Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06-26-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-14 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (US 2018/0368023) in view of Baek et al (US 2020/0053593). Hereinafter referred to as Hang and Baek.
Regarding claim 1, 7, and 13-14, Hang discloses a method for performing operations of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see at least paragraph [0009]), the method comprising: allocating uplink resources to at least two logical channels belonging to at least two logical channel groups (LCGs) (see at least paragraphs [0011], and [0103]); based on a size of remaining uplink resources after allocation being equal to or larger than a size of a short buffer status report (BSR) plus corresponding subheader and smaller than a size of a long BSR plus corresponding subheader, determining whether the size of remaining uplink resources is smaller than a size of a long truncated BSR with zero Buffer Size field plus corresponding subheader or not (see at least paragraphs [0109]-[0110], and [0113]-[0114]); and based on the size of remaining uplink resources being smaller than the size of the long truncated BSR with zero Buffer Size field plus corresponding subheader and based on the at least two LCGs having data available for transmission, transmitting a short Truncated BSR based on the uplink resources (see at least paragraphs [0109]-[0110], and [0113]-[0114]).
Hong discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of determining based the size of remaining uplink resources after allocation being smaller than a size of a long BSR plus corresponding subheader. However, Baek, from the same field of endeavor, teaches determining based the size of remaining uplink resources after allocation being smaller than a size of a long BSR plus corresponding subheader (see at least figure 5 and paragraph [0083]). Thus, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Baek, as indicated, into the communication method of Hong for the purpose improving network communication efficient resource utilization.
Regarding claims 2 and 8. Hong in view of Baek discloses a method further comprising: based on the size of remaining uplink resources being equal to or larger than the size of the long truncated BSR with zero Buffer Size field plus corresponding subheader, transmitting the long Truncated BSR based on the uplink resources (see at least paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Hong in view of Baek discloses a method further comprising: based on the size of remaining uplink resources after allocation being equal to or larger than a size of the long BSR plus corresponding subheader, transmitting the long BSR based on the uplink resources see at least paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10. Hong in view of Baek discloses a method wherein the short Truncated BSR is related to a LCG with the highest priority logical channel with data available for transmission among the at least two LCGs (see at least paragraph [0119]).
Regarding claims 5 and 11. Hong in view of Baek discloses a method wherein a configurable maximum identifier of the LCGs is larger than 8 (see at ;east paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12. Hong in view of Baek disclose a method wherein the long truncated BSR comprises a Buffer Size field and a bitmap that indicates the presence of the Buffer Size field for the corresponding LCG (see at least figure 8 and paragraph [0121]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476