication to indicate interest in receiving the at least one MBS. The at least one MBS, indicated in the interest indication message, includes at least one of broadcast services, multicast services, and a combination of broadcast services and multicast services. In an embodiment, the UE can receive the MBS configuration and avail the at least one MBS when the UE is operating in either RRC_CONNECTED state, RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state”, Par. 58, “thereafter, release the RRC connection”. Note that configuration parameters—such as radio bearers, logical channels, scheduling mechanisms, and physical layer settings—are released (torn down) through explicit Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling procedures when they are needed, which reads on when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kadiri by incorporating the teachings of Shrivastava so that the MBS resources allocated to the UE are released, motivation being that they can be re-assigned to another UE. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 28, the combination of Kadiri/Shrivastava discloses the UE of claim 27, wherein the UE is configured to: not continue to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a multicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 52, 65, 5 and 28, “Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note the UE may not receive the MBS data while in RRC inactive state. Further, note that the claim language includes a conditional ‘when’ statement, thus, the limitation following ‘when’ may not happen).
Referring to claim 29, the combination of Kadiri/Shrivastava discloses the UE of claim 27, wherein the UE is configured to: not continue to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a unicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 52, 65, 5 and 28, “Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note the UE may not receive the MBS data while in RRC inactive state. Further, note that the claim language includes a conditional ‘when’ statement, thus, the limitation following ‘when’ may not happen).
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, 33 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri (US 2021/0127448 in view of Ryu (US 2021/0352619).
Referring to claim 7 Kadiri discloses a method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of managing multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS) communications after a state transition (Abstract and Par. 5, “a user equipment (UE) may receive a configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) in a radio link control (RLC) acknowledged mode; enter an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; and maintain the MRB while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations”), the method comprising:
receiving MBS data from a radio access network (RAN) using MBS configuration parameters while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN (FIG. 6, step 610 and Par. 5, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state”. Par. 63, “transmit multicast/broadcast data to the UE 120 via the MRB 510”);
transitioning from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state (FIG. 6, Step 620, Par. 50-51, 65, “the UE 120 may transition from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB 510 has been configured, such as by exiting the connected state and entering one of the idle state or the inactive state. For example, the UE 120 may transition from an RRC connected state 405 to an RRC idle state 410 via RRC connection release 425”); and while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive state, and based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default), and further comprises: retaining or releasing the MBS configuration parameters based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, respectively (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default. Par. 45, “UE 120 may include means for receiving a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode; means for entering an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; means for maintaining the MRB while the UE 120 is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations associated with maintaining the MRB in the idle state or the inactive state; among other examples. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for exiting the idle state or the inactive state to enter a connected state. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for communicating using the MRB while in the connected state using the configuration. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for receiving one or more retransmissions via the MRB while in the idle state or the inactive state”, note that the UE maintains the configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB). Further, configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) is equivalent to MBS configuration parameters).
Kadiri is not relied on for the limitation: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) release message from the RAN; transitioning from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state in response to the RRC release message, wherein when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the idle state, the transitioning includes transitioning to the idle state.
In an analogous art, Ryu discloses receiving a radio resource control (RRC) release message from the RAN (Par. 289, “the NG-RAN node may send an RRC release message to the UE to request that the RRC connection be released.”); transitioning from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state in response to the RRC release message (Par. 289, “The UE may transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE after receiving RRC release message from the NG-RAN node”), wherein when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the idle state, the transitioning includes transitioning to the idle state (Par. 289, “for the RRC state transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE, the NG-RAN node may send an RRC release message to the UE to request that the RRC connection be released. The UE may transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE after receiving RRC release message from the NG-RAN node”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kadiri by incorporating the teachings of Ryu so that the MBS resources allocated to the UE are released, motivation being that they can be re-assigned to another UE. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Kadiri/Ryu discloses the method of claim 7, comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a multicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 5, 52 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. Further, note that continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters is an intentional purpose of using the MBS configuration parameters by default. Further note that the claim language includes a conditional statement using ‘when’. The use of the word ‘when’ makes the entire claim limitation conditional, thus, the limitation following the when word may not happen).
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Kadiri/Ryu discloses the method of claim 7, comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a unicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 5, 28, 65, note that the claim language includes a conditional statement using ‘when’. The use of the word ‘when’ makes the entire claim limitation conditional, thus, the MBS configuration parameters may not ever be for receiving a unicast MBS session).
Referring to claim 33, Kadiri discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising processing hardware (FIG. 7 and Par. 7, “ a UE for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to enter an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured”) and configured to:
receive MBS data from a radio access network (RAN) using MBS configuration parameters while the UE is in a connected state with the RAN (FIG. 6, step 610 and Par. 5, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state”. Par. 63, “transmit multicast/broadcast data to the UE 120 via the MRB 510”); transition from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state (FIG. 6, Step 620, Par. 50-51, 65, “the UE 120 may transition from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB 510 has been configured, such as by exiting the connected state and entering one of the idle state or the inactive state. For example, the UE 120 may transition from an RRC connected state 405 to an RRC idle state 410 via RRC connection release 425”); and while the UE is in the idle state or the inactive state, and based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default), and further comprising retaining or releasing the MBS configuration parameters based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, respectively (Par. 5 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. With regard to, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, note this an alternative limitation and one of the alternatives must happen by default. Par. 45, “UE 120 may include means for receiving a configuration for an MRB in an RLC acknowledged mode; means for entering an idle state or an inactive state after the MRB has been configured; means for maintaining the MRB while the UE 120 is in the idle state or the inactive state subject to one or more limitations associated with maintaining the MRB in the idle state or the inactive state; among other examples. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for exiting the idle state or the inactive state to enter a connected state. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for communicating using the MRB while in the connected state using the configuration. In some aspects, UE 120 includes means for receiving one or more retransmissions via the MRB while in the idle state or the inactive state”, note that the UE maintains the configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB). Further, configuration for a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) is equivalent to MBS configuration parameters).
