DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van De Woestyne (US 2021/0299692), hereinafter Woestyne.
In re. claim 1, Woestyne teaches a computer-implemented method (instructions on memory) (para [0139]) for monitoring the treatment of an agricultural field with a pesticide product by an agricultural machine (104), wherein the agricultural machine comprises at least one sensor device (128) (para [0023]) (location system (27)) (para [0138]) and at least one treatment component comprising at least one nozzle (112) (para [0026]), the method comprising: providing, in real-time, location-specific sensor data of the agricultural field from the at least one sensor device (location system (27)) (para [0138]); analyzing the location-specific sensor data with respect to at least one treatment indicator (via sprayer performance system (312) includes map generator (378)) (para [0072] and [0092]); generating location-specific control data for the at least one treatment component based on the analyzed location-specific sensor data (target performance at geographic location) (para [0121]); and providing a pesticide savings parameter in real-time (spray quality comparison logic) (para [0092]), wherein the pesticide savings parameter is a comparison between a determined amount of treatment (performance) and a reference treatment (target/prescribed) comprising a flat rate treatment (desired quantity) (para [0116]), wherein the same amount of treatment is applied on the agricultural field, and wherein additionally or alternatively (when the performance equals the target), the reference treatment can also comprise historic data, in particular, data from historic treatments (when utilizing historical data of prediction system (332)) (para [0081]).
In re. claim 2, Woestyne teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the pesticide product is a herbicide product (para [0070]), the sensor device comprises at least one optical sensor (para [0029]) and a number of weed plants and/or a density of weed is the at least one treatment indicator (quantity of crop) (para [0082]).
In re. claim 3, Woestyne teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising: adopting the location-specific control data for the at least one treatment component such that: an application is made with a predetermined application rate (target/prescribed performance at geographic location) (para [0121]).
In re. claim 4, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the location-specific control data relates to a location-specific on/off-operation of at least one treatment component (some nozzles on while others remain off) (para [0033]).
In re. claim 5, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: controlling the at least one treatment component based on the location-specific control data (target/prescribed performance at geographic location) (para [0121]).
In re. claim 6, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference amount of treatment is not location-specific (e.g. when spraying based on detection of pests) (para [0101]).
In re. claim 7, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying the pesticide savings parameter on a display unit (action signal to display based on spray performance) (para [0117]).
In re. claim 8, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising: updating the pesticide savings parameter in real time (updates made via prediction system (332)) (para [0081]).
In re. claim 9, Woestyne teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the pesticide savings parameter is stored in a map of the agricultural field, wherein the map of the agricultural field is a location-specific map of the agricultural field (generator (378) can correlate the quality metric values to geographic locations and generate a map indicative of a quality of the spraying operation across the field) (para [0092]).
In re. claim 10, Woestyne teaches a computing apparatus (214) comprising a communication interface (communication system (212)) for receiving and sending data (para [0044]), the computing apparatus configured to receive location-specific sensor data via the communication interface (communication with sensors (128)) (para [0047]), analyze the location-specific sensor data with respect to at least one treatment indicator (via sprayer performance system (312)) (para [0072]), generate control data (spray quality comparison logic) (para [0092]), and send out the control data via the communication interface (para [0044]).
In re. claim 11, Woestyne teaches a control unit (control system of sprayer system) (para [0024]) for operating a treatment device (102) for applying a treatment product to an agricultural field (para [0021]), the control unit comprises a communication interface (communication system (212)) for receiving and sending data (para [0044]) and the treatment device comprises at least one treatment component (nozzles (112)), wherein the control unit is configured to receive control data (spray quality comparison logic) (para [0092]) and to provide control data to control the at least one treatment component (controllable spray nozzles) (para [0026]).
In re. claim 12, Woestyne teaches a treatment device (102) for applying a treatment product (para [0070]) to an agricultural field, the treatment device comprising at least one treatment component (nozzles (112)), at least one sensor device (128) (para [0023]), wherein the treatment device is adapted to perform the method according to claim 1, such that the at least one treatment component and the at least one sensor device correspond to the at least one treatment component and the at least one sensor device recited in claim 1 (as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above).
In re. claim 13, Woestyne teaches an agricultural machine (104) adapted to perform the method according to claim 1 (para [0069]).
In re. claim 14, Woestyne teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions, which when loaded and executed by a computing apparatus, cause the computing apparatus to perform the method of claim 1 (computer readable media (para [0144]).
In re. claim 15, Woestyne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determined amount of treatment is determined per nozzle of the treatment device (via individual control) (para [0032]).
In re. claim 16, Woestyne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor device (128) is associated with the nozzle (112) such that its field of view overlaps a spray profile of the nozzle (fig. 2) (para [0084]).
In re. claim 17, Woestyne teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the location-specific control data actuates a valve of the nozzle based on the analyzed location-specific sensor data (controllable valve subsystem) (para [0111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647