Kadiri is not relied on for the limitation: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) release message from the RAN; transitioning from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state in response to the RRC release message, wherein when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the idle state, (i) the transitioning includes transitioning to the idle state.
In an analogous art, Ryu discloses receiving a radio resource control (RRC) release message from the RAN (Par. 289, “the NG-RAN node may send an RRC release message to the UE to request that the RRC connection be released.”); transitioning from the connected state to an idle state or an inactive state in response to the RRC release message (Par. 289, “The UE may transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE after receiving RRC release message from the NG-RAN node”), wherein when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the idle state, the transitioning includes transitioning to the idle state (Par. 289, “for the RRC state transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE, the NG-RAN node may send an RRC release message to the UE to request that the RRC connection be released. The UE may transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-IDLE after receiving RRC release message from the NG-RAN node”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kadiri by incorporating the teachings of Ryu so that the MBS resources allocated to the UE are released, motivation being that they can be re-assigned to another UE. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 35, the combination of Kadiri/Ryu discloses the UE of claim 33 and further comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a multicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 5, 52 and 28, “a UE may be capable of receiving, for example, multicast/broadcast services in a mixed mode or a broadcast mode. Using mixed mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using either a multicast/broadcast radio bearer (MRB) or a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) for a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state. Using broadcast mode, multicast/broadcast services may be delivered using an MRB for a UE in an RRC connected state, an RRC idle state, or an RRC inactive state.” Note that the UE can be in RRC idle state and still be capable of receiving MBS. Further note that the UE can be in broadcast mode or mixed mode. While in broadcast/multicast mode, it is set to communicate in broadcast/multicast mode using MBS resources and this is equivalent to receiving broadcast MBS session, and when it is in mixed mode it can do both broadcast/multicast which is equivalent to receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session. Further, note that continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters is an intentional purpose of using the MBS configuration parameters by default. Further note that the claim language includes a conditional statement using ‘when’. The use of the word ‘when’ makes the entire claim limitation conditional, thus, the limitation following the when word may not happen).
Referring to claim 36, the combination of Kadiri/Ryu discloses the UE of claim 33 and further comprising: not continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a unicast MBS session (Kadiri, Par. 5, 28, 65, note that the claim language includes a conditional statement using ‘when’. The use of the word ‘when’ makes the entire claim limitation conditional, thus, the MBS configuration parameters may not ever be for receiving a unicast MBS session).
Claim(s) 8 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri (US 2021/0127448 in view of Ryu (US 2021/0352619), and further in view of Ryu (US 2020/0196375, hereinafter Ryu-2).
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Kadiri/Ryu discloses the method of claim 7, wherein: when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the inactive state, and the method comprises retaining the MBS configuration parameters and either continuing or not continuing to use the MBS configuration parameters to receive MBS data based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, respectively (Kadiri, Par. 52, 45, 14, “the UE 101 can send the interest indication to the gNB 102 to indicate that the UE 101 is no longer receiving MBS and/or no longer interested in receiving MBS. For example, UE may have a complete loss of interest in MBS. In instance, the reception of the interest indication at the gNB 102 allows the gNB 102 (or RAN) to release resources that were dedicated to the UE 101 for providing MBS to the UE 101”, “the UE can send an interest indication message to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), to indicate interest of the UE in receiving at least one MBS or at least one MBS that is currently being received by the UE. The UE can receive an MBS configuration, from the gNB, for receiving the at least one MBS if the UE sends the interest indication to indicate interest in receiving the at least one MBS. The at least one MBS, indicated in the interest indication message, includes at least one of broadcast services, multicast services, and a combination of broadcast services and multicast services. In an embodiment, the UE can receive the MBS configuration and avail the at least one MBS when the UE is operating in either RRC_CONNECTED state, RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state”, Par. 58, “thereafter, release the RRC connection”. Note that configuration parameters—such as radio bearers, logical channels, scheduling mechanisms, and physical layer settings—are released (torn down) through explicit Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling procedures when they are needed, which reads on when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, releasing the MBS configuration parameters).
The above combination is not relied on for when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the inactive state, transitioning includes transitioning to the inactive state.
In an analogous, Ryu-2 discloses when the RRC release message indicates a transition to the inactive state, transitioning includes transitioning to the inactive state (Par. 323, “The wireless device may release the RRC connection for the first access technology and transition from the RRC-INACTIVE state to the RRC-IDLE state (e.g., step 2514), for example, if the wireless device 100, 200 receives an RRC release message ”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Ryu-2 so that the MBS resources allocated to the UE are released, motivation being that they can be re-assigned to another UE. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Dependent claim 34 recites features analogous to the features of claim 8, thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 30-32 are allowed.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claims 4 and 30:
The prior art, including the IDS, does not disclose or fairly suggest the limitation, " while the UE is in the inactive state, and based on whether the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session or a non-broadcast MBS session, either continuing or not continuing, respectively, to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration parameters, wherein the method comprises when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a broadcast MBS session, retaining the MBS configuration parameters and continuing to receive MBS data using the MBS configuration and when the MBS configuration parameters are for receiving a non-broadcast MBS session, retaining the MBS configuration parameters and suspending use of the MBS configuration parameters”, along with other limitations of the independent claims 4 and 30.
Dependent claim 5-6 and 31-32 are being allowable for depending on allowable claims 4 and 30.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644